DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/27/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 further limits the structure of the vacuum source however, the vacuum source is not positively recited in the claims. The shell having an opening to provide communication with a vacuum source does not require the claimed insulating element to include a vacuum source. Thus, it is unclear if claim 15 is intended for the structure of the insulating element to include the vacuum source or not.
For sake of further examination, as the claims are directed to an insulating element, the vacuum source structure will be viewed as optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pherson et al. (US 2020/0407149).
Regarding claim 1, Pherson discloses a thermally insulated panel comprising skins (322) and a core (326). The skins having an interior and exterior (Fig. 5 and 6). The core positioned within the interior of the shell and inhibits collapse of the skins when subject to a pressure differential between the interior and exterior (0086).
The skins comprising a port (350) which defined an opening configured to provide communication with a vacuum source (0094-0095).
Regarding claim 2, the port coupled to the shell and in communication with the opening (0094) and fluidly coupled to with a vacuum source (0095).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Pherson teaches the port being adhered and/or mechanically secured to the skin (0089, 0121), thereby teach the port integrally formed or coupled by a compression seal as claimed.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Pherson teaches the core material may comprise fiberglass, fumed silica, aerogels (0084) as well as can be an open cell foam (0086).
Regarding claim 7, Pherson teaches the that the core is provided with sufficient structural properties to resist a vacuum load within the pocket (0098), thus the core would be configured to compress by no more than 50% (e.g., 0%) when subject to a total vacuum within the shell as claimed.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Pherson teaches that the edges of the skin are thermoformed such that they are joined together to encapsulate the core and form a hermetic seal (0087; instant sealing layer). The panel further may include an envelope formed of a metallic foil or sheet (0088) and the skins may include a protective out layer (0118).
Regarding claim 10, Pherson teaches that the core may include rigid tubes filled with filler material which decrease sensitivity to vacuum pressure and improve compressive and shear strength of the core (0103).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Pherson teaches that the core can handle a internal pressure in the core of less than 1 mbar (0122; about 750 mTorr) thus handling a pressure differential between the interior and the exterior (e.g., atmospheric pressure) which exceeds the claimed under 100 mTorr in claim 11 and under 10 mTorr in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Pherson teaches the protective layer including an infrared reflective layer (0118; instant opacifier).
Regarding claim 15, Pherson discloses use of a vacuum pump to draw a vacuum on the port (0121).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pherson.
Regarding claim 14, Pherson does not expressly disclose the length and width of the skins of the VIP. However, as the present specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been an obvious modification to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the length and width based on routine experimentation, for the purpose of optimizing operation of said VIP. Said obvious modifications including, selecting a thickness required for a given end use including those lengths and widths of at least 500 mm. Such modifications would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a components. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2D 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is no patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to vary the skin length and width including over the range presently claimed to create a VIP with a thickness required for a given end use.
Contact Information
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781