DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Patent Application No. GR 20220100907, filed on November 07, 2022.
This Office Action is responsive to a response filed on February 17th, 2026. In this Office Action:
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 14-16, 19-21, 24-27, 29, 31, and 33-37 are pending.
Claims 9-11, 19-21 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claims 27, 29, 31, and 33-37 are rejected.
Claims 1-3, 6, 14-16, 24-26 are objected to.
Summary of Previous Office Action
In the Final Office Action mailed on November 19th, 2025:
Claims 7, 12, 16, 17, 22, and 29 were objected to because of informalities.
Claims 14-26, 31-34 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 14-26, 31-34 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3, 6-27, and 29-37 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodagar (Pub. No. US 2022/0368750); in view of Kwon et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0121123), hereinafter Kwon.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on February 17th, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 3, 9, 14, 16, 19, 24, 26-27, 29, 31, and 33-34 have been amended.
Claims 7-8, 12-13, 17-18, 22-23, 30, and 32 have been canceled.
The previously raised claim objections for claims 7, 12, 16, 17, 22, and 29 have been withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection for claims 14-26, 31-34 has been withdrawn in light of the amendments and Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed on February 17th, 2026.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claims 14-26, 31-34 has been withdrawn in light of the amendments and Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed on February 17th, 2026.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments, filed on February 17th, 2026, have been fully considered, but are not all persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument, in pages 22-23, that “As discussed above with respect to claim 1, the Office Action relied on the "content playback function" of Kwon as allegedly disclosing the "network service handler function." However, as discussed above, Kwon's content playback function is a client-side component executing on the device. A client-side function cannot structurally or functionally correspond to the claimed network service handler function that receives a request from a UE and transmits a redirection to a UE. Kwon therefore fails to disclose a network element that performs the resolving and transmitting steps recited in amended claim 27. Accordingly, amended claim 27 is patentable over Sodagar in view of Kwon. Claims 31, 33, and 34 are likewise patentable for at least similar reason,” the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes that claim 27 does NOT define an environment for the network service handler function compared to the UE such as in claim 1; in other word, claim 27 does NOT define that the claimed network service handler function is a client-side function or not compared to claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, the Examiner’s interpretation is reasonable as the claim language doesn’t separate the network service handler function from the UE.
The same Examiner’s response applies to Claims 31, 33, and 34.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 9-11, 19-21 (i.e., Group II) are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
In Group I (claims 1-3, 6, 14-16, 24-27, 29, 31, and 33-37) the independent claims are directed to transmitting by a UE service request to a network service handler function (See Fig. 4C; “414”), separate from the UE, in a communication network, wherein the service request is configured to be resolved by the network service handler function, separate from the UE, to initiate a network data handling service (See Fig. 4C; “416”), separate from the UE, in the communication network, where the network service handler function sends a redirection message to the UE. Therefore, the service request is being resolved away from the UE. Claims 27, 29, 31, and 33-37 are included in Group I as they recite a redirection message.
On the other hand, the newly submitted independent claims 9 and 19 (Group II) teach a service request corresponding to the selected media service, where the service request is being resolved using a UE service handler function executing in the processing system of the UE (See Fig. 4C; “452”) and using the UE data handling service (See Fig. 4C; “454”). Therefore, the service request is being resolved at the client-side (i.e., UE).
Therefore, Group I (claims 1-3, 6, 14-16, 24-27, 29, 31, and 33-37) and newly submitted Group II (claims 9-11, 19-21) are directed to independent and distinct inventions.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 9-11, 19-21 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 29, 31, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodagar (Pub. No. US 2022/0368750); in view of Kwon et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0121123), hereinafter Kwon.
Claim 27. Sodagar discloses [a] method performed by a processing system of a network element for configuring network services of a core network to support exchange of media data with a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a radio access network (RAN) associated with the core network (See Parag. [0040]; FIG. 4 is a diagram of a media architecture 400 for media downlink streaming. A 5G (a radio access network (RAN)) media streaming downlink (5GMSd) Application Provider 401 may use 5GMSd for downlink streaming services. 5GMSd Application provider 401 may provide a 5GMSd Aware Application 402 on the UE 403 to make use of 5GMSd Client 404 and network functions using interfaces and APIs defined in 5GMSd. 5GMSd Application Server (AS) may be an AS dedicated to 5G Media Downlink Streaming. 5GMSd Client 404 may be a UE 403 internal function dedicated to 5G Media Downlink Streaming), the method comprising:
media data corresponding to a media service associated with the media service entry point URL, the media service being a media streaming service provided by the core network (See Parag. [0037] and Fig. 4; A Service and Content Discovery may refer to functionality and procedures provided by a 5GMSd Application Provider to a 5GMS Aware Application that enables the end user to discover the available streaming service and content offerings and select a specific service or content item for access. See Parag. [0062]; defining media service entry for uplink and downlink streaming wherein both the protocol identifier as well as the service entry URL are signaled, wherein multiple protocols and/or service entry points can be described in the media service entry, wherein the client can use any of them to access the service using different protocols and/or different entry points, wherein the order of service entry points define the preference order provided by the Application Service Provider and/or by the 5G network. See also Parag. [0063-0066]. See also Parag. [0044]. Examiner’s note: Applicant discloses in the specification, in Parag. [0054], that the core network comprises a 5G core network. See also Claim 36);
establishing a data connection for the media streaming service with a data handling service (See Fig. 4 “409”) executed by the UE (See Parag. [0046] and Fig. 4; 5GMSd Client 404 may include two sub-functions, media session handler 409 and media Player 410. Media session handler 409 (a data handling service executed by the UE) may communicate with the 5GMSd AF 406 in order to establish, control and support the delivery of a media session. The Media Session Handler 409 may expose APIs that can be used by the 5GMSd Aware Application 402. Media Player 410 may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media playback, and the Media Session Handler 409 for media session control ...);
resolving, by a network service handler function, the media service entry point URL to the network data handling service (See Parag. [0037]; A 5GMSd Media Player may refer to a UE function that enables playback and rendering of a media presentation based on a media play entry. See Parag. [0062]; defining media service entry for uplink and downlink streaming wherein both the protocol identifier as well as the service entry URL are signaled, wherein multiple protocols and/or service entry points can be described in the media service entry, wherein the client can use any of them to access the service using different protocols and/or different entry points, wherein the order of service entry points define the preference order provided by the Application Service Provider and/or by the 5G network. See also Parag. [0004] [0036] [0050] [0063-0066]); and
activating the network data handling service in response to resolving the media service entry point URL to the network data handling service (See Parag. [0046]; Media session handler 409 may communicate with the 5GMSd AF 406 in order to establish, control and support the delivery of a media session. The Media Session Handler 409 may expose APIs that can be used by the 5GMSd Aware Application 402. Media Player 410 may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media playback, and the Media Session Handler 409 for media session control … See Parag. [0037]; A 5GMSd Media Player may refer to a UE function that enables playback and rendering of a media presentation based on a media play entry and exposing some basic controls such as play, pause, seek, stop, to the 5GMSd Aware Application. Server Access Information may refer to a set of parameters and addresses (including 5GMSd AF and 5GMSd AS addresses) which are needed to activate the reception of a streaming session).
Sodagar doesn’t explicitly disclose receiving a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of the UE; and transmitting, by the network service handler function, a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application.
However, Kwon discloses receiving a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of the UE, the media data corresponding to a media service associated with the media service entry point URL, the media service being a media streaming service provided by the core network (See Parag. [0157]; When a user or the multicast signal processing apparatus selects multicast contents to be received, the application may acquire a URL for requesting an initial presentation manifest through a service directory, or the like (5000). Here, the URL indicates a multicast rendezvous service (a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL)). See Parag. [0193]; The multicast signal processing method/apparatus according to the embodiments may support multicast in a 5G media streaming structure. Examiner’s note: Applicant discloses in the specification, in Parag. [0054], that the core network comprises a 5G core network. See also Claim 36)); and
transmitting, by the network service handler function, a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application (See Parag. [0159-0161]; The content playback function makes a request for a presentation manifest to the multicast rendezvous service via the reference point B using the URL acquired from the application (5001). The multicast rendezvous service checks the status of the multicast gateway and transmits, when the service for the requested presentation manifest is defined in the multicast configuration, the redirection URL for the multicast gateway to the content playback function (5002). In this case, a multicast session configuration may be contained in the transmitted redirection message. Upon receiving the redirection message, the content playback function makes a request for a presentation manifest to the multicast gateway according to the redirection (5003). See also Parag. [0162-0164]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the Service and Content Discovery system, taught by Sodagar, to include receiving a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of the UE, and transmitting, by the network service handler function, a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application, as taught by Kwon. This would be convenient in controlling the content playback function to start an operation for content reception (Kwon; Parag. [0158]).
Claim 29. Sodagar in view Kwon discloses [t]he method of claim 27,
Sodagar further discloses wherein the network element is implemented as a part of a communication network including the core network (See Parag. [0040]; FIG. 4 is a diagram of a media architecture 400 for media downlink streaming. A 5G (a radio access network (RAN)) media streaming downlink (5GMSd) Application Provider 401 may use 5GMSd for downlink streaming services. 5GMSd Application provider 401 may provide a 5GMSd Aware Application 402 on the UE 403 to make use of 5GMSd Client 404 and network functions using interfaces and APIs defined in 5GMSd. 5GMSd Application Server (AS) may be an AS dedicated to 5G Media Downlink Streaming. 5GMSd Client 404 may be a UE 403 internal function dedicated to 5G Media Downlink Streaming).
Claim 31. Sodagar discloses [a] network element of a core network, comprising:
a processing system implemented in circuitry and configured with processor-executable instructions (See Parag. [0026] [0031] and Fig. 2) to:
retrieval of media data by a media service application (See Fig. 4 “410”) of a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a radio access network (RAN) associated with the core network, the media data corresponding to a media service associated with the media service entry point URL, the media service being a media streaming service provided by the core network (See Parag. [0046]; Media Player 410 (a media service application) may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media session control. See Parag. [0062]; defining media service entry for uplink and downlink streaming wherein both the protocol identifier as well as the service entry URL are signaled, wherein multiple protocols and/or service entry points can be described in the media service entry, wherein the client can use any of them to access the service using different protocols and/or different entry points, wherein the order of service entry points define the preference order provided by the Application Service Provider and/or by the 5G network. See Parag. [0193]; The multicast signal processing method/apparatus according to the embodiments may support multicast in a 5G media streaming structure. See also Parag. [0063-0066]. See also Parag. [0044]. Examiner’s note: Applicant discloses in the specification, in Parag. [0054], that the core network comprises a 5G core network. See also Claim 36);
establish a data connection for the media streaming service with a data handling service (See Fig. 4 “409”) executed by the UE (See Parag. [0046] and Fig. 4; 5GMSd Client 404 may include two sub-functions, media session handler 409 and media Player 410. Media session handler 409 (a data handling service executed by the UE) may communicate with the 5GMSd AF 406 in order to establish, control and support the delivery of a media session. The Media Session Handler 409 may expose APIs that can be used by the 5GMSd Aware Application 402. Media Player 410 may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media playback, and the Media Session Handler 409 for media session control ...);
execute a network service handler function to resolve the media service entry point URL to the network data handling service (See Parag. [0037]; A 5GMSd Media Player may refer to a UE function that enables playback and rendering of a media presentation based on a media play entry. See Parag. [0062]; defining media service entry for uplink and downlink streaming wherein both the protocol identifier as well as the service entry URL are signaled, wherein multiple protocols and/or service entry points can be described in the media service entry, wherein the client can use any of them to access the service using different protocols and/or different entry points, wherein the order of service entry points define the preference order provided by the Application Service Provider and/or by the 5G network. See also Parag. [0004] [0036] [0050] [0063-0066]);
activate the network data handling service in response to resolving the media service entry point URL to the network data handling service (See Parag. [0046]; Media session handler 409 may communicate with the 5GMSd AF 406 in order to establish, control and support the delivery of a media session. The Media Session Handler 409 may expose APIs that can be used by the 5GMSd Aware Application 402. Media Player 410 may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media playback, and the Media Session Handler 409 for media session control … See Parag. [0037]; A 5GMSd Media Player may refer to a UE function that enables playback and rendering of a media presentation based on a media play entry and exposing some basic controls such as play, pause, seek, stop, to the 5GMSd Aware Application. Server Access Information may refer to a set of parameters and addresses (including 5GMSd AF and 5GMSd AS addresses) which are needed to activate the reception of a streaming session).
Sodagar doesn’t explicitly disclose receive a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE); and execute the network service handler function to transmit a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application.
However, Kwon discloses receive a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a radio access network (RAN) associated with the core network, the media data corresponding to a media service associated with the media service entry point URL, the media service being a media streaming service provided by the core network (See Parag. [0157]; When a user or the multicast signal processing apparatus selects multicast contents to be received, the application may acquire a URL for requesting an initial presentation manifest through a service directory, or the like (5000). Here, the URL indicates a multicast rendezvous service (a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL)). See Parag. [0193]; The multicast signal processing method/apparatus according to the embodiments may support multicast in a 5G media streaming structure. Examiner’s note: Applicant discloses in the specification, in Parag. [0054], that the core network comprises a 5G core network. See also Claim 36)); and
execute the network service handler function to transmit a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application (See Parag. [0159-0161]; The content playback function makes a request for a presentation manifest to the multicast rendezvous service via the reference point B using the URL acquired from the application (5001). The multicast rendezvous service checks the status of the multicast gateway and transmits, when the service for the requested presentation manifest is defined in the multicast configuration, the redirection URL for the multicast gateway to the content playback function (5002). In this case, a multicast session configuration may be contained in the transmitted redirection message. Upon receiving the redirection message, the content playback function makes a request for a presentation manifest to the multicast gateway according to the redirection (5003). See also Parag. [0162-0164]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the Service and Content Discovery system, taught by Sodagar, to include receive a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE), and execute the network service handler function to transmit a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application, as taught by Kwon. This would be convenient in controlling the content playback function to start an operation for content reception (Kwon; Parag. [0158]).
Claim 33. Sodagar discloses [a] network element of a core network, comprising:
retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a radio access network (RAN) associated with the core network, the media data corresponding to a media service associated with the media service entry point URL, the media service being a media streaming service provided by the core network (See Parag. [0046]; Media Player 410 (a media service application) may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media session control. See Parag. [0062]; defining media service entry for uplink and downlink streaming wherein both the protocol identifier as well as the service entry URL are signaled, wherein multiple protocols and/or service entry points can be described in the media service entry, wherein the client can use any of them to access the service using different protocols and/or different entry points, wherein the order of service entry points define the preference order provided by the Application Service Provider and/or by the 5G network. See Parag. [0193]; The multicast signal processing method/apparatus according to the embodiments may support multicast in a 5G media streaming structure. See also Parag. [0063-0066]. See also Parag. [0044]. Examiner’s note: Applicant discloses in the specification, in Parag. [0054], that the core network comprises a 5G core network. See also Claim 36);
means for establishing a data connection for the media streaming service with a data handling service (See Fig. 4 “409”) executed by the UE (See Parag. [0046] and Fig. 4; 5GMSd Client 404 may include two sub-functions, media session handler 409 and media Player 410. Media session handler 409 (a data handling service executed by the UE) may communicate with the 5GMSd AF 406 in order to establish, control and support the delivery of a media session. The Media Session Handler 409 may expose APIs that can be used by the 5GMSd Aware Application 402. Media Player 410 may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media playback, and the Media Session Handler 409 for media session control ...);
means for resolving the media service entry point URL to the network data handling service (See Parag. [0037]; A 5GMSd Media Player may refer to a UE function that enables playback and rendering of a media presentation based on a media play entry. See Parag. [0062]; defining media service entry for uplink and downlink streaming wherein both the protocol identifier as well as the service entry URL are signaled, wherein multiple protocols and/or service entry points can be described in the media service entry, wherein the client can use any of them to access the service using different protocols and/or different entry points, wherein the order of service entry points define the preference order provided by the Application Service Provider and/or by the 5G network. See also Parag. [0004] [0036] [0050] [0063-0066]);
means for activating the network data handling service in response to resolving the media service entry point URL to the network data handling service (See Parag. [0046]; Media session handler 409 may communicate with the 5GMSd AF 406 in order to establish, control and support the delivery of a media session. The Media Session Handler 409 may expose APIs that can be used by the 5GMSd Aware Application 402. Media Player 410 may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media playback, and the Media Session Handler 409 for media session control … See Parag. [0037]; A 5GMSd Media Player may refer to a UE function that enables playback and rendering of a media presentation based on a media play entry and exposing some basic controls such as play, pause, seek, stop, to the 5GMSd Aware Application. Server Access Information may refer to a set of parameters and addresses (including 5GMSd AF and 5GMSd AS addresses) which are needed to activate the reception of a streaming session).
Sodagar doesn’t explicitly disclose means for receiving a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE); and means for transmitting a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application.
However, Kwon discloses means for receiving a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a radio access network (RAN) associated with the core network, the media data corresponding to a media service associated with the media service entry point URL, the media service being a media streaming service provided by the core network (See Parag. [0157]; When a user or the multicast signal processing apparatus selects multicast contents to be received, the application may acquire a URL for requesting an initial presentation manifest through a service directory, or the like (5000). Here, the URL indicates a multicast rendezvous service (a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL)). See Parag. [0193]; The multicast signal processing method/apparatus according to the embodiments may support multicast in a 5G media streaming structure. Examiner’s note: Applicant discloses in the specification, in Parag. [0054], that the core network comprises a 5G core network. See also Claim 36)); and
means for transmitting a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application (See Parag. [0159-0161]; The content playback function makes a request for a presentation manifest to the multicast rendezvous service via the reference point B using the URL acquired from the application (5001). The multicast rendezvous service checks the status of the multicast gateway and transmits, when the service for the requested presentation manifest is defined in the multicast configuration, the redirection URL for the multicast gateway to the content playback function (5002). In this case, a multicast session configuration may be contained in the transmitted redirection message. Upon receiving the redirection message, the content playback function makes a request for a presentation manifest to the multicast gateway according to the redirection (5003). See also Parag. [0162-0164]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the Service and Content Discovery system, taught by Sodagar, to include means for receiving a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE), and means for transmitting a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application, as taught by Kwon. This would be convenient in controlling the content playback function to start an operation for content reception (Kwon; Parag. [0158]).
Claim 34. Sodagar discloses [a] non-transitory processor-readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions configured to cause a processing system implemented in circuitry in a network element of a core network (See Parag. [0026] [0031] and Fig. 2) to:
retrieval of media data by a media service application (See Fig. 4 “410”) of a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a radio access network (RAN) associated with the core network, the media data corresponding to a media service associated with the media service entry point URL, the media service being a media streaming service provided by the core network (See Parag. [0046]; Media Player 410 (a media service application) may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media session control. See Parag. [0062]; defining media service entry for uplink and downlink streaming wherein both the protocol identifier as well as the service entry URL are signaled, wherein multiple protocols and/or service entry points can be described in the media service entry, wherein the client can use any of them to access the service using different protocols and/or different entry points, wherein the order of service entry points define the preference order provided by the Application Service Provider and/or by the 5G network. See Parag. [0193]; The multicast signal processing method/apparatus according to the embodiments may support multicast in a 5G media streaming structure. See also Parag. [0063-0066]. See also Parag. [0044]. Examiner’s note: Applicant discloses in the specification, in Parag. [0054], that the core network comprises a 5G core network. See also Claim 36);
establish a data connection for the media streaming service with a data handling service (See Fig. 4 “409”) executed by the UE (See Parag. [0046] and Fig. 4; 5GMSd Client 404 may include two sub-functions, media session handler 409 and media Player 410. Media session handler 409 (a data handling service executed by the UE) may communicate with the 5GMSd AF 406 in order to establish, control and support the delivery of a media session. The Media Session Handler 409 may expose APIs that can be used by the 5GMSd Aware Application 402. Media Player 410 may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media playback, and the Media Session Handler 409 for media session control ...);
resolve the media service entry point URL to the network data handling service (See Parag. [0037]; A 5GMSd Media Player may refer to a UE function that enables playback and rendering of a media presentation based on a media play entry. See Parag. [0062]; defining media service entry for uplink and downlink streaming wherein both the protocol identifier as well as the service entry URL are signaled, wherein multiple protocols and/or service entry points can be described in the media service entry, wherein the client can use any of them to access the service using different protocols and/or different entry points, wherein the order of service entry points define the preference order provided by the Application Service Provider and/or by the 5G network. See also Parag. [0004] [0036] [0050] [0063-0066]); and
activate the network data handling service in response to resolving the media service entry point URL to the network data handling service (See Parag. [0046]; Media session handler 409 may communicate with the 5GMSd AF 406 in order to establish, control and support the delivery of a media session. The Media Session Handler 409 may expose APIs that can be used by the 5GMSd Aware Application 402. Media Player 410 may communicate with 5GMSd AS 405 in order to stream the media content and provide a service to the 5GMSd Aware Application 402 for media playback, and the Media Session Handler 409 for media session control … See Parag. [0037]; A 5GMSd Media Player may refer to a UE function that enables playback and rendering of a media presentation based on a media play entry and exposing some basic controls such as play, pause, seek, stop, to the 5GMSd Aware Application. Server Access Information may refer to a set of parameters and addresses (including 5GMSd AF and 5GMSd AS addresses) which are needed to activate the reception of a streaming session).
Sodagar doesn’t explicitly disclose receive a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE); and transmit a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application.
However, Kwon discloses receive a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled to a radio access network (RAN) associated with the core network, the media data corresponding to a media service associated with the media service entry point URL, the media service being a media streaming service provided by the core network (See Parag. [0157]; When a user or the multicast signal processing apparatus selects multicast contents to be received, the application may acquire a URL for requesting an initial presentation manifest through a service directory, or the like (5000). Here, the URL indicates a multicast rendezvous service (a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL)). See Parag. [0193]; The multicast signal processing method/apparatus according to the embodiments may support multicast in a 5G media streaming structure. Examiner’s note: Applicant discloses in the specification, in Parag. [0054], that the core network comprises a 5G core network. See also Claim 36)); and
transmit a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application (See Parag. [0159-0161]; The content playback function makes a request for a presentation manifest to the multicast rendezvous service via the reference point B using the URL acquired from the application (5001). The multicast rendezvous service checks the status of the multicast gateway and transmits, when the service for the requested presentation manifest is defined in the multicast configuration, the redirection URL for the multicast gateway to the content playback function (5002). In this case, a multicast session configuration may be contained in the transmitted redirection message. Upon receiving the redirection message, the content playback function makes a request for a presentation manifest to the multicast gateway according to the redirection (5003). See also Parag. [0162-0164])
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the Service and Content Discovery system, taught by Sodagar, to include receive a service request directed to a media service entry point uniform resource locator (URL) associated with a network data handling service that supports retrieval of media data by a media service application of a user equipment (UE), and transmit a redirection message to the UE in response to the service request, wherein the redirection message is configured to trigger, in the UE, the media service application, as taught by Kwon. This would be convenient in controlling the content playback function to start an operation for content reception (Kwon; Parag. [0158]).
Claim 35. Sodagar in view Kwon discloses [t]he method of claim 1,
Sodagar further discloses wherein the selected media streaming service comprises one of Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (DASH) or HTTP Live Streaming (HLS) (See Parag. [0068]; identify the media service entry as one from among a Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over Hypertext Transfer Protocol (DASH) Media Presentation Description (MPD) protocol, an HTTP Live Streaming (HLS) m3u8 protocol, and a DASH-Industry Forum (IF) ingest protocol).
Claim 36. Sodagar in view Kwon discloses [t]he method of claim 1,
Sodagar further discloses wherein the entry point comprises a manifest file (See Parag. [0049]; the StreamingAccess object includes a URL string that points to a URL for downloading a media or a manifest that describe the media presentation), the data handling service comprises a media session handler (MSH) (See Parag. [0046] and Fig. 4; “media session handler 409”), the core network comprises a 5G core network (See Parag. [0040]; A 5G media streaming downlink (5GMSd) Application Provider 401 may use 5GMSd for downlink streaming services), and the network element comprises one of a 5GMS Application Function (AF), a 5GMS Application Server (AS) (See Parag. [0046] and Fig. 4; “5GMSd AS 405”), or a 5GMS Application Provider (AP).
Claim 37. Sodagar in view Kwon discloses [t]he method of claim 1,
Sodagar further discloses further comprising establishing inter-process communication between the data handling service and the media service application (See Parag. [0047] and Fig. 4; Link 427 (inter-process communication) may relate to M7d, which may be a UE Media Player API exposed by Media Player 410 (the media service application) to 5GMSd Aware Application 402 and Media Session Handler 409 (the data handling service) to make use of Media Player 410. See also Parag. [0046]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 6, 14-16, 24-26 are objected to.
The independent claims 1, 14, 24, and 26 are allowable over prior arts of the following reasons:
Applicant’s arguments, filed on February 17th, 2026, that the prior arts of record fail to disclose the subject matter of the independent claims 1, 14, 24, and 26, as amended, are persuasive. In addition, in interpreting the amended independent claims 1, 14, 24, and 26 in light of the specification, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior arts.
There are no prior arts, whether singly or in combination, teach or suggest the independent claims 1, 14, 24, and 26, as amended. Therefore, these reasons put the claims in condition of allowance.
The dependent claims are also allowed as they depend upon the allowable independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lo et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0012584) – Related art in the area of HTTP redirection to mediate content access via policy execution, (Abstract; Systems, methods, and devices of the various embodiments enable HTTP redirect messages to indicate content access policy information. In this manner, policy rules may be implemented based on the policy information in the HTTP redirect messages to control network congestion and/or quality of service ("QOS")).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdelbasst Talioua/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445