DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parendo et al. (US 11,691,203) in view of Redondi (US 2021/0252686).
Regarding to claim 1, Parendo et al. discloses a drill comprising: a cutting section (body 18, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.); a drive section (shank 12, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.) directed away from the cutting section (18) [as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.], the drive section (12) having, in at least one section, a polygonal cross-sectional geometry (hex-shaped, as described in column 3 lines 10-13 and can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.).
Parendo et al. disclose an apparatus configured to machine a metallic workpiece (sheet metal, as described in column 2 lines 53-55 in Parendo et al.). However, Parendo et al. does not explicitly disclose the drill being a metal drill having at least two different functional coatings formed at least in regions, the at least two functional coatings being configured to permit machining of a metallic workpiece in a manner adapted to a respective application material. Redondi, however discloses a metal drill (high-speed steel, metal matrix, hard metal, as described in paragraph 0003-0005 in Redondi) having at least two different functional coatings (38, 38a-38g, 40, 40a-40g, as described in paragraph 0013-0017 and 0038-0053 in Redondi) formed at least in regions, the at least two functional coatings 38, 38a-38g, 40, 40a-40g). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parendo et al. to include at least two different coatings, as taught by Redondi, which would be configured to permit machining of a metallic workpiece in a manner adapted to a respective application material, to increase hardness, durability and the life of the tool [as described in the abstract of Redondi].
Regarding to claim 2, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 1, wherein the at least two functional coatings are designed to increase a surface hardness of the metal drill [as described in abstract of Redondi].
6. Regarding to claim 3, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 1, having a first and second functional coating. Parendo et al. further discloses the functional coatings formed with titanium nitride and aluminum titanium nitride [as described in column 7 lines 50-65 in Parendo et al.].
7. Regarding to claim 4, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 1, wherein the cutting section (18 in Parendo et al.) has a cutting head (tip 21, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.), as with two cutting edges (two first chisel surfaces 24, as described in column 3 lines 59-column 4 line 1 and can be seen from Figures 1-5 in Parendo et al.) and a guide section (transition portion 16, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.) is arranged between the cutting section (18 in Parendo et al.) and the drive section (12 in Parendo et al.) [as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.].
8. Regarding to claim 5, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 4, wherein the cutting section (18 in Parendo et al.) has two helical flutes (a first and second flute 46, as can be seen from Figure 4 in Parendo et al.).
9. Regarding to claim 6, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 4, wherein the metal drill has an approximately constant diameter at least in a region of the cutting head (21) and the cutting section (18) [note that a portion of 21 and a portion of 18 are approximately a constant diameter at a portion, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.].
10. Regarding to claim 7, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 4, wherein the cutting head (21) is configured as a cone shell ground or a surface ground [as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.].
11. Regarding to claim 8, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 1, wherein the metal drill is formed of a high-speed steel [high-speed steel, as described in paragraph 0003 of Redondi].
12. Regarding to claim 9, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 1, having the drive section (12 in Parendo et al.) and the cutting section (18 in Parendo et al.). The recited limitation of being “roll-rolled, forged, and/or at least partially machined from solid” as recited in claim 9 line 2, is interpreted as being a product by process limitation only requiring the structure of the finished product resulting from the claimed process. The structure resulting from the recited process is interpreted as including the drive section and the cutting section. The prior art of Parendo et al. discloses the drive section (12) and the cutting section (18). The prior art therefore discloses the structure of the finished product resulting from the recited process, as can be seen from Figure 1 in Parendo et al.
13. Regarding to claim 10, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the according to claim 1, further comprising a unique marking (laser etching, color, as described in column 7 lines 51- 55 in Parendo et al.) identifying a metallic workpiece the metal drill is configured to machine [as described in column 3 lines 15-21 and column 7 lines 51-55 in Parendo et al.].
14. Regarding to claim 11, Parendo et al. modified by Redondi discloses the metal drill according to claim 1, wherein the at least one section of the drive section (12) has a hexagonal cross-sectional geometry [as described in column 3 lines 10-13 in Parendo et al.].
Conclusion
/NIRVANA DEONAUTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726