DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 16-21 in the reply filed on 02-23-2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that claim 22 has been amended in the present response to include the structure of claim 16, and the statement that the process could be practiced by another materially different apparatus is now moot. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The restriction requirement has been withdrawn accordingly.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Windrower and Means for Adjusting Crop Distribution.
Claim Objections
Claims 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 line 2 “an axis of rotation (B) of the transfer rotor” should be --the axis of rotation (B) of the transfer rotor--. It is noted that an axis of rotation of the transfer rotor is positively set forth in claim 16 line 3.
Claim 21 line 1 “wherein at least one working position” should be --wherein in at least one working position--.
Claim 21 line 3 “a point (38)” should be –the point (38)--. It is noted that “a point (38) on the conveying element (32) that is furthest forward in relation to the longitudinal axis (X)” is positively set forth in claim 16 lines 17-18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 19-20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the ranges of movements (C, D) of the transfer prongs and the pickup prongs (12)" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the range of movement (C) of the pickup prongs (12) in the claim. It is noted that only a range of movement (D) of the transfer prong (15) is positively set forth in claim 16.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the transfer-prong stripper sections" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that transfer-prong stripper sections are positively set forth in claim 18 line 4.
By virtue of its dependence on claim 19, this basis of rejection also applies to claim 20.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "a second angle" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no first angle set forth in the chain of dependency. It is noted that “a first angle” is set forth in claim 21 line 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18-25, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter (DE 102010010862 A1), provided in Applicant’s IDS filed 7/15/2024, in view of Innes (US 1896626 A).
It is noted that all citations to Reiter (DE 102010010862 A1) are in reference to the corresponding English-translated document attached by the Examiner under NPL documents.
Regarding independent claim 16, Reiter discloses a windrower (1, Fig. 1) comprising of:
at least one pickup device (3,6), which has a pickup rotor (4) and a transfer rotor (7), which can be driven in the same direction (clockwise, from Fig. 2 view) about axes of rotation (5 and 17a respectively) which extend at least predominantly along a transverse axis,
wherein the pickup rotor is configured to pick up agricultural crop material from the ground by means of pickup prongs (see “rake tines” of roller 4, Fig. 2), to lift it in relation to a vertical axis and to transfer it to the transfer rotor (para. [0054]), which is arranged at least in part higher than the pickup rotor (Fig. 2) and is configured to take over the crop material by means of transfer prongs (8), to lift it at least initially in relation to the vertical axis and to transfer it to a downstream transverse conveyor (12), which is arranged at least in part behind (i.e. relative to crop flow direction) the pickup device in relation to a longitudinal axis and is configured to receive the crop material transferred by the transfer rotor on a conveying surface (13), to convey it along the transverse axis by means of a conveying element (14) and to deposit it in windrows on the ground (para. [0051]),
wherein the transfer rotor is configured to discharge at least some of the crop material above the conveying surface in relation to the vertical axis and to throw it onto the said surface (para. [0045]).
Reiter fails to disclose wherein a normal straight line, which runs perpendicular to the conveying surface and through a forwardmost point on the conveying element in relation to the longitudinal axis, at least touches a range of movement of the transfer prongs.
In the same field of endeavor, Innes discloses a similar pickup device (see Fig. 1,6) comprising a pickup rotor (20 + 24) and a transfer rotor (4) configured to carry crop up and over for discharge onto a transverse conveyor (1) (page 2 lines 104-113), wherein a normal straight line which runs through a forwardmost point of the transverse conveyor at least touches a range of movement the transfer rotor (4) (see annotated image of Fig. 6 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to position the transfer rotor of Reiter such that a range of movement of the transfer rotor at least touches or vertically overlaps a forward end of the transverse conveyor, as taught by Innes, in order to minimize any risk of material falling through a transfer gap and potentially clogging the conveyor system.
Annotated Image of Fig. 6 of Innes
Regarding claim 18, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the windrower according to Claim 16.
Reiter further discloses wherein the pickup device (3,6) has a stripping device with:
pickup-prong stripper sections (22) and pickup-prong gaps (“slots between the scraper elements 22”, para. [0038]), which are formed therebetween in relation to the transverse axis and through which the pickup prongs (i.e. “rake tines” of roller 4) at least partially project (see Fig. 2); and
transfer-prong stripper sections (11) and transfer-prong gaps (“slots” of scraper 11) formed therebetween, through which the transfer prongs (8) at least partially project (Fig. 2), wherein the transfer-prong stripper sections are designed in such a way that, as the transfer rotor (7) rotates, the transfer prongs enter between them (para. [0046] “scraper 11 is designed in the form of a slotted base plate or comb, in whose slots the drivers 8 of the conveying rotor 7 run”).
Regarding claim 19, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the windrower according to Claim 16, wherein an entry region (“A” designated below), in which the transfer prongs (8) enter completely between the transfer-prong stripper sections (11), is arranged vertically above the conveying surface (13) in at least one working position of the windrower (from combination w/ Innes, transfer rotor 7, and therefore entry region “A”, is modified to at least partially overlap transverse conveyor surface 13 in the vertical direction).
Annotated Image of Fig. 2 of Reiter
Regarding claim 20, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the windrower according to Claim 19, wherein the entry region (“A” designated above) is offset in relation to the axis of rotation (7a) of the transfer rotor (7) by about 70° with respect to an uppermost point (“B”, designated above) of the range of movement of the transfer prongs (8) (see angle between “A” and “B” above is approx. 70 degrees), but does not explicitly disclose over 70°.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the angle claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Refer to MPEP § 2144.05, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges either overlap or are merely close with the prior art.
Regarding claim 21, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the windrower according Claim 16, wherein at least one working position of the windrower, a tangent (“C” designated below) to the range of movement of the transfer prongs, which runs through a point of the conveying element which is furthest forwards in relation to the longitudinal axis, encloses a first angle with a horizontal plane (“D” designated below) which is at least 60°, when measured in the direction of rotation of the transfer rotor, starting from the horizontal plane (from combination w/ Innes, as seen below, tangent forms an angle of approx.. 90 degrees w/ horizontal).
Annotated Image of Fig. 6 of Innes
Regarding claim 22, Reiter in view of Innes discloses a method for operating a windrower according to claim 1 having at least one windrower unit having the pickup device and the transverse conveyor. Reiter further teaches wherein at least one operating parameter (i.e. conveying speed of transfer rotor 7 and/or transverse conveyor 12, para. [0014], and/or height and angle of channel wall 10, para. [0022-0024]) of the windrower unit is adapted to influence a distribution of the crop material on the conveying surface (13) (speed of transfer rotor 7 is adapted to influence a crop pressure downstream of transfer rotor 7, e.g. to spread harvested material out better, para. [0013-0014], angle of channel wall 10 is movable to facilitate even conveyance, para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 23, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the method according to Claim 22. Reiter further teaches wherein the distribution of the crop material is detected by at least one sensor (para. [0013] “at least one crop, soil and/or machine operating parameter…is detected by a suitably designed detection device…in the form of a sensor), and the at least one operating parameter is adapted in accordance with the detected distribution (i.e. conveying speed of transfer rotor 7 and/or transverse conveyor 12, and angle of channel wall 10 is adapted based on detected values para. [0014,0022]).
Regarding claim 24, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the method according to Claim 22. Reiter further teaches wherein the at least one parameter is adapted in order to ensure that at least some of the crop material is deposited in a region of the conveying surface (13) that is central in relation to the longitudinal axis (para. [0014] speed of transfer rotor 7 is adjustable to improve spread of material over transfer conveyor surface 13, para. [0024] angle of channel wall 10 adjusts the pressure of harvested crop on the conveyor floor to facilitate even conveyance, note even spread/conveyance onto conveyor surface inherently includes deposition on a center portion thereof).
Regarding claim 25, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the method according to Claim 22. Reiter further teaches wherein a rotational speed of the transfer rotor (7) is adapted in order to influence the distribution (para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 27, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the method according to Claim 22. Reiter further teaches wherein the windrower unit has a hold-down device (10), wherein at least one position of the hold-down device relative to the rotors (4,7) is adapted in order to influence the distribution (para. [0022-0024] angle of channel wall 10 adjusts downward pressure on the conveyor floor to facilitate even conveyance).
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter and Innes as applied to claim 22 and 27 above, and further in view of Erdmann et al. (US 20060277888 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the method according to Claim 27. Reiter further teaches wherein the hold-down device comprises a guide cover (10) arranged behind the pick-up rotor (4) in relation to a direction of crop flow along the longitudinal axis and defines a conveying duct (9) for crop material between itself and at least one of the rotors (7), wherein a position of the guide cover is adapted, and the geometry of the conveying duct is thereby changed in order to influence the distribution (para. [0049] angle of channel wall 10 adjusts effective cross-section of conveying channel 9 to facilitate even conveyance, para. [0022-0024]).
Reiter fails to disclose the hold-down device further comprising a rotatable hold-down roller arranged in front of the pickup rotor in relation to the longitudinal axis.
Erdmann in the same area discloses a similar crop-pickup for lifting a windrow, wherein the hold-down device (42) comprises a hold-down roller (48) and a guide cover (132), the hold-down roller being arranged in front of pick-up rotor (18) and guide cover (Fig. 1, para. [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the hold-down device of Reiter to further include a hold-down roller configured to engage with and roll along the top of the windrow in front of the pick-up rotor, as taught by Erdmann, in order to aid the feeding of crop by preventing it from being thrown forward by the action of the pick-up tines (Erdmann at para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 29, Reiter in view of Innes and Erdmann discloses the method according to Claim 28. Reiter further teaches wherein a vertical position of the guide cover (10) is adapted in order to influence the distribution (para. [0049] guide cover 10 pivots up and down about horizontal transverse axis 25 to adjust effective cross-section of conveying channel 9 and facilitate even conveyance).
Regarding claim 30, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the method according to Claim 22, wherein the windrower unit has a guide cover (10), which extends along the longitudinal axis and guides the crop material discharged by the transfer rotor (7) in the direction of the transverse conveyor (12), wherein an inclination of the guide cover relative to the longitudinal axis is adapted in the direction of the transverse axis and/or an inclination of the guide cover relative to the longitudinal axis is adapted in the direction of the vertical axis in order to influence the distribution (para. [0049] angle of channel wall 10 is adjusted up or down to change effective cross-section of conveying channel 9 and facilitate even conveyance, para. [0022-0024]).
Reiter fails to disclose wherein the guide cover comprises a plurality of guide prongs.
Erdmann in the same area discloses a similar crop-pickup for lifting a windrow comprising a guide cover (132) extending along a longitudinal axis for guiding crop material discharged by transfer rotor (20) (Fig. 1), wherein the guide cover can comprise a solid compressor sheet or a plurality of compressor rods (Fig. 6, bottom of para. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the solid guide cover of Reiter with a plurality of guide prongs, as taught by Erdmann, since this is a mere simple substitution of one guide means for keeping crop engaged with the transfer rotor for another to yield predictable results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter and Innes as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Dow (US 9386749 B1), provided in Applicant's IDS filed 7/15/2024.
Regarding claim 17, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the windrower according to Claim 16. Reiter further teaches wherein the ranges of movement of the transfer prongs (8) and the pickup prongs (“rake tines” of pick-up rotor 4) overlap when viewed along the transverse axis (see Reiter para. [0042,0048] teaches an inlet of the transfer rotor 7 is adjacent to or overlaps with outlet area of pick-up rotor).
Reiter does not explicitly detail wherein the transfer prongs (8) engage between the pickup prongs during the overlap.
In the same field of endeavor, Dow discloses a similar pick-up device wherein transfers prongs (56) engage between pickup prongs (11) such that their ranges of movement overlap (Fig. 2-3, col. 10 lines 55-58 plurality of discs 56 spaced axially so as to intermesh with picking fingers 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design the transfers prongs of Reiter to engage between pickup prongs during overlap, as taught by Dow, in order to ensure that all crop material is stripped off the pickup rotor and prevented from clogging the areas therebetween.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiter and Innes as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Finlay (US 5177944 A).
Regarding claim 26, Reiter in view of Innes discloses the method according to Claim 24, but fails to disclose wherein a second angle, by which at least the central region of the conveying surface is tilted relative to the horizontal plane towards the pickup device, is adapted in order to influence the distribution.
In the same field of endeavor, Finlay discloses a similar windrower comprising a transverse belt conveyor (11), wherein an angle of the conveyor belt surface (38) relative to a horizontal plane is adjusted (via hydraulic cylinder 31) towards a pick-up rotor (12) in order to influence a crop distribution (see Figs. 2-3, col. 5 lines 28-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design the transverse conveyor belt of Reiter to be adjustable relative to a horizontal plane, as taught by Finlay, in order to provide a further means for reducing crop bunching and thus providing a more even spread of material (Finlay at col. 6 lines 23-28)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jadhav et al. (US 20230189714 A1) discloses a pickup belt header. Childs (US 20220408653 A1) discloses a hold-down roller for a windrower. Babler et al. (US 20210045292 A1) discloses an adjustable crop guide member for controlling a crop trajectory. Peeters et al. (US 6212865 B1) discloses a windrow merger comprising an intermediate transfer rotor overlapping a transverse conveyor. Delperdang et al. (US 5450717 A) discloses a windrower having an overlapping pick-up and transverse conveyor. Underhill et al. (US 5175987 A) discloses a hay harvesting machine. Rodger (US 3976143 A) discloses a windrowing apparatus. Sund (US 2795100 A) discloses a pick-up attachment. Russel (US 2664684 A) discloses a combination haying machine. Innes (US 2133143 A) discloses a pick-up mechanism. Mickle (US 1819432 A) discloses a pick-up attachment.
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671