DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vetromila (US Pat. No. 7,464,480).
Regarding claim 1, Vetromila discloses:
A trim block measuring guide device comprising: a base 102, 104, 106, 110 comprised of a first fastener 110; a top plate 108 comprised of a second fastener that attaches to the first fastener (top plate may be made of plastic and include magnets on its bottom, see col. 7, ll. 29-38); and a measurement line 144, 146 positioned on a top surface of the plate.
Regarding claims 2-5, Vetromila discloses that both the first and second fasteners may be magnetic and in the locations as claimed (FIG 3 and col. 7, lines 29-38).
Regarding claim 6, Vetromila discloses that the base is square shaped (FIG 1, for example).
Regarding claim 9, Vetromila discloses the measurement line is comprised of a measurement increment (see FIG 6).
Regarding claim 10, Vetromila discloses that the top plate has four edges (FIG 4A), any of which could be considered “an outside edge.”
Regarding claim 11, Vetromila discloses:
A trim block measuring guide device comprising: a base 102, 104, 106, 110; a top plate 108 attached to the base; and a measurement line 144, 146 positioned on a top surface of the top plate.
Regarding claim 12, Vetromila discloses that the base is square shaped (FIG 1, for example).
Regarding claim 15, Vetromila discloses the measurement line is comprised of a measurement increment (see FIG 6).
Regarding claim 16, Vetromila discloses that the top plate has four edges (FIG 4A), any of which could be considered “an outside edge.”
Regarding method claims 17-20, Vetromila discloses all the elements used in the method as claimed, as noted above. Vetromila discloses the method as claimed as described in the claims of Vetromila (col. 11, l. 43- col. 12, l. 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vetromila.
Vetromila discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Vetromila does not disclose that the top plate is square shaped (claims 7 and 13) or that the top plate is larger in size than the base (claims 8 and 14). The new features are obvious variations of the features of Vetromila. It is old and well-known to use functionally equivalent components with a known apparatus for the purpose of achieving the same results. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Vetromila device in the manner as claimed based on manufacturer and/or end-user preferences.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GEORGE B BENNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
gbb
13 JAN 2026