DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
02. This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 09/24/2026. Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 13, and 15 – 24 are pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL, as necessitated by amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
03. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 09/24/2026 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
04. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 6, 8 – 13, and 15 – 24 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
07. Claim 23 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Douglas et al. (WO 99/03045), hereinafter “Douglas”, in view of “Autism Spectrum Disorders and the Transition to Adulthood”, 2010 (as filed in the IDS on 09/24/2026), hereinafter “Virginia”.
Consider claim 23, Douglas discloses a method for tracking goal progression (page 2 line 36 – page 3 line 2), the method comprising:
receiving input establishing clients, wherein the clients are individuals receiving treatment or assistance (page 6 line 28 – page 7 line 16, patients are entered into the system, which includes information about the patient’s conditions and what treatment they are to received) ;
creating a baseline associated with each of the one or more clients, the baseline including an initial score and a baseline date (page 6 line 28 – page 7 line 32, a patient has an initial evaluation that determines their baseline, which can include the current state of their vitals, characteristics, health, etc.);
establishing goals for each of the one or more clients (page 7 line 29 – page 8 line 9, goals and milestones are generated for the patients, which are based on the initial evaluation and baseline of the patient);
compiling data associated with each of the one or more clients received from one or more monitoring devices associated with each of the one or more clients (page 20 lines 3 – 44, the patient’s characteristics, such as vitals and progress towards goals, are determined, such that updated information about the patients is managed, including the patient’s vitals);
storing the compiled data associated with each of the one or more clients in a server available through one or more networks (page 8 lines 28 – 31, the patent data is stored on a server that is accessible through a network);
automatically determining a status of each of the goals (page 11 line 8 – page 12 line 2, patient progress is monitored with respect to the goals, which includes determining if a certain level of progress is being made by the patient, which can be determined based on the patient’s initial state and assigned goals);
automatically communicating alerts (page 11 lines 11 – 15, an alarm can be triggered in response to patient data being significant, such as posing a health risk).
However, Douglas does not specifically disclose comparing data points to a minimum growth line.
In the same field of endeavor, Virginia discloses a method comprising:
comparing a specified number of most recent data points of the compiled data with a minimum growth line extending from the initial score at the baseline date to a mastery level for the goal (pages 27 right hand column – page 28 left hand column, a minimum growth line is determined that starts at the baseline and extends to the goal criterion. The status, or mastery, of goals can be determined based on where data points lie on the graph in relation to the minimum growth line;
a specified number of consecutive data points of the compiled data being worse than the minimum growth line (pages 27 right hand column – page 28 left hand column, a determination is made for a status of a goal, which can determine that data points deviate enough from the minimum growth line, such as three data points being below the minimum growth line).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to incorporate the usage of a minimum growth line taught by Virginia into the patient monitoring system taught by Douglas for the purpose of allowing a more specialized technique to be used to determine a patient’s progress towards mastery of a goal, so that a more specific deviation from an expected growth level can be determined, which would allow for a practitioner to get involved and/or to modify a patient’s program so that the patient could be better suited to obtain a sought after goal. This would lead to better monitoring of the patient so that intervention could take place quicker or at the appropriate time in order to further help the patient meet their goals or have further actions taken in order to aid the patient.
08. Claims 1 – 4, 6, 8 – 13, 15 – 22, and 24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Douglas et al. (WO 99/03045), hereinafter “Douglas”, in view of “Autism Spectrum Disorders and the Transition to Adulthood”, 2010 (as filed in the IDS on 09/24/2026), hereinafter “Virginia”, in further view of Stenquist (US PGPub 2010/0048159).
Consider claim 1, Douglas discloses a method for tracking goal progression (page 2 line 36 – page 3 line 2), the method comprising:
receiving input establishing clients, wherein the clients are individuals receiving treatment or assistance (page 6 line 28 – page 7 line 16, patients are entered into the system, which includes information about the patient’s conditions and what treatment they are to received);
assigning each of the clients to an account (page 8 lines 28 – 31, page 11 line 6 – page 12 line 2, the patients are assigned to a behavior modification program, which is something that can be logged into);
creating a baseline associated with each of the one or more clients, the baseline being derived from behavioral data or performance data associated with each of the one or more clients and including an initial score and a baseline date (page 6 line 28 – page 7 line 32, a patient has an initial evaluation that determines their baseline, which can include the current state of their vitals, characteristics, health, etc.);
establishing goals for each of the one or more clients, based at least in part on the baseline for each of the one or more clients (page 7 line 29 – page 8 line 9, goals and milestones are generated for the patients, which are based on the initial evaluation and baseline of the patient);
automatically capturing data utilizing one or more monitoring devices associated with each of the one or more clients including at least a wearable biometric device… (page 10 lines 10 – 24, page 20 lines 3 – 44, the patient’s characteristics, such as vitals, are determined, which can be obtained by way of devices, which can include a device that determines a patient’s blood pressure. The updated data received about patients is managed, including the patient’s vitals);
compiling data associated with each of the one or more clients from the one or more monitoring devices (page 20 lines 3 – 44, the patient’s characteristics, such as vitals and progress towards goals, are determined, such that updated information about the patients is managed, including the patient’s vitals);
storing the compiled data associated with each of the one or more clients in a server available through one or more networks (page 8 lines 28 – 31, the patent data is stored on a server that is accessible through a network);
determining whether the goals are being met in response to threshold for the compiled data defined in relation to the goals and the baseline (page 11 line 8 – page 12 line 2, patient progress is monitored with respect to the goals, which includes determining if a certain level of progress is being made by the patient, which can be determined based on the patient’s initial state and assigned goals);
automatically communicating alerts in response to the compiled data varying from at least one of the thresholds to become significant for one or more of the clients (page 11 lines 11 – 15, an alarm can be triggered in response to patient data being significant, such as posing a health risk).
However, Douglas does not specifically disclose comparing data points to a minimum growth line.
In the same field of endeavor, Virginia discloses a method comprising:
the thresholds for each of the goals comprise a minimum growth line extending from the initial score at the baseline data to a mastery level for the goal, wherein a status of each of the goals is automatically determined by comparing a specified number of most recent data points of the compiled data with the minimum growth line (pages 27 right hand column – page 28 left hand column, a minimum growth line is determined that starts at the baseline and extends to the goal criterion. The status, or mastery, of goals can be determined based on where data points lie on the graph in relation to the minimum growth line);
the compiled data is determined to vary from the at least one of the thresholds to become significant in response to a specified number of consecutive data points of the compiled data being worse than the minimum growth line (pages 27 right hand column – page 28 left hand column, a determination is made for a status of a goal, which can determine that data points deviate enough from the minimum growth line, such as three data points being below the minimum growth line).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to incorporate the usage of a minimum growth line taught by Virginia into the patient monitoring system taught by Douglas for the purpose of allowing a more specialized technique to be used to determine a patient’s progress towards mastery of a goal, so that a more specific deviation from an expected growth level can be determined, which would allow for a practitioner to get involved and/or to modify a patient’s program so that the patient could be better suited to obtain a sought after goal. This would lead to better monitoring of the patient so that intervention could take place quicker or at the appropriate time in order to further help the patient meet their goals or have further actions taken in order to aid the patient.
Although Douglas teaches using biometric devices to obtain patient data (page 10 lines 10 – 24), Douglas does not specifically teach that the biometric devices are worn by the client.
In the same field of endeavor, Stenquist discloses a method comprising:
a wearable biometric device worn by each of the one or more clients (paragraphs [0054], [0055], patients are provided with biometric devices that they wear, which provide biometric patient data that can be sent to a server for monitoring).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to incorporate the worn biometric devices taught by Stenquist into the patient monitoring system taught by Douglas and Virginia for the purpose of allowing patient data to be obtained quicker and more efficiently, so that the data can be obtained by and reviewed either automatically or by doctors, so they a patient’s health can be more accurately determined, which would lead to the ability to intervene quicker in the event the patient needs medical care.
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Douglas discloses a method comprising:
the baseline is established utilizing data from 1) one of the one or more clients and 2) one or more monitoring devices (page 6 line 28 – page 7 line 32, the baseline that is created for the patients can be obtained from the patient interacting with the system or through devices that capture patient information, such as their vitals).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Douglas discloses a method comprising:
the input is utilized to automatically establish accounts associated with each of the one or more clients (page 8 lines 28 – 31, page 11 line 6 – page 12 line 2, the behavioral modification program is generated in response to the inputs provided to the system).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Douglas discloses a method comprising:
intervening with one of the one or more clients in response to the alerts being automatically communicated (page 11 lines 11 – 19, an alarm can be triggered in response to a threatening situation with the patient).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, Douglas discloses a method comprising:
performing an assessment of the one or more clients to determine the baseline associated with each of the one or more clients (page 6 line 28 – page 7 line 32, a patient has an initial evaluation that determines their baseline, which can include the current state of their vitals, characteristics, etc.).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Douglas discloses a method comprising:
recommending goals to the one or more clients and the one or more providers in response to receiving the input (page 7 line 29 – page 8 line 9, goals are generated for the patients, which are based on the initial evaluation and baseline of the patient);
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 1 above, Douglas discloses a method comprising:
modifying the goals in response to the complied data varying from the baseline to become significant (page 8 lines 8 – 13, page 11 lines 18 – 34, changes can be made to the goals for the patients).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 8 above, Douglas discloses a method comprising:
The goals are modified in response to determining that one of the one or more clients is unable to achieve the goals associated with the one or more clients (page 8 lines 8 – 13, page 11 lines 18 – 34, changes can be made to the goals for the patients in response to determining that progress is not appropriate for that goals).
Claim 11 recites nearly the same claim limitations to those found in claim 1, albeit with a few changes to the structure of the limitations. However, nearly the same limitations are recited, and claim 11 is therefore rejected under the same rationale with respect to claim 1 above.
Claims 12 and 13 recite nearly the same claim limitations found in claims 2 and 4 (respectively) and are rejected under the same rational with respect to those claims, as shown above.
Consider claim 15, and as applied to claim 11 above, Douglas discloses a system comprising:
the goals are established by the client (page 9 line 32 – page 10 line 9, patients can define their own hopes and milestones that they plan to attain, which can be used to determine goals for the clients).
Claim 16 recites nearly the same claim limitations found in claim 8 and is rejected under the same rational with respect to that claim, as shown above.
Claims 17 – 20 recite nearly the same claim limitations found in claims 1, 4, 7, 9, and 15, and are rejected under the same rational with respect to those claims, as shown above.
Consider claim 21, and as applied to claim 1 above, Douglas discloses a method comprising:
automatically communicating a data exception alert in response to the data associated with one of the one or more clients not being received within a time interval specified by a data collection schedule (page 11 line 35 – page 12 line 2, an alarm can be triggered if a patient is not using the system, which means that an expected data entry is not input into the system at a certain time).
Consider claim 22, and as applied to claim 1 above, Virginia discloses a method comprising:
a status of mastered is given to one of the goals in response to the compiled data reaching the mastery level for a duration, and wherein the compiled data is further determined to vary from the at least one of the thresholds to become significant in response to a specified number of consecutive data points of the compiled data being worse than the mastery level after the status of mastered is given (pages 27 – 28, the goals for an individual can be considered mastered after it reaches a certain level, such that the goals can be monitored regardless of what a certain level of mastery has been achieved).
Consider claim 24, Douglas discloses a method for tracking goal progression (page 2 line 36 – page 3 line 2), the method comprising:
receiving input establishing clients, wherein the clients are individuals receiving treatment or assistance (page 6 line 28 – page 7 line 16, patients are entered into the system, which includes information about the patient’s conditions and what treatment they are to received);
establishing goals for each of the one or more clients, wherein each of the goals is associated with a mastery level and a duration (page 7 line 29 – page 8 line 9, goals and milestones are generated for the patients, which are based on the initial evaluation and baseline of the patient);
automatically capturing data utilizing one or more monitoring devices associated with each of the one or more clients including at least a wearable biometric device… (page 10 lines 10 – 24, page 20 lines 3 – 44, the patient’s characteristics, such as vitals, are determined, which can be obtained by way of devices, which can include a device that determines a patient’s blood pressure. The updated data received about patients is managed, including the patient’s vitals);
compiling data associated with each of the one or more clients from the one or more monitoring devices (page 20 lines 3 – 44, the patient’s characteristics, such as vitals and progress towards goals, are determined, such that updated information about the patients is managed, including the patient’s vitals);
and storing the compiled data in a server available through one or more networks (page 8 lines 28 – 31, the patent data is stored on a server that is accessible through a network);
giving one of the goals a status of mastered in response to the compiled data reaching the mastery level for the duration (page 11 line 8 – page 12 line 2, patient progress is monitored with respect to the goals, which includes determining if a certain level of progress is being made by the patient, which can be determined based on the patient’s initial state and assigned goals);
automatically communicating an alert in response to … the compiled data being given the status of regression from mastery (page 11 lines 11 – 15, an alarm can be triggered in response to patient data being significant, such as posing a health risk).
However, Douglas does not specifically disclose that the mastery level can regress from mastery.
In the same field of endeavor, Virginia discloses a method comprising:
giving a status of regression from mastery to each subsequent data point of the compiled data that is worse than the mastery level after the status of mastered is given (pages 27 – 28, the goals are monitored and can be considered to not reach a certain level with respect to the expected growth);
a specified number of consecutive data points of (pages 27 – 28, a number of data points of performance, such as three, are determined to be below an expected level of improvement for a goal).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to incorporate the usage of an expected improvement taught by Virginia into the patient monitoring system taught by Douglas for the purpose of allowing a more specialized technique to be used to determine a patient’s progress towards mastery of a goal, so that a more specific deviation from an expected growth level can be determined, which would allow for a practitioner to get involved and/or to modify a patient’s program so that the patient could be better suited to obtain a sought after goal. This would lead to better monitoring of the patient so that intervention could take place quicker or at the appropriate time in order to further help the patient meet their goals or have further actions taken in order to aid the patient.
Although Douglas teaches using biometric devices to obtain patient data (page 10 lines 10 – 24), Douglas does not specifically teach that the biometric devices are worn by the client.
In the same field of endeavor, Stenquist discloses a method comprising:
a wearable biometric device worn by each of the one or more clients (paragraphs [0054], [0055], patients are provided with biometric devices that they wear, which provide biometric patient data that can be sent to a server for monitoring).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to incorporate the worn biometric devices taught by Stenquist into the patient monitoring system taught by Douglas and Virginia for the purpose of allowing patient data to be obtained quicker and more efficiently, so that the data can be obtained by and reviewed either automatically or by doctors, so they a patient’s health can be more accurately determined, which would lead to the ability to intervene quicker in the event the patient needs medical care.
09. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas et al. (WO 99/03045), hereinafter “Douglas”, in view of “Autism Spectrum Disorders and the Transition to Adulthood”, 210 (as filed in the IDS on 09/24/2026), hereinafter “Virginia”, in further view of Stenquist (US PGPub 2010/0048159), in further view of Chitiveli (US PGPub 2013/0179450), hereinafter “Chitiveli”.
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Douglas discloses a
method comprising:
the server is accessed through a [cloud] network, wherein the one or more monitoring devices includes biometric devices, and wherein a client management program is executed by communications devices utilized by the one or more clients to receive the data and track progress of the goals (page 24 lines 3 – 34, a server is accessed through a network, whereby the programs are utilized by different communications devices and hardware/software).
However, Douglas, Virginia, and Stenquist do not specifically disclose a cloud network.
In the same field of endeavor, Chitiveli discloses a method comprising:
the server is accessed through a cloud network (paragraphs [0031], [0032], a cloud network it utilized, which is used to access a server).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cloud network taught by Chitiveli into the patient monitoring system taught by Douglas, Virginia, and Stenquist to allow for a more complex and modern computing infrastructure to be used for the monitoring of patients and their conditions, which would also allow patients to access their health information on more modern devices/applications that could better assist them in their needs.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ajay Bhatia can be reached on (571) 272-3906. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/CHRISTOPHER J RAAB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156
October 28, 2026