DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and under consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are the “holder parts” in claim 1, where “holder” is the function and “part” is the generic place holder. Further, limitations of “distal”, “proximal” or the holder parts being connected to other elements do not provide structure to said “parts” as they instead define their location.
The holder parts are interpreted as a short tube, as described in paragraphs 18 and 19 of Applicant’s invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hickmott et al. (US 2020/0345977 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hickmott teaches an intermittent urinary catheter assembly (Fig. 1; Abstract) comprising:
a catheter having a proximal insertion end (insertion end 3) and a distal end opposite to the proximal insertion end (distal end at outlet 4), the catheter having a lumen extending from a drainage opening at or near the proximal insertion end to a discharge opening at or near the distal end (Fig. 1 shows an inner lumen between eyelets 6 and outlet 4; also see ¶ 27); and
a protective sleeve arrangement (sleeve 7) having a proximal holder part (handle 8) and a distal holder part (connector 9) and a compactable sleeve connected to the proximal holder part and the distal holder part (sleeve 7), the sleeve having a compacted storage configuration and being expandable into an expanded configuration (¶s 2 and 21 describe how the sleeve is slidable and extendable into an extended configuration),
wherein the distal holder part is connected to the catheter at the distal end (best seen in Fig. 1) and the proximal holder part and the distal holder part are releasably connected to each other (Fig. 6 shows how they connect to one another via snap fit; ¶ 69).
Regarding claim 2, Hickmott further discloses that the distal holder part and proximal holder parts are made of a more rigid material than the sleeve (¶s 43 and 54 describe the connector 8 and handle 9 as rigid while ¶s 2 and 44 describe the sleeve as flexible).
Regarding claim 3, Hickmott further discloses that the sleeve is made of a flexible, collapsible material (¶s 2 and 44 describe the sleeve as collapsible, slidable, and flexible).
Regarding claim 4, Hickmott further discloses that the proximal holder part and distal holder part both have a greater wall thickness than the sleeve (Fig. 1 shows how the sleeve 7 is substantially thinner than either handle 8 or connector 9).
Regarding claim 5, Hickmott further discloses that the catheter comprises a funnel integrated with the distal end of the catheter shaft (drainage structure 30; page 6, left column under Claim 2 also recites the drain being funnel-shaped), said funnel defining a discharge opening (Fig. 14 shows how said drainage structure defines an opening), wherein the distal holder part is connected to the funnel (Fig. 14 also shows distal drainage part 30 is connected to connector 9).
Regarding claim 6, Hickmott further discloses that the compactable sleeve is extendable towards the proximal insertion end (¶s 2, 21-22 describe how the sleeve is extendable), and wherein the compact bull sleeve, in its expanded configuration, is arranged to cover more than 50% of the length of the catheter shaft (Figs. 1-3 show sleeve 7 covering a majority of the catheter shaft; ¶ 77).
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of the compactable sleeve is “extendable to a length between L-5 to L+5, where L is a length of the catheter shaft” is considered functional language. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2112.02. Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited the claim, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the device of Hickmott has all the structure of the device as claimed. As such, it is capable of performing the functions as claimed (i.e. the sleeve would be expected to be extendable to a length as claimed).
Regarding claim 10, Hickmott further discloses that the distal holder part is connected to the catheter by a snap lock attachment (¶s 39-40 describe how the connector and handle have snap fitting means, which would also allow the distal connector 9 to connect to the proximal end of the catheter via proximal holder 8).
Regarding claim 11, Hickmott further discloses that the distal holder part and the proximal holder part are connected to each other by a snap lock (¶s 39-40 and 69 describe how the holder and connector having complementary snap fit means).
Regarding claim 12, Hickmott further discloses that the proximal holder part comprises a protruding part extending radially outward (Fig. 9 shows how proximal handle 8 comprises outer material 18 which protrudes and extends radially outward; also see snap fit means 11 in Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 13, Hickmott further discloses that the protruding part is a flange extending radially outwardly (outer material 18 is interpreted as a flange; also see snap fit means 11 in Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 14, Hickmott further discloses that the protruding part is arranged at a proximal end of the proximal holder part (Figs. 9 and 10 show how the protruding part is on the proximal end; also see snap fit means 11 in Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 15, Hickmott further discloses that the proximal holder part is arranged to be inserted into the distal holder part (Figs. 6-8 show how snap fit means is intended to be inserted into connector 9; ¶ 69).
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of the compactable sleeve “in the compacted storage configuration, is primarily arranged over the proximal holder part” is considered functional language. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2112.02. Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited the claim, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the device of Hickmott has all the structure of the device as claimed. As such, it is capable of performing the functions as claimed (i.e. the sleeve would be expected to be capable of being primarily arranged over the proximal holder part when in a compacted storage configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Hickmott further discloses that the compactable sleeve is arranged outside the proximal and distal holder parts (Fig. 1 shows how the sleeve is attached to the ends of holder 8 and connector 9, and thus is outside said elements, and would continue to be when in a compacted storage configuration).
Regarding claim 19, Hickmott further discloses an outer sleeve arranged outside the compactable sleeve (storage packet 22; said storage pack would be usable even when the sleeve is in the compacted storage configuration).
Regarding claim 20, Hickmott further discloses that the catheter shaft of the catheter is provided with a hydrophilic outer surface (¶s 2 and 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hickmott, as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 7, Hickmott does not explicitly teach that the compactable sleeve, in its expanded configuration, is arranged to cover more than 90% of the length of the catheter shaft.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Hickmott to have the compactable sleeve, in its expanded configuration, be arranged to cover more than 90% the length of the catheter shaft, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hickmott would not operate differently with the claimed coverage (Figs. 1-3 appear to show the sleeve covering a large majority of the catheter length). Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed (¶ 23 of Applicant’s specification only indicates these ranges as preferable).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hickmott, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 17, Hickmott does not explicitly disclose that the proximal holder part has an axial length greater than the distal holder part.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Hickmott to have the proximal holder part has an excellent greater than the distal holder part, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Hickmott would not operate differently with the claimed lengths. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed (¶s 35-36 of Applicant specification indicates that either holder part may be longer than the other).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hickmott, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matthison-Hansen (US 2008/0208314 A1), hereinafter Matthison.
Regarding claim 8, Hickmott does not explicitly teach that the compactable sleeve is folded in the compacted storage configuration, with concertina or accordion fold, to form an accordion or concertina pleated configuration.
However, Matthison teaches a sleeved urinary catheter (Fig. 1; Abstract), thus being in the same field of endeavor, comprising a compactable sleeve with a concertina fold to form a concertina pleated configuration (Fig. 3 shows the compacted, pleated configuration; Fig. 4 shows the expanded configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sleeve of Hickmott to comprise the concertina fold configuration of Matthison. Doing so would be advantageous in allowing for sleeve materials without particular demands for flexibility (¶ 22 of Matthison).
Conclusion
/ALESSANDRO R DEL PRIORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/GUY K TOWNSEND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781