DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Pursuant to the applicant’s response filed 01 December 2025, the Request for Continued Examination has been accepted, and the amendments to the claims have been entered. By this amendment, claims 4-20 are cancelled, no claims have been added, and claims 1-3 & 21-33 are currently pending in the application. The previously noted section 102 rejections have been overcome by the amendments and are hereby withdrawn. After additional search and/or consideration, the following rejections are presented to address the new limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 21-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 2,340,293 issued to Balleisen (Balleisen) in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2008/0307954 by Fluhr et al (Fluhr).
Regarding claim 1, Balleisen discloses a method of tuning an adjustable gas block assembly of a firearm, comprising: firing a cartridge in the firearm with the gas block assembly having a first vent opening; determining whether the firearm properly extracted and ejected the cartridge and locked a bolt of the firearm in an open configuration when fired with the first vent opening; replacing the first vent opening of the gas block assembly with a second vent opening, wherein the first vent opening has a different hydraulic diameter than the second vent opening; firing a cartridge in the firearm with the gas block assembly having the second vent opening; and determining whether the firearm properly extracted and ejected the cartridge and locked the bolt of the firearm in the open configuration when fired with the second opening; and wherein the gas block assembly is free of another opening configured to vent high-pressure gas outside of the firearm during said firing (See Entire Disclosure, all aspects clearly illustrated and described).
Balleisen does not disclose using multiple vent plugs, but does disclose removing the vent plug and adjusting a regulating disk to change a size of the opening in the plug assembly and replacing the plug to adjust the gas input into the action of the firearm.
Fluhr, a related prior art reference, discloses a method of tuning an adjustable gas block assembly of a firearm, comprising: firing a cartridge in the firearm with the gas block assembly having a first vent plug positioned within a vent opening; determining whether the firearm properly extracted and ejected the cartridge and locked a bolt of the firearm in an open configuration when fired with the first vent plug within the vent opening; replacing the first vent plug of the gas block assembly, the first vent plug having an opening extending along a length thereof, with a second vent plug having an opening extending along a length thereof, wherein the opening of the first vent plug has a different hydraulic diameter than the opening of the second vent plug; firing a cartridge in the firearm with the gas block assembly having the second vent plug positioned within the vent opening; and determining whether the firearm properly extracted and ejected the cartridge and locked the bolt of the firearm in the open configuration when fired with the second vent plug within the vent opening; wherein replacing the first vent plug of the gas block assembly comprises selecting the second vent plug from a kit including a plurality of different vent plugs (See at least Paragraphs 0030-0032 and 0037-0039, “default setting”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Balleisen with the noted teachings of Fluhr. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to utilize multiple plugs rather than single vent plug and a regulating disk to alter the opening size of the vent to change the gas supply to the action of the firearm with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Fluhr further discloses wherein the opening of the second vent plug has a smaller hydraulic diameter than the opening of the first vent plug (See at least Paragraphs 0030-0032 and 0037-0039).
Regarding claim 3, Fluhr further discloses wherein the opening of the second vent plug has a larger hydraulic diameter than the opening of the first vent plug (See at least Paragraphs 0030-0032 and 0037-0039).
Regarding claim 21, Fluhr further discloses wherein replacing the first vent plug of the gas block assembly does not require removing a gas block of the gas block assembly from the firearm (See at least Paragraph 0032, element 33 can be removed without removing the gas block).
Regarding claim 22, Fluhr further discloses wherein the vent opening is positioned between a barrel opening in the gas block and a gas tube opening in the gas block (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 23, Fluhr further discloses wherein a first distance from the barrel opening to the vent opening is less than a second distance from the barrel opening to the gas tube opening (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 24, Fluhr further discloses wherein during said firing a cartridge in the firearm with the gas block assembly having a first vent plug positioned within a vent opening, high-pressure gas from the barrel opening passes through the opening in the first vent plug and out of the gas block assembly without first passing through the gas tube opening (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 25, Fluhr further discloses wherein the vent plug is accessible from the direction of a muzzle of the firearm (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 26, Fluhr further discloses wherein the vent plug is threadably received within the vent opening (See at least Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 27, Fluhr further discloses wherein the gas block assembly, the first vent plug, and the second vent plug are provided as a kit (See at least Paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 28, Fluhr further discloses determining whether the firearm properly extracted and ejected the cartridge and chambered a new cartridge after firing the cartridge in the firearm with the gas block assembly having the second vent plug positioned within the vent opening (See at least Paragraphs 0030-0032 and 0037-0039, “default setting”).
Regarding claim 29, Fluhr further discloses wherein an end of the opening extending along a length of the first vent plug has a hexagonal cross-section (See at least Figures 3-4, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 30, Balleisen as modified by Fluhr discloses a method of operating a firearm, comprising: firing a cartridge in the firearm while a gas block assembly of the firearm having a gas block thereof has a first vent plug positioned within a vent opening thereof, the first vent plug opening having an opening extending along a length thereof, determining whether the firearm properly extracted and ejected the cartridge and locked a bolt of the firearm in an open configuration when fired with the first vent plug within the vent opening; replacing the first vent plug of the gas block assembly with a second vent plug having an opening extending along a length thereof, wherein the opening of the first vent plug has a different hydraulic diameter than the opening of the second vent plug; firing a cartridge in the firearm with the gas block assembly having the second vent plug positioned within the vent opening; and determining whether the firearm properly extracted and ejected the cartridge and locked the bolt of the firearm in the open configuration when fired with the second vent plug within the vent opening; wherein the vent opening is positioned between a barrel opening in the gas block and a gas tube opening in the gas block; and wherein during said firing a cartridge, high-pressure gas from the barrel opening passes through the opening in the first vent plug and out of the gas block assembly without first passing through the gas tube opening; wherein replacing the first vent plug of the gas block assembly comprises selecting the second vent plug from a kit including a plurality of different vent plugs: and wherein the gas block assembly is free of another opening configured to vent high- pressure gas outside of the firearm during said firing (See previous rejections, all limitations addressed above).
Regarding claim 31, Fluhr further discloses wherein a first distance from the barrel opening to the vent opening is less than a second distance from the barrel opening to the gas tube opening (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 32, Fluhr further discloses wherein the vent opening is located on an opposite side of a barrel of the firearm than a trigger assembly of the firearm (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 33, Fluhr further discloses wherein an end of the opening extending along a length of the first vent plug has a hexagonal cross-section (See at least Figures 3-4, clearly illustrated).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641