DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses. Note claim 4.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “vibration means” and “holding means” in claims 7-11. Claims 7-11 further define the vibration means to include sufficient structure to entirely perform the recited function. Claims 7-11 introduce the holding means with sufficient structure to entirely perform the recited function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “section-type vibration plates”. It is not clear what the addition of the word “-type” is intended to convey. Note MPEP 2173.05(b)(III)(E).
Claims 7-11 each recite “two or more inserts”. The disclosure discusses inserts 42 formed to penetrate the vibration frame 20 and the figures appear to show openings 53 in the frame. It is not clear what is encompassed by the term “insert” as the inserts shown appear only to be openings whereas the term insert would normally describe an element or component that is inserted into another element or component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US# 2024/0156205).
Lee et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a vibration module 600 equipped with section-type vibration plates 620 using magnetic force, the vibration module comprising: a case 610 configured such that top and bottom housings are coupled to each other to form an accommodation portion therein; a vibration frame interposed between the top and bottom housings of the case; a first vibration plate 620 configured such that one end thereof is disposed in the accommodation portion of the case and a remaining end thereof is connected to the vibration frame; a second vibration plate 620 configured such that one end thereof is placed in the accommodation portion of the case and a remaining end thereof is connected to the vibration frame, disposed in parallel with the first vibration plate, and provided with a structure facing the first vibration plate; and a vibration means 611/612/621/622 configured to vibrate the first and second vibration plates up and down by means of magnetic force [0075]. Note the annotated figures below.
Regarding claim 2, each of the first and second vibration plates comprises: a support connected to the vibration frame; a pair of branches branched off from an end of the support; and a pair of disks formed at ends of the respective branches.
Regarding claim 3, each of the branches is formed in a multi-bending structure in which a bending direction is changed more than n times (where n is an integer of two or more). See the figure above.
Regarding claim 4, each of the disks has a circular shape when viewed from a top.
Regarding claim 5, a U-shaped recess recessed inward is formed in a connection portion between each of the branches and a corresponding one of the disks.
Regarding claim 6, a pair of U-shaped neck depressions recessed in opposite directions are formed in a connection portion between the vibration frame and the support of each of the first and second vibration plates.
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2021-0014550.
KR ‘550 discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a vibration module equipped with section-type vibration plates using magnetic force, the vibration module comprising: a case configured such that top and bottom housings are coupled to each other to form an accommodation portion therein; a vibration frame interposed between the top and bottom housings of the case; a first vibration plate configured such that one end thereof is disposed in the accommodation portion of the case and a remaining end thereof is connected to the vibration frame; a second vibration plate configured such that one end thereof is placed in the accommodation portion of the case and a remaining end thereof is connected to the vibration frame, disposed in parallel with the first vibration plate, and provided with a structure facing the first vibration plate; and a vibration means configured to vibrate the first and second vibration plates up and down by means of magnetic force. Note the annotated figures below.
Regarding claim 2, each of the first and second vibration plates comprises: a support connected to the vibration frame; a pair of branches branched off from an end of the support; and a pair of disks formed at ends of the respective branches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US# 2024/0156205) in view of KR 10-2345807.
Lee et al further discloses four floating magnets provided on the respective disks of the first and second vibration plates; four top magnets 611 provided on the top housing of the case 610 and configured to generate repulsive force for the respective floating magnets; and four bottom magnets 612 provided on the bottom housing of the case 610 and configured to generate repulsive force for the respective floating magnets; and the vibration module further comprises a holding means for fixing the vibration frame to the case. Lee et al lack the specific details of the holding means comprising: a space formed to be depressed into an end of one of the top and bottom housings in the case and configured such that the vibration frame is inserted and seated therein; two or more posts formed to protrude from a bottom of the space; and two or more inserts formed to penetrate the vibration frame and fitted into the respective posts. KR 10-2345807 disclose a similar device and further teach a holding means comprising: a space formed to be depressed 223 into an end of one of a top and bottom 220 housings in the case and configured such that a vibration frame is inserted and seated therein; two or more posts 222’ formed to protrude from a bottom of the space; and two or more inserts 232/232’ formed to penetrate the vibration frame and fitted into the respective posts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holding means taught by KR ‘807 in the device of Lee et al to provide a secure mounting for the vibration frame, thereby ensuring durability of the device.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2021-0014550 in view of KR 10-2345807.
KR ‘550 further discloses four floating magnets provided on the respective disks of the first and second vibration plates; four top magnets 31 provided on the top housing of the case 42 and configured to generate repulsive force for the respective floating magnets; and four bottom magnets 32 provided on the bottom housing of the case 41 and configured to generate repulsive force for the respective floating magnets; and the vibration module further comprises a holding means for fixing the vibration frame to the case. KR ‘550 lack the specific details of the holding means comprising: a space formed to be depressed into an end of one of the top and bottom housings in the case and configured such that the vibration frame is inserted and seated therein; two or more posts formed to protrude from a bottom of the space; and two or more inserts formed to penetrate the vibration frame and fitted into the respective posts. KR 10-2345807 disclose a similar device and further teach a holding means comprising: a space formed to be depressed 223 into an end of one of a top and bottom 220 housings in the case and configured such that a vibration frame is inserted and seated therein; two or more posts 222’ formed to protrude from a bottom of the space; and two or more inserts 232/232’ formed to penetrate the vibration frame and fitted into the respective posts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holding means taught by KR ‘807 in the device of KR ‘550 to provide a secure mounting for the vibration frame, thereby ensuring durability of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK