DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 09/29/2025. As directed by the amendment: claim 1 is amended; claim 10 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that Goldring discloses inlets and outlets that are bent, as opposed to the inlet and the two outlets being axially arranged and the orientations of the inlet and the two outlets are aligned with the operation direction of the rod.
However, the rejection has be updated to meet the claim limitations. The inlet is at 49, the outlets are at 74, 77. As seen in Figure 2, the inlet 49 and outlets 74, 77 are arranged axially, are not bent, and are oriented in the operation direction of the shaft body 27.
Applicant alleges that Holland explicitly teaches resistances through tortuous passages.
The examiner agrees that Holland fails to disclose the inlet and two outlets being arranged in an actuation direction of the shaft body. However, the combination of Goldring modified by Holland still stands, as the modification is regarding the operation channels.
Applicant alleges that the electromagnetic unit and valve device of Kono is used for controlling a disc clutch as opposed to driving a piston assembly and that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine the references.
However, both Goldring and Kono disclose solenoids controlling spool valves. The combination modifies Goldring to provide an electronic control unit. Having an electronic control unit would provide a more precise actuator and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references, regardless of the further systems the valves control.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldring (U.S Patent No. 2,976,852) in view of Holland (U.S. 2005/0022660) in view of Kono et al. (U.S. 2020/0088309).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Goldring discloses a power cylinder with embedded solenoid valve, comprising: a cylinder body (13) having a first end (left) and an opposite second end (right), the cylinder body (13) comprising a chamber (inner 13) therein (see Col. 2); a piston assembly (27, 28) movably disposed in the chamber (inner 13) of the cylinder body 13 (see Col. 3-5), wherein the piston assembly (27, 28) comprises a piston (28) and a shaft body 27 (see Figure 2); the piston (28) is arranged in adjacent to the first end (left) and connected with one end of the shaft body 27 (see Figure 2); another end of the shaft body (27) protrudes out of the second end (right; see Figure 2); a top cover (14, 32) disposed on the first end (left) of the cylinder body (13), the top cover (14, 32) having an inlet (49), two outlets (74, 77), a movement bore (44), a first passage (52), and a second passage (51), the inlet (49) and the two outlets (74, 77) being axially disposed, and an arrangement direction of the inlet (49) and the two outlets (74, 77) being in the same as an actuation direction of the shaft body 27; the inlet (49) and the two outlets (74, 77) being in communication with the movement bore (44), respectively, so that a fluid enters the chamber (inner 13) through the inlet (49), the second passage (51) is in communication with the chamber (inner 13; see Col. 2-5); a bottom cover (18) disposed on the second end (right) of the cylinder body (13), the bottom cover (18) comprising a third passage (see Figure 5) in communication with the first passage (52) and the chamber (inner 13; see Col. 2-5); and a solenoid valve (101) disposed on the top cover (14, 32), the solenoid valve (101) comprising a valve stem (93), the valve stem (93) disposed in the movement bore (44), the valve stem (93) to reciprocate between a first position and a second position, wherein the valve stem (93) to be located at the first position, the inlet (49) is in communication with the first passage (52), the third passage (see Figure 5), and the chamber (inner 13), and the fluid pushes the piston assembly (27, 28) toward the top cover 14, 32 (see Col. 3-5); when the valve stem (93) to move to the second position, the inlet (49) is in communication with the second passage (51), and the chamber (inner 13), and one of the two outlets (74, 77) is in communication with the first passage (52), the third passage (see Figure 5), and the chamber (inner 13), and the fluid pushes the piston (28) of the piston assembly (27, 28) so as to drive the shaft body (27) away from the top cover (14, 32), and the fluid originally located in the chamber (inner 13) is outputted through the two outlets (74, 77) via the third passage (see Figure 5) and the first passage (52) from one of the two outlets 74, 77 (see Col. 3-5).
Goldring fails to disclose wherein a plurality of operation channels are concavely disposed at intervals on a periphery of an inner diameter of the movement bore, operation channels are in positional alignment and communication with the inlet, the two outlets, the first passage, and the second passage, respectively; wherein the operation channels include an input channel, a first discharge channel, a second discharge channel, a first communication channel, and a second communication channel; the input channel is in communication with the inlet, the first discharge channel and the second discharge channel are in communication with the two outlets, respectively, the first communication channel is in communication with the first passage, and the second communication channel is in communication with the second passage; the solenoid valve comprising an electronic control unit; the electronic control unit controlling the valve stem.
Holland teaches a piston with embedded valve wherein a plurality of operation channels (see annotated figure below) are concavely disposed at intervals on a periphery of an inner diameter of the movement bore (21), the operation channels (see annotated figure below) are in positional alignment and communication with the inlet (29), the two outlets (31, 45), the first passage (35), and the second passage (33), respectively; wherein the operation channels (see annotated figure below) include an input channel (connected to 29L), a first discharge channel (connected to 31), a second discharge channel (connected to 45), a first communication channel (connected to 35), and a second communication channel (connected to 33); the input channel (connected to 29L) is in communication with the inlet (29), the first discharge channel (connected to 31) and the second discharge channel (connected to 45) are in communication with the two outlets (31, 45), respectively, the first communication channel (connected to 35) is in communication with the first passage (35), and the second communication channel (connected to 33) is in communication with the second passage 33 (see Figure 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Goldring to provide wherein a plurality of operation channels are concavely disposed at intervals on a periphery of an inner diameter of the movement bore, operation channels are in positional alignment and communication with the inlet, the two outlets, the first passage, and the second passage, respectively; wherein the operation channels include an input channel, a first discharge channel, a second discharge channel, a first communication channel, and a second communication channel; the input channel is in communication with the inlet, the first discharge channel and the second discharge channel are in communication with the two outlets, respectively, the first communication channel is in communication with the first passage, and the second communication channel is in communication with the second passage, as taught by Holland. Doing so would increase the flow through the valve.
The combination fails to teach the solenoid valve comprising an electronic control unit; the electronic control unit controlling the valve stem.
Kono teaches a spool valve comprising a solenoid valve (12), the solenoid valve (12) comprising an electronic control unit 13 (see paragraph 0053); the electronic control unit (13) controlling a valve stem (22) to reciprocate between a first position and a second position (see paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Holland to provide the solenoid valve comprising an electronic control unit; the electronic control unit controlling the valve stem to reciprocate between a first position and a second position, as taught by Kono. Doing so would provide a more precise actuator.
Regarding claim 3, Goldring as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and the combination further teaches wherein the input channel (connected to 49) is disposed between the first communication channel (connected to 52) and the second communication channel (connected to 51), the first communication channel (connected to 52) is disposed between the input channel (connected to 49) and the first discharge channel (connected to 74), and the second communication channel (connected to 51) is disposed between the input channel (connected to 49) and the second discharge channel (connected to 77).
Regarding claim 4, Goldring as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and the combination further teaches wherein when the electronic control unit (from Kono) controls the valve stem (93) to be located at the first position, the inlet (49) is in communication with the input channel (connected to 49, as modified by Holland), the first communication channel (connected to 52, as modified by Holland), the first passage (52), the third passage (seen in Figure 5), and the chamber (inner 13).
Regarding claim 5, Goldring as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and the combination further teaches wherein when the electronic control unit (from Kono) controls the valve stem (93) to be located at the second position, the inlet (49) is in communication with the input channel (connected to 49, as modified by Holland), the second communication channel (connected to 51, as modified by Holland), the second passage (51), and the chamber (inner 13); one of the outlets (74, 77) is in communication with the first discharge channel (connected to 74), the first passage (52), the third passage (seen in Figure 5), and the chamber (inner 13).
Regarding claim 6, Goldring as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the cylinder body (13) comprises a housing part (tube of 56) convexly disposed on an outer lateral side thereof (see Figure 1); the housing part (tube of 56) comprises a flow channel (56) passing therethrough, and the flow channel (56) is in communication with the first passage (52) and the third passage (seen in Figure 5; see Col. 3-5).
Regarding claim 7, Goldring as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein a plurality of grooves are concavely disposed on an outer periphery of the valve stem (93) at intervals (see Figure 2); each of the grooves is mounted with a seal ring (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Goldring as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein a plurality of through grooves (94) are concavely disposed on the outer periphery of the valve stem (93) at intervals (see Figure 2); the grooves are arranged on two sides of each of the through grooves (94) at intervals (see Figure 2).
Annotated Figure 1A from Holland.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldring, in further view of Holland in view of Kono, in further view of Matsumoto.
Regarding claim 9, Goldring as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed but fails to teach wherein one end of the two outlets are connected with a silencer, respectively.
Matsumoto teaches a piston valve arrangement comprising is silencer 43 (see paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Goldring to provide wherein one end of the two outlets are connected with a silencer, respectively, as taught by Matsumoto. Doing so would provide a quieter arrangement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753