DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 25 February 2026 has been entered. The following is in reply to the Amendments and Arguments.
Claims amended: 1-4, 6, 8, 15, 16
Claims cancelled: 10-14, 17-20
Claims added: 21-29
Claims currently pending: 1-9, 15, 16, 21-29
Response to Arguments
Applicant, in the first two paragraphs in the “REMARKS/ARGUMENTS” section, presents opening remarks regarding the disposition of the claims and the amendments to the claims. As no specific argument is raised in this/these section(s) with respect to the instant application, no rebuttal is required.
Applicant, in the “Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 101” section, refers to December 4, 2025 Office memorandum, refers to language from the specification, refers to Enfish and argues “that the claims recite an improvement to software, which as detailed in Desjardins, constitutes a practical application”. Examiner disagrees to this notion as the claims here are unlike the claims in Enfish. In Enfish, the court relied on the distinction made in Alice between computer-functionality improvements and uses of existing computers as tools in aid of processes focused on “abstract ideas”. Enfish, 822 F.3d at 1335–36; see Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358–59. In Enfish, this distinction was applied to reject the claims under § 101 because the claims at issue focused not on asserted advances in uses to which existing computer capabilities could be put, but on a specific improvement—a particular database technique—in how computers could carry out one of their basic functions of storage and retrieval of data. Enfish, 822 F.3d at 1335–36; see Bascom, 2016 WL 3514158, at *5; cf. Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2360 (noting basic storage function of generic computer). The present case is different: the focus of the claims is not on such an improvement in computers as tools, but on certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools. Examiner notes that this line of argument is paraphrased from the Federal Circuit's precedential ruling in Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., Alstom Grid Inc., Psymetrix, LTD,. Alstom Limited, 2015-1778; directly quoting from the decision was not used to avoid too many layers of quotation. More specifically, the claims in the instant application merely apply a “machine-learning algorithm” to perform a task to enhance advertisement delivery with the machine learning claimed at a very high level of generality. Using a generically cited machine learning algorithm to make a judgement, in this case to decide which users to place into a control group, amounts to little more than ‘apply it’. The claimed invention is not directed towards an improvement in the operation of the computer itself, but rather substituting an existing algorithm for that of an unspecified machine learning algorithm. As such, the claims are not directed towards a practical application and the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is herein maintained, albeit updated to reflect Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Applicant, in the “Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103” section, refers to newly amended claim language found in independent claims 1, 15, and 21 and argues, “none of the references disclose the automatic monitoring of two different devices associated with two different profiles”. This argument is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented herein utilizing Chhaya, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant does not present any arguments in support of the patentability of the dependent claims except to assert that the claims are patentable based on their dependence from the independent claim(s). Therefore, said dependent claims stand rejected under the grounds of rejection presented herein and no detailed rebuttal is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 contains the limitation, “matching at least one profile from the a control group with at least one profile from the exposed group” which contains “…from the a control group…” that contains a grammatical error. Examiner recommends removing the ‘a’ from the limitation. Claim 21 contains a similar limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 15, 16, 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,810,147 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application represent a subset of the claims found in the ‘147 patent. For example, a comparison between claim 1 in the instant application and that found in ‘147 appears as such:
The primary difference is the removal of several elements and some small changes to the remainder of the claim language. As for the addition of the “data associated with an exposed group”, this language represents moving of the description of the data from the now-removed “receiving” step to the introduction of the “data” in the “creating” step. This re-wording does not functionally/structurally change the invention. A reference claim anticipates a claim under examination if every limitation in the claim under examination is recited in the reference (conflicting) claims. MPEP 804(II)(B)(1). Claims 1-9 in the instant application closely map to claims 1-9 of the ’147 patent; claims 15, 16, 27, 28, 29 in the instant application closely map to claims 15, 16, 3, 4, and 6 on the ‘147 patent with the latter three claims representing a method embodiment corresponding to the system embodiment of the ‘147 patent; claims 21-16 of the instant application closely map to claims 21, 2-6 of the ’147 patent with the latter 5 claims representing a computer-readable medium embodiment corresponding to the system embodiment of the ‘147 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-9, 15, 16, 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-9 are directed towards a system. Claims 15, 16, 27-29 are directed towards a method. Claims 21-26 are directed towards a manufacture (computer-readable medium) which is defined in paragraph 0040 as “non-transitory”. Thus, these claims, on their face, are directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Step 2A - Prong One: As per MPEP 2106.04, Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. In Prong One examiners evaluate whether the claim(s) recites a judicial exception; that is, whether the claim(s) set forth or describe a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea.
Claim 1 is presented here as a representative claim for specific analysis (The underlined claim terms here are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea.):
A system comprising:
at least one processor;
and memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory comprising computer executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, performs a method comprising:
creating a control group using data associated with an exposed group based at least upon a commonality threshold for one or more features, wherein the commonality threshold is determined using a machine-learning algorithm that receives both non-exposed user profile information and exposed user-profile information as input, the machine learning algorithm trained using a historical dataset comprising information associated with a preexisting profile database of both exposed and non-exposed individuals from prior campaigns;
matching at least one profile from the control group with at least one profile from the exposed group;
automatically monitoring electronic device data associated:
at least a first device associated with at least one profile from the control group and the exposed group;
and at least a second device associated with the at least one profile from the exposed group, wherein the profiles associated with the first device and the second device have been matches;
comparing the electronic device data for the at least first device and the at least second device;
and generating at least one result based on the comparison.
The claims here are based on the recitation of an abstract idea (i.e. recitation other than the additional elements delineated here with underlining and further addressed per Step 2A - Prong Two and Step 2B). The claims recite the abstract idea of evaluating the performance of advertisements using a control group and an exposed group which falls within certain methods of organizing human activity.
The phrase "certain methods of organizing human activity" applies to fundamental economic principles or practices including hedging insurance, mitigating risk; commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations; managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities teaching, and following rules or instructions. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II. A-C.
The Remaining Claims: The additional independent claims fail to recite any additional elements beyond those identified above except for “a computer readable memory” (claim 21). The dependent claims recite fail to recite any additional elements beyond those already identified except: “a fuzzy matching technique” (claims 4, 5, 24, 25, 28).
The dependent claims further reiterate the same abstract idea with further embellishments: type of data within a user profile (claims 2, 3, 16); type of matching techniques used (claims 4, 5, 24, 25, 28); data is explicitly advertising campaign data (claims 6, 7, 26, 29); classifying characteristics of the data (claims 8, 9). Therefore, the identified claims fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
Step 2A - Prong Two: As per MPEP 2106.04.II.A.2, Prong Two determines if the claim(s) recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
As for the additional elements of: at least one processor, memory or a computer readable memory, at least one electronic device. To be patent-eligible, the elements additional to the identified abstract idea must amount to more than "an instruction to apply the abstract idea . . . using some unspecified, generic computer" to render the claim patent-eligible. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 226 (2014). Applicant's Specification broadly describes support for well-known generic computer elements in at least 0040-0043. It would have been readily apparent to one having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was filed that the additional elements represent generic computing devices. Therefore, the claims amount to no more than a mere method, system, and/or computer program product to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer system. See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
As for the additional element(s) of: a fuzzy matching technique. The additional element(s) represent insignificant extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim as noted in MPEP 2106.05(g).
As for the additional element(s) of: machine-learning algorithm. The use of machine learning or artificial intelligence, without providing details of how the models themselves are improved, represents mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The ordered combination of these additional elements amounts to generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)). The ordered combination offers nothing more than employing a generic configuration of computer devices and computer functions. The claims do not amount to a practical application, similar to how limiting the abstract idea in Flook to petrochemical and oil-refining industries was insufficient.
Step 2B: As per MPEP 2106.05, the additional elements are analyzed, both individually and in combination, to determine whether an "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As for the additional element(s): a fuzzy matching technique. Fuzzy logic at a high level of generality represents performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Fuzzy logic has been studied “since the 1920s” as indicated by the “Fuzzy logic” article on Wikipedia as archived on 17 October 2016.
As for the additional element(s): machine-learning algorithm. Applying "machine learning" at a high level of generality represents performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Machine learning is well-understood, routine and conventional as exemplified in "Approaches to Machine Learning" by Langley et al. (Langley, P. and Carbonell, J.G. (1984), Approaches to machine learning. J. Am. Soc. Inf. Sci., 35: 306-316. https://doi.org/10.1002/asi.4630350509 (Year: 1984))
References of Record but not Applied in the Current Grounds of Rejection
The prior art listed below is made of record as considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is not relied upon in the grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Those starred with '*' were added to this list in this Office action. Those without "*" were added in a previous Office action and are not repeated on a PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form, but are maintained herein for informational purposes only.
Forte et al., in “Learning human behavioral profiles in a cyber environment”, discloses techniques for determining user profile information using behavioral data in online environments.
Examiner's Note on the Format of the Prior Art Rejections
The prior art rejections below contain underlined markings of the limitations (e.g. sample limitation). The underlined portions of a claim are addressed at the end of the grounds of rejection for that claim. Examiner notes that the underlining of the claim language is not a statement that the primary reference does not teach that language, but simply that said claim language is addressed at the end of the grounds of rejection for that claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 15, 16, 21-23, 26, 27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Lindsay et al. (Pub. #: US 2012/0166520 A1) in view of
Chhaya et al. (Pub. #: US 2016/0147758 A1) in view of
Luo et al. (Pub. #: US 2017 /0132658 A1).
Claim(s) 1, 15, 21:
These claims are analogous with different representative embodiments: claim 1 is a system embodiment, claim 15 is a method embodiment, claim 21 is a computer-readable medium embodiment. Lindsay teaches a computer system with computer-readable media in at least 0057-0059 for performing the steps:
creating a control group using data associated with an exposed group based at least upon a commonality threshold for one or more features,
wherein the commonality threshold is determined using a machine-learning algorithm that receives both non-exposed user profile information and exposed user-profile information as input, the machine learning algorithm trained using a historical dataset comprising information associated with a preexisting profile database of both exposed and non-exposed individuals from prior campaigns;
matching at least one profile from the a control group with at least one profile from the exposed group;
(Lindsay discloses processing the logs into a "control group" and matching profiles with an "exposed" group in at least 0035 et. seq.)
automatically monitoring electronic device data associated with: at least a first device associated with the at least one profile from the control group;
and at least a second device associated with the at least one profile from the exposed group, wherein the profiles associated with the first device and the second device have been matched;
comparing the electronic device data from the at least one control group with the electronic device data from the exposed group; and generating at least one result based on the comparison.
(Lindsay discloses determining the "effectiveness of advertisements" from the data obtained from monitoring user devices comprising both the control group and the exposed group in at least 0041-0048. Lindsay discloses monitoring)
As for, “creating a control group using data associated with an exposed group based at least upon a commonality threshold for one or more features, wherein the commonality threshold is determined using a machine-learning algorithm that receives both non-exposed user profile information and exposed user-profile information as input, the machine learning algorithm trained using a historical dataset comprising information associated with a preexisting profile database of both exposed and non-exposed individuals from prior campaigns;”: Lindsay discloses receiving "a log of user advertising exposures" from user devices in at least claim 1, 0016-0018, and 0029. Lindsay discloses maintaining a database of users, with some of the users exposed to an advertisement and some others not exposed to the advertisement and matching users based on ‘demographic’ and ‘behavior’ information in the database including non-exposed and exposed profile information in at least Figure 4 and 0050; thus, Lindsay discloses creating a control group based on user commonalities. Lindsay further discloses that the data of both exposed and non-exposed users is for at least past campaigns in at least 0036-0037 with the control group generator used to generate surveys to issue to users for the purposes of ‘richer reporting about an advertising campaign’ for “a user’s past impressions”. Lindsay does not appear to specify using a machine learning algorithm trained on user profile information to match profiles based on a commonality threshold. However, Chhaya teaches a technique of using machine learning to cluster user profiles into groups based on a similarity threshold in at least Figures 5 and 6 and 0016, 0019, 0084-0114.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the advertisement effectiveness system of Lindsay with the technique of using machine learning to cluster user profiles into groups based on a similarity threshold as taught by Chhaya. Motivation to combine Lindsay with Chhaya derives from the desire to better market to users (Chhaya: 0002).
As for, "automatically monitoring electronic device data associated with: at least a first device associated with the at least one profile from the control group;
and at least a second device associated with the at least one profile from the exposed group, wherein the profiles associated with the first device and the second device have been matched;": Lindsay is primarily directed towards analyzing previously collected data. Lindsay, in view of Chhaya, does not appear to specify monitoring already selected control and exposed groups. However, Luo teaches a technique of determining advertising lift wherein groups are established and then monitored for response to advertisements in at least Figure 14, 0067, 0068.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the advertisement effectiveness system of Lindsay, in view of Chhaya, with the technique of monitoring data for established groups as taught by Luo. Motivation to combine Lindsay, in view of Chhaya, with Luo comes from the desire to more effectively measure the lift of advertisements (Luo: 0003, 0004).
Claim(s) 2, 16, 22:
wherein the exposed group and the control group are selected from a panel of active users.
(Lindsay discloses processing the logs into a "control group" and matching profiles with an "exposed" group in at least 0035 et. seq. Lindsay further specifies that the user information includes "fields suitable for describing a user's profile" in at least 0038.)
Claim(s) 3, 23, 27:
wherein creating the control group comprises: comparing a first set of characteristics in a first set of profiles to a second set of characteristics in a second set of profiles in the panel to identify commonalities between the first set of profiles and the second set of profiles; and selecting the profiles having commonalities for inclusion in the control group.
(Lindsay discloses processing the logs into a "control group" and matching profiles with an "exposed" group in at least 0035 et. seq. Lindsay further specifies that the control group is based on commonalities between users in at least 0048-0051.)
Claim(s) 6, 26, 29:
wherein the data is associated with targeted content for one or more online campaigns.
(Lindsay discloses that the information gathered from user devices includes demographic data and exposure to targeted advertisements in at least claim 1, 0035, 0048-0051.)
Claim(s) 7:
wherein the exposed group is exposed to the targeted content and the control group is not exposed to the targeted content.
(Lindsay discloses processing the logs into a "control group" and matching profiles with an "exposed" group in at least 0035 et. seq. Lindsay further specifies that the control group is based on commonalities between users in at least 0048-0051.)
Claim(s) 4, 5, 8, 9, 24, 25, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over
Lindsay et al. (Pub. #: US 2012/0166520 A1) in view of
Chhaya et al. (Pub. #: US 2016/0147758 A1) in view of
Luo et al. (Pub. #: US 2017 /0132658 A1) in view of
Efrat (Pub. #: US 2015/0012355 A1).
Claim(s) 4, 24, 28:
wherein matching the at least one profile from the control group with at the least one profile from the exposed group comprises identifying the commonalities between the first set of profiles and the second set of profiles using a fuzzy matching technique.
Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, does not appear to specify using fuzzy matching and feature vectors of user characteristics as part of the matching process. However, Efrat teaches a technique of normalizing user data in the form of vectors to values between 0 and 1 in at least 0023-0026. Efrat further teaches comparing users to "archetypes" (i.e., groupings of users) using at least a "heuristic genetic algorithm" which is "fuzzy" by nature in at least 0027-0031.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user matching portion of Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, with the additional user matching techniques of Efrat. Motivation to combine Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, with Efrat derives from the desire to send the most effective advertisements/content to a user based on "profiling and segmentation data" (Efrat: 0027).
Claim(s) 5, 25:
wherein the fuzzy matching technique comprises: normalizing the first set of characteristics and the second set of characteristics; generating a first feature vector for the first set of characteristics and a second feature vector for the second set of characteristics; and comparing the first feature vector to the second feature vector.
Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, does not appear to specify using fuzzy matching and feature vectors of user characteristics as part of the matching process. However, Efrat teaches a technique of normalizing user data in the form of vectors to values between 0 and 1 in at least 0023-0026. Efrat further teaches comparing users to "archetypes" (i.e., groupings of users) using at least a "heuristic genetic algorithm" which is "fuzzy" by nature in at least 0027-0031.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user matching portion of Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, with the additional user matching techniques of Efrat. Motivation to combine Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, with Efrat derives from the desire to send the most effective advertisements/content to a user based on "profiling and segmentation data" (Efrat: 0027).
Claim(s) 8:
wherein processing the data comprises: extracting a set of characteristics from the data; comparing the extracted set of characteristics to at least one of a characteristic classifier and a statistical model to determine the proper classification of one or more characteristics in the set of characteristics; and segmenting the classified one or more characteristics into one or more groups.
Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, does not appear to specify the extraction of characteristics for determining characteristic classifications into segments. However, Efrat teaches a technique of creating "persona" from user data characteristics in at least 0038-0041.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user characteristics of Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, with the additional user characteristics segmentation of Efrat. Motivation to combine Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, with Efrat derives from the desire to send the most effective advertisements/content to a user based on "profiling and segmentation data" (Efrat: 0027).
Claim(s) 9:
wherein the one or more groups correspond to demographic characteristics of members of the exposed group.
Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, does not appear to specify the extraction of characteristics for determining characteristic classifications into segments. However, Efrat teaches a technique of creating "persona" from user data characteristics in at least 0038-0041.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user characteristics of Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, with the additional user characteristics segmentation of Efrat. Motivation to combine Lindsay, in view of Chhaya and Luo, with Efrat derives from the desire to send the most effective advertisements/content to a user based on "profiling and segmentation data" (Efrat: 0027).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3621
/WASEEM ASHRAF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3621