DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aktas et al. in view of DE 10 2006 007 139 (DE 139).
For claim 1, Aktas et al. (10899250) disclose a vehicle seating assembly comprising: a seat base (generally near 30,90,92); a seat back (84) pivotably coupled with the seat base;
a seat portion (generally 32, 86) pivotably coupled with the seat back, the seat portion pivotably coupled with the seat base,
wherein the seat portion includes an L-shaped lateral member (180,182) having a first arm and a second arm acutely angled from the first arm (FIG.2),
the L-shaped lateral member pivotably connected to the seat back at the first arm,
the L-shaped lateral member pivotably connected to the seat base at the second arm; and
an articulation mechanism (112) coupled to the seat back to pivot the seat back between an upright position (FIGS.2-3) and a folded position (FIG.4),
wherein the seat portion translates (forward and downward) in response to the seat back pivoting.
For claims 1 and 10, Aktas et al. lack the L-shaped lateral member has a first arm angled from a second arm at a first angle of about 80 degrees or less.
DE 139 teaches an L-shape member (45) with first and second arms which are provided at an acute angle (FIG.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the angle of the first and second arm of Aktas et al. to be acute as taught by DE 139 as an obvious design expedient based on desired aesthetics (what is pleasing to the eye) and consumer demands.
The court has held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 43 I (CCPA 1947) and see also In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669. 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). As applicant has not disclosed any reasoning for the particular angle of the arms, that the degree of the angles solves any stated problem, or that the angle is the critical to the invention and absent persuasive evidence of such, it is apparent that the angle is one of ornamentation alone and a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious.
Atkas et al., as modified, fails to disclose the acute angle formed by the first and second arms being 80 degrees or less.
It should be noted, however, that although DE 139 did not discreetly disclose the angular degree being 80 or less as claimed, if a claimed range and a prior art range do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, then there would be a prima facie case of obviousness and the set value in the claimed range is not deemed critical or inventive (MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided Atkas et al., as modified, with an angle within the claimed range (80 or less) since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). See also MPEP 2144.05 II.
Additionally, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Atkas et al., as modified, would not operate differently with an acute angle outside the claimed range.
For claim 2, the seat portion includes: a first end (a rear end) coupled with the seat back (FIG.1); and a second end (a front end) opposite the first end, the second end coupled with the seat base (via leg 92).
For claim 3, the seat base includes:
a track (14) coupled with a vehicle floor (FIG.1), the track having a back end and a front end opposite the back end;
a support member (108, 90) coupled with the track at the back end, the support member pivotably coupled with the seat back, the support member extending between the seat base and the seat back; and
a leg (92) pivotably coupled with the front end of the track, the leg pivotably coupled with the seat portion, the leg extending between the front end of the track and the seat portion.
For claim 4, the seat portion, the track, and the vehicle floor remain substantially parallel as the seat back pivots.
For claim 5, the support member is statically coupled with the track.
For claim 8, the seat back has a first contour (FIG.1, and wherein the seat portion has a second contour (FIG.1) complementary of the first contour when the seat back is in the folded position
For claim 10, Aktas et al., as twice modified above, further disclose a vehicle comprising: a seating assembly including:
a seat base including: a track (14) having a back end and a front end; a leg (92) pivotably coupled with the front end of the track; and a support member (90,108) statically coupled with the back end of the track;
a seat back (84) pivotably coupled with the support member;
a seat portion (generally 32, 86, FIG.1) having a first end and a second end, the first end pivotably coupled with the seat back, the second end pivotably coupled with the leg (92); and
an articulation mechanism (112) coupled to the seat back to pivot the seat back between an upright position (FIGS.2-3) and a folded position (FIG.4),
wherein the leg (92) rotates about the front end of the track in response to the seat back pivoting, and wherein the seat portion translates (forward and downward) between a disposed, forward position and a seating position in response to the seat back pivoting.
For claims 9 and 11, the seat back pivots relative to the seat portion about a first axis, wherein the seat back pivots relative to the seat base about a second axis, and wherein the first axis rotates about the second axis.
For claims 6-7 and 12, the seat portion translates forward and downward in response to the seat back pivoting toward the folded position.
For claim 13, an angle between the track and the seat portion remains constant as the seat portion translates (see for example the angle remaining constant between FIGS. 3 and 4).
For claim 14, the angle is about zero degrees.
For claim 18, the second end of the seat portion orbits the front end of the track (as can be seen between FIGS. 3 and 4).
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aktas et al., as twice modified above, and further in view of WO 2021/263103 (WO 103).
For claim 19, Aktas et al., as twice modified above, disclose a seating assembly for a vehicle, the seating assembly comprising:
a seat base (generally near 30,90,92) including: a pair of tracks (14) having a back end and a front end, the pair of tracks coupled by a track cross member (268) extending therebetween;
a pair of legs (92,92) pivotably coupled with the front end of the pair of tracks, respectively; and a pair of support members (90,108 on either side) statically coupled with the back end of the pair of tracks, respectively,
the pair of support members coupled by a support cross member (see in FIG.2 but not numbered) extending therebetween;
a seat back (84) pivotably coupled with the pair of support members, wherein the seat back pivots between an upright position (FIGS.2-3) and a folded position (FIG.4);
a seat portion (32,86) including:
a pair of L-shaped lateral members (180,182) having a first arm and a second arm, the first arm pivotably coupled with the seat back, the second arm pivotably coupled with the leg;
a platform assembly (generally near 86, where the occupant would be seated), the platform assembly coupled with the lateral members (180,182);
an articulation mechanism (112) coupled to the seat back to pivot the seat back between an upright position and a folded position,
wherein the pair of legs (92,92) rotate about the front end of the pair of tracks in response to the seat back pivoting, and
wherein the seat portion translates (forward and downward) between a disposed, forward position and a seating position in response to the seat back pivoting.
Aktas et al., as twice modified, further fail to include a seat cross member as recited.
WO 103 teaches a seat cross member (not numbered but seen in annotated FIG.2 below) coupled with a pair of lateral members, the seat cross member extending between the pair of lateral members; and a platform assembly (not numbered, FIG.2, where occupant would be seated) coupled with the lateral members and the seat cross member, the platform assembly extending therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have included with the L-shaped lateral members of Aktas et al., as twice modified above, a seat cross member as taught by WO 103 coupled thereto and spanning therebetween where the platform assembly is coupled to the seat cross member and spans between lateral members and the seat cross member in order to adequately support and cushion a seated occupant for optimal comfort.
For claim 17, the platform assembly slopes (backwards and down as seen in FIG.1) between the second end and the first end.
For claim 20, the first arm of the pair of L-shaped lateral members orbits a first axis (as seen in the annotated drawing of FIG.2 above) in response to the seat back pivoting, the first axis extending through the first arm and the seat back,
wherein the second arm of the pair of L-shaped lateral members orbits a third axis (see “second axis” in the annotated drawing of FIG.2 above) in response to the seat back pivoting, the third axis extending through the front end of the pair of tracks and the pair of legs, and wherein the seat portion remains substantially parallel to the pair of tracks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) as modified have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
During a telephone conversation with Kevin Grzelak, examiner inquired about the specific angle of the arms and the reasoning for the particular angle. Applicant directed examiner’s attention to [0036] which discloses that the arms are angled and allow for the first pivot mechanism 34 to be between the first and second arm 72,74 in the upright position but the specification does not elaborate on the necessity of this configuration or even the advantages thereof.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B