DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to Claim 1, there is not antecedent basis for “the first paper overlay.” For purposes of examination, the overlay is presumed to comprise paper. Claims 2-7 are similarly rejected to the extent they depend from Claim 1 and do not resolve the noted ambiguity.
With regard to Claim 10, the preamble of the claim recites “the product of claim 1;” however Claim 1 is directed to a method. Accordingly, Claim 10 is ambiguous. For purposes of examination, Claim 10 is presumed directed to the product of Claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 5, 8-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0402162 to Merrick et al. (“Merrick”).
With regard to Claims 1, 8, and 10, Merrick teaches a method of producing a factory-finished integrated panel comprising treating a plurality of wood strands and flakes with adhesives, chemicals, and/or additives, forming the treated wood material into one or more mat layers, applying a paper overlay thereon, and applying heat and pressure to form a board comprising an upper surface featuring the paper overlay (see Abstract; FIG. 3; ¶¶ [0021]-[0023]).
With regard to Claims 5, 9, and 14, Merrick teaches the overlay may be a paper overlay (see ¶ [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrick as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2022/0372749 to Ni et al. (“Ni”).
With regard to Claims 2, 4, 6-7, 11, and 13, Merrick teaches trimming the board (see ¶ [0023]); however the reference does not expressly teach applying a coating to resulting edges. Ni is similarly directed to manufacture of multilayer boards, and teaches coating board edges with a sealant after pressing to prevent water ingress (see Abstract; ¶ [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have coated board edges with a sealant after trimming in the method of Merrick in order to protect them against water as taught by Ni.
With regard to Claims 3 and 12, Merrick is directed to production of boards with smooth finished surfaces (see Abstract). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have matched features, including color, of an edge coating with that of the other board surfaces.
3. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrick.
With regard to Claim 15, Merrick teaches a paper overlay without particular limitation; however the reference does not expressly teach a resin-impregnated paper overlay. Merrick otherwise teaches an interface layer comprising resin-impregnated paper (see ¶ [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed a resin-impregnated paper overlay in order to conserve materials and improve process efficiency.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715