DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner appreciates the effort of the Applicant in the compact prosecution of this case. Regarding the argument in the Remark submitted on 07/22/2025, the Examiner disagrees that Chaoyu fails to disclose the invention. In fact, Chaoyu discloses IDENTICAL invention, as claimed.
Invention Chaoyu (Prior Art)
Chaoyu discloses a radiator comprising a first and second radiators with a coupling between the first and the second radiators having a first and second coupling ends respectively. The first radiator comprising a first grounding end and a first and second feed point. The first feed point and the second feed point are disposed between the first grounding end and the first coupling end and the first feed point is located between the second feed point and the first grounding end. The second radiator comprises a third feed point between the second coupling end and the second grounding end. Chaoyu further discloses the radiator operates at 3 frequencies based on the 3 feed systems. In fact, Applicant correctly noted that for example that the Office Action equates “third feed source 23” of Chaoyu as the “first feed system” of amended claim 1, equates “second feed source 22” of Chaoyu as the “second feed system” of amended claim 1, and equates “first feed source 21” of Chaoyu as the “third feed system” of amended claim 1. According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. Applicant’s argument fails to show that Chaoyu did not or cannot possess the functional characteristics of the claims.
If further efforts are made to clarify and fully define the invention, Applicant is advised to consider referencing specific paragraphs, column and line numbers, and/or figures from the cited prior art. While the citations provided are representative and mapped to individual claim limitations, other portions of the references may also be relevant. Incorporating such disclosures may assist the Applicant in preparing a more complete response to this Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chaoyu (CN112002994A).
Chaoyu discloses;
Regarding claim 1:
an antenna module (in Fig. 1), comprising: a radiator (defined by 11 and 12) comprising a first radiator (12) and a second radiator (11), wherein the first radiator (12) comprises a first grounding end (ground element on 12; See Fig.), a first coupling end (portion of 12 adjacent to 70), a first feed point (23), and a second feed point (22); the first feed point (23) and the second feed point (22) are disposed between the first grounding end (ground element on 12) and the first coupling end (portion of 12 adjacent to 70) at an interval (See Fig.), and the first feed point (23) is located between the second feed point (22) and the first grounding end (ground element on 12); the second radiator (11) comprises a second coupling end (portion of 11 adjacent to 70), a second grounding end (ground element on 11), and a third feed point (21) between the second coupling end (portion of 11 adjacent to 70) and the second grounding end (ground element on 11); and a coupling gap (70) is defined between the first coupling end (portion of 12 adjacent to 70) and the second coupling end (portion of 11 adjacent to 70), and both the first grounding end (ground element on 12) and the second grounding end (ground element on 11) are electrically connected to a reference ground; a first feed system electrically connected to the first feed point (23), wherein the first feed system is configured to excite the radiator (defined by 11 and 12) to receive and transmit a first electromagnetic wave signal (from the 23), and the first electromagnetic wave signal (from the 23) comprises a mobile communication signal of a first frequency band (Para. 0035, Lines 258-259); a second feed system electrically connected to the second feed point (22), wherein the second feed system is configured to excite the radiator (defined by 11 and 12) to receive and transmit a second electromagnetic wave signal, and the second electromagnetic wave signal comprises a Wi-Fi signal (Para. 0033, Lines 239-242); and a third feed system electrically connected to the third feed point (21), wherein the third feed system is configured to excite the radiator (defined by 11 and 12) to receive and transmit a third electromagnetic wave signal, the third electromagnetic wave signal comprises a mobile communication signal of a second frequency band (N77, N78 and N79), and a minimum frequency of the second frequency band (N78: 3300 - 3800) is greater than a maximum frequency of the first frequency band (e.g. band – 1710 MHz to 2690 MHz).
Regarding claim 2:
the first radiator (12) further comprises a first connection point (portion along 12), the first connection point (portion along 12) is located at the first feed point (23); the antenna module further comprises a first band-pass circuit (defined by 51 and 53), one end of the first band-pass circuit (defined by 51 and 53) is electrically connected to the first connection point (portion along 12), the other end of the first band-pass circuit (defined by 51 and 53) is electrically connected to the reference ground, and the first band-pass circuit (defined by 51 and 53) is configured for conducting the third electromagnetic wave signal to the reference ground.
Regarding claim 10:
the second feed system comprises a second matching circuit (40) and a second signal source (couple to 22) electrically connected to one end of the second matching circuit (40), and the other end of the second matching circuit (40) is electrically connected to the second feed point (portion along 12); the second matching circuit (40) further comprises a first band-stop circuit (defined by 41 and 44), a second band-stop circuit (defined by 42 and 45), and a second tuning circuit ( defined by 48, 46 and 47) that are sequentially connected between the second feed point (portion along 12) and the second signal source (couple to 22); the first band-stop circuit (defined by 41 and 44) is configured for filtering the first electromagnetic wave signal (from the 23), the second band-stop circuit (defined by 42 and 45) is configured for filtering the third electromagnetic wave signal, and the second tuning circuit (defined by 43, 46 and 47) is configured for tuning the second electromagnetic wave signal.
Regarding claim 12:
(in Figs. 1 and 5) the third electromagnetic wave signal comprises a mobile communication signal of a third frequency band, and the third frequency band is within a UHB frequency band range (Para. 0048, Lines 349-351); the second matching circuit (40) further comprises a third band-pass circuit (43, 46 and 47), one end of the third band-pass circuit (43, 46 and 47) is electrically connected to the second feed point (See Fig.), and the other end of the third band-pass circuit (43, 46 and 47) is electrically connected to the reference ground (See Fig. 5); and the third band-pass circuit (48, 46 and 47) is configured for conducting the mobile communication signal of the third frequency band to the reference ground.
Regarding claim 13:
the third frequency band comprises a N78 frequency band (Para. 0048, Lines 349-351).
Regarding claim 15:
the third feed system comprises a third matching circuit (81) and a third signal source (couple to 21) electrically connected to one end of the third matching circuit (31), and the other end of the third matching circuit (31) is electrically connected to the third feed point (portion along 11).
Regarding claim 16:
the antenna module (in Fig. 2) further comprises a second adjusting circuit (defined by 32-34), wherein one end of the second adjusting circuit (defined by 32-34) is electrically connected to the reference ground (See Fig. 2), and the other end of second adjusting circuit (defined by 32-34) is electrically connected to the second radiator (11) or the third matching circuit (31); and the second adjusting circuit (defined by 32-34) is configured for adjusting the frequency band of the third electromagnetic wave signal.
Regarding claim 20:
an electronic device (Para. 0002, Lines 18-19), comprising: an antenna module (in Fig. 1), comprising: a radiator (defined by 11 and 12) comprising a first radiator (12) and a second radiator (11), wherein the first radiator (12) comprises a first grounding end (ground element on 12; See Fig.), a first coupling end (portion of 12 adjacent to 70), a first feed point (23), and a second feed point (22): the first feed point (23) and the second feed point (22) are disposed between the first grounding end (ground element on 12) and the first coupling end (portion of 12 adjacent to 70) at an interval (See Fig.), and the first feed point (23) is located between the second feed point (22) and the first grounding end (ground element on 12); the second radiator (11) comprises a second coupling end (portion of 11 adjacent to 70), a second grounding end (ground element on 11), and a third feed point (21) between the second coupling end (portion of 11 adjacent to 70) and the second grounding end (ground element on 11); and a coupling gap (70) is defined between the first coupling end (portion of 12 adjacent to 70) and the second coupling end (portion of 11 adjacent to 70), and both the first grounding end (ground element on 12) and the second grounding end (ground element on 11) are electrically connected to a reference ground (See Fig.); a first feed system electrically connected to the first feed point (23), wherein the first feed system is configured to excite the radiator (defined by 11 and 12) to receive and transmit a first electromagnetic wave signal (from the 23), and the first electromagnetic wave signal (from the 23) comprises at least one of a GPS signal (Para. 0035, Lines 258-259) and a mobile communication signal of a first frequency band (Para. 0035, Lines 258-259); a second feed system electrically connected to the second feed point (22), wherein the second feed system is configured to excite the radiator (defined by 11 and 12) to receive and transmit a second electromagnetic wave signal, and the second electromagnetic wave signal comprises a Wi-Fi signal (Para. 0033, Lines 239-242): and a third feed system electrically connected to the third feed point (21), wherein the third feed system is configured to excite the radiator (defined by 11 and 12) to receive and transmit a third electromagnetic wave signal, the third electromagnetic wave signal comprises a mobile communication signal of a second frequency band (N77, N78 and N79), and a minimum frequency of the second frequency band (N77: 3300 - 3800) is greater than a maximum frequency of the first frequency band (GPS band - 1176.45 MHz to 1575.42 MHz).
Regarding claim 21:
the first electromagnetic wave signal (from the 23) further comprises a GPS signal (Para. 0040, Lines 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7, 11, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaoyu (CN112002994A).
Regarding claims 3-6 and 14:
Chaoyu is silent on that the radiator is configured to support a first resonance mode, a second resonance mode, and a third resonance mode under excitation of the third feed system; a current of the first resonance mode is at least distributed between the second coupling end and the second grounding end; a current of the second resonance mode is at least distributed between the first connection point and the first coupling end and between the second coupling end and the third feed point; and a current of the third resonance mode is at least distributed between the second coupling end and the third feed point as required by claim 3;
the first resonance mode comprises a ¼ wavelength mode of the second radiator, the second resonance mode comprises a ¼ wavelength mode between the first connection point of the first radiator and the first coupling end, and the third resonance mode comprises a ¼ wavelength mode between the second coupling end of the second radiator and the third feed point as required by claim 4;
the radiator is configured to support a fourth resonance mode and a fifth resonance mode under excitation of the second feed system, a current of the fourth resonance mode is at least distributed between the second feed point and the first coupling end, and a current of the fifth resonance mode is at least distributed between the second feed point and the second grounding end as required by claim 5;
the fourth resonance mode comprises a ¼ wavelength mode between the second feed point of the first radiator and the first coupling end, and the fifth resonance mode comprises a ¾ wavelength mode of the second radiator as required by claim 6; and
the sixth resonance mode comprises a ¼ wavelength mode of the second radiator, the seventh resonance mode comprises a ¼ wavelength mode between the first connection point of the first radiator and the first coupling end, the eighth resonance mode comprises a ¼ wavelength mode between the second coupling end of the second radiator and the third feed point, the ninth resonance mode comprises a ¼ wavelength mode between the second feed point of the first radiator and the first coupling end as required by claim 14.
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radiator structure in Chaoyu to support additional modes for the benefit of achieving a broader multiband and multimode antenna system capable of tuning and adjusting to set wavelength as required by modern multi-functional wireless device. Furthermore, such design consideration since the concept of higher order resonant modes is well known in the field of radiator design which represents a predictable variation within the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7:
Chaoyu discloses the first feed system comprises a first matching circuit (defined by 51-55) and a first signal source (coupled to 23) electrically connected to one end of the first matching circuit (defined by 51-55), the other end of the first matching circuit (defined by 51-55) is electrically connected to the first feed point (23), and at least one of the first band-pass circuit (defined by 51 and 53) and the second band-pass circuit (defined by 51 and 53) is a part of the first matching circuit.
Regarding claim 11:
Chaoyu as modified are silent on the arrangement that the first band-stop circuit comprises a sixth capacitor, a seventh capacitor, and a fourth inductor; one end of the sixth capacitor and one end of the fourth inductor are electrically connected to the second feed point, and the other end of the sixth capacitor is electrically connected to one end of the seventh capacitor; and the other end of the fourth inductor is electrically connected to the other end of the seventh capacitor and one end of the second band-stop circuit.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and an obvious matter of design consideration to implement the band-stop circuit as discrete lump elements as shown in the Chaoyu due to the ease of calculation of the electrical lengths, and integration into systems especially since such design consideration would have been knowledge within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art, thereby suggesting the obviousness of the design consideration.
Regarding claim 17:
Chaoyu as modified are silent on that a fourth matching circuit, wherein one end of the fourth matching circuit is electrically connected between the third matching circuit and the third signal source, and the other end of the fourth matching circuit is connected to the third radiator.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and an obvious matter of design consideration to implement a cascade of matching circuits for the benefit of achieving maximum power transfer and prevent losses by improving the transmission coefficient within the system especially since such design consideration would have been knowledge within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art, thereby suggesting the obviousness of the design consideration.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaoyu (CN112002994A) in view of Yun et al. (US 20230136852).
Regarding claim 8:
Chaoyu is silent on that the antenna module further comprises a first adjusting circuit, one end of the first adjusting circuit is electrically connected to the first radiator, and the other end of the first adjusting circuit is electrically connected to the reference ground; the first adjusting circuit comprises at least one of a variable capacitor and a plurality of switch selection circuits; the switch selection circuit comprises at least one of a combination of a switch and an inductor, a combination of the switch and a capacitor, a combination of the switch, the inductor, and the capacitor; the first adjusting circuit is configured to adjust a frequency band of the first electromagnetic wave signal; and one end of the first adjusting circuit is electrically connected to the first feed point, and the first adjusting circuit is a part of the first matching circuit; and/or the first matching circuit further comprises a first tuning circuit, one end of the first tuning circuit is electrically connected to the first feed point, the other end of the first tuning circuit is electrically connected to the first signal source, and the first tuning circuit is configured for tuning the first electromagnetic wave signal.
Yun et al. disclose (in Fig. 5) the antenna module (500) further comprises a first adjusting circuit (defined by 501-503), one end of the first adjusting circuit (defined by 501-503) is electrically connected to the first radiator (520), and the other end of the first adjusting circuit (defined by 501-503) is electrically connected to the reference ground (505); the first adjusting circuit (defined by 501-503) comprises at least one of a variable capacitor (501) and a plurality of switch selection circuits (5602 and 503); the switch selection circuit (502 and 503) comprises at least one of a combination of a switch (503) and an inductor (502): the first adjusting circuit (defined by 501-503) is configured to adjust a frequency band of the first electromagnetic wave signal; and one end of the first adjusting circuit (defined by 501-503) is electrically connected to the first feed point (504), and the first adjusting circuit (defined by 501-503) is a part of the first matching circuit (501-503).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna module further comprises a first adjusting circuit, one end of the first adjusting circuit is electrically connected to the first radiator, and the other end of the first adjusting circuit is electrically connected to the reference ground; the first adjusting circuit comprises at least one of a variable capacitor and a plurality of switch selection circuits; the switch selection circuit comprises at least one of a combination of a switch and an inductor, a combination of the switch and a capacitor, a combination of the switch, the inductor, and the capacitor; the first adjusting circuit is configured to adjust a frequency band of the first electromagnetic wave signal; and one end of the first adjusting circuit is electrically connected to the first feed point, and the first adjusting circuit is a part of the first matching circuit as taught by Yun et al. into the device of Chaoyu for the benefit of achieving the appropriate impedance (Para. 0071-0073) for maximum power transfer.
Regarding claim 9:
Chaoyu as modified are silent on that the first tuning circuit comprises a second capacitor, a third capacitor, a fourth capacitor, a fifth capacitor, a second inductor, and a third inductor; one end of the second capacitor is electrically connected to the first feed point, and the other end of the second capacitor is electrically connected to one end of the third capacitor; the other end of the third capacitor is electrically connected to one end of the fourth capacitor, one end of the second inductor, and one end of the third inductor; the other end of the fourth capacitor is electrically connected to the reference ground, and the other end of the second inductor is electrically connected to the reference ground; and the other end of the third inductor is electrically connected to the first signal source and one end of the fifth capacitor, and the other end of the fifth capacitor is electrically connected to the reference ground.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and an obvious matter of design consideration to implement the tuning circuits using discrete lump elements as shown in the Chaoyu as modified due to the ease of calculation of the electrical lengths, and integration into systems especially since such design consideration would have been knowledge within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art, thereby suggesting the obviousness of the design consideration.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaoyu (CN112002994A) in view of Tsai et al. (US 20180026351).
Regarding claim 19:
Chaoyu discloses the use of an electromagnetic wave signal comprising at least one of a GPS- L5 signal (Para. 0040, Lines 258-259); and another electromagnetic wave signal comprises a mobile communication signal with a frequency greater than or equal to 1000 MHz and less than or equal to 6000 MHz (defined by the entire medium and high frequency bands such as 1710 MHz to 2690 MHz — Para. 0038, Lines 239-242; the isolation of the antenna in the intermediate frequency band (1710 MHz- 2170 MHz) improves the intermediate frequency performance of the first antenna — Para. 0047, Lines 327- 336; Para. 0039, Lines 246-249),
Chaoyu is silent on that the use of a mobile communication signal with a frequency less than 1000 MHz, and the second electromagnetic wave signal comprises a Wi-Fi 5G signal and/or a Wi-Fi 6E signal; and the mobile communication signal comprises at least one of a 4G mobile communication signal and a 5G mobile communication signal.
Tsai et al. disclose the use of a mobile communication signal with a frequency less than 1000 MHz (LTE-A band 17/13/5/8 — Para. 0061, Lines 1-2), and the second electromagnetic wave signal comprises a Wi-Fi 5G signal and/or a Wi-Fi 6E signal (Para. 0050, Lines 10-13); and the mobile communication signal comprises at least one of a 4G mobile communication signal and a 5G mobile communication signal (Para. 0059, Lines 1-7; Para. 0060, Lines 1-7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the size of the antenna elements for operation at a frequency less than 1000 MHz, Wi-Fi 5G signal, 4G and 5G mobile communication signals as taught by Tsai et al. into the device of Chaoyu for benefit of functioning at multiple frequency bands simultaneously (Para. 0062, Lines 7-12; Para. 0091, Lines 9-15) as required by modern communication devices.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845