DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/502,934 on June 30, 2026. Please note Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10-12, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawakami et al. ( US 2024/0258760 A1 ).
Kawakami teaches in Claim 1:
A method ( [0001] discloses an optical amplifier system and associated method ) comprising:
identifying a first range of signal wavelengths that correspond to a first optical signal configured to propagate via an optical fiber ( Figures 1 and 3, [0045] disclose optical transmitters which output a signal light(s) with a wavelength. Figure 11, etc, show a range of values for the wavelengths );
adjusting a pumping signal such that a range of pumping wavelengths and a range of dispersion wavelengths that correspond to the pumping signal do not overlap with the first range of signal wavelengths ( Figures 1 and 3, [0046]-[0047] disclose a pump light source 21 having a wide spectrum width. Figure 11, [0009 disclose a pump light wavelength(s) being based on, or related to, the zero dispersion wavelength. Figures 2 and 4, [0016] disclose the pump light wavelengths being suppressed at certain cut-offs and these relate to the zero-dispersion wavelengths. [0038] disclose the range of the wavelengths that need to be cut off. Furthermore, Figures 2 and 11 show the non-overlapping of these two aspects. As noted above, [0038] disclose the range of wavelengths that need to be cut-off to suppress the signal quality degradation due to the noise transfer and this is why the non-overlapping aspect is important ),
generating the pumping signal; and providing the pumping signal to the optical fiber having the first optical signal propagating thereon. ( Figures 1 and 3, [0046] disclose a multiplexer for combining the pump light and the signal light and outputting to optical transmission line 50 )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, wherein the range of pumping wavelengths is further based on the range of dispersion wavelengths not overlapping a second range of signal wavelengths that correspond to a second optical signal configured to propagate via the optical fiber. ( Figures 3 and 4, [0057] disclose a second optical transmitter 40-2 in addition to first optical transmitter 40-1. Figure 4 shows the second cut-off values for this transmitter such that the pump wavelengths also do not overlap )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 4:
The method of claim 1, wherein the range of dispersion wavelengths corresponds to a relationship between the range of pumping wavelengths and a zero-dispersion wavelength that corresponds to the optical fiber. ( Figure 4, [0057] disclose aspects of the range of pumping wavelengths and how they relate to the dispersion wavelengths. Furthermore, Figure 11, [0009] disclose details on the zero-dispersion wavelength as well )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 7:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the range of pumping wavelengths is on a first side of a zero-dispersion wavelength that corresponds to the optical fiber; and the first range of signal wavelengths is on a second side of the zero-dispersion wavelength. ( Figures 11 and 12 show the pump light wavelengths on one side and the signal light wavelengths on the other side. However, this is not meant to be limiting and can be designed in various ways, while maintaining the distance between the pump light wavelengths and the signal light wavelengths )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 10:
The method of claim 1, wherein the range of dispersion wavelengths corresponds to a group velocity dispersion of the range of pumping wavelengths. ( Figure 11, [0008], [0036], [0038] disclose the group velocity of the pump light corresponds to the zero dispersion wavelength )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 11:
An optical pumping system ( [0001] discloses an optical amplifier system and associated method ) comprising:
a pumping laser configured to generate and adjust a pumping signal having a range of pumping wavelengths and a range of dispersion wavelengths such that the range of pumping wavelengths and the range of dispersion wavelengths do not overlap ( Figures 1 and 3, [0046]-[0047] disclose a pump light source 21 having a wide spectrum width ),
the range of pumping wavelengths being based on a range of dispersion wavelengths that correspond to the range of pumping wavelengths and a range of dispersion wavelengths such that the range of pumping wavelengths and the range of dispersion wavelengths do not overlap ( Figures 1 and 3, [0046]-[0047] disclose a pump light source 21 having a wide spectrum width. Figure 11, [0009 disclose a pump light wavelength(s) being based on, or related to, the zero dispersion wavelength. Figures 2 and 4, [0016] disclose the pump light wavelengths being suppressed at certain cut-offs and these relate to the zero-dispersion wavelengths. [0038] disclose the range of the wavelengths that need to be cut off. Furthermore, Figures 2 and 11 show the non-overlapping of these two aspects. As noted above, [0038] disclose the range of wavelengths that need to be cut-off to suppress the signal quality degradation due to the noise transfer and this is why the non-overlapping aspect is important ),
with a first range of signal wavelengths that correspond to a first optical signal configured to propagate via an optical fiber ( Figures 1 and 3, [0045] disclose optical transmitters which output a signal light(s) with a wavelength (read as a first range of signal wavelengths). Figure 11, etc, show a range of values for the wavelengths. Figures 2 and 11 show the non-overlapping of these two aspects. As noted above, [0038] disclose the range of wavelengths that need to be cut-off to suppress the signal quality degradation due to the noise transfer and this is why the non-overlapping aspect is important ); and
an optical coupler configured to cause the pumping signal to propagate through the optical fiber. ( Figures 1 and 3, [0046] disclose a multiplexer for combining the pump light and the signal light and outputting to optical transmission line 50 )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 12:
The optical pumping system of claim 11, wherein the range of pumping wavelengths is further based on the range of dispersion wavelengths not overlapping a second range of signal wavelengths that correspond to a second optical signal configured to propagate via the optical fiber. ( Figures 3 and 4, [0057] disclose a second optical transmitter 40-2 in addition to first optical transmitter 40-1. Figure 4 shows the second cut-off values for this transmitter such that the pump wavelengths also do not overlap )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 14:
The optical pumping system of claim 11, wherein the range of dispersion wavelengths corresponds to a relationship between the range of pumping wavelengths and a zero-dispersion wavelength that corresponds to the optical fiber. ( Figure 4, [0057] disclose aspects of the range of pumping wavelengths and how they relate to the dispersion wavelengths. Furthermore, Figure 11, [0009] disclose details on the zero-dispersion wavelength as well )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 17:
The optical pumping system of claim 11, wherein:
the range of pumping wavelengths is on a first side of a zero-dispersion wavelength that corresponds to the optical fiber; and the first range of signal wavelengths is on a second side of the zero-dispersion wavelength. ( Figures 11 and 12 show the pump light wavelengths on one side and the signal light wavelengths on the other side. However, this is not meant to be limiting and can be designed in various ways, while maintaining the distance between the pump light wavelengths and the signal light wavelengths )
Kawakami teaches in Claim 20:
The optical pumping system of claim 11, wherein the range of dispersion wavelengths is generated from a group velocity dispersion of the range of pumping wavelengths. ( Figure 11, [0008], [0036], [0038] disclose the group velocity of the pump light corresponds to the zero dispersion wavelength )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 3, 8, 9, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. ( US 2024/0258760 A1 ), as applied to Claim 2, further in view of Nakagawa et al. ( US 2023/0142798 A1 ).
As per Claim 3:
Kawakami does not explicitly teach wherein “the first range of signal wavelengths corresponds to the L-band of optical transmission bands; and the second range of signal wavelengths corresponds to the C-band of optical transmission bands.”
However, such types of bands are well known in the art. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, pumping light wavelengths, Nakagawa teaches of an akin signal light, ( Nakagawa, Figure 6A, [0067] ). Notably, for the signal line, there are C and L bands of wavelengths. As combined with Kawakami, who teaches of two optical transmitters outputting two different bands already, the specific C and L bands are incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the two types of signal light bands, as taught by Nakagawa, with the motivation that by having the two bands, gain tilt variation can be reduced, resulting in a decrease in lump loss of the optical transmission line, ( Nakagawa, [0045]-[0046] ). Furthermore, C and L bands are well known in the art.
As per Claim 8:
Kawakami does not explicitly teach “wherein the first range of signal wavelengths corresponds to the L-band of optical transmission bands.”
However, such types of bands are well known in the art. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, pumping light wavelengths, Nakagawa teaches of an akin signal light, ( Nakagawa, Figure 6A, [0067] ). Notably, for the signal line, there are C and L bands of wavelengths. As it is for the signal line, the signal light of Kawakami could be an L band. As combined with Kawakami, who teaches of two optical transmitters outputting two different bands already, the specific L band is incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the two types of signal light bands, as taught by Nakagawa, with the motivation that by having the two bands, gain tilt variation can be reduced, resulting in a decrease in lump loss of the optical transmission line, ( Nakagawa, [0045]-[0046] ). Furthermore, C and L bands are well known in the art.
As per Claim 9:
Kawakami does not explicitly teach “wherein the first range of signal wavelengths corresponds to the C-band of optical transmission bands.”
However, such types of bands are well known in the art. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, pumping light wavelengths, Nakagawa teaches of an akin signal light, ( Nakagawa, Figure 6A, [0067] ). Notably, for the signal line, there are C and L bands of wavelengths. As it is for the signal line, the signal light of Kawakami could be a C band. As combined with Kawakami, who teaches of two optical transmitters outputting two different bands already, the specific C band is incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the two types of signal light bands, as taught by Nakagawa, with the motivation that by having the two bands, gain tilt variation can be reduced, resulting in a decrease in lump loss of the optical transmission line, ( Nakagawa, [0045]-[0046] ). Furthermore, C and L bands are well known in the art.
As per Claim 13:
Kawakami does not explicitly teach wherein “the first range of signal wavelengths corresponds to the L-band of optical transmission bands; and the second range of signal wavelengths corresponds to the C-band of optical transmission bands.”
However, such types of bands are well known in the art. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, pumping light wavelengths, Nakagawa teaches of an akin signal light, ( Nakagawa, Figure 6A, [0067] ). Notably, for the signal line, there are C and L bands of wavelengths. As combined with Kawakami, who teaches of two optical transmitters outputting two different bands already, the specific C and L bands are incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the two types of signal light bands, as taught by Nakagawa, with the motivation that by having the two bands, gain tilt variation can be reduced, resulting in a decrease in lump loss of the optical transmission line, ( Nakagawa, [0045]-[0046] ). Furthermore, C and L bands are well known in the art.
As per Claim 18:
Kawakami does not explicitly teach “wherein the first range of signal wavelengths corresponds to the L-band of optical transmission bands.”
However, such types of bands are well known in the art. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, pumping light wavelengths, Nakagawa teaches of an akin signal light, ( Nakagawa, Figure 6A, [0067] ). Notably, for the signal line, there are C and L bands of wavelengths. As it is for the signal line, the signal light of Kawakami could be an L band. As combined with Kawakami, who teaches of two optical transmitters outputting two different bands already, the specific L band is incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the two types of signal light bands, as taught by Nakagawa, with the motivation that by having the two bands, gain tilt variation can be reduced, resulting in a decrease in lump loss of the optical transmission line, ( Nakagawa, [0045]-[0046] ). Furthermore, C and L bands are well known in the art.
As per Claim 19:
Kawakami does not explicitly teach “wherein the first range of signal wavelengths corresponds to the C-band of optical transmission bands.”
However, such types of bands are well known in the art. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, pumping light wavelengths, Nakagawa teaches of an akin signal light, ( Nakagawa, Figure 6A, [0067] ). Notably, for the signal line, there are C and L bands of wavelengths. As it is for the signal line, the signal light of Kawakami could be a C band. As combined with Kawakami, who teaches of two optical transmitters outputting two different bands already, the specific C band is incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the two types of signal light bands, as taught by Nakagawa, with the motivation that by having the two bands, gain tilt variation can be reduced, resulting in a decrease in lump loss of the optical transmission line, ( Nakagawa, [0045]-[0046] ). Furthermore, C and L bands are well known in the art.
8. Claims 5, 6, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. ( US 2024/0258760 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Sridhar et al. ( US 10,263,386 B1 ).
As per Claim 5:
Kawakami does not explicitly teach “wherein a previous range of pumping wavelengths is modified to obtain the range of pumping wavelengths based on a previous range of dispersion wavelengths that correspond to the previous range of pumping wavelengths overlapping the first range of signal wavelengths.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, zero dispersion wavelengths, Sridhar teaches the fiber zero dispersion location 22 can be changed, ( Sridhar, Column 6, Lines 19-25 ). Notably, the location can be changed based on temperature changes, resulting in a previous range of wavelengths relative to the zero dispersion location being changed accordingly (from a previous to a new range). As combined with Kawakami, the zero dispersion wavelength (which can be modified in Kawakami and this then impacts the other pumping wavelengths) can be modified from a previous to a new value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the zero dispersion location being changed, as taught by Sridhar, with the motivation that this can be compensate for temperature differences, resulting in a more stable amplification/sizing, ( Sridhar, Column 6, Lines 19-25 ).
Sridhar teaches in Claim 6:
The method of claim 5, wherein the previous range of pumping wavelengths is modified to obtain the range of pumping wavelengths by modifying a temperature of a laser used to generate the pumping signal. ( Column 6, Lines 19-25 disclose temperature differences which result in the location of the fiber zero dispersion being changed )
As per Claim 15:
Kawakami does not explicitly teach “wherein a previous range of pumping wavelengths is modified to obtain the range of pumping wavelengths based on a previous range of dispersion wavelengths that correspond to the previous range of pumping wavelengths overlapping the first range of signal wavelengths.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, zero dispersion wavelengths, Sridhar teaches the fiber zero dispersion location 22 can be changed, ( Sridhar, Column 6, Lines 19-25 ). Notably, the location can be changed based on temperature changes, resulting in a previous range of wavelengths relative to the zero dispersion location being changed accordingly (from a previous to a new range). As combined with Kawakami, the zero dispersion wavelength (which can be modified in Kawakami and this then impacts the other pumping wavelengths) can be modified from a previous to a new value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the zero dispersion location being changed, as taught by Sridhar, with the motivation that this can be compensate for temperature differences, resulting in a more stable amplification/sizing, ( Sridhar, Column 6, Lines 19-25 ).
Kawakami teaches in Claim 16:
The optical pumping system of claim 15, wherein the previous range of pumping wavelengths is modified to obtain the range of pumping wavelengths by modifying a temperature of a laser used to generate the pumping signal. ( Column 6, Lines 19-25 disclose temperature differences which result in the location of the fiber zero dispersion being changed )
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments. However, Examiner does not feel there are substantive changes the claims and maintains the previous grounds of rejection.
Kawakami teaches in Figure 12 of prior art conditions in which the pump light and signal light are within a certain range and it also overlaps the potential zero dispersion wavelength. The overlap, in addition to it being on opposite sides of the dispersion wavelength lead to issues, as noted in [0014]. Kawakami seeks to mitigate this by implementing Figure 11, etc, in which these aspects do not overlap with the zero dispersion wavelength and is also on one side of it. Furthermore, it is clear that the range is generated/adjusted such that it does not overlap, i.e. the range of dispersion wavelengths and the interpreted first range of signal wavelengths.
Kawakami further alludes to cut-off light bands/ranges which also suggest Kawakami is concerned with potential overlap and seeks to avoid this.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621