DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 20, as amended, recites a method claim which can only be practiced with the recited elements of claim 1.
The Examiner disagrees. The inventions of Groups I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. For example, the product as claimed can be used for moisturizing the skin (includes squalane (claim 3) which is known to act as a moisturizer for the skin; See Agarwal, Squalane for Skin - The Natural Moisturizer).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Kitabata et al. (US 2002/0189034 A1) in view of Marsh (US 2009/0119852 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kitabata discloses hair dyeing/bleaching compositions which comprise a primary agent containing an alkali agent, such as ammonia water, and a secondary agent containing an oxidizing agent (abstract). The compositions further include an oily component such as squalane [0050], a pH adjustor, such as arginine [0039], water [0053] [0060] [0087], and chelating agents [0049].
Kitabata does not teach the chelating agent is selected from the those recited in the instant claim 1, such as EDDS.
Marsh teaches a hair colorant composition (abstract) with the chelant EDDS [0096]. Marsh teaches that chelants, such as EDDS, are incorporated into hair colorant compositions as stabilizers and preservatives and that they provide hair fiber damage benefits [0096].
Since Kitabata generally teaches a hair coloring composition with chelating agents, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the chelant EDDS, within the teachings of Kitabata, because Marsh teaches EDDS in a hair coloring composition. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use a chelant, such as EDDS, because Marsh teaches that they are incorporated into hair colorant compositions as stabilizers and preservatives and that they provide hair fiber damage benefits [0096].
Furthermore, generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, since Kitabata generally taught chelating agents, it is prima facie obvious to select EDDS for incorporation into a hair coloring composition based on its recognized suitability for the intended use as a chelant, as taught by Marsh [0096].
Claims 2-3 are rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses squalane [0050].
Claim 4 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses the oily component, such as squalane, is present in an amount of 0.1-50 wt.% in the primary agent [0050]. The mixing ratio of the primary agent and secondary agent is in the range of 1:0.5-1:3 [0061]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A.
Claim 8 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses arginine [0039].
Claim 9 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses the pH adjustor, such as arginine, is present in the primary agent in an amount of 0.1-10 wt.% [0039]-[0040]. The mixing ratio of the primary agent and secondary agent is in the range of 1:0.5-1:3 [0061]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 10 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses ammonia water as an alkali agent (abstract).
Claim 11 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses the content of the alkali agent in the primary agent is 1-25 wt.% [0036]. The mixing ratio of the primary agent and secondary agent is in the range of 1:0.5-1:3 [0061]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 12 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses hydrogen peroxide as an oxidizing agent [0057].
Claim 13 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses the content of the oxidizing agent in the secondary agent is 1-12 wt.% [0057]. The mixing ratio of the primary agent and secondary agent is in the range of 1:0.5-1:3 [0061]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 14 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses the content of water in the compositions is from around 62 wt.% to 67 wt.% [0087]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claim 15 is rendered prima facie obvious because Kitabata discloses the pH of the hair dyeing/bleaching composition is 9.0-12.0 [0028]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Claims 16-17 are rendered prima facie obvious because it would have been prima facie obvious to include EDDS, as taught by Marsh, within the teachings of Kitabata, as previously discussed.
Regarding claim 18, while Kitabata does not teach the amount of chelating agent in the composition, it would have been prima facie obvious to include EDDS, as taught by Marsh, within the teachings of Kitabata as previously discussed, and Marsh teaches that EDDS is used in an amount of 0.5 wt.% [0096]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Regarding claim 19, Kitabata discloses a hair dyeing/bleaching kit with (i) the primary agent for a two-agent hair dyeing/bleaching composition and (ii) a secondary agent containing an oxidizing agent [0017]-[0019]. Kitabata discloses the primary agent includes an alkali agent, such as ammonia water (abstract) [0013]-[0016], an oily component, such as squalane [0049]-[0050], a pH adjustor, such as arginine [0039]-[0040], and a chelating agent [0049]. It would have been prima facie obvious to include EDDS, as a chelating agent, as taught by Marsh, within the teachings of Kitabata, as previously discussed.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Kitabata et al. (US 2002/0189034 A1) in view of Marsh (US 2009/0119852 A1) and further in view of Heilmann et al. (WO 2021/084084 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Kitabata in view of Marsh was previously discussed.
Kitabata does not disclose the composition includes alanine, as recited in claim 5, glycine, as recited in claim 6, or valine, as recited in claim 7.
Heilmann discloses a hair bleaching and dyeing composition with amino acids selected from alanine, glycine, and valine (abstract; pg. 4, bottom – pg. 5, top). Heilmann teaches that adding the amino acids to the composition for hair leads to less damage of keratin fibers, thus, cosmetic properties of keratin fibers such as touch, feel, shire, and color evenness and bleaching power are improved (pg. 4, top).
Since Kitabata generally teaches a hair coloring composition, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include alanine, glycine, and valine, within the teachings of Kitabata, because Heilmann teaches these amino acids in a hair coloring composition. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use amino acids (such as alanine, glycine, and valine) because Heilmann teaches that adding amino acids to the composition for hair leads to less damage of keratin fibers, thus, cosmetic properties of keratin fibers such as touch, feel, shire, and color evenness and bleaching power are improved (pg. 4, top).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,383,482 in view of Kitabata et al. (US 2002/0189034 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for a saturated acyclic terpane, such as squalane, and an amino acid, such as arginine.
Kitabata discloses hair dyeing/bleaching compositions which include an oily component such as squalane [0050] and a pH adjustor, such as arginine [0039].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include squalane and arginine within the claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the composition, as taught by Kitabata [0039] [0050].
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612