DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the arguments filed on 5/27/2026.
Claims 1-11 are presented for examination on the merits. The following rejections are made.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/27/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-11 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Haider et al. (US 2016/0015783) in view of Burford et al. (US 2003/0092119) have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 2/27/2026.
In regards to the 103 rejection, Applicant asserts the following:
A) Burford’s teaching of ‘treating’ is untethered to any neurological condition and does not enable, exemplify or ever contemplate treating a neurological disease with nuclear hormone receptor (NHR) therapy. The section pointed to in the Office Action only refers to diagnosing epilepsy and not treating.
In response to A, the Examiner notes that the section pointed to is interested in using NHR for diagnosing epilepsy rather than treating. This narrow application of Burford by Applicant is too restrictive. Burford generally teaches that NHRs are a family of proteins that are important in a wide range of biological activities including homeostasis, cell proliferation and cell differentiation and that NHR therapy can be used in methods of diagnosing or treatment of various conditions associated with aberrant expression of NHR. [0240] was cited by the Examiner to point to epilepsy as a condition characterized by aberrant expression of NHR. While this section is devoted to using NHR for diagnosing various conditions, the section still teaches that epilepsy is a condition encompassed by the broad framework described before which one of ordinary skill in the art would envisage being treated by NHR therapy. After all, Burford teaches that NHR therapy is useful in diagnosing and treating conditions with aberrant NHR expression (see claims 21 and 35). It’s noted, however, that [0188] states that NHR therapy may be used to treat disorders associated with decreased expression of NHR such as epilepsy. Thus, given the general understanding that epilepsy is a condition characterized by deficient NHR, one of ordinary skill would readily envisage providing NHR therapy to correct said deficiency. Accordingly, given that the general framework is provided by Burford, the use of NHR to treat epilepsy would be enabled as a) epilepsy is characterized by aberrant NHR expression and b) would be treated by increasing NHR expression. Applicant’s argument is not considered persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/27/2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-11 made by the Examiner under nonstatutory double patenting over claims 19-21 of copending 17/080078 in view of Burford et al. (US 2003/0092119) have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive and is MAINTAINED for the reasons of record in the office action mailed on 2/27/2026.
B) Burford’s teaching of ‘treating’ is untethered to any neurological condition and does not enable, exemplify or ever contemplate treating a neurological disease with nuclear hormone receptor (NHR) therapy. The section pointed to in the Office Action only refers to diagnosing epilepsy and not treating.
In response to B, Burford teaches that NHR be used for both treating and diagnosing epilepsy. See section 5 above. Thus, one would reasonably desire to modify the copending application to use that method in a method of treating epilepsy with a reasonable expectation for success.
Maintained Rejections, of Record
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haider et al. (US 2016/0015783) in view of Burford et al. (US 2003/0092119).
Haider describes a method for administering gene modifiers for treating ocular disease, the method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a composition comprising a) a nucleic acid, e.g. RNA, DNA (see [0026]), encoding a nuclear hormone receptor (see [0004, 0005, 0046] and claim 1) (see instant claim 1(a)) such as the nucleic acid encoding RORA (see [0005] and claim 11; see instant claims 9 and 10) and b) a delivery vehicle (see claim 25). Exemplified delivery vehicles include viral vectors like adeno-associated viruses or adenovirus delivery systems (see [0071, 0073]) (see instant claims 1(b), 2 and 3), as well as non-viral vectors such as lipid nanoparticles and biodegradable polymer complexes (e.g. PLGA nanoparticles) (see [0081] and claim 25) (see instant claims 7 and 8). Haider teaches that the nucleic acid encoding the nuclear hormone receptor may be recombinant (see [0026, 0070]) (see instant claim 1(a)). Moreover, Haider teaches that the method may include expression control enhancers such as a CMV enhancer (see [0076]) (see instant claims 4 and 6) and/or polyadenylation moieties such as SV40 and/or polyA from bovine growth hormone (see [0076]) (see instant claims 4 and 5).
Haider fails to teach the method of administering the composition as being for ameliorating or treating a neurological condition (e.g. epilepsy).
Burford, like Haider, is directed to methods of administering compositions comprising nucleic acids encoding a nuclear hormone receptor via a carrier vehicle such as adenoviruses (see abstract and [0163, 0167]). It is taught that the nuclear hormone receptors are a protein superfamily that act as both receptors and transcriptional regulators that serves a wide array of biological processes including homeostasis, cell proliferation and cell differentiation. The method may be useful in the treatment of a variety of neuropathies and developmental disorders such as epilepsy (a ‘neurological condition or disease’) (see [0240]) (see instant claims 1 and 11). It would have been obvious to modify Haider’s method to encompass the treatment of other known diseases, e.g. epilepsy, as such diseases were known to be responsive to nuclear hormone receptor gene therapy (see Burford). Thus, one would have a reasonable expectation for success in combining the prior art methods to arrive a method such as that claimed. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-21 of copending Application No. 17/080078 in view of Burford et al. (US 2003/0092119).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims in all the applications are drawn to a method of administering a human nuclear hormone receptor gene and a delivery vehicle for the treatment of a neurological condition/disease. The delivery vehicle may be an adenovirus capsid such as AAV5 (see [0079] of published specification) and the method may include non-viral delivery vehicles, promoters and enhancers such as those claimed (see specification). The reference claims do not describe a method of treating neurological condition such as epilepsy. Burford is directed to methods of administering a human nuclear hormone receptor gene via a viral delivery vehicle such as adenovirus. Burford’s method is taught to be useful in the treatment of neurological conditions such as epilepsy (see [0007]). It would have been obvious to modify the reference application to be used in methods of treating neurological conditions with a reasonable expectation for success. Thus, the scope of the claims are overlapping and the differences considered obvious.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611