Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1, 3, 6-12, 14-18, 24, 25-26 and 29 are amended. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 6/5/2026 with respect to claims 1-30, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-8, 13, 17, 19-20 and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/00195572 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0144717 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Niu discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (See Niu; Fig. 6; Wireless Device 602), comprising: at least one memory (See Niu; Fig. 6; Memory 606) comprising instructions (See Niu; Fig. 6; Instructions 608); and one or more processors (See Niu; Fig. 6; Processor 604) configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
monitor search space sets (SSSs) associated with a first SSS group (SSSG) for at least one control channel (See Par. [21]-[22], [57] and Fig. 4; 402 of Niu for a reference to a search space set associated with the first SSS group (SSSG0) is monitored for a DCI from a network node in a PDCCH);
switch from the first SSSG to a second SSSG based on an occurrence of an event (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the UE switches to the second SSSG); and
monitor SSSs associated with a second SSSG for the at least one control channel (See Par. [57] and Fig. 4; 404 of Niu for a reference to that in response to a first DCI trigger, the UE switches from monitoring the first SSSG (SSSG0) to monitoring a second SSSG (SSSG1)).
Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the event corresponds to detecting values exceeding one or more thresholds associated with at least one of: a delay status report comprising information corresponding to at least one of: a remaining packet delay budget or a packet wait time; or a statistical delay report.
However, Tsai discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting values exceeding one or more thresholds associated with at least one of: a delay status report comprising information corresponding to at least one of: a remaining packet delay budget or a packet wait time; or a statistical delay report (See Par. [43]-[44], [46], [48], [63], [83] of Tsai for a reference to detecting the DCI indicating the support of search space set group switching reported by the UE that comprises a search space set group switching delay [Packet delay time]. The UE may be provided by a parameter (“searchSpaceSwitchingDelay”) to indicate a number of symbols P.sub.switch [Delay Threshold]. Search space set group switching is triggered if the SSSG delay is higher than the P.sub.switch value).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsai to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing UE's PDCCH monitoring efforts, by switching the UE to a second set of PDCCH configuration which may configure UE with less frequent PDCCH monitoring occasions. (Tsai; Par. [28])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive a configuration of a plurality of SSSGs comprising at least the first SSSG and the second SSSG (See Par. [24], [38]-[39] of Niu for a reference to switching configurations, including timers, BSR threshold, SSSG states are received, by the UE, from the network node in an RRC or a DCI).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting values exceeding one or more thresholds associated with at least one of: a buffer status report comprising information corresponding to an amount of data available for transmission in an uplink buffer of the UE; or an energy status report comprising information corresponding to at least one of an energy level profile of the UE, a charging rate of the UE, or a discharging rate of the UE (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the UE switches to the second SSSG [buffer status report Alternative]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive a configuration indicating the one or more thresholds (See Par. [24], [38]-[39], [53] of Niu for a reference to switching configurations, including timers, BSR threshold, SSSG states are received, by the UE, from the network node in an RRC or a DCI).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive a configuration indicating different thresholds for different reports comprising the buffer status report, the delay status report, the statistical delay report, and the energy status report (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the UE switches to the second SSSG [buffer status report Alternative]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the event further corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of a scheduling request (SR) rate within a defined time period (See Par. [53], [73] of Niu for a reference to SSSG switching is based on PDCCH monitoring pattern, including arrival time, package size of data and the amount of uplink data to be sent in a scheduling request (SR) within the set timer [Defined period time]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the event further corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of an uplink data rate within a defined time period (See Par. [73] of Niu for a reference to SSSG switching is based on PDCCH monitoring pattern, including arrival time, package size of data and the amount of uplink data to be sent within the set timer [Defined period time]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the event further corresponds to detecting a change in at least one of: a traffic periodicity; or a packet delay budget (See Par. [53], [73] of Niu for a reference to SSSG switching is based on PDCCH monitoring pattern, including arrival time, package size of uplink data).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of a downlink data rate within a defined time period (See Par. [53], [73] of Niu for a reference to SSSG switching is based on PDCCH monitoring pattern, including arrival time, package size of downlink data).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the event further corresponds to receiving one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) skipping at one or more component carriers (CCs) (See Par. [31], [41], [65], [71] of Niu for a reference to that while in the first SSSG0, the UE may receive a DCI trigger having a PDCCH skipping bit set at one or more BWP).
` Regarding claim 19, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to switch from the first SSSG to the second SSSG, after at least one of: a certain time period or a receipt of a downlink control information (DCI) indicating to switch from the first SSSG to the second SSSG, from the occurrence of the event (See Par. [31], [34] and Fig. 2 of Niu for a reference to that in response to a DCI trigger, the UE may switch from SSSG0 to SSSG1, which may start Timer 1. In response to another DVI trigger or when Timer 1 expires, the UE switches back to SSSG0).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Niu and Tsai, specifically Niu discloses wherein the time period indicates at least one of: an expiration of a timer for determining when to switch from the first SSSG to the second SSSG; or a number of physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) monitoring occasions based on the first SSSG (See Par. [31], [34]-[36], [57] of Niu for a reference to the switching from SSSG0 to SSSG1 is performed at the expiration of a timer that is configured by the network node).
Regarding claim 24, Niu discloses apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (See Niu; Fig. 6; Network Node 618), comprising: at least one memory (See Niu; Fig. 6; Memory 622) comprising instructions (See Niu; Fig. 6; Instructions 624); and one or more processors (See Niu; Fig. 6; Processor 620) configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
transmit a configuration of a plurality of search space set groups (SSSGs) comprising at least a first SSSG and a second SSSG to a user equipment (UE) (See Par. [24], [38]-[39] of Niu for a reference to switching configurations, including timers, BSR threshold, SSSG states are transmitted, from the network node, to the UE, in an RRC or a DCI);
determine to switch control channel monitoring of the UE from the first SSSG to the second SSSG based on an occurrence of an event (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the Network Node determines that the UE switches to the second SSSG); and
transmit an indication to the UE to switch from the first SSSG to the second SSSG, in accordance with the determination (See Par. [53], [72]-[73] of Niu for a reference to a buffer status report [BSR] threshold is configured by the network node. If the BSR value is greater than the BSR threshold, the UE switches to the second SSSG).
Niu does not explicitly disclose wherein the event corresponds to detecting values exceeding one or more thresholds associated with at least one of: a delay status report comprising information corresponding to at least one of: a remaining packet delay budget or a packet wait time; or a statistical delay report.
However, Tsai discloses wherein the event corresponds to detecting values exceeding one or more thresholds associated with at least one of: a delay status report comprising information corresponding to at least one of: a remaining packet delay budget or a packet wait time; or a statistical delay report (See Par. [43]-[44], [46], [48], [63], [83] of Tsai for a reference to detecting the DCI indicating the support of search space set group switching reported by the UE that comprises a search space set group switching delay [Packet delay time]. The UE may be provided by a parameter (“searchSpaceSwitchingDelay”) to indicate a number of symbols P.sub.switch [Delay Threshold]. Search space set group switching is triggered if the SSSG delay is higher than the P.sub.switch value).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsai to Niu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing UE's PDCCH monitoring efforts, by switching the UE to a second set of PDCCH configuration which may configure UE with less frequent PDCCH monitoring occasions. (Tsai; Par. [28])
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 6.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 7.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 24.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 25.
6. Claims 9, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. in view of Tsai et al. and further in view of Guo et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0354364 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the event further corresponds to determining presence of one or more types of traffic comprising at least one of: ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) traffic; or extended reality (XR) traffic.
However, Guo discloses wherein the event further corresponds to determining presence of one or more types of traffic comprising at least one of: ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) traffic; or extended reality (XR) traffic (See Par. [98], [106] of Guo for a reference to determining one or more types of data including ultra-reliable low latency communication (URLLC) traffic and extended reality (XR) traffic).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing power consumption in PDCCH by providing the wireless device with a short duration too stop monitoring the PDCCH. (Guo; Par. [100])
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to skip monitoring of one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) in one or more SSSs associated with one or more SSSGs based on at least one of: information associated with an energy status report; information associated with a delay status report; information associated with a statistical delay report; or energy harvesting information.
However, Guo discloses skip monitoring of one or more physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) in one or more SSSs associated with one or more SSSGs based on at least one of: information associated with an energy status report; information associated with a delay status report; information associated with a statistical delay report; or energy harvesting information (See Par. [276]-[285] of Guo for a reference to the DCI trigger, received by the UE, from the network node, may include a skipping bit set based on the information related to the delay status).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing power consumption in PDCCH by providing the wireless device with a short duration too stop monitoring the PDCCH. (Guo; Par. [100])
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to determine a duration for the skipping of the monitoring of the one or more PDCCHs and a type of the one or more PDCCHs to be skipped for the monitoring, based on at least one of: the information associated with the energy status report; the information associated with the delay status report; the information associated with the statistical delay report; or the energy harvesting information.
However, Guo discloses determine a duration for the skipping of the monitoring of the one or more PDCCHs and a type of the one or more PDCCHs to be skipped for the monitoring, based on at least one of: the information associated with the energy status report; the information associated with the delay status report; the information associated with the statistical delay report; or the energy harvesting information (See Par. [41], [235]-[238], [276]-[285] of Guo for a reference to the DCI trigger, received by the UE, from the network node, configures the time [duration] for PDCCH skipping and the skipped PDCCH data based on the information related to the delay status).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guo to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing power consumption in PDCCH by providing the wireless device with a short duration too stop monitoring the PDCCH. (Guo; Par. [100])
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Niu, Tsai and Guo, specifically Niu discloses wherein the one or more PDCCHs are associated with at least one of: scheduling uplink data; scheduling downlink data; scheduling harvesting of wireless energy; configuring a duration for the harvesting of the wireless energy; or a PDCCH order to initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure (See Par. [73] of Niu for a reference to PDCCH is associated with uplink scheduling request (SR)).
7. Claims 10-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. in view of Tsai of and further in view of Tsai et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0150946 A1, referred to as Tsai’946).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the event further corresponds to transmitting an uplink cancellation indication of a number of resources or occasions.
However, Tsai’946 discloses wherein the event further corresponds to transmitting an uplink cancellation indication of a number of resources or occasions (See Par. [79]-[81] of Tsai’946 for a reference to SSG switching based on implicit events/conditions, including uplink cancel indication event trigger).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsai’946 to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai’946; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the event further corresponds to detecting that one or more delay parameters associated with at least one of: a delay status report or a statistical delay report are approaching an expiry threshold.
However, Tsai’946 discloses wherein the event further corresponds to detecting that one or more delay parameters associated with at least one of: a delay status report or a statistical delay report are approaching an expiry threshold (See Par. [3], [69]-[70] of Tsai’946 for a reference to time period defined by timer start/expiry and using timers for switching [expiry-threshold style triggers]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsai’946 to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai’946 ; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein: the event further corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease in a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmissions; and each HARQ transmission indicates a positive acknowledgement feedback or a negative acknowledgement feedback.
However, Tsai’946 discloses wherein: the event further corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease in a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmissions (See Par. [80], [105]-[107] of Tsai’946 for a reference to the UE performs SSSG switching to a second SSSG on PDCCH within a specific time period based on the number of transmitted HARQ feedback); and each HARQ transmission indicates a positive acknowledgement feedback or a negative acknowledgement feedback (See Par. [80], [105]-[107] of Tsai’946 for a reference to the HARQ transmission comprising a positive acknowledgement feedback (ack) and a negative acknowledgement feedback (NACK)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsai’946 to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai’946; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the event further corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of at least one of: a charging rate of the UE; a discharging rate of the UE; or an energy level of the UE.
However, Tsai’946 discloses wherein the event further corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of at least one of: a charging rate of the UE; a discharging rate of the UE; or an energy level of the UE (See Par. [75], [79] of Tsai’946 for a reference to an SSS switching from a dense SSSG 504 to a sparse SSSG 506 based on the deactivation of the first SSS in the SSSG and activating the second SSS in the second SSSG [Charging rate of the UE]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsai’946 to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai’946; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the event further corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of a number of retransmissions received by the UE.
However, Tsai’946 discloses wherein the event further corresponds to detecting an increase or a decrease of a number of retransmissions received by the UE (See Par. [79]-[81] of Tsai’946 for a reference to an SSS switching from the first SSSG to the second SSSG is associated with the re-transmissions received by the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsai’946 to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai’946; Par. [78])
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein the event further corresponds to at least one of: detecting activation of one or more component carriers (CCs); detecting deactivation of the one or more CCs; or detecting that the one or more CCs are in a dormancy state.
However, Tsai’946 discloses wherein the event further corresponds to at least one of: detecting activation of one or more component carriers (CCs); detecting deactivation of the one or more CCs; or detecting that the one or more CCs are in a dormancy state (See Par. [24], [85], [117] and Fig. 11 of Tsai’946 for a reference to switching to the second SSSG after activating a BWP [Component carrier (CC)]. Based on the activated BWP, the UE determines the SSSG to switch to).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tsai’946 to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by enhancing the SSSG switching mechanism in occasions where data traffic pattern changes, which leads to power saving. (Tsai’946; Par. [78])
8. Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. in view of Tsai and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/00977142 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Niu and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein: the event further corresponds to determining that a number of bits across one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) exceeds a threshold; and receiving a configuration indicating the one or more LCGs.
However, Alfarhan discloses wherein: the event further corresponds to determining that a number of bits across one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) exceeds a threshold; and receiving a configuration indicating the one or more LCGs (See Par. [130]-[134], [262]-[267] and Fig. 11 of Alfarhan for a reference to determining the size [Number of bits] across one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) is greater than a size threshold. The LCGs threshold is configured by the network node).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan to the combination of Niu and Tsai. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the resources utilization and spectral efficiency, and reducing error rates. (Alfarhan; Par. [90])
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0354328 A1) discloses a method of transmitting and receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on PDCCH monitoring adaptation in consideration of jitter in extended reality (XR) services.
Nam et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0201701 A1) discloses techniques for adapting scheduling timelines to processing grids.
Aldana et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0194740 A1) discloses techniques for a new listen-before-talk type and associated measurement window.
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413