DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/07/2023. Claims 1-15 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2025, 01/10/2025, 08/27/2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-9, and 11-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6-9, and 11-15 recites “second”, “third”, “fourth”, “fifth”, “sixth”, “specified threshold“ which lack antecedence basis. A “first”, “second”, “third”, “fourth”, or “fifth” specified threshold was not claimed in the claims from which it depends.
Examiner will examine/interpret the specified thresholds to distinguish or identify members of a group and not to necessarily need to be used to show a serial or numerical limitation.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,9,10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Long (US 20160241028).
As to claim 1, Long discloses a power supply management system (Fig.1), comprising:
a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1 and [0027], energy storage modules 110A-110C), wherein each battery module comprises a battery management system (Fig. 1 [0017] the energy storage modules 110 are managed by a plurality of battery management systems 120A-C. [0019] The power converters 130 may be incorporated into the battery management systems 120, … or may be external to the battery management systems 120.), direct current/direct current converter (Fig. 1 DC-DC converter 130A-130C), and at least one battery pack (Fig. 1 110A-110C); and the battery management system is electrically connected to both the direct current/direct current converter and the at least one battery pack (Fig. 1 [0017] the energy storage modules 110 are managed by a plurality of battery management systems 120A-C.), and the battery management system is configured to:
control the direct current/direct current converter to convert a direct current output by the at least one battery pack into a direct current at a specified voltage, and/or convert a received direct current into a direct current at a specified voltage, and supply power to the at least one battery pack (Fig. 2 and [0021] [0018] The power converters 130 are coupled across one or more of the energy storage modules 110 and convert DC voltage output of the energy storage modules 110 to a desired DC low output voltage compatible with on-board systems of the battery-powered vehicle. Switching of the switches 202 is controlled by the controller 140 to generate a desired output voltage from the power converter 130); and
a monitoring module communicatively connected to the battery management systems of the plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1 controller 140), and the monitoring module is configured to: when discharge rates of the plurality of battery modules are less than a first specified threshold, control a part of battery modules that are being discharged to stop being discharged; and/or when charge rates of the plurality of battery modules are less than a second specified threshold, control a part of battery modules that are being charged to stop being charged ([0028] controller 140 then determines 402 the amount of energy withdrawn from each of the modules 110..[0030] and Fig. 4 step 414 if the current output is less than the upper threshold and less than the lower threshold 412, the controller 140 decreases the number of enabled converters to increase the current contributed by each enabled module 110).
As to claim 9, Long discloses the power supply management system according to claim 1, wherein the monitoring module is further configured to: detect states of charge of the plurality of battery modules (step 402, Fig. 4); and enable a battery module whose state of charge is less than a sixth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode (Fig. 4 Step 414) and enable the battery module that is already in the sleep mode to supply electric energy to the load (Fig. 4 Step 410).
As to claim 10, Long discloses the a battery management method (Fig.1 and 4), including a power supply management system (Fig.1), that comprises a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1 and [0027], energy storage modules 110A-110C), and a monitoring module (Fig. 1 controller 140), the monitoring module is communicatively connected to the plurality of battery modules, and the method is executed by the monitoring module, and the method comprises: controlling the plurality of battery modules to be discharged ([0028] controller 140 then determines 402 the amount of energy withdrawn from each of the modules 110.); detecting discharge rates of the plurality of battery modules ([0030]); and when it is determined that the discharge rates of the plurality of battery modules are less than a first specified threshold, controlling a part of battery modules that are being discharged to stop being discharged ([0028] controller 140 then determines 402 the amount of energy withdrawn from each of the modules 110..[0030] and step 414 if the current output is less than the upper threshold and less than the lower threshold 412, the controller 140 decreases the number of enabled converters to increase the current contributed by each enabled module 110).
As to claim 14, Long discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising: detecting states of charge of the plurality of battery modules (step 402, Fig. 4); and controlling a battery module whose state of charge is less than a sixth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode (Fig. 4 Step 414) and enabling the battery module that is already in the sleep mode to supply electric energy to the load (Fig. 4 Step 410).
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Suzuki (US 20120293112).
As to claim 15, Suzuki discloses a battery management method (Fig. 3-4), including a power supply management system that comprises a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1 battery module control system) and a monitoring module (control section 10), the monitoring module is communicatively connected to the plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1), and the method is executed by the monitoring module, and the method comprises: controlling the plurality of battery modules to be charged (Fig. 3 S101); detecting charge rates of the plurality of battery modules (Fig. 3 S103-S105 and Fig. 4 S204); and when it is determined that the charge rates of the plurality of battery modules are less than a second specified threshold, controlling a part of battery modules that are being charged to stop being charged ([0056] At step S204, …When the determination result at step S204 is NO, the process proceeds to step S206 because of the current situation where a level of current exceeding Cmaxn, at which safety cannot be guaranteed, flows into the battery module, and SWn is switched from being ON to being OFF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-4,6-7, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US 20160241028).
As to claim 2, Long discloses the power supply management system according to claim 1.
Long does not disclose/teach wherein the discharge rates of the battery modules are the same, and/or the charge rates of the battery modules are the same.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the discharge rates of Long to wherein the discharge rates of the battery modules are the same in order to evenly distribute the temperature of each battery so that the battery modules will not overheat.
As to claim 3, Long discloses the power supply management system according to claim 1.
Long does not specifically disclose/teach wherein the monitoring module is further configured to enable the battery module that stops being discharged or charged to be in a sleep mode, and the sleep mode is a mode in which a power switching transistor, an inductor, and a transformer that are of the direct current/direct current converter of the battery module and that control the battery pack to be discharged or charged are not powered on.
However Long teaches “if the module balancer 210 generates a control signal to enable a particular power converter 130, the current control circuit 212 generates signals to turn on and off the switches 202 in response to receiving the control signal” ([0025])”. As such, Long suggests that the switches were not switched on or off in the deactivated state. One of ordinary skill in the art can see in Fig. 2 that with switches 202 deactivated, then the transformer and thus the inductors 130 are not powered on.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the monitoring module of Long to configured to enable the battery module that stops being discharged or charged to be in a sleep mode, and the sleep mode is a mode in which a power switching transistor, an inductor, and a transformer that are of the direct current/direct current converter of the battery module and that control the battery pack to be discharged or charged are not powered on in order to disable the converter. In this way, the amount of energy withdrawn from each module will be substantially equal, and the states of charge of the modules will remain balanced as they discharge. [0020].
As to claim 4, Long teaches the power supply management system according to claim 3, wherein the battery management system is further configured to: when it is detected that an output electrical signal of the battery module that is being discharged is less than a third specified threshold, power on the power switching transistor, the inductor, and the transformer that are of the direct current/direct current converter of the battery module in the sleep mode (Fig. 4 steps 408 and 410 [0025]…“if the module balancer 210 generates a control signal to enable a particular power converter 130, the current control circuit 212 generates signals to turn on and off the switches 202 in response to receiving the control signal).
As to claim 6, Long teaches the power supply management system according to claim 3, wherein the monitoring module is further configured to: when the discharge rate of the battery module that is being discharged is greater than a fourth specified threshold, send a wake-up signal to the battery module in the sleep mode, wherein the wake-up signal indicates the battery module in the sleep mode to supply electric energy to a load (Fig. 4 steps 408 and 410 [0025]…“if the module balancer 210 generates a control signal to enable a particular power converter 130, the current control circuit 212 generates signals to turn on and off the switches 202 in response to receiving the control signal).
As to claim 7, Long discloses the power supply management system according to claim 1.
Long does not disclose/teach wherein the monitoring module is further configured to: when the discharge rates of the plurality of battery modules are greater than the fourth specified threshold, send a management signal to another power supply system, wherein the management signal indicates the other power supply system to supply electric energy to the load.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the monitoring module of Long to be configured to: when the discharge rates of the plurality of battery modules are greater than the fourth specified threshold, send a management signal to another power supply system, wherein the management signal indicates the other power supply system to supply electric energy to the load in order to prevent disruption of system use.
As to claim 11, Long discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising: when the discharge rate of the battery module that is being discharged is greater than a fourth specified threshold, sending a wake-up signal to a battery module in a sleep mode and/or a deep sleep mode, wherein the wake-up signal indicates the battery module in the sleep mode to supply electric energy to a load (Fig. 4 steps 408 and 410 [0025]…“if the module balancer 210 generates a control signal to enable a particular power converter 130, the current control circuit 212 generates signals to turn on and off the switches 202 in response to receiving the control signal).
Long does not specifically disclose/teach wherein the monitoring module is further configured to enable the battery module that stops being discharged or charged to be in a sleep mode, and the sleep mode is a mode in which a power switching transistor, an inductor, and a transformer that are of the direct current/direct current converter of the battery module and that control the battery pack to be discharged or charged are not powered on.
However Long teaches “if the module balancer 210 generates a control signal to enable a particular power converter 130, the current control circuit 212 generates signals to turn on and off the switches 202 in response to receiving the control signal” ([0025])”. As such Long suggests that the switches were not switched on or off in the deactivated state. One of ordinary skill in the art can see in Fig. 2 that with the switches 202 are deactivated then the transformer and thus the inductors 130 are not powered on.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the monitoring module of Long to configured to enable the battery module that stops being discharged or charged to be in a sleep mode, and the sleep mode is a mode in which a power switching transistor, an inductor, and a transformer that are of the direct current/direct current converter of the battery module and that control the battery pack to be discharged or charged are not powered on in order to disable the converter. In this way, the amount of energy withdrawn from each module will be substantially equal, and the states of charge of the modules will remain balanced as they discharge [0020].
As to claim 12, Long discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising:.
Long does not disclose/teach when the discharge rates of the plurality of battery modules are greater than a fourth specified threshold, sending a management signal to another power supply system, wherein the management signal indicates the other power supply system to supply electric energy to a load.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Long to when the discharge rates of the plurality of battery modules are greater than a fourth specified threshold, sending a management signal to another power supply system, wherein the management signal indicates the other power supply system to supply electric energy to a load in order to prevent disruption of system use.
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US 20160241028) in view of Matouka (US 4723105).
As to claim 5, Long teaches the power supply management system according to claim 3, wherein the monitoring module is further configured to enable the battery module in the sleep mode to be in a deep sleep mode, wherein the deep sleep mode is a mode in which the power switching transistor, the inductor, and the transformer that are of the direct current/direct current converter of the battery module and that control the battery pack to be discharged or charged are not powered on (Fig. 4 steps 408 and 410 [0025]…).
Long does not disclose/teach coils of a relay and a contactor as part of the DC/DC converter and therefore does not teach the coils and the contacter are not powered on in the deep sleep mode.
Matouka teaches coils of a relay and a contactor as part of the DC/DC converter and therefore are not powered on in the deep sleep mode (Column 7 lines 3-6 When contactor 54 is open and contactor 56 is in an off position, relay coil 80 is deenergized and contactor 82 moves to an open position to deenergize the DC to DC converter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the converter of Long to coils of a relay and a contactor as part of the DC/DC converter and therefore are not powered on in the deep sleep mode in order to ensure the converter is disabled and preserving power consumption.
Claims 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US 20160241028) in view of Fetzer (US 20150364935).
As to claim 8, Long discloses the power supply management system according to claim 1.
Long does not disclose/teach wherein the monitoring module is further configured to: detect states of health of the plurality of battery modules; and enable a battery module whose state of health is less than a fifth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode.
Fetzer teaches wherein the monitoring module is further configured to: detect states of health of the plurality of battery modules; and enable a battery module whose state of health is less than a fifth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode. ([0041] The control system will in this case switch off those battery modules 32-1, 32-2 to 32-i which deviate the most from the threshold value of the SOH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the monitoring module of Long to be configured to: detect states of health of the plurality of battery modules; and enable a battery module whose state of health is less than a fifth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode in order to slow or reduce battery deterioration.
As to claim 13, Long discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising: detecting states of health of the plurality of battery modules; and controlling a battery module whose state of health is less than a fifth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode.
Long does not disclose/teach detecting states of health of the plurality of battery modules; and controlling a battery module whose state of health is less than a fifth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode..
Fetzer teaches detecting states of health of the plurality of battery modules; and controlling a battery module whose state of health is less than a fifth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode ([0041] The control system will in this case switch off those battery modules 32-1, 32-2 to 32-i which deviate the most from the threshold value of the SOH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Long to detecting states of health of the plurality of battery modules; and controlling a battery module whose state of health is less than a fifth specified threshold to be in the sleep mode in order to slow or reduce battery deterioration.
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859