DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 62-65, drawn to a composition comprising SEQ ID NO:1 in certain dosing regimens for the treatment in a human subject in the reply filed on 03/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 66-81 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/19/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 62-81 are pending. Claims 66-81 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 62-65 are under examination.
Priority
This application claims priority to PRO 63/490,491 filed on 03/15/2023, PRO 63/490,465 filed on 03/15/2023, and PRO 63/422,983 filed on 11/05/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2024 and 02/17/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement including foreign patent document filed 03/06/2024 (Number of pages 17) fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because a copy of translated abstract of CN’617, JP’598, JP’364, JP’419, JP’431, JP’554, JP’037, KR’278, KR’164, and KR’051 have not been provided. The information disclosure statement requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 62-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022125598 (published 06/16/2022, on IDS filed 03/06/2024) in view of US20210290732 (on IDS filed 03/06/2024).
WO’598 discloses SEQ ID NO: 1 (see EU-A1873 of Table 1; also known as ALT-801 or pemvidutide) has the following amino acid sequence: 1His-2Aib-3Gln-4Gly-5Thr-6Phe-7Thr-8Ser-9Asp-10Tyr-11Ser-12Lys-13Tyr-14Leu-15Asp-16Glu*- 17Lys#-18Ala-19Ala-20Lys*-21Glu-22Phe-23Ile-24Gln-25Trp-26Leu-27Leu-28Gln-29Thr-NH2, where * indicates a lactam bridge is formed between Glu16 and Lys 20, and 17Lys# indicates the attachment site for glucuronic acid C-18* (see [0031], page 7).
SEQ ID NO: 1 disclosed by WO’598 is the same as instant peptide SEQ ID NO: 1. One preferred embodiment of WO’598 is the dual agonist peptide is SEQ ID NO: 1. Another embodiment of WO’598 is a pharmaceutical formulation of SEQ ID NO: 1 in an aqueous buffer solution, referred as ALT-801. The dual agonist peptide products, including SEQ ID NO: 1, comprise an amino acid side chain amide linkage (lactam bridge), and a side chain composed of a glucuronic acid linked to a fatty acid side chain. The side chain, a surfactant comprised of a hydrophilic saccharide group covalently attached to the peptide via a linker amino acid, and a hydrophobic alkyl chain portion (see [0033], page 9).
WO’598 teaches the pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprises about 0.025-0.075% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.2-0.5% (w/w) arginine, about 3-6% (w/w) mannitol in deionized water (pH 7.7 ± 0.1); optionally about 0.050% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.348% (w/w) arginine, about 4.260% (w/w) mannitol in deionized water (pH 7.7 ± 0.1) (claim 24). In certain embodiments of WO’598, the pharmaceutical formulation comprises SEQ ID NO: 1 and about 0.050% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.348% (w/w) arginine, about 4.260% (w/w) mannitol in deionized water (pH 7.7 ± 0.1) (see [0048], page 19).
WO’598 does not teach specifically about the formulation containing at 0.20% (w/w) polysorbate 20.
US’732 teaches in some embodiments, the dual agonist peptide can be formulated as a pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising about 0.025-0.15% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.2-0.5% (w/w) arginine, and about 3-6% (w/w) mannitol in deionized water (pH 7.7±1.0) (see [0056]).US’732 teaches formulation comprising about 0.025-0.15% (w/w) polysorbate 20, which overlaps with the presently claimed invention composition comprising about 0.20% (w/w) polysorbate 20. It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the concentrations of all the components including polysorbate 20 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the pharmaceutical composition of the instantly claimed invention.
MPEP 2144.05 states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or
workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ
233, 235 (CCPA 1955)."
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time
the invention was made to optimize the amount of each component. One would have
been motivated to do so in order to arrive at the pharmaceutical composition having same properties.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success since the prior art teaches a range that could guide the experimentation for the instantly claimed range of the various components of the formulation. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties”. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 62, US’732 teaches the pharmaceutical dosage formulation according to any preceding aspect, the formulation comprising about 0.025-0.15% (w/w) polysorbate 20 or polysorbate 80, about 0.2-0.5% (w/w) arginine, about 3-6% (w/w) mannitol in water (pH 7.7±1.0); optionally about 0.050% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.35% (w/w) arginine, about 4.3% (w/w) mannitol in water (pH 7.7±1.0) (see [0138]).
Regarding claims 63 and 65, WO’598 teaches a method of administration of ALT-801 (Pemvidutide) across the different dose groups (1.2 mg, 1.8 mg and 2.4 mg) (see Figure 2, [0016], page 4). WO’598 teaches about a pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising about 1.2 mg SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 27).
Regarding claim 64, WO’598 teaches about the therapeutic effective amount of the pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising SEQ ID NO: 1 is about 1.8 mg of SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 32).
Therefore, the presently claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Double Patenting
Claims 62-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12171806 in view of WO 2022125598 (on IDS filed 03/06/2024), and US20210290732 (on IDS filed 03/06/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8, and 9 of the US‘806 recite the same SEQ ID NO:1 and the overlapping range of components of the composition of the instantly claimed invention.
US‘806 claims therapeutic effective amount of a pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 1), wherein the pharmaceutical dosage is an aqueous formulation comprising one or more of polysorbate 20, arginine, or mannitol (claim 8). US’806 specifically claims the pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprises about 0.025-0.075% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.2-0.5% (w/w) arginine, about 3-6% (w/w) mannitol in deionized water (pH 7.7±0.1); optionally about 0.050% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.348% (w/w) arginine, about 4.260% (w/w) mannitol in deionized water (pH 7.7±0.1) (claim 9).
SEQ ID NO: 1 (EU-A1873 of Table 1; also known as ALT-801 or pemvidutide) claimed by US‘806 is the same amino acid sequence of the instantly claimed SEQ ID NO:1 present in the pharmaceutical composition.
The US‘806 differs from the instant claims in that they do not claim exact amount of SEQ ID NO:1 present in the composition from those recited in instant claims 63-65. The therapeutic effective amount of a pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising SEQ ID NO: 1 of claim 1 of US’806 is the same as instant peptide SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein as read in light of the specification where the administration of ALT-801 (also referred to herein as pemvidutide) at a dose of 1.2 mg, 1.8 mg and 2.4 mg (see col 3, line 67 – col 4 line 2; Figure 2; Table 10).
The US‘806 also differs from the instant claims in that they do not claim that the amount of polysorbate 20 in the pharmaceutical composition is 0.20% (w/w) from those recited in instant claim 1.
The teachings of WO’598 and US’732 are discussed above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the therapeutic effective amount of a pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising SEQ ID NO: 1 claimed by US’806 to substitute with dose of 1.2 mg, 1.8 mg and 2.4 mg, as disclosed by WO’598. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying pharmaceutical dosage formulations comprising an agonist peptide product (e.g., SEQ ID NO: 1) and about 0.025-0.15% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.2-0.5% (w/w) arginine, about 3-6% (w/w) mannitol in deionized water (pH 7.7 ± 0.1) (see [0138]) as taught by US’732 to an alternative dual agonist peptide formulation comprising polysorbate 20 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the pharmaceutical composition of the instantly claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of US’598 to effectively change the amount of polysorbate 20 ( 0.20% w/w)to achieve a pharmaceutical composition comprising SEQ ID NO:1.
Claims 62-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 17, 19, 41 and 67 of Application No. 18/467608.
Claims 62-65 of this application are patentably indistinct from claims 1, 6, 17, 19, 41 and 67 of co-pending Application No. 18/467608.
Claims 1, 6, 17, 19, 41and 67 of the co-pending application recite a method comprising administering pemvidutide once weekly in an amount from at least about 1.2 mg to about 2.4 mg (see claim 1); wherein the pemvidutide is administered once weekly in an amount of 2.4 mg (see claim 6); weekly dosing of about 1.8 mg pemvidutide (see claim 17).
The claims 1, 6, 17, 19, 41and 67 of the ‘608 application differ from the instantly claimed invention in that the ‘608 application includes method of reducing body weight in a human being with fatty liver disease.
As both sets of claims recite regarding composition of ALT-801 or pemvidutide, even though they are not exactly matching, they are overlapping in scope. Thus rendering one set of claims to be unpatentable.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 62-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 40, 42, 43, and 46 of Application No. 19/076984.
Claims 62-65 of this application are patentably indistinct from claims 3, 40, 42, 43, and 46 of co-pending Application No. 19/076984.
Claims 3, 40, 42, 43, and 46 of the co-pending application recite a method for treatment comprising, administering to the human being a once weekly therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising at least 1.2 mg and up to 2.4 mg of a peptide product according to SEQ ID NO: 1 or peptide product that is at least 80% identical to a peptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 (see claims 3 and 40); wherein the peptide product is at least 85%, at least 90%, at least 95%, at least 96%, at least 97%, at least 98% or at least 99% identical to a peptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 (see claim 42); wherein the peptide product is 100% identical to a peptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 (see claim 43); and wherein the pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprises about 0.025-0.5% (w/w) polysorbate 20, about 0.2-0.5% (w/w) arginine, and about 3-6% (w/w) mannitol in water (pH 7.7 ± 0.1) (see claim 46).
The claims 3, 40, 42, 43, and 46 of the ‘984 application differ from the instantly claimed invention in that the ‘984 application includes method for treatment of chronic weight management and reducing serum lipids.
As both sets of claims recite regarding composition of GLP-1R and GCGR agonist pemvidutide (a composition comprising SEQ ID NO.: 1), even though they are not exactly matching, they are overlapping in scope. Thus rendering one set of claims to be unpatentable.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 62-65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 40, 45, 46, 47, 53, and 54 of Application No. 18/943449.
Claims 62-65 of this application are patentably indistinct from claims 40, 45, 46, 47, 53, and 54 of co-pending Application No. 18/943449.
Claims 40, 45, 46, 47, 53, and 54 of the co-pending application recite a method for treatment comprising administering to the human being once weekly therapeutic effective amount of a pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising SEQ ID NO: 1 (see claims 40); wherein the pharmaceutical dosage is an aqueous formulation comprising one or more of polysorbate 20, arginine, or mannitol (see claim 45); wherein the pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprises polysorbate 20, about 0.2-0.5% (w/w) arginine, and about 3-6% (w/w) mannitol in water (pH 7.7 ± 0.1) (see claim 46); wherein the pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprises about polysorbate 20, about 0.348% (w/w) arginine, about 4.260% (w/w) mannitol in water (pH 7.7 ± 0.1) (see claim 47); and comprising administering to the human being a once weekly therapeutic effective amount of a pharmaceutical dosage formulation comprising SEQ ID NO: 1, polysorbate 20, about 0.348% (w/w) arginine, about 4.260% (w/w) mannitol in water (pH 7.7 ± 0.1) (see claim 54).
The claims 40, 45, 46, 47, 53, and 54 of the ‘449 application differ from the instantly claimed invention in that the ‘449 application includes method to reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction in treatment of chronic weight management, reduce liver fat, and lower blood glucose.
As both sets of claims recite regarding composition of GLP-1R and GCGR agonist ALT-801 (Pemvidutide), even though they are not exactly matching, they are overlapping in scope. Thus rendering one set of claims to be unpatentable.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/KOYELI BANERJEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
/Melissa L Fisher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658