DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 11/12/25 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 18502805 as well as Patent Number 12415291 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 11/12/25. Claims 5, 6, 12, and 19 have been canceled. Claims 1, 7, 18, and 21 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen CN_107234696_A (see machine English translation).
Regarding Claims 1, 7, Chen teaches forming a wood product (abstract), comprising: stacking chopsticks in a desired shape (symmetrical laminated assembling of step S32 on pg. 2 and claim 1; see also Figs. 1-5), the chopsticks being longitudinally aligned (as shown in Figs. 1-5 and per example 4 on pg. 6); pressing the stacked chopsticks to hold the stacked chopsticks together as an unfinished wood product (pressing of step S32 on pg. 2 and claim 1; and as shown in Figs. 10-11) and finishing the unfinished wood product into the wood product (finishing operations of step S33 on pg. 2 and claim 1). Chen also teaches coating the chopsticks with an adhesive prior to stacking (per example 6 on pg. 4) that is a food-safe and waterproof adhesive (melamine adhesive of section 2 of example 6 is implicitly food-safe and waterproof thereby meeting the limitation of claim 7). Chen further teaches aligning each end of the stacked chopsticks to provide the ends of the stacked chopsticks in a plane generally parallel to a direction of force applied by the pressing (e.g. as shown in Figs. 1-4 and 10).
Regarding Claims 3, 8, 18, Chen teaches heating the stacked chopsticks to a temperature from 110°C to 155°C (example 4 on pg. 6), falling within the claimed range, then pressing the stacked chopsticks, wherein the pressing creates from 6-7 MPa of force onto the stacked chopsticks (example 4 on pg. 6), falling within the claimed range. Chen discloses using recycled chopsticks (Abstract) which indicates they are used chopsticks. The remaining limitations have been taught by Chen under the rejection of instant, independent Claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the heat and pressure is applied to the stacked chopsticks from 5 to 15 minutes (example 4 on pg. 6), falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Chen teaches the treating includes applying a stain or applying an oil to the chopsticks (e.g. oil paint spraying on pg. 7).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen teaches a rectangular shape wherein a width is approximately a length of the plurality of chopsticks (Figures).
Regarding Claim 15, the limitations of this have been taught under the rejection of instant, independent Claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 16, 17, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen CN_107234696_A (see machine English translation), as applied to Claims 1 and 18.
Regarding Claims 9, 20, and 21, Chen teaches drying the chopsticks prior to pressing to a moisture content less than about 12 percent prior to pressing (step S12 on pg. 2), thus encompassing the claimed range and rendering it prima facie obvious. A prior art range which encompasses, partially overlaps, or touches the claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, in the absence of any unexpected results. See MPEP § 2144.05.I and In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Regarding Claims 16 and 17, these are all a matter of design-choice known in the art. The remaining limitations have been taught under the rejection of instant, independent Claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen CN_107234696_A (see machine English translation), as applied to Claims 1 and 18, and in view of Fantoni EP_3778220_A1 (see machine English translation).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen teaches the chopsticks are used chopsticks (abstract).
Chen does not teach a step of shaking the used chopsticks on a table shaker prior to stacking.
However, a step of shaking used wood pieces on a table shaker prior to further processing for recycling is conventional in the prior art for sorting the pieces into different dimension classes, as taught for example by Fantoni (“The sieving can, for example, but not exclusively, be carried out by sieve rollers, vibrating tables, vibrating tables, air sorters or other gravimetric sieves that are suitable for sorting the wood fragments into different dimension classes” per paragraphs 0107, 0157, 0170, 0173 wherein a vibrating table is a type of table shaker).
In view of Fantoni’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Chen’s method to include a step of shaking the used chopsticks on a table shaker prior to stacking, as suggested by Fantoni’s teachings, to predictably sort the wood pieces into different dimension classes and ensure that only similarly sized chopsticks are stacked for forming into the wood product.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen CN_107234696_A (see machine English translation), as applied to Claims 1 and 18, and in view of Sun CN_104608210B (see machine English translation).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen does not explicitly teach these features.
However, it is conventional and well known in the wood product arts to utilize wood strips laid longitudinally end-to-end at an end-to-end junction, wherein the end-to-end junction of a set of two wood strips in one layer of the stack is offset from the end-to-end junction of a second set of two wood strips in an adjacent layer and/or an adjacent row of the stack, as taught by Sun for example (referred to as stagger joint assembly with joints regularly distributed per items 5 and 9 on pg. 3 and as shown in Fig. 2).
Sun teaches this configuration provides “strong fastness, excellent performance and long use without cracking and good quality” for the wood product (abstract).
In view of Sun’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen’s method to utilize a configuration wherein the chopsticks are laid longitudinally end-to-end at an end-to-end junction, wherein the end-to-end junction of a set of two chopsticks in one layer of the stacked chopsticks is offset from the end-to-end junction of a second set of two chopsticks in an adjacent layer and/or an adjacent row of the stacked chopsticks, as suggested by Sun’s teachings, to predictably obtain the benefits taught by Sun and cited above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/12/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of all claim(s) under “HOW USED CHOPSTICKS ARE TURNED INTO TABLES, TILES, AND OTHER FURNITURE - WORLD WIDE WASTE” (youtube video) (hereinafter USED CHOPSTICKS); in view of “GREEN DESIGN AND RECYCLING SYSTEMS FOR SOLVING THE DILEMMA OF DISPOSABLE CHOPSTICKS WASTE CAUSED BY ONLINE FOOD DELIVERY: A REVIEW” (hereinafter GREEN DESIGN - DISPOSABLE CHOPSTICKS), and in view of BOUGUETTAYA ET AL (US 2014/0142224); and in view of DEVELOPMENT OF BAMBOO SCRIMBER: A LITERATURE REVIEW (hereinafter DEVELOPMENT OF BAMBOO SCRIMBER), and in view of BAMBOO SCRIMBER’S PHYSICAL AND MECHANICAL PROPERTIES IN COMPARISON TO FOUR STRUCTURAL TIMBER SPECIES (hereinafter BAMBOO SCRIMBER - PROPERTIES); have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 March 19, 2026