Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues:
Based on the above comments, Applicant submits that amended claim 1 is novel over Sahraei.
The examiner calls attention to the prior art of SAHRAEI. SAHRAEI writes, “The configuration information may include locations of the RISs, uplink reflection angles of the RISs, downlink reflection angles of the RISs, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the locations, uplink reflection angles, and downlink reflection angles may be relative (e.g., relative to another RIS) or explicit. The configuration information may include a single reflection angle for a RIS (e.g., if behavior of the RIS is reciprocal for uplink and downlink) or multiple reflection angles for a RIS (e.g., if behavior of the RIS is not reciprocal for uplink and downlink). Additionally or alternatively, the configuration information may include a set of time and frequency resources associated with a RIS. That is, the base station 105 may allocate a set of time and frequency resources associated with a RIS to the one or more UEs 115. Using one or more of the techniques described herein, RDMA may enable a passive MIMO communication scheme between a base station 105 and one or more UEs 115. That is, the base station 105 may multiplex the one or more UEs 115 with spatially separated RISs that employ passive components” (paragraph 0091). SAHRAEI notes, “If, for example, the communication link 410-d between the base station 105-c and the UE 115-h is obstructed, experiences interference, or otherwise drops below a quality or signal strength threshold, the UE 115-h may use the RIS 405-e to maintain communication with the base station 105-c via the communication link 410-e” (paragraph 0110; figure 4). SAHRAEI explains that the configuration information may include locations of the RISs, uplink reflection angles of the RISs, downlink reflection angles of the RISs, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the locations, uplink reflection angles, and downlink reflection angles may be relative (e.g., relative to another RIS) or explicit. The configuration information may include a single reflection angle for a RIS (e.g., if behavior of the RIS is reciprocal for uplink and downlink) or multiple reflection angles for a RIS (e.g., if behavior of the RIS is not reciprocal for uplink and downlink). SAHRAEI indicates the use of multiple reflection angles for a RIS, for instance if the behavior of the RIS is not reciprocal for uplink and downlink. SAHRAEI mentions that the RIS may be used when the signal strength threshold is not met, suggesting the strength of the signal must satisfy the threshold for the RIS to be utilized.
Therefore, the rejections of the independent claims continue. Likewise, the rejections of the dependent claims also persist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by SAHRAEI et al. (US 20240007147 A1, hereinafter, "SAHRAEI").
Regarding claim 1, SAHRAEI teaches a method comprising:
SAHRAEI writes, “A method for wireless communications at a UE is described. The method may include
receiving, from a base station, a message indicating a configuration of a RIS, selecting the RIS to facilitate
communications with the base station based on the configuration of the RIS, and communicating with
the base station via the RIS based on the selecting” (paragraph 0006).
sending, by a transmitter, first configuration information to configure a reconfigurable
intelligent surface (RIS) to redirect a signal over a range of directions;
SAHRAEI writes, “A method for wireless communications at a UE is described. The method may include
receiving, from a base station, a message indicating a configuration of a RIS, selecting the RIS to facilitate
communications with the base station based on the configuration of the RIS, and communicating with
the base station via the RIS based on the selecting” (paragraph 0006). SAHRAEI notes, “For example, the
base station may transmit a beamformed communication in a direction of the RIS and the RIS may
reflect (e.g., deflect, refract) the beamformed communication in a direction of the UE based on a
downlink reflection angle of the RIS” (paragraph 0005). SAHRAEI adds, “For example, based on a
location of the UE 115-c and a location of the sub-RIS 310-b, the base station 105-b may configure the
sub-RIS 310-b with a first configuration so that the sub-RIS 310-b deflects communications between the
UE 115-c and the base station 105-b” (paragraph 0106).
sending, by the transmitter, second configuration information pertaining to reference signals
that are transmitted by the transmitter and redirected in a direction of a receiver by the RIS;
SAHRAEI writes, “Based on a location of the UE 115-d and a location of the sub-RIS 310-c, the base
station may configure the sub-RIS 310-c with a second configuration so that the sub-RIS 310-c deflects
communications between the UE 115-d and the base station 105-b. Accordingly, the base station 105-b
may configure the sub-RIS 310-b and the sub-RIS 310-c with different configurations (e.g., different
uplink reflection angles, different downlink reflection angles, or both) so that the base station 105-b can
communicate with both the UE 115-c and the UE 115-d via the RIS 305” (paragraph 0106). SAHRAEI
mentions, “A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115) may try multiple receive configurations (e.g., directional
listening) when receiving various signals from the base station 105, such as synchronization signals,
reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals” (paragraph 0085).
sending, by the transmitter, the reference signals;
SAHRAEI writes, “The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference
signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or
unprecoded” (paragraph 0084).
receiving, by the transmitter, a measurement report from the receiver identifying
measurements of the reference signals performed by the receiver;
SAHRAEI writes, “In some cases, the UE 115-a may transmit, to the base station 105-a, a feedback
message in response to the RIS configuration message 220. The feedback message may indicate a
selection of the RIS 205. The UE 115-a may select the RIS 205 to facilitate communications with the base
station 105-a based on a location of the UE 115-a, a location of the base station 105-a, a location of the
RIS 205 indicated by the RIS configuration message 220, an uplink reflection angle of the RIS 205
indicated by the RIS configuration message 220, a downlink reflection angle of the RIS 205 indicated by
the RIS configuration message 220, a signal measurement (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP),
reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal-to-noise ratio
(SNR), signal-to-noise plus interference ratio (SNIR), signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR))
associated with the direct communication link 215, the communication link 210 via the RIS 205, or both,
or a combination thereof. In some examples, the UE 115-a may transmit the feedback message via the
RIS 205 using the communication link 210” (paragraph 0097).
and when there is a lack of beam correspondence between a signal transmitted by the
transmitter and redirected by the RIS in the direction of the receiver and a signal transmitted by the
receiver and redirected by the RIS in a direction of the transmitter, selecting a manner of
reconfiguring the RIS to compensate for the lack of beam correspondence,
SAHRAEI writes, “The base station may communicate with multiple UEs via one or more RISs using RIS-
division multiple access (RDMA). For example, the base station may subdivide a RIS into multiple subsets
of elements and use different subsets of elements to communicate with different UEs. Additionally or
alternatively, the base station may use multiple RISs distributed throughout the coverage area to
communicate with the multiple UEs. In some examples, the base station may use multiple RISs to
communicate with a single UE. For example, if a path between a UE and the base station using a first RIS
is obstructed, experiences interference, or otherwise drops below a quality or signal strength threshold,
the base station may use a second RIS to communicate with the UE via a different path” (paragraph
0052); Also, SAHRAEI discloses that the term “RIS,” as used herein, may refer to a single RIS, multiple
RISs acting as a single entity, a sub-RIS, a RIS including multiple sub-RISs, or a combination thereof
(paragraph 0103).
wherein selecting the manner of reconfiguring the RIS to compensate for the lack of beam correspondence comprises configuring the RIS to redirect a signal from either the transmitter or the receiver via beams that encompass an expected deviation from a desired redirection angle in bi-directional communication while the signal reaches a destination in both directions of communication with a strength that satisfies a threshold.
SAHRAEI writes, “The base station may communicate with multiple UEs via one or more RISs using RIS-division multiple access (RDMA). For example, the base station may subdivide a RIS into multiple subsets of elements and use different subsets of elements to communicate with different UEs. Additionally or alternatively, the base station may use multiple RISs distributed throughout the coverage area to communicate with the multiple UEs. In some examples, the base station may use multiple RISs to communicate with a single UE. For example, if a path between a UE and the base station using a first RIS is obstructed, experiences interference, or otherwise drops below a quality or signal strength threshold, the base station may use a second RIS to communicate with the UE via a different path” (paragraph 0052). SAHRAEI adds, “The configuration information may include locations of the RISs, uplink reflection angles of the RISs, downlink reflection angles of the RISs, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the locations, uplink reflection angles, and downlink reflection angles may be relative (e.g., relative to another RIS) or explicit. The configuration information may include a single reflection angle for a RIS (e.g., if behavior of the RIS is reciprocal for uplink and downlink) or multiple reflection angles for a RIS (e.g., if behavior of the RIS is not reciprocal for uplink and downlink). Additionally or alternatively, the configuration information may include a set of time and frequency resources associated with a RIS. That is, the base station 105 may allocate a set of time and frequency resources associated with a RIS to the one or more UEs 115. Using one or more of the techniques described herein, RDMA may enable a passive MIMO communication scheme between a base station 105 and one or more UEs 115. That is, the base station 105 may multiplex the one or more UEs 115 with spatially separated RISs that employ passive components” (paragraph 0091). SAHRAEI notes, “If, for example, the communication link 410-d between the base station 105-c and the UE 115-h is obstructed, experiences interference, or otherwise drops below a quality or signal strength threshold, the UE 115-h may use the RIS 405-e to maintain communication with the base station 105-c via the communication link 410-e” (paragraph 0110; figure 4). SAHRAEI explains that the configuration information may include locations of the RISs, uplink reflection angles of the RISs, downlink reflection angles of the RISs, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the locations, uplink reflection angles, and downlink reflection angles may be relative (e.g., relative to another RIS) or explicit. The configuration information may include a single reflection angle for a RIS (e.g., if behavior of the RIS is reciprocal for uplink and downlink) or multiple reflection angles for a RIS (e.g., if behavior of the RIS is not reciprocal for uplink and downlink). SAHRAEI indicates the use of multiple reflection angles for a RIS, for instance if the behavior of the RIS is not reciprocal for uplink and downlink. SAHRAEI mentions that the RIS may be used when the signal strength threshold is not met, suggesting the strength of the signal must satisfy the threshold for the RIS to be utilized.
Regarding claim 2, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising the transmitter:
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches determining whether there is beam correspondence; or
receiving an indication from the receiver or a network as to whether there is beam correspondence.
SAHRAEI writes, “For example, a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base
station 105 in different directions and may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal that
the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality or an otherwise acceptable signal quality” (paragraph
0083).
Regarding claim 3, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 2,
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches wherein the determining, by the transmitter, whether there is
beam correspondence comprises making the determination based on one or more of: a frequency
resource used for transmissions made from the transmitter and a frequency resource used for
transmissions made from the receiver; an angle of arrival (AoA) of a beam incident on the RIS and an
angle of departure (AoD) of a beam redirected by the RIS; a difference between an AoA of a beam
incident on the RIS and an AoD of a beam redirected by the RIS; accuracy of estimating an AoA and/or
angle of AoD at the RIS; beam width for the incident and redirected signals at RIS; or a RIS type.
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable
medium described herein, the configuration of the RIS indicates a set of time resources, a set of
frequency resources, or both assigned to the RIS” (paragraph 0018). SAHRAEI continues, “In some
examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein,
the configuration of the RIS includes a location of the RIS, an uplink reflection angle of the RIS, a
downlink reflection angle of the RIS, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 4, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 1,
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches wherein selecting the manner of reconfiguring the RIS to compensate for the lack of beam correspondence further comprises selecting an additional manner of reconfiguring the RIS from a group, the group comprising:
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the message indicates a set of multiple configurations for a set of multiple RISs in a wireless network” (paragraph 0013). SAHRAEI notes, “In some aspects, the base station may dynamically configure the RIS to reflect an incoming signal in a specific direction” (paragraph 0051). SAHRAEI adds, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, selecting the RIS may include operations, features, means, or instructions for selecting the RIS of the set of multiple RISs for communication based on a position of the UE, a position of the base station, a position of the RIS indicated by the configuration of the RIS, an uplink reflection angle of the RIS indicated by the configuration of the RIS, a downlink reflection angle of the RIS indicated by the configuration of the RIS, a reference signal measurement associated with the RIS, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0014).
configuring the RIS to be partitioned into two or more surface portions, wherein at least one
surface portion is configured to redirect a beam from the transmitter to the receiver and a different at
least one surface portion is configured to redirect a beam from the receiver to the transmitter;
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable
medium described herein, the RIS includes a first sub-RIS of a total RIS and the location of the RIS
includes a relative location of the first sub-RIS relative to a second sub-RIS of the total RIS, the uplink
reflection angle of the RIS includes a relative uplink reflection angle of the first sub-RIS relative to an
uplink reflection angle of the second sub-RIS of the total RIS, the downlink reflection angle of the RIS
includes a relative downlink reflection angle of the first sub-RIS relative to a downlink reflection angle of
the second sub-RIS of the total RIS, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0020). SAHRAEI adds, “The
configuration information may include locations of the RISs, uplink reflection angles of the RISs,
downlink reflection angles of the RISs, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0091). SAHRAEI explains,
“In some aspects, the term ‘RIS,’ as used herein, may refer to a single RIS, multiple RISs acting as a single
entity, a sub-RIS, a RIS including multiple sub-RISs, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0103).
configuring each of a plurality of RIS, wherein at least one RIS of the plurality of RIS is
configured to redirect a beam from the transmitter to the receiver and at least one RIS of the plurality
of RIS is configured to redirect a beam from the receiver to the transmitter;
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable
medium described herein, the RIS includes a first sub-RIS of a total RIS and the location of the RIS
includes a relative location of the first sub-RIS relative to a second sub-RIS of the total RIS, the uplink
reflection angle of the RIS includes a relative uplink reflection angle of the first sub-RIS relative to an
uplink reflection angle of the second sub-RIS of the total RIS, the downlink reflection angle of the RIS
includes a relative downlink reflection angle of the first sub-RIS relative to a downlink reflection angle of
the second sub-RIS of the total RIS, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0020). SAHRAEI adds, “The
configuration information may include locations of the RISs, uplink reflection angles of the RISs,
downlink reflection angles of the RISs, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0091). SAHRAEI explains,
“In some aspects, the term ‘RIS,’ as used herein, may refer to a single RIS, multiple RISs acting as a single
entity, a sub-RIS, a RIS including multiple sub-RISs, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0103).
and configuring the RIS based on time division multiplexing to allow the RIS to redirect from
the transmitter to the receiver and from the receiver to the transmitter during different transmission
resources.
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples, the base station 105-b may allocate a specific RIS 305, sub-RIS 310,
or both to the UE 115 along with the time and frequency resources. In some other examples, the UE 115
may determine the RIS 305, sub-RIS 310, or both based on the allocated time resources and the TDM
configuration of the RIS 305, sub-RIS 310, or both” (paragraph 0107).
Regarding claim 5, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 1
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches further comprising one or more of: sending, by the transmitter,
third configuration information to configure the RIS to redirect a signal from either the transmitter or
the receiver via beams that encompass an expected deviation from a desired redirection angle;
sending, by the transmitter, third configuration information to configure the RIS to partition the RIS
into two or more surface portions, wherein at least one surface portion is configured to redirect a
signal from the transmitter to the receiver and a different at least one surface portion is configured to
redirect a signal from the receiver to the transmitter; sending, by the transmitter, third configuration
information to configure each of the plurality of RISs, to redirect a signal from the transmitter to the
receiver or redirect a signal from the receiver to the transmitter; sending, by the transmitter, third
configuration information to configure the RIS based on time division multiplexing to redirect from
the transmitter to the receiver and from the receiver to the transmitter at different transmission
resources; or sending, by a transmitter, third configuration information to configure the RIS to
redirect a signal from the receiver to the transmitter considering a range of directions of incident
signal from the receiver to the RIS.
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples, the base station 105-b may allocate a specific RIS 305, sub-RIS 310,
or both to the UE 115 along with the time and frequency resources. In some other examples, the UE 115
may determine the RIS 305, sub-RIS 310, or both based on the allocated time resources and the TDM
configuration of the RIS 305, sub-RIS 310, or both” (paragraph 0107).
Regarding claim 6, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising:
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches receiving, by the transmitter, reference signals from the receiver
that have been redirected by the RIS;
SAHRAEI writes, “Some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals,
or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station…” (paragraph 0082). SAHRAEI continues,
“A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115) may try multiple receive configurations (e.g., directional listening)
when receiving various signals from the base station 105, such as synchronization signals, reference
signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals” (paragraph 0085).
measuring, by the transmitter, the received reference signals;
SAHRAEI writes, “In some cases, the UE 115-a may transmit, to the base station 105-a, a feedback
message in response to the RIS configuration message 220. The feedback message may indicate a
selection of the RIS 205. The UE 115-a may select the RIS 205 to facilitate communications with the base
station 105-a based on a location of the UE 115-a, a location of the base station 105-a, a location of the
RIS 205 indicated by the RIS configuration message 220, an uplink reflection angle of the RIS 205
indicated by the RIS configuration message 220, a downlink reflection angle of the RIS 205 indicated by
the RIS configuration message 220, a signal measurement (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP),
reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal-to-noise ratio
(SNR), signal-to-noise plus interference ratio (SNIR), signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR))
associated with the direct communication link 215, the communication link 210 via the RIS 205, or both,
or a combination thereof. In some examples, the UE 115-a may transmit the feedback message via the
RIS 205 using the communication link 210” (paragraph 0097).
and sending, by the transmitter, a measurement report to the receiver identifying
measurements of the reference signals at the transmitter.
SAHRAEI writes, “In some cases, the UE 115-a may transmit, to the base station 105-a, a feedback
message in response to the RIS configuration message 220. The feedback message may indicate a
selection of the RIS 205. The UE 115-a may select the RIS 205 to facilitate communications with the base
station 105-a based on a location of the UE 115-a, a location of the base station 105-a, a location of the
RIS 205 indicated by the RIS configuration message 220, an uplink reflection angle of the RIS 205
indicated by the RIS configuration message 220, a downlink reflection angle of the RIS 205 indicated by
the RIS configuration message 220, a signal measurement (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP),
reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal-to-noise ratio
(SNR), signal-to-noise plus interference ratio (SNIR), signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR))
associated with the direct communication link 215, the communication link 210 via the RIS 205, or both,
or a combination thereof. In some examples, the UE 115-a may transmit the feedback message via the
RIS 205 using the communication link 210” (paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 7, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 2 further comprising:
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches sending, by the transmitter, a notification that signal power of a
redirected signal is reduced.
SAHRAEI writes, “As such, subdividing the RIS 305 may reduce the processing power associated with
performing RDMA for moving UEs 115...Thus, subdividing the RIS 305 may also reduce the processing
power associated with performing RDMA for UEs 115 connecting to and disconnecting from the
network” (paragraph 0108). SAHRAEI adds, “The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection,
which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type
codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these
techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base
station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different
directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115)
or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device)”
(paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 8, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 3,
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches further comprising sending, by the transmitter, fourth configuration information, the fourth configuration information comprising timing information for different transmission recourses.
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable
medium described herein, the configuration of the RIS indicates a set of time resources, a set of
frequency resources, or both assigned to the RIS” (paragraph 0018). SAHRAEI continues, “In some
examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein,
the configuration of the RIS includes a location of the RIS, an uplink reflection angle of the RIS, a
downlink reflection angle of the RIS, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 9, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising:
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches receiving, by the transmitter, a signal that has been redirected
by the RIS via a beam that encompass an expected deviation from a desired redirection angle from
the receiver with a strength that satisfies a threshold; or transmitting, by the transmitter, a signal that
will be redirected by the RIS to the receiver via a beam that encompass an expected deviation from a
desired redirection angle to the receiver with a strength that satisfies a threshold.
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable
medium described herein, the configuration of the RIS indicates a set of time resources, a set of
frequency resources, or both assigned to the RIS” (paragraph 0018). SAHRAEI continues, “In some
examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein,
the configuration of the RIS includes a location of the RIS, an uplink reflection angle of the RIS, a
downlink reflection angle of the RIS, or a combination thereof” (paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 10, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising:
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches receiving, by the transmitter, a signal that has been redirected
by at least one surface portion of the RIS; or transmitting, by the transmitter, a signal that will be
redirected by at least one different surface portion of the RIS.
SAHRAEI writes, “The base station may communicate with multiple UEs via one or more RISs using RIS-
division multiple access (RDMA). For example, the base station may subdivide a RIS into multiple subsets
of elements and use different subsets of elements to communicate with different UEs. Additionally or
alternatively, the base station may use multiple RISs distributed throughout the coverage area to
communicate with the multiple UEs. In some examples, the base station may use multiple RISs to
communicate with a single UE. For example, if a path between a UE and the base station using a first RIS
is obstructed, experiences interference, or otherwise drops below a quality or signal strength threshold,
the base station may use a second RIS to communicate with the UE via a different path” (paragraph
0052).
Regarding claim 11, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising:
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches receiving, by the transmitter, a signal that has been redirected
by at least one RIS of a plurality of RIS; or transmitting, by the transmitter, a signal that will be
redirected by at least one different RIS of a plurality of RIS than used for receiving a signal that has
been redirected by the at least one RIS of a plurality of RIS.
SAHRAEI writes, “The base station may communicate with multiple UEs via one or more RISs using RIS-
division multiple access (RDMA). For example, the base station may subdivide a RIS into multiple subsets
of elements and use different subsets of elements to communicate with different UEs. Additionally or
alternatively, the base station may use multiple RISs distributed throughout the coverage area to
communicate with the multiple UEs. In some examples, the base station may use multiple RISs to
communicate with a single UE. For example, if a path between a UE and the base station using a first RIS
is obstructed, experiences interference, or otherwise drops below a quality or signal strength threshold,
the base station may use a second RIS to communicate with the UE via a different path” (paragraph
0052).
Regarding claim 12, SAHRAEI teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising:
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches receiving, by the transmitter, a signal that has been redirected
by the RIS during a first transmission resource; or transmitting, by the transmitter, a signal that will be
redirected by the RIS during a second transmission resource.
SAHRAEI writes, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable
medium described herein, the message assigns the RIS to the UE for a set of time resources, a set of
frequency resources, or both and the communicating includes communicating with the UE via the
assigned RIS in the set of time resources, the set of frequency resources, or both” (paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 13, SAHRAEI teaches perform a method according to claim 1.
Additionally, SAHRAEI teaches an apparatus comprising:
SAHRAEI writes, “An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station is described. The
apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and
instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to determine a
configuration of a RIS, transmit, to a UE, a message indicating the configuration of the RIS, and
communicate with the UE via the RIS based on the configuration of the RIS” (paragraph 0023).
one or more processors;
SAHRAEI writes, “An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station is described. The
apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and
instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to determine a
configuration of a RIS, transmit, to a UE, a message indicating the configuration of the RIS, and
communicate with the UE via the RIS based on the configuration of the RIS” (paragraph 0023).
and a computer-readable memory having stored thereon processor executable instructions,
that when executed,
SAHRAEI writes, “An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station is described. The
apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and
instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to determine a
configuration of a RIS, transmit, to a UE, a message indicating the configuration of the RIS, and
communicate with the UE via the RIS based on the configuration of the RIS” (paragraph 0023).
Claim 14 is a method claim corresponding to the method claims 1-2 that have already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-2. Claim 14 is rejected
under the same rational as claims 1-2.
Claims 15-17 are method claims corresponding to the method claims 3-5 that have already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 3-5. Claims 15-17 are
rejected under the same rational as claims 3-5.
Claim 18 is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has already been rejected
above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 18 is rejected under the
same rational as claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 6/12/2026
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475