DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 10 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN214451404), cited by Applicant. In regard to claim 1, Wang discloses an electric scooter comprising a scooter body, the scooter body having a top surface allowing a driver to stand thereon (Fig. 1, item 11), and a handlebar being arranged on a front portion of the scooter body (Fig. 1, unnumbered front handle/steering member), wherein a rear mounting structure is arranged at a bottom of a rear portion of the scooter body (Fig. 1, item 131), which allows a user to select either one of two rear members, which are a driving wheel (Fig. 1, item 13) and a driving caterpillar track (Fig. 2, item 3), as a rear landing member to be detachably mounted on the rear mounting structure (Figs. 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 2, Wang discloses wherein a front mounting structure is arranged at a bottom of the front portion of the scooter body (Fig. 1, item 121), which allows the user to select either one of two front members, which are a driven wheel (Fig. 1, item 12) and a landing board (Fig. 2, item 2), as a front landing member to be detachably mounted on the front mounting structure (Figs. 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the front mounting structure comprises front mounting plates extending forward from the front portion of the scooter body, and front mounting grooves are formed in the front mounting plates to allow the front landing member to be clamped and mounted therein, and the rear mounting structure comprises rear mounting plates extending backward from the rear portion of the scooter body, and rear mounting grooves are formed in the rear mounting plates to allow the rear landing member to be clamped and mounted therein (Figs. 1 and 2, unnumbered mounting apertures in items 121 and 131).
In regard to claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the electric scooter comprises the driving wheel and/or the driving caterpillar track, the two rear members are provided with rear mounting blocks and are able to rotate around the corresponding rear mounting blocks, and each said rear member is clamped into the rear mounting grooves by means of the rear mounting block (Fig. 6, item 331).
In regard to claim 9, Wang discloses wherein the driving caterpillar track comprises a circular caterpillar track body (Fig. 6, items 31 and 32), a front driving pulley (Fig. 6, item 442) and a rear driven pulley (Fig. 6, item 41) are arranged in the caterpillar track body, and a diameter of the driven pulley is less than that of the driving pulley (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN214451404) as applied to claims 1 – 4 and 9 above. Wang does not disclose the measurements as recited in claims. In regard to claim 10, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention provide the dimensions as recited, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Wang (CN214451404) discloses an electric scooter similar to the instant invention; however Wang, either alone or in combination, neither discloses nor suggests an electric scooter comprising a recognizer capable of recognizing the type of the rear landing member mounted on the rear mounting structure, and comprises a controller configured to control the rear landing member and connected to the recognizer. These limitations, in combination with each and every other independent claim limitation, are not shown in the currently cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Forbes (6,431,301) discloses a snow vehicle conversion kit;
Warren (6,474,660) discloses runner attachments for a scooter;
Moscaret et al. (6,983,941) disclose a snap-on ski attachment kit for a kick scooter;
Fernandez et al. (7,438,297) disclose a ski attachment for a cambering vehicle;
Yao et al. (CN215361723) disclose a scooter and mounting frame.
/JOHN D WALTERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613