Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 2/19/26 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims filed 2/19/26 have been considered as follows.
35 USC 102/103 Rejections of the claims:
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6 is/are rejected under at least one of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Tang (US 20180106984).
Regarding claim 1, Chae teaches (Fig. 9, Table 9) An optical imaging system comprising:
a first lens having a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (radius =5.967 for 512);
a second lens having a refractive power;
a third lens having a refractive power;
a fourth lens having a refractive power;
a fifth lens having a refractive power;
a sixth lens having negative refractive power (focal length -6.77) and a concave image-side surface (radius=3 for 562) in a paraxial region thereof; and
a seventh lens having a refractive power,
wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system,
wherein a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first lens (5.66 vs 1.9), and
wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of seven lenses having a refractive power.
Regarding claim 2, Tang further teaches (Table 9) The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Tang further teaches (Table 9) The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Tang further teaches (Table 9) The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Tang further teaches (Table 9) The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the seventh lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizusawa (US 20110075273, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Mizusawa teaches (Fig. 2A, [63-]) An optical imaging system comprising:
a first lens having a concave (radius=1.8 for surface 2) image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof;
a second lens having a refractive power;
a third lens having a refractive power;
a fourth lens having a refractive power;
a fifth lens having a refractive power;
a sixth lens having negative refractive power and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (L33, as seen in Fig. 2A); and
a seventh lens having a refractive power,
wherein the first to seventh lenses (L1-L34 in Fig. 2A) are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system,
wherein the optical imaging system has a total number of seven lenses having a refractive power.
Mizusawa does not explicitly teach a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first lens.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first lens would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors (i.e., the radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the 1st lens being slightly negative or close to negative infinity, which is smaller than the radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the fourth lens).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Mizusawa by having a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the fourth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first lens for the purposes of improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors.
Regarding claim 5, Mizusawafurther teaches (L32 as seen in Fig. 2A) The optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fifth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234