DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on February 13, 2026, in which claims 1, 4, 7-9, 12, 15-19, 21, 23-28, and 30 have been amended, claims 22, and 29 have been canceled, and claims 31-32 have been added. Claims 1-21, 23-28, and 30-32 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 17-18, 24-25, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu et al. (US 2021/0083818) in view of Nagata et al. (US 2018/0115355) in view of Wang et al. (US 2019/0132156).
Regarding claim 1, Mu teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a transmitter, channel estimation information of a receiver (i.e., he base station 10 receives the data and the reference signal transmitted by each user equipment 20, performs channel estimation using the received reference signal [0024], [0065]); selecting, by the transmitter, a reference signal to be transmitted to the receiver, wherein the selection is based on the received channel estimation information (i.e., the base station 10 selects the reference signal from the reference signal set using Equation (2) based on the determined user ID and the time (t) at which the user equipment transmits data [0065]-[0066]). Alternatively, the base station 10 may select a reference signal from the reference signal set, and then select, according to the selected reference signal, based on the predetermined association rule between the multiplexing identification information and the reference signal, the multiplexing identification information from the multiplexing identification information set ([0067]-[0069]. the base station 10 may estimate a channel state between the base station and the user equipment according to the reference signal [0073]-[0074], [0088]).
Mu does not specifically teach transmitting, by the transmitter, the selected reference signal to the receiver.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Nagata teaches a radio base station is provided, including a selecting section configured to select at least one reference signal resource out of a plurality of reference signal resources that are allocated in advance; and a transmitting section configured to transmit information, from a radio base station for indicating the selected reference signal resource, to a mobile station so that the mobile station receives a beam corresponding to the at least one reference signal resource based on said information ([0010]-[001], [0021], [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Nagata within the system of Mu in order to improve signal transmission quality between a base station and a mobile station, and to increase the throughput of radio communication systems.
Mu in view Nagata teaches all the limitations above except wherein the channel estimation information of the receiver comprises one or more of: an indication of a type of analog to digital converter (ADC) of the receiver, a proposed reference signal, or particular parameter information pertaining to the ADC.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Wang teaches a receiver for use in a wireless communication system to receive signals transmitted over a wireless channel. The receiver includes a plurality of antennas and a plurality of radio-frequency (RF) chains coupled the plurality of antennas. Each RF chain includes an at least one-bit ADC to convert each measurement of an analog signal received by the antenna into one bit of information representing a result of a comparison of the measurement with a randomly ([0014]); a receiver where RF chains use a low-resolution ADC (e.g., 1-bit) to compare an analog signal with a threshold to generate a sequence of bits for channel estimation ([0061]). Those embodiments are based on insight that one-bit value indicating the result of the comparison of the measurements of the signal with a randomly selected threshold, as well as the value of the randomly selected threshold carries additional statistical information that can be used for channel estimation ([0062]-[0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Wang within the system MU and Nagata in order to improve. channel estimation accuracy, particularly in massive MIMO systems and low-precision (1-3 bit) ADC scenarios, enabling near-full-precision performance while reducing power consumption and feedback overhead.
Regarding claim 2, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Mu further teaches the reference signal is at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a sounding reference signal (SRS) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (i.e., The reference signal may, for example, be a demodulation reference signal ([0029], [0032], [0060]), the base station 10 may estimate a channel state between the base station and the user equipment according to the reference signal, and then demodulate the received data according to the estimated channel state [0073]) associated with at least one of: physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); or physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (i.e., the names used for the above-described parameters are not limited in any respect. For example, various channels (Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), or the like) and information elements can be identified with any appropriate names, thus various names allocated to the various channels and information elements are not limited in any respect [0117]-[0118]).
Regarding claim 3, Mu in view of Nagata in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Nagata further teaches receiving, by the transmitter, channel estimation feedback information from the receiver (i.e., the mobile station may provide feedback, to the base station, information that indicates the selected beam [0021], [0060]).
Regarding claim 4, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Mu further teaches the selecting, by the transmitter, a reference signal comprises: selecting the reference signal from a plurality of reference signals, wherein the selecting is performed based on channel estimation capabilities of the receiver provided in the channel estimation information received from the receiver; or selecting the reference signal as determined by the receiver and provided as a proposed reference signal in the channel estimation information received from the receiver (i.e., Each user equipment 20 selects multiplexing identification information (signature) and a reference signal, processes data using the selected multiplexing identification information, and transmits the processed data and the selected reference signal to the base station. The base station 10 receives the data and the reference signal transmitted by each user equipment 20, performs channel estimation using the received reference signal, and demodulates the data using the multiplexing identification information according to a channel estimation result.[0024]).
Regarding claim 9, Mu teaches a device comprising: a processor, and a computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions, that when executed cause the device (i.e., inherent features of communication device) to: receive, by a transmitter, channel estimation information of a receiver (i.e., he base station 10 receives the data and the reference signal transmitted by each user equipment 20, performs channel estimation using the received reference signal [0024], [0065]); selecting, by the transmitter, a reference signal to be transmitted to the receiver, wherein the selection is based on the received channel estimation information (i.e., the base station 10 selects the reference signal from the reference signal set using Equation (2) based on the determined user ID and the time (t) at which the user equipment transmits data [0065]-[0066]). Alternatively, the base station 10 may select a reference signal from the reference signal set, and then select, according to the selected reference signal, based on the predetermined association rule between the multiplexing identification information and the reference signal, the multiplexing identification information from the multiplexing identification information set ([0067]-[0069]. the base station 10 may estimate a channel state between the base station and the user equipment according to the reference signal [0073]-[0074], [0088]).
Mu does not specifically teach transmitting, by the transmitter, the selected reference signal to the receiver.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Nagata teaches a radio base station is provided, including a selecting section configured to select at least one reference signal resource out of a plurality of reference signal resources that are allocated in advance; and a transmitting section configured to transmit information, from a radio base station for indicating the selected reference signal resource, to a mobile station so that the mobile station receives a beam corresponding to the at least one reference signal resource based on said information ([0010]-[001], [0021], [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Nagata within the system of Mu in order to improve signal transmission quality between a base station and a mobile station, and to increase the throughput of radio communication systems.
Mu in view Nagata teaches all the limitations above except wherein the channel estimation information of the receiver comprises one or more of: an indication of a type of analog to digital converter (ADC) of the receiver, a proposed reference signal, or particular parameter information pertaining to the ADC.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Wang teaches a receiver for use in a wireless communication system to receive signals transmitted over a wireless channel. The receiver includes a plurality of antennas and a plurality of radio-frequency (RF) chains coupled the plurality of antennas. Each RF chain includes an at least one-bit ADC to convert each measurement of an analog signal received by the antenna into one bit of information representing a result of a comparison of the measurement with a randomly ([0014]); a receiver where RF chains use a low-resolution ADC (e.g., 1-bit) to compare an analog signal with a threshold to generate a sequence of bits for channel estimation ([0061]). Those embodiments are based on insight that one-bit value indicating the result of the comparison of the measurements of the signal with a randomly selected threshold, as well as the value of the randomly selected threshold carries additional statistical information that can be used for channel estimation ([0062]-[0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Wang within the system MU and Nagata in order to improve. channel estimation accuracy, particularly in massive MIMO systems and low-precision (1-3 bit) ADC scenarios, enabling near-full-precision performance while reducing power consumption and feedback overhead.
Regarding claim 10, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Mu further teaches the reference signal is at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a sounding reference signal (SRS) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (i.e., The reference signal may, for example, be a demodulation reference signal ([0029], [0032], [0060]), the base station 10 may estimate a channel state between the base station and the user equipment according to the reference signal, and then demodulate the received data according to the estimated channel state [0073]) associated with at least one of: physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); or physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (i.e., the names used for the above-described parameters are not limited in any respect. For example, various channels (Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), or the like) and information elements can be identified with any appropriate names, thus various names allocated to the various channels and information elements are not limited in any respect [0117]-[0118]).
Regarding claim 11, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Nagata further teaches receiving, by the transmitter, channel estimation feedback information from the receiver (i.e., the mobile station may provide feedback, to the base station, information that indicates the selected beam [0021], [0060]).
Regarding claim 12, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Mu further teaches the selecting, by the transmitter, a reference signal comprises: selecting the reference signal from a plurality of reference signals, wherein the selecting is performed based on channel estimation capabilities of the receiver provided in the channel estimation information received from the receiver; or selecting the reference signal as determined by the receiver and provided as a proposed reference signal in the channel estimation information received from the receiver (i.e., Each user equipment 20 selects multiplexing identification information (signature) and a reference signal, processes data using the selected multiplexing identification information, and transmits the processed data and the selected reference signal to the base station. The base station 10 receives the data and the reference signal transmitted by each user equipment 20, performs channel estimation using the received reference signal, and demodulates the data using the multiplexing identification information according to a channel estimation result.[0024]).
Regarding claim 17, Mu teaches a method comprising: transmitting, by a receiver, channel estimation information of a receiver (i.e., he base station 10 receives the data and the reference signal transmitted by each user equipment 20, performs channel estimation using the received reference signal [0024], [0065]); receiving, by the receiver, a reference signal, the reference signal selected from a plurality of reference signals based on the channel estimation information (i.e., the base station 10 selects the reference signal from the reference signal set using Equation (2) based on the determined user ID and the time (t) at which the user equipment transmits data [0065]-[0066]). Alternatively, the base station 10 may select a reference signal from the reference signal set, and then select, according to the selected reference signal, based on the predetermined association rule between the multiplexing identification information and the reference signal, the multiplexing identification information from the multiplexing identification information set ([0067]-[0069]. the base station 10 may estimate a channel state between the base station and the user equipment according to the reference signal [0073]-[0074], [0088]); performing channel estimation, by the receiver, using the received reference signal ([0024]).
Mu does not specifically teach transmitting, by the receiver, channel estimation feedback information based on the channel estimation.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Nagata teaches the mobile station receives these beams and performs a channel estimation, selects at least one beam based on the channel estimation result, and performs a feedback of the selected beam to the base station so that the base station transmits downlink data based on the feedback. It should be noted that although only one base station and only one mobile station are shown in FIG. 1, a larger number of base stations and mobile stations can be present. Furthermore, although only three reference signal beams are shown in FIG. 1, the number of beams can be increased or decreased as necessary. What should be recognized is that the above-described reference signals may be CSI-RSs, common reference signals (CRS) or demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ([0010]-[001], [0021], [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Nagata within the system of Mu in order to improve signal transmission quality between a base station and a mobile station, and to increase the throughput of radio communication systems.
Mu in view Nagata teaches all the limitations above except wherein the channel estimation information of the receiver comprises one or more of: an indication of a type of analog to digital converter (ADC) of the receiver, a proposed reference signal, or particular parameter information pertaining to the ADC.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Wang teaches a receiver for use in a wireless communication system to receive signals transmitted over a wireless channel. The receiver includes a plurality of antennas and a plurality of radio-frequency (RF) chains coupled the plurality of antennas. Each RF chain includes an at least one-bit ADC to convert each measurement of an analog signal received by the antenna into one bit of information representing a result of a comparison of the measurement with a randomly ([0014]); a receiver where RF chains use a low-resolution ADC (e.g., 1-bit) to compare an analog signal with a threshold to generate a sequence of bits for channel estimation ([0061]). Those embodiments are based on insight that one-bit value indicating the result of the comparison of the measurements of the signal with a randomly selected threshold, as well as the value of the randomly selected threshold carries additional statistical information that can be used for channel estimation ([0062]-[0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Wang within the system MU and Nagata in order to improve. channel estimation accuracy, particularly in massive MIMO systems and low-precision (1-3 bit) ADC scenarios, enabling near-full-precision performance while reducing power consumption and feedback overhead.
Regarding claim 18, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Mu further teaches the selecting, by the receiver, the reference signal from the plurality of reference signals, wherein the selecting is performed based on channel estimation capabilities of the receiver; and including the selected reference signal in the channel estimation information that is transmitted to the transmitter (i.e., Each user equipment 20 selects multiplexing identification information (signature) and a reference signal, processes data using the selected multiplexing identification information, and transmits the processed data and the selected reference signal to the base station. The base station 10 receives the data and the reference signal transmitted by each user equipment 20, performs channel estimation using the received reference signal, and demodulates the data using the multiplexing identification information according to a channel estimation result.[0024]).
Regarding claim 24, Mu teaches a device comprising: a processor, and a computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions, that when executed cause the device (inherent features of communication device to: transmit channel estimation information of the device (i.e., he base station 10 receives the data and the reference signal transmitted by each user equipment 20, performs channel estimation using the received reference signal [0024], [0065]); receive a reference signal, the reference signal selected from a plurality of reference signals based on the channel estimation information (i.e., the base station 10 selects the reference signal from the reference signal set using Equation (2) based on the determined user ID and the time (t) at which the user equipment transmits data [0065]-[0066]). Alternatively, the base station 10 may select a reference signal from the reference signal set, and then select, according to the selected reference signal, based on the predetermined association rule between the multiplexing identification information and the reference signal, the multiplexing identification information from the multiplexing identification information set ([0067]-[0069]. the base station 10 may estimate a channel state between the base station and the user equipment according to the reference signal [0073]-[0074], [0088]); perform channel estimation using the received reference signal ([0024]).
Mu does not specifically teach transmit channel estimation feedback information based on the channel estimation.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Nagata teaches the mobile station receives these beams and performs a channel estimation, selects at least one beam based on the channel estimation result, and performs a feedback of the selected beam to the base station so that the base station transmits downlink data based on the feedback. It should be noted that although only one base station and only one mobile station are shown in FIG. 1, a larger number of base stations and mobile stations can be present. Furthermore, although only three reference signal beams are shown in FIG. 1, the number of beams can be increased or decreased as necessary. What should be recognized is that the above-described reference signals may be CSI-RSs, common reference signals (CRS) or demodulation reference signals (DMRS) ([0010]-[001], [0021], [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Nagata within the system of Mu in order to improve signal transmission quality between a base station and a mobile station, and to increase the throughput of radio communication systems.
Mu in view Nagata teaches all the limitations above except wherein the channel estimation information of the receiver comprises one or more of: an indication of a type of analog to digital converter (ADC) of the receiver, a proposed reference signal, or particular parameter information pertaining to the ADC.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Wang teaches a receiver for use in a wireless communication system to receive signals transmitted over a wireless channel. The receiver includes a plurality of antennas and a plurality of radio-frequency (RF) chains coupled the plurality of antennas. Each RF chain includes an at least one-bit ADC to convert each measurement of an analog signal received by the antenna into one bit of information representing a result of a comparison of the measurement with a randomly ([0014]); a receiver where RF chains use a low-resolution ADC (e.g., 1-bit) to compare an analog signal with a threshold to generate a sequence of bits for channel estimation ([0061]). Those embodiments are based on insight that one-bit value indicating the result of the comparison of the measurements of the signal with a randomly selected threshold, as well as the value of the randomly selected threshold carries additional statistical information that can be used for channel estimation ([0062]-[0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Wang within the system MU and Nagata in order to improve. channel estimation accuracy, particularly in massive MIMO systems and low-precision (1-3 bit) ADC scenarios, enabling near-full-precision performance while reducing power consumption and feedback overhead.
Regarding claim 25, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Mu further teaches the selecting, by the receiver, the reference signal from the plurality of reference signals, wherein the selecting is performed based on channel estimation capabilities of the receiver; and including the selected reference signal in the channel estimation information that is transmitted to the transmitter (i.e., Each user equipment 20 selects multiplexing identification information (signature) and a reference signal, processes data using the selected multiplexing identification information, and transmits the processed data and the selected reference signal to the base station. The base station 10 receives the data and the reference signal transmitted by each user equipment 20, performs channel estimation using the received reference signal, and demodulates the data using the multiplexing identification information according to a channel estimation result.[0024]).
Regarding claim 31, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Wang further teaches wherein the particular parameter information pertaining to the ADC comprises one or more of: an ADC number of bits, decision threshold boundaries, quantization outputs, sampling rate, oversampling ratio, or desired accuracy (i.e., Step 128A and Step 128B quantize the analog baseband signals of the I/Q channels using low-resolution ADCs. One low-resolution ADC is used for one receiving antenna or one RF chain. Step 129 includes all the baseband signal processing on the quantized I/Q signals [0079], [0097]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 32, Mu in view of Nagata further in view of Wang teaches all the limitations above. Wang further teaches wherein the particular parameter information pertaining to the ADC comprises one or more of: an ADC number of bits, decision threshold boundaries, quantization outputs, sampling rate, oversampling ratio, or desired accuracy (i.e., Step 128A and Step 128B quantize the analog baseband signals of the I/Q channels using low-resolution ADCs. One low-resolution ADC is used for one receiving antenna or one RF chain. Step 129 includes all the baseband signal processing on the quantized I/Q signals [0079], [0097]-[0099]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 13-16, 19-21, 23, 26-28, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21, 23-28, and 30-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643