DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 20th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-14 are pending. Claims 1 and 6-9 have been amended and claims 2 and 5 have been canceled by the Applicant.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on January 20th, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application No.17403895 (U.S. Patent No. 11869734 B2) has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein a first part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel”; “wherein a second part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel”; and “wherein a third part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel” of claim 1; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because:
Claim 1, line 14, “an earthing fixed contact” should be -the fixed earth contact- to be consistent.
Claim 1, line 21, “a flexible link” should be -the flexible link-.
Claim 1, line 29, “the position” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 31, “is drive” should be deleted.
Claim 1, line 32, “the position” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, phrases, “wherein a first part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel”; “wherein a second part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel”; and
“wherein a third part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel” are unclear and leave doubts as how to determine, identify or show, “a first part”, “a second part” and “a third part” of the chain wrapped around the chain wheel, from the drawings or sufficiently described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi et al EP1361633 [Taniguchi] in view of Dong et al, CN102545088 [Dong].
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi discloses (figs.2-6) a switch (700) for a medium voltage or high voltage switchgear, comprising:
a first fixed contact (114);
a second fixed contact (132);
a moveable contact (130);
a fixed earth contact (112);
at least one flexible link (140); and
a contact drive (150),
where, in an on state of the switch (700), the moveable contact (130) is in a position that connects the first fixed contact (114) to the second fixed contact (132),
where, in an off state of the switch (700), the moveable contact (130) is in a position where the first fixed contact (114) is not connected to the second fixed contact (132);
where, in an earthing state of the switch (700), the movable contact (130) is configured to be in a position that connects the second fixed contact (132) to an earthing fixed contact (112).
Taniguchi fails to explicitly disclose wherein, the at least one flexible link is directly connected to the moveable contact;
wherein, the at least one flexible link engages with the contact drive, and wherein the contact drive is configured to pull the moveable contact via the at least one flexible link and the contact drive is configured to push the moveable contact via the at least one flexible link;
wherein the contact drive comprises at least one chain wheel configured to engage with the at least one flexible link, and wherein rotation of a chain wheel of the at least one chain wheel in a first direction is configured to pull a flexible link and wherein rotation of the chain wheel in a direction counter to the first direction is configured to push the flexible link;
wherein the at least one flexible link comprises at least one chain, wherein the at least one chain comprises a push chain, wherein the push chain, when extended in a longitudinal axis, is configured to enable the chain to bend out of the axis in a first direction perpendicular to the axis and is configured to resist the chain being bent out of the axis in a second direction opposite to the first direction;
wherein activation of the contact drive in a first mode is configured to move the moveable contact to a position such that the switch is in the on state, wherein a first part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel;
wherein, activation of the contact drive in a second mode is drive is configured to move the moveable contact to a position such that the switch is in the off state, wherein a second part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel;
wherein activation of the contact drive in a third mode is configured to move the moveable contact to a position such that the switch is in the earthing state, wherein a third part of the chain is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel; and
wherein the switch is configured to transition between the second mode and the third mode without entering the first mode.
Dong discloses (fig.1)a switching device where, at least one flexible link (13) is directly connected to a moveable contact (14);
where, the at least one flexible link (13) engages with a contact drive (20), and
where the contact drive (20) is configured to pull the moveable contact (14) via the at least one flexible link (13) and the contact drive (20) is configured to push the moveable contact (14) via the at least one flexible link (13);
where the contact drive (20) comprises at least one chain wheel (12) configured to engage with the at least one flexible link (13), and where rotation of a chain wheel (12) of the at least one chain wheel (12) in a first direction is configured to pull the flexible link (13) and where rotation of the chain wheel (12) in a direction counter to the first direction is configured to push the flexible link (13);
where the at least one flexible link (13) comprises at least one chain (13), where the at least one chain (13) comprises a push chain (13), where the push chain (13), when extended in a longitudinal axis, is configured to enable the chain (13) to bend out of the axis in a first direction perpendicular to the axis and is configured to resist the chain (13) being bent out of the axis in a second direction opposite to the first direction;
where activation of the contact drive (20) in a first mode is configured to move the moveable contact (14) to a position such that the switch is in the on state, where a first part of the chain (13) is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel (12);
where, activation of the contact drive (20) in a second mode is drive is configured to move the moveable contact (14) to a position such that the switch is in the off state, where a second part of the chain (13) is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel (12);
where activation of the contact drive (20) in a third mode is configured to move the moveable contact (14) to a position such that the switch is in the earthing state, where a third part of the chain (13) is at least partially wrapped around the chain wheel (12); and
where the switch is configured to transition between the second mode (switch off) and the third mode (earthing state) without entering the first mode (switch on).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switching device of Taniguchi with the inclusion of the flexible link of Dong, thereby providing the beneficial effects a power transmission device to control the opening/closing of the switch, which has a compact structure, few parts, and low cost.
Regarding claim 3, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose a link guide (Dong, 11), where at least part of at least one flexible link (13) is configured to run within or adjacent to the link guide (11) in a longitudinal direction, and
where the link guide (11) is configured to inhibit the at least one flexible link (13) from flexing in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 4, Taniguchi further discloses where the at least one flexible link (140) comprises at least one toothed belt [para.0039].
Regarding claim 6, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose where the at least one chain wheel (Dong, 13) is configured to rotate through less than one revolution when the switch transitions between the second mode and the third mode.
Regarding claim 7, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose where the contact drive (Dong, 20) is configured to pull the at least one flexible link (13) to transition from the second mode to the third mode.
Regarding claim 8, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose where the contact drive (Dong, 20) is configured to push the at least one flexible link (13) to transition from the third mode to the second mode.
Regarding claim 9, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose where the switch is configured to transition between the second mode and the first mode without entering the third mode.
Regarding claim 10, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose where the at least one cog wheel (Dong, 12) is configured to rotate through less than one revolution when the switch transitions between the second mode and the first mode.
Regarding claim 11, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose where the contact drive (Dong, 20) is configured to push the at least one flexible link (13) to transition from the second mode to the first mode.
Regarding claim 12, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose where the contact drive (Dong, 20) is configured to pull the at least one flexible link (13) to transition from the first mode to the second mode.
Regarding claim 13, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose a compartment (16) configured to accommodate a length of the at least one flexible link (Dong, 13) when the contact drive (20) pulls the at least one flexible link (13),
where a maximum internal dimension of the compartment (16) is less than the length of the at least one flexible link (13).
Regarding claim 14, Taniguchi and Dong further disclose a medium voltage or high voltage (intended use) switchgear, comprising at least one switch.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed January 20th, 2026 have been fully considered. All relevant arguments have been addressed in the new rejections, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833