Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-8,13, 17, 19-20 and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/00195572 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Niu discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (See Niu; Fig. 6; Wireless Device 602), comprising: at least one memory (See Niu; Fig. 6; Memory 606) comprising instructions (See Niu; Fig. 6; Instructions 608); and one or more processors (See Niu; Fig. 6; Processor 604) configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
monitor search space sets (SSSs) associated with a first SSS group (SSSG) for at least one control channel (See Par. [21]-[22], [57] and Fig. 4; 402 of Niu for a reference to a search space set associated with the first SSS group (SSSG0) is monitored for a DCI from a network node in a PDCCH);
switch from the first SSSG to a second SSSG based on an occurrence of an event (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the UE switches to the second SSSG); and
monitor SSSs associated with a second SSSG for the at least one control channel (See Par. [57] and Fig. 4; 404 of Niu for a reference to that in response to a first DCI trigger, the UE switches from monitoring the first SSSG (SSSG0) to monitoring a second SSSG (SSSG1)).
Regarding claim 2, Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive a configuration of a plurality of SSSGs comprising at least the first SSSG and the second SSSG (See Par. [24], [38]-[39] of Niu for a reference to switching configurations, including timers, BSR threshold, SSSG states are received, by the UE, from the network node in an RRC or a DCI).
Regarding claim 3, Niu discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting values exceeding one or more thresholds associated with at least one of: a buffer status report comprising information corresponding to an amount of data available for transmission in an uplink buffer of the UE; a delay status report comprising information corresponding to at least one of: a remaining packet delay budget or a packet wait time; a statistical delay report; or an energy status report comprising information corresponding to at least one of an energy level profile of the UE, a charging rate of the UE, or a discharging rate of the UE (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the UE switches to the second SSSG [buffer status report Alternative]).
Regarding claim 4, Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive a configuration indicating the one or more thresholds (See Par. [24], [38]-[39], [53] of Niu for a reference to switching configurations, including timers, BSR threshold, SSSG states are received, by the UE, from the network node in an RRC or a DCI).
Regarding claim 5, Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive a configuration indicating different thresholds for different reports comprising the buffer status report, the delay status report, the statistical delay report, and the energy status report (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the UE switches to the second SSSG [buffer status report Alternative]).
Regarding claim 6, Niu discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of a scheduling request (SR) rate within a defined time period (See Par. [53], [73] of Niu for a reference to SSSG switching is based on PDCCH monitoring pattern, including arrival time, package size of data and the amount of uplink data to be sent in a scheduling request (SR) within the set timer [Defined period time]).
Regarding claim 7, Niu discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of an uplink data rate within a defined time period (See Par. [73] of Niu for a reference to SSSG switching is based on PDCCH monitoring pattern, including arrival time, package size of data and the amount of uplink data to be sent within the set timer [Defined period time]).
Regarding claim 8, Niu discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting a change in at least one of: a traffic periodicity; or a packet delay budget (See Par. [53], [73] of Niu for a reference to SSSG switching is based on PDCCH monitoring pattern, including arrival time, package size of uplink data).
Regarding claim 13, Niu discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of a downlink data rate within a defined time period (See Par. [53], [73] of Niu for a reference to SSSG switching is based on PDCCH monitoring pattern, including arrival time, package size of downlink data).
Regarding claim 17, Niu discloses wherein the event corresponds to receiving one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) skipping at one or more component carriers (CCs) (See Par. [31], [41], [65], [71] of Niu for a reference to that while in the first SSSG0, the UE may receive a DCI trigger having a PDCCH skipping bit set at one or more BWP).
` Regarding claim 19, Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to switch from the first SSSG to the second SSSG, after at least one of: a certain time period or a receipt of a downlink control information (DCI) indicating to switch from the first SSSG to the second SSSG, from the occurrence of the event (See Par. [31], [34] and Fig. 2 of Niu for a reference to that in response to a DCI trigger, the UE may switch from SSSG0 to SSSG1, which may start Timer 1. In response to another DVI trigger or when Timer 1 expires, the UE switches back to SSSG0).
Regarding claim 20, Niu discloses wherein the time period indicates at least one of: an expiration of a timer for determining when to switch from the first SSSG to the second SSSG; or a number of physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) monitoring occasions based on the first SSSG (See Par. [31], [34]-[36], [57] of Niu for a reference to the switching from SSSG0 to SSSG1 is performed at the expiration of a timer that is configured by the network node).
Regarding claim 24, Niu discloses apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (See Niu; Fig. 6; Network Node 618), comprising: at least one memory (See Niu; Fig. 6; Memory 622) comprising instructions (See Niu; Fig. 6; Instructions 624); and one or more processors (See Niu; Fig. 6; Processor 620) configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
transmit a configuration of a plurality of search space set groups (SSSGs) comprising at least a first SSSG and a second SSSG to a user equipment (UE) (See Par. [24], [38]-[39] of Niu for a reference to switching configurations, including timers, BSR threshold, SSSG states are transmitted, from the network node, to the UE, in an RRC or a DCI);
determine to switch control channel monitoring of the UE from the first SSSG to the second SSSG based on an occurrence of an event (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the Network Node determines that the UE switches to the second SSSG); and
transmit an indication to the UE to switch from the first SSSG to the second SSSG, in accordance with the determination (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the UE switches to the second SSSG).
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 6.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 7.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 24.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 9, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. in view of Guo et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0354364 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the event corresponds to determining presence of one or more types of traffic comprising at least one of: ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) traffic; or extended reality (XR) traffic.
However, Guo discloses wherein the event corresponds to determining presence of one or more types of traffic comprising at least one of: ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) traffic; or extended reality (XR) traffic (See Par. [98], [106] of Guo for a reference to determining one or more types of data including ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) traffic and extended reality (XR) traffic).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing power consumption in PDCCH by providing the wireless device with a short duration too stop monitoring the PDCCH. (Guo; Par. [100])
Regarding claim 21, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to skip monitoring of one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) in one or more SSSs associated with one or more SSSGs based on at least one of: information associated with an energy status report; information associated with a delay status report; information associated with a statistical delay report; or energy harvesting information.
However, Guo discloses skip monitoring of one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) in one or more SSSs associated with one or more SSSGs based on at least one of: information associated with an energy status report; information associated with a delay status report; information associated with a statistical delay report; or energy harvesting information (See Par. [276]-[285] of Guo for a reference to the DCI trigger, received by the UE, from the network node, may include a skipping bit set based on the information related to the delay status).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing power consumption in PDCCH by providing the wireless device with a short duration too stop monitoring the PDCCH. (Guo; Par. [100])
Regarding claim 22, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to determine a duration for the skipping of the monitoring of the one or more PDCCHs and a type of the one or more PDCCHs to be skipped for the monitoring, based on at least one of: the information associated with the energy status report; the information associated with the delay status report; the information associated with the statistical delay report; or the energy harvesting information.
However, Guo discloses determine a duration for the skipping of the monitoring of the one or more PDCCHs and a type of the one or more PDCCHs to be skipped for the monitoring, based on at least one of: the information associated with the energy status report; the information associated with the delay status report; the information associated with the statistical delay report; or the energy harvesting information (See Par. [41], [235]-[238], [276]-[285] of Guo for a reference to the DCI trigger, received by the UE, from the network node, configures the time [duration] for PDCCH skipping and the skipped PDCCH data based on the information related to the delay status).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing power consumption in PDCCH by providing the wireless device with a short duration too stop monitoring the PDCCH. (Guo; Par. [100])
Regarding claim 23, Niu discloses wherein the one or more PDCCHs are associated with at least one of: scheduling uplink data; scheduling downlink data; scheduling harvesting of wireless energy; configuring a duration for the harvesting of the wireless energy; or a PDCCH order to initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure (See Par. [73] of Niu for a reference to PDCCH is associated with uplink scheduling request (SR)).
6. Claims 10-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. in view of Tsai et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0150946 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the event corresponds to transmitting an uplink cancellation indication of a number of resources or occasions.
However, Tsai discloses wherein the event corresponds to transmitting an uplink cancellation indication of a number of resources or occasions (See Par. [79]-[81] of Tsai for a reference to SSG switching based on implicit events/conditions, including uplink cancel indication event trigger).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 11, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the event corresponds to detecting that one or more delay parameters associated with at least one of: a delay status report or a statistical delay report are approaching an expiry threshold.
However, Tsai discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting that one or more delay parameters associated with at least one of: a delay status report or a statistical delay report are approaching an expiry threshold (See Par. [3], [69]-[70] of Tsai for a reference to time period defined by timer start/expiry and using timers for switching [expiry-threshold style triggers]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 12, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein: the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease in a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmissions; and each HARQ transmission indicates a positive acknowledgement feedback or a negative acknowledgement feedback.
However, Tsai discloses wherein: the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease in a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmissions (See Par. [80], [105]-[107] of Tsai for a reference to the UE performs SSSG switching to a second SSSG on PDCCH within a specific time period based on the number of transmitted HARQ feedback); and each HARQ transmission indicates a positive acknowledgement feedback or a negative acknowledgement feedback (See Par. [80], [105]-[107] of Tsai for a reference to the HARQ transmission comprising a positive acknowledgement feedback (ack) and a negative acknowledgement feedback (NACK)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 14, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of at least one of: a charging rate of the UE; a discharging rate of the UE; or an energy level of the UE.
However, Tsai discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of at least one of: a charging rate of the UE; a discharging rate of the UE; or an energy level of the UE (See Par. [75], [79] of Tsai for a reference to an SSS switching from a dense SSSG 504 to a sparse SSSG 506 based on the deactivation of the first SSS in the SSSG and activating the second SSS in the second SSSG [Charging rate of the UE]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 15, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of a number of retransmissions received by the UE.
However, Tsai discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of a number of retransmissions received by the UE (See Par. [79]-[81] of Tsai for a reference to an SSS switching from the first SSSG to the second SSSG is associated with the re-transmissions received by the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 16, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the event corresponds to at least one of: detecting activation of one or more component carriers (CCs); detecting deactivation of the one or more CCs; or detecting that the one or more CCs are in a dormancy state.
However, Tsai discloses wherein the event corresponds to at least one of: detecting activation of one or more component carriers (CCs); detecting deactivation of the one or more CCs; or detecting that the one or more CCs are in a dormancy state (See Par. [24], [85], [117] and Fig. 11 of Tsai for a reference to switching to the second SSSG after activating a BWP [Component carrier (CC)]. Based on the activated BWP, the UE determines the SSSG to switch to).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai; Par. [78])
7. Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. in view of Alfarhan et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/00977142 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein: the event corresponds to determining that a number of bits across one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) exceeds a threshold; and receiving a configuration indicating the one or more LCGs.
However, Alfarhan discloses wherein: the event corresponds to determining that a number of bits across one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) exceeds a threshold; and receiving a configuration indicating the one or more LCGs (See Par. [130]-[134], [262]-[267] and Fig. 11 of Tsai for a reference to determining the size [Number of bits] across one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) is greater than a size threshold. The LCGs threshold is configured by the network node).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the resources utilization and spectral efficiency, and reducing error rates. (Alfarhan; Par. [90])
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Elshafie et al. (US 2024/0298324 Al) teaches enhancements to physical downlink control channel monitoring and skipping.
Choi et al. (US 2023/0224807 A1) discloses a UE that performs PDCCH monitoring for at least one serving cell by switching a search space set of a first SSSG to a search space of a second SSSG.
Lin et al. (U.S. 2022/0264649Al) teaches techniques for Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413