Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7-11, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1- 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 respectively have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shi (CN211655861) and Uchida (JPH05244741).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262) in view of Shi (CN211655861) and Uchida (JPH05244741).
As to independent claim 1, Tsuji teaches a rotor assembly (3) for an electric machine, comprising: a plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52), a plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51); a rotor shaft (7); and a plurality of permanent magnets (5); wherein the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) and the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51) are arranged in a stack (51) on the rotor shaft (7); wherein each of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) includes a first inner portion (see figure 5) and a plurality of first outer portions (17), the first inner portion (see figure 5) and the plurality of first outer portions (17) defining a plurality of first cavities (see figure 5); wherein the plurality of first outer portions (see figure 5) are secured to the first inner portions via a first web and a plurality of bridges (see figure 5); wherein each of the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51) includes a second inner portion (see figure 3) and a plurality of second outer portions (17) , the second inner portion (see figure 5) and the plurality of second outer portions (17) defining a plurality of second cavities (see figure 3); and wherein the plurality of second outer portions (17) are secured to the second inner portions via a plurality of second webs, the plurality of second outer portions (17) absent a bridge (see figure 3) wherein a first of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) is disposed at a first end of the stack, a second of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) is disposed at a second end of the stack, and a third of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) is disposed at a middle portion of the stack as shown in figures 3, 5 and 6.
However Tsuji teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the wrap is annular and arranged to encapsulate an outer surface of the rotor assembly defined by the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates and wherein a fourth of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates is disposed at a first quarter portion of the stack, a fifth of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates is disposed at a third quarter portion of the stack, and remaining portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates.
Shi teaches the wrap (3) is annular and arranged to encapsulate an outer surface of the rotor assembly (1) defined by the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (2) and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving the rotor mechanical strength but also reduce magnetic leakage, ensuring the reliability of the rotor at high speed operation.
Uchida teaches a fourth of the plurality of disc-shaped laminates (26) is disposed at a first quarter portion of the stack, a fifth of the plurality of disc-shaped laminates (26) is disposed at a third quarter portion of the stack, and remaining portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (14) as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of providing high reliability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji by using the wrap is annular and arranged to encapsulate an outer surface of the rotor assembly defined by the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates and wherein a fourth of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates is disposed at a first quarter portion of the stack, a fifth of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates is disposed at a third quarter portion of the stack, and remaining portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates, as taught by Shi and Uchida, to ensures the reliability of the rotor at high speed operation and provide high reliability.
As to claim 2/1, Tsuji teaches wherein the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) are aligned with the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51) such that the plurality of first cavities (see figure 5, 6) are aligned with the plurality of second cavities (see figures 3, 6) to form a plurality of axially-disposed cavities; and wherein the plurality of axially disposed cavities define a plurality of magnetic pole sections that are radially-disposed as shown in figures 3, 5, and 6.
As to claim 3/2, Tsuji teaches wherein the plurality of permanent magnets (5) are disposed in the plurality of axially-disposed cavities as shown in figures 3,5 and 6.
As to claim 4/2, Tsuji teaches wherein the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a single-V arrangement (9) for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections as shown in figures 3, and 5.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262) Shi (CN211655861) and Uchida (JPH05244741) as applied in claim 2 above, and further in view of Pandi (US PG Pub 2015/0280499).
As to claim 5/2, Tsuji teaches wherein the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in V arrangement (9) for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections as shown in figures 3 and 5.
However Tsuji in view of Shi and Uchida the claimed limitation as discussed above except are arranged in a double-V arrangement.
Pandi teaches are arranged in a double-V arrangement as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of carrying the centrifugal load away from the at least one rotor lamination.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji in view of Shi and Uchida by using are arranged in a double-V arrangement, as taught by Pandi, to carry the centrifugal load away from the at least one rotor lamination.
Claim(s) 6, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262), Shi (CN211655861) and Uchida (JPH05244741) as applied in claims 1, 2 above, and further in view of Herzberger (WO2023088708).
As to claim 6/2, Tsuji in view of Shi and Uchida teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a U arrangement for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections.
However Herzberger teaches the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a U arrangement (12) for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections (see abstract), for the advantageous benefit of achieving high speed stability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji in view of Shi and Uchida by using the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a U arrangement for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections, as taught by Herzberger, to achieve high speed stability.
As to claim 28/1, Tsuji in view of Shi and Uchida teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the wrap is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber.
However Herzberger teaches the wrap (16) is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber (see claim 6), for the advantageous benefit of achieving high speed stability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji in view of Shi and Uchida by using the wrap is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber, as taught by Herzberger, to achieve high speed stability.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262) , Shi (CN211655861) and Uchida (JPH05244741) as applied in claim 1, above and further in view of Zhang (CN115940455).
As to claim 8/1, Tsuji in view of Shi and Uchida teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the wrap comprises a carbon fiber fabric that encapsulates the outer peripheral surface of the rotor assembly.
Zhang teaches wherein the wrap (3) comprises a carbon fiber fabric (see claim 4) that encapsulates the outer peripheral surface of the rotor assembly as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving the rotor mechanical strength but also reduce magnetic leakage, ensure the normal operation of the motor at the same time has good electromagnetic performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji in view of Shi and Uchida by using the wrap comprises a carbon fiber fabric that encapsulates the outer peripheral surface of the rotor assembly, as taught by Zhang , to improve the rotor mechanical strength but also reduce magnetic leakage, ensure the normal operation of the motor at the same time has good electromagnetic performance.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262) in view of Gong (US PG Pub 2023/0231428), Shi (CN211655861) and Uchida (JPH05244741).
As to independent claim 20, Tsuji teaches an electrified drivetrain for a vehicle (see figure 26), includes a rotor assembly (3) and a stator (1); wherein the rotor assembly (3) includes a plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52), a plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51); and a rotor shaft (7); wherein the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) and the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51) are arranged in a stack on the rotor shaft (7); wherein each of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (51) includes a first inner portion (see figure 5)and a plurality of first outer portions (17), the first inner portion and the plurality of first outer portions (17) defining a plurality of first cavities (see figure 5); wherein the plurality of first outer portions (17) are secured to the first inner portions via a first web and a plurality of bridges (see figure 5); wherein each of the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51) includes a second inner portion and a plurality of second outer portions (17), the second inner portion and the plurality of second outer portions (17) defining a plurality of second cavities; and wherein the plurality of second outer portions (17) are secured to the second inner portions via a plurality of second webs and are absent a bridge (see figure 3) as shown in figure 3, 5 and 6.
However Tsuji teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except a DC power source, a multi-phase power inverter, a multi-phase rotary electric machine and a torque actuator; and a multi-phase rotary electric machine, the wrap is annular and arranged to encapsulate an outer surface of the rotor assembly defined by the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates and wherein a fourth of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates is disposed at a first quarter portion of the stack, a fifth of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates is disposed at a third quarter portion of the stack, and remaining portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates.
Gong teaches a DC power source (103), a multi-phase power inverter (104), a multi-phase rotary electric machine (see figure 1) and a torque actuator (see paragraph [0019]; and a multi-phase rotary electric machine (see paragraph [0029-0030] as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving clearance for ease of manufacturing and assembly and manage mechanical stresses caused by the centrifugal force of the permanent magnets acting upon the rotor.
Shi teaches the wrap (3) is annular and arranged to encapsulate an outer surface of the rotor assembly (1) defined by the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (2) and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving the rotor mechanical strength but also reduce magnetic leakage, ensuring the reliability of the rotor at high speed operation.
Uchida teaches a fourth of the plurality of disc-shaped laminates (26) is disposed at a first quarter portion of the stack, a fifth of the plurality of disc-shaped laminates (26) is disposed at a third quarter portion of the stack, and remaining portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (14) as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of providing high reliability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji by using a DC power source, a multi-phase power inverter, a multi-phase rotary electric machine and a torque actuator; and a multi-phase rotary electric machine, the wrap is annular and arranged to encapsulate an outer surface of the rotor assembly defined by the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates and wherein a fourth of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates is disposed at a first quarter portion of the stack, a fifth of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates is disposed at a third quarter portion of the stack, and remaining portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates, as taught by Gong, Shi and Uchida, to improve clearance for ease of manufacturing and assembly and manage mechanical stresses caused by the centrifugal force of the permanent magnets acting upon the rotor, ensures the reliability of the rotor at high speed operation and provide high reliability.
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262) in view of Uchida (JPH05244741), Shi (CN211655861) and Sano (CA2990548).
As to independent claim 21, Tsuji teaches a rotor assembly (3) for an electric machine, comprising: a stack extending along an axial direction and having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a middle portion between the first and second ends; a plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) and a plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51) interleaved with one another and arranged to form the stack; wherein at least one of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) is disposed at the first end of the stack and at least one other of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) is disposed at the second end of the stack; wherein additional ones of the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) are disposed at axially spaced locations including the middle portion of the stack,; wherein the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) includes first inner portions (see figure 5) and a plurality of first outer portions (17), the first inner portions (see figure 5) and the plurality of first outer portions defining first cavities; wherein the plurality of first outer portions (17) are secured to the first inner portions (see figure 5) via a first web and a plurality of bridges (see figure 5) ; wherein the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates include second inner portions and a plurality of second outer portions, the second inner portions and the plurality of second outer portions (17) defining second cavities (see figure 3); wherein the plurality of second outer portions are secured to the second inner portions via a plurality of second webs and are absent a bridge (see figure 3) as shown in figures 3, 5 and 6 ;
However Tsuji teaches the claimed limitation has discussed above except laminates includes a first quarter portion of the stack, and a third quarter portion of the stack; wherein remaining axial portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates, a wrap surrounding the stack, the wrap being annular and securing the second outer portion of the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates to the inner portion; and wherein the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates are bonded together in the axial direction such that the second outer portions are secured to the inner portions.
Uchida teaches laminates (26) includes a first quarter portion of the stack, and a third quarter portion of the stack; wherein remaining axial portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (14) as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of providing high reliability.
Shi teaches a wrap (3) surrounding the stack, the wrap being annular and securing the second outer portion of the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (see 1, figure 1) to the inner portion as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving the rotor mechanical strength but also reduce magnetic leakage, ensuring the reliability of the rotor at high speed operation.
Sano teaches wherein the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (30) and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates (13) are bonded together in the axial direction such that the second outer portions are secured to the inner portions (see paragraph [0071]) and as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of promoting reduction of manufacturing cost of the rotary.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji by using laminates includes a first quarter portion of the stack, and a third quarter portion of the stack; wherein remaining axial portions of the stack are populated by the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates, a wrap surrounding the stack, the wrap being annular and securing the second outer portion of the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates to the inner portion; and wherein the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates and the plurality of second disc- shaped laminates are bonded together in the axial direction such that the second outer portions are secured to the inner portions, as taught by Uchida, Shi and Sano, to provide high reliability, improve the rotor mechanical strength but also reduce magnetic leakage, ensuring the reliability of the rotor at high speed operation and promote reduction of manufacturing cost of the rotary.
As to claim 22/21, Tsuji teaches wherein the plurality of first disc-shaped laminates (52) are aligned with the plurality of second disc-shaped laminates (51) such that the plurality of first cavities (see figure 5, 6) are aligned with the plurality of second cavities (see figures 3, 6) to form a plurality of axially-disposed cavities; and wherein the plurality of axially disposed cavities define a plurality of magnetic pole sections that are radially-disposed as shown in figures 3, 5, and 6.
As to claim 23/22 Tsuji teaches wherein the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a single-V arrangement (9) for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections as shown in figures 3, and 5.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262) , Uchida (JPH05244741), Shi (CN211655861) and Sano (CA2990548) as applied in claim 22 above, and further in view of Pandi (US PG Pub 2015/0280499).
As to claim 24/22, Tsuji in view of Uchida, Shi and Sano teaches the claimed limitation has discussed above except wherein the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a double-V arrangement for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections.
Pandi teaches are arranged in a double-V arrangement as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of carrying the centrifugal load away from the at least one rotor lamination.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji in view of Uchida, Shi and Sano by using are arranged in a double-V arrangement, as taught by Pandi, to carry the centrifugal load away from the at least one rotor lamination.
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262) , Uchida (JPH05244741), Shi (CN211655861) and Sano (CA2990548) as applied in claim 22 above, and further in view of Herzberger (WO2023088708).
As to claim 25/22, Tsuji in view of Uchida, Shi and Sano teaches the claimed limitation has discussed above except wherein the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a double-V arrangement for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections.
However Herzberger teaches the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a U arrangement (12) for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections (see abstract), for the advantageous benefit of achieving high speed stability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji in view of Uchida, Shi and Sano by using the plurality of axially-disposed cavities define a plurality of prisms that are arranged in a U arrangement for each of the plurality of magnetic pole sections, as taught by Herzberger, to achieve high speed stability.
As to claim 26/22, Tsuji, Uchida, Shi and Sano in view of Herzberger teaches the claimed limitation has discussed above except wherein the wrap comprises a carbon fiber fabric.
However Herzberger teaches the wrap (16) comprises a carbon fiber fabric (see claim 6), for the advantageous benefit of achieving high speed stability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji, Uchida, Shi and Sano in view of Herzberger by using the wrap comprises a carbon fiber fabric, as taught by Herzberger, to achieve high speed stability.
As to claim 27/22, Tsuji, Uchida, Shi and Sano in view of Herzberger teaches the claimed limitation has discussed above except wherein the wrap is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber.
However Herzberger teaches the wrap (16) is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber (see claim 6), for the advantageous benefit of achieving high speed stability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji, Uchida, Shi and Sano in view of Herzberger by using the wrap is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber, as taught by Herzberger, to achieve high speed stability.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji (WO2020017262), Gong (US PG Pub 2023/0231428), Shi (CN211655861) and Uchida (JPH05244741) as applied in claim 20 above, and further in view of Herzberger (WO2023088708).
As to claim 29/20, Tsuji, in view of Gong Uchida, Shi teaches the claimed limitation has discussed above except wherein the wrap is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber.
However Herzberger teaches the wrap (16) is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber (see claim 6), for the advantageous benefit of achieving high speed stability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Tsuji, in view of Gong Uchida, Shi by using the wrap is comprised of stainless steel or glass fiber, as taught by Herzberger, to achieve high speed stability.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 March 11, 2026