DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 11/6/2023 are as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Claims 1-20 are being examined.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Method of Using a Thermal Liquid Battery in an HVAC System”.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses periods in place of commas, thus creating numerous sentences with improper capitalization and grammar. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“fluid management assembly” in claims 1, 2, and 20. The generic placeholder “assembly” is modified by the functional language “fluid management” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. Paragraph 39 of the applicants’ disclosure outlines the fluid management assembly as “Said fluid management assembly 304 can comprise one or more manifolds and control valves configured to receive one or more fluid inputs 306 from multiple sources and send portions of said one or more fluid inputs 306 to one or more fluid outputs 308”. Accordingly, the fluid management assembly will be interpreted as a manifold of control valves for selective input or output of fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 2 recites “receiving an HVAC input fluid”. It is unclear what part of the system is receiving the HVAC input fluid. Since the metes and bounds of the invention cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 1 lines 3-4 recite “exchanging heat with said HVAC input fluid to generate a climate-controlled air output and a liquid refrigerant”. It is unclear if the liquid refrigerant is the same fluid as the HVAC input fluid, or some other fluid source. Additionally, it is unclear how the heat exchange is occurring and by what components. Since the metes and bounds of the invention cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 1 line 5 recites “receiving one or more fluid inputs with a fluid management assembly”. The fluid management assembly is interpreted under 112(f) above and thus requires at least two valves (see paragraph 39 which recites “Said fluid management assembly 304 can comprise one or more manifolds and control valves”, wherein the control valve is plural, thus requiring at least two). Thus, the recitation of “one or more fluid inputs” appears to contradict the claim interpretation of the fluid management assembly. Further, if there is only one fluid input as required by the claim limitation, then there would be no purpose to the fluid management assembly since only a single pipe would be required.
Claim 1 line 5 recites “receiving one or more fluid inputs”. It is unclear if this recitation of “fluid inputs” is related to the “HVAC input fluid” as recited in claim 1 line 2 or is another fluid. Since the metes and bounds of the invention cannot be ascertained, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 1 line 6 recites “storing a portion of said one or more fluid inputs in one or more fluid containers”. However, claim 1 line 5 recites that the fluid management assembly receives the fluid input. Thus, it is unclear how the fluid can then be stored in the fluid container since the input fluid is in the fluid management assembly.
Claim 1 lines 7-8 recite “sending a portion of said one or more fluid inputs out of said fluid management assembly as one or more fluid outputs”. It is unclear where this “fluid output” is being sent to and how it connects to the rest of the system.
Claim 1 line 13 recites “optimal temperature”. The term “optimal temperature” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “optimal temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what temperature value is required in order to be considered at an “optimal” temperature.
Claim 1 lines 13-14 recite “selectively sending said HVAC input fluid at an optimal temperature from said one or more fluid inputs”. However, claim 1 line 7-8 teaches that the fluid inputs are outputted from the fluid management assembly as a fluid output. Thus, it is unclear how the fluid input can then be sent as the HVAC input fluid. It would seem that the fluid output would be the HVAC input fluid, rather than the fluid input being the HVAC input fluid.
Claim 1 lines 15-17 recite “wherein a portion of said one or more fluid inputs comprises said liquid refrigerant from an HVAC fluid output of an HVAC system, and a stored water from said one or more fluid containers”. It is unclear how a singular fluid input can be both the liquid refrigerant and the stored water. The claim recites “one or more”, which only requires one fluid input. Thus, it is contradictory to then require multiple input fluids of the singular fluid input. Additionally, it is unclear if the liquid refrigerant is the same as the stored water or a different material from the stored water since the system appears to interconnect all of the circuits together. Thus, for the system to work, the same refrigerant or working fluid would need to be utilized throughout the system.
Claim 1 lines 18-19 recite “a portion of said one or more fluid outputs comprises said HVAC input fluid sent to a fluid input and a storage input fluid sent to said one or more fluid containers”. It is unclear as to what this limitation is attempting to claim. The language and formatting renders the claim indiscernible.
Claims 2, 4, 6, and 20 are rejected, as applicable, for the same reasons as outlined above with regards to claim 1 since claims 2, 4, 6, and 20 encompass the same limitations of claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “said fluid input can receive an outside air and said HVAC fluid output can output an exhaust air to a blower”. It is unclear how the fluid input (which is recited as a liquid) can then also receive an outside air. It would seem that the claim is possibly trying to claim a heat exchanger that exchanges heat between the refrigerant fluid and an outside air stream, but it is not clearly claimed.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "or similar" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or similar"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The term “hot” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hot” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what specific temperature is required in order to be considered “hot”.
The term “cold” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “cold” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what specific temperature is required in order to be considered “cold”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said one or more temperature sensors and said fluid level sensor " in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 recites numerous limitations that lack antecedent basis since claim 12 depends from claim 2 and not claim 11.
Claim 14 recites “said fluid”. However, the claims recite multiple fluids, thus it is unclear as to which specific “fluids” the limitation “said fluid” is specifically referring back to.
The term “room temperature” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “room temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what specific temperature is considered “room temperature”.
Claim 15 recites “said fluid”. However, the claims recite multiple fluids, thus it is unclear as to which specific “fluids” the limitation “said fluid” is specifically referring back to.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "said one or more temperature sensors" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites “as discussed below.”. The limitation is concluded by a period, and thus no further limitations are recited to read on “as discussed below”. Thus, the claim is indefinite since it is unclear what “as discussed below” entails.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said controller" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 line 6 recites “system can further comprise”, wherein the use of “can” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 line 8 recites “memory can store”, wherein the use of “can” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 recites “as discussed herein”, which is unclear as to the intent of the phrase.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said fluid temperature sensor, said control valve, and said fluid flow rate sensor" in lines 13-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase "such as" (last 6 lines) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The term “optimal”, “nearly optimal”, “efficient”, “optimize”, and “optimally” in claim 18 lines 4-7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what specific values are required in order to read on the recited limitations.
Regarding claim 18 line 9-10, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 19 recites “said electrical power input” and “said discarded fluid”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 line 2 recites “a prior art HVAC system configure for:”, wherein it is unclear if everything that follows “configured for” is part of the known prior art HVAC system or if the limitations are part of the new invention.
The remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claims 1-20 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gotland (US2013/0068418A1).
Re Claims 1-6. Gotland teaches a method of use of a thermal battery HVAC system, comprising (Figures 1-2, 12, 13):
receiving an HVAC input fluid, exchanging heat with said HVAC input fluid to generate a climate-controlled air output and a liquid refrigerant (Figures 1-2; Indoor heat exchanger 121 of the HVAC system 120 comprises an input fluid for heat exchange to create a climate-controlled air output and liquid refrigerant; Paragraphs 19-21; Paragraph 31 teaches using water as the refrigerant, which is a liquid),
receiving one or more fluid inputs with a fluid management assembly (valves 133a-d) (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21, 55-57),
storing a portion of said one or more fluid inputs in one or more fluid containers (180, 110, and/or 110b) (Figures 1-2, 7; Paragraphs 19-21, 33-40),
sending a portion of said one or more fluid inputs out of said fluid management assembly as one or more fluid outputs (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21; Fluid exits the valves as a fluid output to the HVAC system or stored fluid),
managing said one or more fluid inputs and said one or more fluid outputs with a controller application in a controller (170) (Figures 1-2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 19-21, 67-72),
assessing a fluid temperature and a fluid flow rate for a portion of said one or more fluid inputs and said one or more fluid outputs (Figures 1-2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 19-21, 67-72; Paragraph 37 teaches sensing temperature and pressures; Paragraph 72 teaches “The display 190 can also present such information as the temperature of the ground at a certain depth and/or distance from the fluid vessel 110, the temperature inside the fluid vessel 110, the level of fluid within the system 100, the fluid vessel 110, and/or reservoir 180, the pressure within the fluid vessel 110, the flow rate of working fluid through a portion of the fluid routing system 130, power consumption of the pump 150, and/or any other suitable information”. Thus, Gotland teaches assessing the fluid temperature and flow rate of the fluid), and
selectively sending said HVAC input fluid at an optimal temperature from said one or more fluid inputs (Figures 1-2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 19-21);
wherein a portion of said one or more fluid inputs comprises said liquid refrigerant from an HVAC fluid output of an HVAC system, and a stored water from said one or more fluid containers; and a portion of said one or more fluid outputs comprises said HVAC input fluid sent to a fluid input and a storage input fluid sent to said one or more fluid containers (Figures 1-2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 19-21, 49-56).
Re Claim 20. Gotland teaches a method of use of a thermal battery HVAC system, comprising a prior art HVAC system is configured for: (Figures 1-2, 12, 13):
receiving an HVAC input fluid, exchanging heat with said HVAC input fluid to generate a climate-controlled air output and a liquid refrigerant (Figures 1-2; Indoor heat exchanger 121 of the HVAC system 120 comprises an input fluid for heat exchange to create a climate-controlled air output and liquid refrigerant; Paragraphs 19-21; Paragraph 31 teaches using water as the refrigerant, which is a liquid),
receiving one or more fluid inputs with a fluid management assembly (valves 133a-d) (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21, 55-57),
storing a portion of said one or more fluid inputs in one or more fluid containers (180, 110, and/or 110b) (Figures 1-2, 7; Paragraphs 19-21, 33-40),
sending a portion of said one or more fluid inputs out of said fluid management assembly as one or more fluid outputs (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21; Fluid exits the valves as a fluid output to the HVAC system or stored fluid),
wherein, said one or more fluid containers is insulated (via surrounding soil) to prevent heat loss or gain from an outside environment (ambient air) into an internal cavity (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21);
fluids received by a fluid input is referred to as an HVAC fluid (Figures 1-2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 19-21);
a portion of said one or more fluid inputs comprises said liquid refrigerant from an HVAC fluid output of an HVAC system, and a stored water from said one or more fluid containers; and a portion of said one or more fluid outputs comprises said HVAC input fluid sent to said fluid input and a storage input fluid sent to said one or more fluid containers (Figures 1-2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 19-21, 49-56).
Re Claim 7. Gotland teaches said fluid input can receive an outside air and said HVAC fluid output can output an exhaust air to a blower (124) (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21. 51).
Re Claim 8. Gotland teaches said HVAC system is powered by an electrical power input; and said electrical power input is selected among: solar energy, grid energy, battery energy, or similar (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21, 39, 64).
Re Claim 9. Gotland teaches said one or more fluid outputs comprises said HVAC input fluid, a geothermal input fluid, said storage input fluid, and a discarded fluid (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21, 39, 64).
Re Claim 10. Gotland teaches where said liquid refrigerant is cooler than said climate-controlled air output, and said climate-controlled air output is hot air, said cold water is stored in said one or more fluid containers; and by holding thermal energy in fluids in said one or more fluid containers, said thermal battery HVAC system can transfer unused heat or cooling energy to a different part of a heating or cooling cycle (Figures 1-7, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 19-21, 49-54).
Re Claim 11. Gotland teaches each among said one or more fluid containers comprises one or more temperature sensors and a fluid level sensor (160); said one or more temperature sensors and said fluid level sensor can monitor a status of a fluid within each among said one or more fluid containers; said fluid level sensor can measure a fluid level within said one or more fluid containers; and each among said one or more fluid containers comprises at least a first fluid input and a first fluid output (Figures 1-2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 19-21, 37, 67-72).
Re Claim 12. Gotland teaches said one or more temperature sensors and said fluid level sensor comprises a plurality of sensors arranged within said one or more fluid containers for measuring temperatures and fluid status at various heights within an internal cavity of said one or more fluid containers (Figures 1-2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 19-21, 37, 67-72).
Re Claim 13. Gotland teaches said one or more fluid containers is insulated (via surrounding soil) to prevent heat loss or gain from an outside environment (ambient air) into an internal cavity (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 19-21)
Re Claim 14. Gotland teaches said thermal battery HVAC system is configured to store said fluid at multiple temperatures by utilizing a plurality of said one or more fluid containers (110, 110b); and said fluid at a temperature above room temperature in a first fluid container and said fluid below room temperature in a second fluid container (Figure 7; Paragraphs 26-27).
Re Claim 15. Gotland teaches by monitoring a temperature of said fluid using said one or more temperature sensors: said thermal battery HVAC system can adjust and calculate a temperature of said fluid input coming from said one or more fluid containers (Figure 7; Paragraphs 26-27, 67-72).
Re Claim 16. Gotland teaches each among said one or more fluid inputs and said one or more fluid outputs is measured using a fluid temperature sensor to measure said fluid temperature and a fluid flow rate sensor to measure said fluid flow rate; each among said one or more fluid inputs is connected to each among said one or more fluid outputs and selectively closed and opened using a control valve; a geothermally treated fluid is connected to each among said HVAC input fluid, said discarded fluid, said storage input fluid and said geothermal input fluid and managed using a first control valve, a second control valve, a third control valve, and a fourth control valve; and said controller can receive signals from said fluid temperature sensor, said fluid flow rate sensor and said control valve and can manage a flow of said one or more fluid inputs, and said one or more fluid outputs according to software instructions, as discussed below (Figures 1-7, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 26-27, 37-39, 49-54, 67-72).
Re Claim 17. Gotland teaches said controller comprises a computer configured for controlling parts of said fluid management assembly; said controller comprises a memory, one or more processors, a communication system, and a power system; said thermal battery HVAC system can further comprise said controller application stored in said memory and executed in said one or more processors; said memory can store and access a historical data and a system settings for said thermal battery HVAC system; Said communication system comprises a network hardware, bus or other COMM protocol for communicating with various sensors, peripherals and auxiliary systems as discussed herein and known in the art; Said communication system is in data communication with said fluid management assembly to measure and/or control said fluid temperature sensor, said control valve, and said fluid flow rate sensor for each among said one or more fluid inputs and said one or more fluid outputs; control of said one or more fluid inputs and said one or more fluid outputs of said fluid management assembly is done according to instructions held withing said controller application in said memory and said controller; said communication system can communicate with and gather data from remote resources such as a weather database, an energy costs data and/or a server application with instructions related the operation of said thermal battery HVAC system; and said communication system can communicate with such systems over a network such as the internet (Figures 2, 12, 13; Paragraphs 20, 37, 68-72).
Re Claim 18. Gotland teaches said HVAC system comprises an HVAC fluid loop and a compressor-heat-exchanger assembly (125 is a heat pump); Said HVAC input fluid can come into said HVAC system at an optimal or nearly optimal temperature for the efficient exchange of energy with said HVAC fluid loop; a compressor is used to further optimize a temperature of said HVAC input fluid, and a heat exchanger can optimally transfer heat from said HVAC input fluid into said HVAC fluid loop; and said HVAC fluid loop can then interact with other portions of said HVAC system such as an evaporator coil to generate said climate-controlled air output (Figure 2; Paragraphs 20, 51-52; A heat pump system comprises a compressor).
Re Claim 19. Gotland teaches said HVAC fluid output is channeled using said fluid management assembly to said one or more fluid containers, said electrical power input, said HVAC input fluid or said discarded fluid; and Said HVAC system comprises one or more circulating pumps (125) and one or more fans (124) to move said fluid and/or said climate-controlled air output (Figure 2; Paragraphs 20, 51-52; A heat pump system comprises a compressor, which is a type of pump).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763