DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 06 November 2023 and is the continuation of several applications, earliest is 01 July 2019. The Applicant claims priority to provisional application 62/693,503 filed 03 July 2018 and 62/693,502 filed 03 July 2018. The effective filing date of the instant application is 03 July 2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gjorstrup (WO 2014/134184 A1) and Lichter et al. (US 2010/0004225 A1).
Gjorstrup teaches compositions and methods for treating ototoxicity (entire teaching; abs) that may comprise sodium thiosulfate (para. 147), tromethamine (other name: tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane, pg. 5 of instant specification) (para. 179), preservatives (para. 175), and sodium hydroxide as a pH adjuster (para. 155), addressing claims 3 and 4 and partially addressing claim 1. The compounds in the composition may be in their anhydrous form (para. 100) and as aqueous solutions (para. 166), addressing claim 2. The compounds in the composition may be in an amount of about 0.0001 to 100 mg, 0.0001 micrograms to 10 mg, etc. (para. 157).
Gjorstrup does not specifically teach a concentration for the tris buffer in claims 1 and 5-12. Gjorstrup also does not specifically teach a concentration of sodium thiosulfate or a pH range in claim 1.
Lichter teaches compositions and methods for treating otic diseases and conditions (entire teaching; abs). The composition may include sodium thiosulfate (para. 213), tromethamine (para. 385), and sodium hydroxide (para. 418, 419). To treat the perilymph, the pH of the formulation, with the use of buffers, should be around 5.5 to 9.0 (para. 21), addressing the pH range in claim 1. The amount of buffer may be in an amount of 10 Micromolar to about 200 Millimolar (para. 292), addressing the concentrations in claims 1 and 5-12.
In regards to selecting the combination of sodium thiosulfate, tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane, preservatives, and sodium hydroxide, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various
combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
In regards to the concentration of sodium thiosulfate in claim 1, Gjorstrup teaches that the compounds in the composition may be in an amount of about 0.0001 to 100 mg, 0.0001 micrograms to 10 mg, etc. (para. 157). That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the concentration can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully making the sodium thiosulfate composition. The optimum or workable range of concentration can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of sodium thiosulfate as nonobvious.
Since Gjorstrup does not specifically teach a concentration for the tris buffer in claims 1 and 5-12, a concentration of sodium thiosulfate or a pH range in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Lichter’s teaching of a pH range of 5.5 to 9.0 and an amount of buffer of 10 Micromolar to about 200 Millimolar. A skilled artisan would have been led to use both teachings since Gjorstrup and Lichter teach methods of treating otic conditions, such as ototoxicity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 18/111,849 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising anhydrous sodium thiosulfate (claims 1, 2, 13), a buffer (claims 5-11, 14-25), and a sodium hydroxide base (claims 3 and 4). The claims include concentrations of sodium thiosulfate (claims 12 and 26). The reference claims do not specify the tris buffer, but one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to use any buffer that would achieve a pH of 6.5-8.9 (specification, pg. 7). All of the claims correspond to instant claims 1-12.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/503,027 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising anhydrous sodium thiosulfate (claims 1 and 2), a buffer (claims 5-12), and a sodium hydroxide base (claims 3 and 4). The claims include concentrations of sodium thiosulfate and the buffer (claims 1, 5-12). The reference claims do not specify the tris buffer, but one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to use any buffer that would achieve a pH of 6.5-8.9 (specification, pg. 5). All of the claims correspond to instant claims 1-12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613