Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 23rd, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, and 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Crosby (US 2024/0019698).
Regarding claim 1, Crosby discloses a method ([0804], “Phase Compensation and Modulation Methods for Interleaved Rectangular Gratings”) comprising:
guiding display light through a waveguide (Figs. 21-22, element 2103) comprising non- parallel surfaces ([0847], “variation of thickness must be associated with a variation in the parallelism between the surfaces of a DWC”) that laterally separate colors of the display light ([0847], “causing a loss of image sharpness, colour separation or distortion”); and
adding a phase perturbation ([0807], “to include some form of phase compensation to balance against variations of the phase imparted by diffraction orders of the IRG”) to a diffractive grating of the waveguide to offset the lateral separation of the colors ([0820], “The phase compensation at a given location on the lattice may be set according to the variation of the phase shift arising from spatial variations of the IRG”, [0823], “colour separation. Therefore, in some configurations it is preferable to set a maximum value for the magnitude of the x- and y-gradients of d.sub.x(x, y) and/or d.sub.y(x, y) to minimise unwanted optical degradation”, examiner interprets optical degradation to correspond to colour separation).
Regarding claim 5, Crosby further discloses wherein the diffractive grating comprises at least one of an exit pupil expander and an outcoupler ([0593], “an output element configured as an interleaved rectangular grating 2105”).
Regarding claim 9, Crosby discloses a device (Figs. 21-22), comprising:
a waveguide (2103) configured to guide display light ([0593], “a light transmissive substrate 2103 configured as a planar slab waveguide”), the waveguide comprising:
a first surface and a second surface (as shown in Fig. 21, 2103 has two opposing surfaces) that are non-parallel ([0847], “variation of thickness must be associated with a variation in the parallelism between the surfaces of a DWC”) and that laterally separate colors of the display light ([0847], “causing a loss of image sharpness, colour separation or distortion”); and a diffractive grating (2104, 2105) comprising a phase perturbation ([0807], “to include some form of phase compensation to balance against variations of the phase imparted by diffraction orders of the IRG”) configured to offset the lateral separation of the colors ([0820], “The phase compensation at a given location on the lattice may be set according to the variation of the phase shift arising from spatial variations of the IRG”, [0823], “colour separation. Therefore, in some configurations it is preferable to set a maximum value for the magnitude of the x- and y-gradients of d.sub.x(x, y) and/or d.sub.y(x, y) to minimise unwanted optical degradation”, examiner interprets optical degradation to correspond to colour separation).
Regarding claim 13, Crosby further discloses wherein the diffractive grating comprises at least one of an exit pupil expander and an outcoupler ([0593], “an output element configured as an interleaved rectangular grating 2105”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6, 10-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosby (US 2024/0019698) in view of Angervaks (US 2022/0091419).
Regarding claim 2, Crosby discloses as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein adding the phase perturbation comprises modifying at least one of a pitch and rotation of the diffractive grating.
However Angervaks, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a waveguide, teaches further discloses wherein adding the phase perturbation comprises modifying at least one of a pitch and rotation of the diffractive grating ([0115], “an interference pattern of the pre-aberrated object wave 315′ and the aberration-free reference wave 316 may be recorded on the holographic medium fragment 212′, and thus the diffractive optical element 212 may be formed”, [0186], “an operation of increasing the geometric dimensions of the image by using the diffractive optical element 207”, examiner interprets the interference pattern to be a change in pitch as the image dimensions increase).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method Crosby with the wherein adding the phase perturbation comprises modifying at least one of a pitch and rotation of the diffractive grating as taught by Angervaks, for the purpose of increasing quality without aberrations ([0094]).
Regarding claim 3, Crosby discloses as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the waveguide comprises surface deformations that laterally separate colors of the display light.
However Angervaks, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a waveguide, teaches wherein the waveguide comprises surface deformations ([0044], “waveguide element may include a defect or inhomogeneity”, [0091], “aberrations that occurs due to the local structure may be detected”) that laterally separate colors of the display light ([0091], “The wave element or the recordable medium may have a defect (e.g., non-uniformity, unevenness, etc.) that causes an aberration”, examiner interprets the aberrations to correspond to lateral color separation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method Crosby with the wherein the waveguide comprises surface deformations that laterally separate colors of the display light as taught by Angervaks, for the purpose of increasing quality without aberrations ([0094]).
Regarding claim 6, Crosby discloses as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose further comprising: spatially varying the phase perturbation along a lateral position of the diffractive grating.
However Angervaks, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a waveguide, teaches further comprising: spatially varying the phase perturbation along a lateral position of the diffractive grating ([0130], “number, position, and structure of the diffractive optical elements 212 are not limited to the configuration illustrated in FIG. 4F, and may vary depending on the design of the virtual and augmented reality device 201”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method Crosby with the further comprising: spatially varying the phase perturbation along a lateral position of the diffractive grating as taught by Angervaks, for the purpose of increasing quality without aberrations ([0094]).
Regarding claim 10, Crosby discloses as is set forth in claim 9 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the phase perturbation comprises a modification to at least one of a pitch and rotation of the diffractive grating.
However Angervaks, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a waveguide, teaches wherein the phase perturbation comprises a modification to at least one of a pitch and rotation of the diffractive grating ([0115], “an interference pattern of the pre-aberrated object wave 315′ and the aberration-free reference wave 316 may be recorded on the holographic medium fragment 212′, and thus the diffractive optical element 212 may be formed”, [0186], “an operation of increasing the geometric dimensions of the image by using the diffractive optical element 207”, examiner interprets the interference pattern to be a change in pitch as the image dimensions increase).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method Crosby with the wherein the phase perturbation comprises a modification to at least one of a pitch and rotation of the diffractive grating as taught by Angervaks, for the purpose of increasing quality without aberrations ([0094]).
Regarding claim 11, Crosby discloses as is set forth in claim 9 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first surface and the second surface have deformations that laterally separate colors of the display light.
However Angervaks, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a waveguide, teaches wherein the first surface and the second surface have deformations ([0044], “waveguide element may include a defect or inhomogeneity”, [0091], “aberrations that occurs due to the local structure may be detected”) that laterally separate colors of the display light ([0091], “The wave element or the recordable medium may have a defect (e.g., non-uniformity, unevenness, etc.) that causes an aberration”, examiner interprets the aberrations to correspond to lateral color separation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method Crosby with the wherein the first surface and the second surface have deformations that laterally separate colors of the display light as taught by Angervaks, for the purpose of increasing quality without aberrations ([0094]).
Regarding claim 14, Crosby discloses as is set forth in claim 9 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the phase perturbation varies spatially along a lateral position of the diffractive grating.
However Angervaks, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a waveguide, teaches wherein the phase perturbation varies spatially along a lateral position of the diffractive grating ([0130], “number, position, and structure of the diffractive optical elements 212 are not limited to the configuration illustrated in FIG. 4F, and may vary depending on the design of the virtual and augmented reality device 201”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the method Crosby with the wherein the phase perturbation varies spatially along a lateral position of the diffractive grating as taught by Angervaks, for the purpose of increasing quality without aberrations ([0094]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-8, 12, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 4, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein adding the phase perturbation comprises modifying a k-vector of the diffractive grating by an amount corresponding to a total thickness variation across the waveguide due to the non-parallel major surfaces.
Specifically, with respect to claim 7, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest further comprising: guiding the display light through the diffractive grating to an eyebox of the waveguide with a spatial frequency of at least 20 cycles per degree for centroids of all colors of the display light.
Claim 8 is objected to due to dependency upon claim 7.
Specifically, with respect to claim 12, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein the phase perturbation is configured to modify a k-vector of the diffractive grating by an amount corresponding to a total thickness variation across the waveguide due to the non-parallel major surfaces.
Specifically, with respect to claim 15, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein the phase perturbation is configured to guide the display light through the diffractive grating to an eyebox of the waveguide with a spatial frequency of at least 20 cycles per degree for centroids of red, blue, and green display light.
Claim 16 is objected to due to dependency upon claim 15.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 17, Angervaks discloses an eyewear display device ([0205], “The holographic waveguide may be employed in a virtual and augmented reality device, and may be in the form of, for example, glasses”), comprising:
a waveguide (Figs. 2-5, element 204) configured to guide display light to an eyebox ([0105], “aberration-free virtual image 210 may be provided to the user's eye”), comprising:
non-parallel major surfaces ([0044], “waveguide element may include a defect or inhomogeneity”, examiner interprets this to mean the major surfaces are not parallel as they have defects) that laterally separate colors of the display light ([0091], “The wave element or the recordable medium may have a defect (e.g., non-uniformity, unevenness, etc.) that causes an aberration”, examiner interprets the aberrations to correspond to lateral color separation); and
a diffractive grating (206, 207, and 208) comprising a phase perturbation ([0093], “An interference pattern of an aberration-free reference wave and the pre-aberrated object wave may be recorded on the recordable medium as an aberration correction hologram pattern”).
However, the prior art of the prior art of Angervaks taken either singularly or in combination with any other prior art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the following:
“configured to modify a k-vector of the diffractive grating by an amount corresponding to a total thickness variation across the waveguide due to the non-parallel major surfaces”.
Claims 18-20 are allowed due to dependency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 2 August 2026