DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isaacs et al. (US 2023/0067845 A1; hereinafter “Isaacs”).
Regarding claim 1, Isaacs teaches an information handling resource comprising: a circuit board (a printed circuit board PCB 110/200) comprising an electrically-conductive pad (mounting pads 204/408/508) (Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 21-31); a circuit package (a quad flat no-lead QFN 130) comprising an electrically-conductive pin (mounting pads of 130) (Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 21-31); and reflowed solder (a solder paste after a soldering/reflowing process) electrically coupling the electrically-conductive pad to the electrically-conductive pin, the reflowed solder having embedded therein at least one bead (standoff particles 302/402/502/602) configured to provide mechanical standoff between the pad and the pin (Figs. 3-6 and 8 and paragraphs 17-31 and 34).
Regarding claim 2, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead has a melting temperature higher than that of the reflowed solder (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 3, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead is made of copper (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 6, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead is spherical in shape (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 7, Isaacs teaches wherein the circuit package is a bottom-terminated component (paragraphs 19-21).
Regarding claim 8, Isaacs teaches an information handling system comprising: a processor (a processor 115) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 21); and an information handling resource comprising: a circuit board (a printed circuit board PCB 110/200) comprising an electrically-conductive pad (mounting pads 204/408/508) (Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 21-31); a circuit package (a quad flat no-lead QFN 130) comprising an electrically-conductive pin (mounting pads of 130) (Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 21-31); and reflowed solder (a solder paste after a soldering/reflowing process) electrically coupling the electrically-conductive pad to the electrically-conductive pin, the reflowed solder having embedded therein at least one bead (standoff particles 302/402/502/602) configured to provide mechanical standoff between the pad and the pin (Figs. 3-6 and 8 and paragraphs 17-31 and 34).
Regarding claim 9, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead has a melting temperature higher than that of the reflowed solder (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 10, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead is made of copper (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 13, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead is spherical in shape (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 14, Isaacs teaches wherein the circuit package is a bottom-terminated component (paragraphs 19-21).
Regarding claim 15, Isaacs teaches a method comprising: placing solder (a solder paste prior to a soldering/reflowing process) on an electrically-conductive pad (mounting pads 204/408/508) of a circuit board (a printed circuit board PCB 110/200), the solder having embedded therein at least one bead (standoff particles 302/402/502/602) (Figs. 3-6 and 8 and paragraphs 17-31 and 34); aligning (aligning as shown in Figs. 4-6) an electrically-conductive pin (mounting pads of 130) of a circuit package (a quad flat no-lead QFN 130) with the solder and the pad; and applying heat (the soldering/reflowing process) to the solder to create reflowed solder (the solder paste after the soldering/reflowing process) to electrically couple the electrically-conductive pad to the electrically-conductive pin such that the at least one bead provides mechanical standoff between the electrically-conductive pad and the electrically-conductive pin (Figs. 3-6 and 8 and paragraphs 17-31 and 34).
Regarding claim 16, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead has a melting temperature higher than that of the reflowed solder (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 17, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead is made of copper (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 20, Isaacs teaches wherein the at least one bead is spherical in shape (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 21, Isaacs teaches wherein the circuit package is a bottom-terminated component (paragraphs 19-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaacs.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Isaacs teaches that the at least one bead is made of various materials such as copper for not melting during the solder reflowing process to preventing solder collapsing, etc. (paragraphs 17 and 25). While Isaacs does not also teach a material choice copper-plated polymer for the at least one bead, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize various materials, including the claimed copper-plated polymer, for forming the bead (the standoff particles) from Isaacs in order to provide the standoff particles with similar characteristics such as not melting during the solder reflowing process to preventing solder collapsing.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Isaacs teaches that a physical dimension of the at least one bead (a particle size or a diameter of the standoff particles) is application specific such as based on what types of components are being mounted to the PCB and provides an example that the diameter of the standoff particle is 4 mil (paragraphs 26-28). Then, while Isaacs does not explicitly teach the dimension of the bead to be between approximately 2 mils and approximately 3 mils as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the particle size or the diameter of the bead, including the claimed range between approximately 2 mils and approximately 3 mils, as a routine skill in the art for obtaining the optimal size of the solder paste containing the standoff particles based on the application specific as discussed in Isaacs. Furthermore, it has held that discovering an optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893