DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 02/02/2026. Currently claims 1-19 are pending in the application; with claims 18-19 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 as being anticipated over Rampf et al (US Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0300851 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Rampf”. It is noted that Rampf qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), as it is an application for patent published under 122(b), names another inventor, and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Regarding the latter, it is the national phase filing of PCT/EP2022/054010 that was filed on 2/17/2022 (and claims to an EP filing dated 2/24/2021) and designating the U.S. and, therefore, was effectively filed prior to the earliest effective filing date of 11/08/2022 of the present invention.
Regarding claim 1, Rampf teaches a method of producing a multicolored glass-ceramic blank for dental purposes (para. [0061] [0068-0069], comprising at least a first material powder and a second material powder, wherein the first material powder and the second material powder are different-colored (para. [0061], wherein the method comprises:
introducing the first material powder and the second material powder into a mold, in order to form at least one powder mixture aggregate (para. [0056-0057], [0061]), and
compressing the powder mixture aggregate by hot pressing to form the glass-ceramic blank (para. [0066] [0070]).
Rampf also teaches that at least one of first material powder and second material powder comprises nanoparticles and/or glass-ceramic particles; by teaching that the invention relates to a process for production the glass ceramic with quartz solid solution phase, in which the starting glass or the starting glass with nuclei, in particular in particulate form, preferably in the form of a powder and particularly preferably in the form of a powder compact, is subjected to at least one heat treatment (para. [0065]). Rampf teaches that the starting glass comprises nuclei for the crystallization of quartz solid solution phase and nuclei for the crystallization of lithium disilicate or lithium-metasilicate (para. [0058], claim 18). The nuclei for crystallization would be considered to be nanocrystals (or more generally, nano-sized crystalline seeds/clusters) (equivalent to nanoparticles) by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Rampf teaches a method of producing a multicolored glass-ceramic blank for dental purposes, further comprising heat treatment of the powder mixture aggregate (para. [0062-0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Rampf teaches a method of producing a multicolored glass-ceramic blank for dental purposes, wherein, in the compressing of the powder mixture aggregate by hot pressing, the powder mixture aggregate is positioned in the mold (para. [0066-0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Rampf et al (US Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0300851 A1), in view of Arnold et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0317561 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Arnold”.
Regarding claim 2, Rampf teaches a method of producing a multicolored glass-ceramic blank for dental purposes (para. [0061] [0068-0069], comprising at least a first material powder and a second material powder, wherein the first material powder and the second material powder are different-colored (para. [0061]. Rampf also teaches that by using several differently colored powders, multicolored blanks can be obtained in a simple manner, which have several areas with different color properties. But Rampf fails to explicitly teach that the first material powder and the second material powder are introduced into the mold in locally different mixing ratios, to result in a color progression in the glass-ceramic blank. However, Arnold teaches in a process for the manufacturing of multi-coloured glass-ceramic blanks, that the powders or suspensions are introduced into the mould in such a way that the multi-coloured glass ceramic blank prepared has a continuously changing colour (claim 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Arnold and use a known technique, to introduce the first material powder and the second material powder into the mold in locally different mixing ratios, to result in a color progression in the glass-ceramic blank to improve the natural appearance of a dental appliance (KSR Rationale C, MPEP 2143). Since both the references deal with preparation of glass-ceramic blanks for dental purpose, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Regarding claim 4, Rampf teaches a method of producing a multicolored glass-ceramic blank for dental purposes (para. [0061] [0068-0069], comprising at least a first material powder and a second material powder, wherein the first material powder and the second material powder are different-colored (para. [0061]. Both Rampf and Arnold teach the use of heat treatment after the powder materials are introduced into the mould. It is well known to an ordinary artisan that thermal treatment does lead to the rounding of particles, a process driven by the thermodynamic principle of minimizing surface energy. Irregularly shaped particles have a higher surface area-to-volume ratio than spheres, making them less stable. Heating provides the energy for material to redistribute and eliminate sharp corners and edges, pushing the particle toward a more stable, spherical shape. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, that the material powders would comprise of rounded glass particles, rounded nanoparticles and/or rounded glass-ceramic particles after the heat treatment process.
Regarding claims 6-7, Rampf teaches a method of producing a multicolored glass-ceramic blank for dental purposes (para. [0061] [0068-0069], comprising at least a first material powder and a second material powder, wherein the first material powder and the second material powder are different-colored (para. [0061]. Both Rampf and Arnold teach the use of heat treatment and hot pressing process in the preparation of glass-ceramic dental blanks. Additionally, Arnold explicitly teaches in claim 1, that the material is heat treated first (step c), followed by the hot pressing process (step d) after the material powders is introduced in the mould (step a). Arnold also teaches that it is preferred to carry out the heat treatment at a temperature of less than 700 °C (para. [0048]); and further teaches that it is preferred that the hot pressing is effected at a temperature, in particular 700 to 750 °C, and at a pressure of in particular from 5 to 50 MPa (para. [0052]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the powder mixture aggregate is first heated to a temperature of at least 700 °C and then a compression force (F) is applied, wherein the attainment of the temperature of at least 700 °C is used as trigger criterion for the applying of the compression force (F), based on the teaching of Arnold and the claimed sequence in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Arnold teaches in the process for the manufacturing of the multi-coloured glass-ceramic blanks, that the compaction surprisingly succeeds in giving the glass ceramic blank a density which does not differ substantially from the density of a glass ceramic blank produced in a conventional manner by the solid glass technology (para. [0050]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, that the powder mixture aggregate is compressed by hot pressing to a density of at least 99 .9% of a base material of the first material powder and/or of a base material of the second material powder.
Regarding claim 9, Rampf teaches a method of producing a multicolored glass-ceramic blank for dental purposes (para. [0061] [0068-0069], comprising at least a first material powder and a second material powder, wherein the first material powder and the second material powder are different-colored (para. [0061]. Rampf also teaches that by using several differently colored powders, multicolored blanks can be obtained in a simple manner, which have several areas with different color properties. But Rampf fails to explicitly teach that the first material powder and the second material powder are introduced into the mold at least two separate sites in the mold in order to form at least two powder mixture aggregates. However, Arnold teaches in a process for the manufacturing of multi-coloured glass-ceramic blanks, by differently coloured powders, in different variants, powders with different compositions which, during further processing via the glass-ceramic blank prepared to form the dental restoration, produce regions with different colours in the dental restoration (para. [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Arnold and use a known technique, to introduce the first material powder and the second material powder are introduced into the mold at least two separate sites in the mold in order to form at least two powder mixture aggregate to produce regions with different colours in the dental restoration (KSR Rationale C, MPEP 2143). Since both the references deal with preparation of glass-ceramic blanks for dental purpose, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Regarding claim 10-11, Arnold teaches in a process for the manufacturing of multi-coloured glass-ceramic blank for dental purpose, wherein the powder mixture aggregate is compressed by hot pressing at a temperature of 650° C to 780° C and at a pressure of 5 MPa to 50 MPa (as claimed in claim 10), and at a temperature of 700 °C to 750 °C, and at a pressure of 10 MPa to 30 MPa (as claimed in claim 11); by teaching that it is preferred that the hot pressing is effected at a temperature of from 650 to 780 °C, in particular 700 to 750 °C, and at a pressure of in particular from 5 to 50 MPa, preferably 10 to 30 MPa (para. [0052]).
Regarding claim 12-13, Rampf teaches in a process for the manufacturing of multi-coloured glass-ceramic blank for dental purpose, wherein the powder mixture aggregate is compressed by hot pressing for a duration of 0.1 minute to 10 minutes (as claimed in claim 12), and for a duration of 0.3 minute to 5 minutes (as claimed in claim 13); by teaching that the powder material is subjected to at least one heat treatment in the range from 600 to 1000 °С, preferably 650 to 900° C, for a duration of in particular 1 to 240 min, preferably 5 to 120 min and particularly preferably 10 to 60 min (para. [0065])
Regarding claim 14-15, Rampf teaches in a process for the manufacturing of multi-coloured glass-ceramic blank for dental purpose, wherein the powder mixture aggregate is compressed by hot pressing at an atmospheric pressure of less than 0.1 bar (as claimed in claim 14, and at an atmospheric pressure of 0.01 bar to 0.08 bar (as claimed in claim 15); by teaching that the hot pressing is effected at an atmospheric pressure of less than 0.1 bar and preferably at 0.01 to 0.08 bar (para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 16, Arnold teaches a process for the manufacturing of multi-coloured glass-ceramic blank for dental purpose, to produce a glass ceramic blank from which dental restorations with excellent optical and mechanical properties can be produced (para. [0053]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the method would produce glass-ceramic blank, which is a multiple blank, as multiple dental restorations cand be produced.
Regarding claim 17, Arnold teaches a process for the manufacturing of multi-coloured glass-ceramic blank for dental purpose, wherein the mould used is in particular comprised of several parts in order to facilitate the simple removal of the blank formed from the mould (para. [0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, that the process would further comprise of opening the mold and removing the glass-ceramic blank.
Responses to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 02/02/2026 for the 102 rejections has been fully considered. Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 1 has been carefully considered, but is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the claimed invention requires that at least one of the starting powders comprises nanoparticles and/or glass-ceramic particles, and Rampf fails to teach the above limitation. However, as has been explained in the rejection section, Rampf teaches that at least one of first material powder and second material powder comprises nanoparticles and/or glass-ceramic particles; by teaching that the invention relates to a process for production the glass ceramic with quartz solid solution phase according to the invention, in which the starting glass or the starting glass with nuclei, in particular in particulate form, preferably in the form of a powder and particularly preferably in the form of a powder compact, is subjected to at least one heat treatment (para. [0065]). Rampf teaches that the starting glass comprises nuclei for the crystallization of quartz solid solution phase and nuclei for the crystallization of lithium disilicate or lithium-metasilicate (para. [0058], claim 18). The Examiner takes the position that the nuclei for crystallization would be considered to be nanocrystals (or more generally, nano-sized crystalline seeds/clusters) (equivalent to nanoparticles) by a person of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that based on the teaching of Rampf, the rejection set forth in this office action address the scope of the claim, and is relevant.
Because the rejections are being maintained on the amended independent claims, and since there is no substantive arguments on the rejections against the references applied against rest of the dependent claims, these rejections are being maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742