DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is advised that the new art unit number is 2692. Please use the new art unit number for all future communications.
This Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 12/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guidetti et al. (US 10674267) in view of JP S635787 (using an English machine translation) hereinafter JP787.
Regarding claim 1, Guidetti discloses an infotainment system for a vehicle (detx33-35, col. 6, lines 32-67; fig. 2), the infotainment system comprising:
a speaker (212) configured to be attached to a seat of the vehicle (detx36, col. 7, lines 27-34; fig. 2), comprising a transducer (detx33, col. 6, lines 37-42) wave was generated because sound is an air pressure wave), and audible sounds above a first threshold (detx63, col. 12, lines 14-21);
an audio source (detx107, col. 18, lines 4-11: processor) configured to generate a first signal representative of an audio signal (high-frequency component, see detx63, col. 12, lines 14-19 and detx109, col.18, lines 47-50); and
an electronic control unit (implicit amplifier between the processor and the transducer) configured to:
receive the first signal and to generate a first output based on the first signal (detx107, col. 18, lines 7-11); and
transmit the first output to the transducer (detx107, col. 18, lines 7-11 ), so as to excite the transducer in an audible frequency range (detx110, col. 18, lines 53-56) above a predetermined first threshold (detx63, col. 12, lines 14-21 ), the infotainment system being in an audio mode (audible sound is produced, but no tactile sensation) (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph);
wherein:
the infotainment system further comprises a haptic controller (processor, detx107, col. 18, lines 7-11 ), which is configured to generate a second signal, representative of a haptic signal (low-frequency component, see detx63, col. 12, lines 14-19 and detx105, col. 17, lines 47-50);
the electronic control unit is configured to:
receive the second signal and to generate a second output, based on the second signal (detx107, col. 18, lines 7-11); and
transmit the second output to the transducer (detx107, col. 18, lines 7-11), so as to excite the transducer in a frequency range below a predetermined second threshold (detx109, col. 18, lines 41-43), the second threshold being equal to or lower than the first threshold (detx63, col. 12, lines 14-19), the infotainment system being in a vibration mode (tactile sensation is produced, but no audible sound) (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph); and
the infotainment system is configured to switch between the audio mode and the vibration mode (detx108, col. 18, lines 37-40).
Guidetti is not relied upon to disclose a speaker configured to be attached to a seat of the vehicle, comprising a transducer and a membrane, and the speaker being attached to a frame of the seat under a sitting portion of the seat.
In a similar field of endeavor, JP787 discloses that a plurality of speakers can be attached to a frame of a car seat (see Figs. 1 and 2), the setup allowing for both vibration (generating acoustic vibration) and sound (radiating air vibrations) (see “Scope of utility model registration request” section of Google translation),
including a speaker (6) configured to be attached to a seat of the vehicle, comprising a transducer and a membrane (the depiction of the speaker in Figs. 2 and 3 is that of the type of speaker that comprises a voice coil transducer and a cone-shaped membrane), and the speaker being attached to a frame (frame is everything depicted in Fig. 1) of the seat under a sitting portion of the seat (Figs. 1-2: 6 is attached under 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a plurality of speakers to the car seat of Guidetti using the speaker attaching system of JP787 involving the seat frame instead of that of Guidetti,
which would result in: a speaker configured to be attached to a seat of the vehicle, comprising a transducer and a membrane, and the speaker being attached to a frame of the seat under a sitting portion of the seat,
the motivation being to perform the simple substitution of one speaker attaching system for attaching speakers to a car seat that allows for both vibration and sound, for another, to obtain predictable results of speakers attached to a car seat that allow for both vibration and sound. See MPEP § 2143(B).
Regarding claim 2, Guidetti-JP787 discloses the infotainment system of claim 1, and Guidetti discloses wherein the first threshold is equal or lower than 80 Hz, preferably equal or lower than 40 Hz, more preferably equal to 20 Hz (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph: e.g., 10 Hz) (note that both the claimed “first threshold” and “second threshold” can be interpreted to be the low frequency threshold (i.e. 10 Hz), and the first frequency range (e.g., 500-30,000 Hz) is above 10 Hz).
Regarding claim 3, Guidetti-JP787 discloses the infotainment system of claim 1, and Guidetti discloses wherein the second threshold is equal to 20Hz (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, Guidetti-JP787 discloses the infotainment system of claim 1, and Guidetti discloses wherein the transducer is configured to exclusively generate vibrations below the second threshold when the electric control unit receives the second signal (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, Guidetti-JP787 discloses the infotainment system of claim 1, and Guidetti discloses wherein the transducer is configured to function in a mixed mode, where the speaker generates, simultaneously, sounds above the first threshold and vibrations below the second threshold (detx110, paragraph spanning cols. 18-19).
Regarding claim 6, Guidetti-JP787 discloses the infotainment system of claim 1, and Guidetti discloses wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are equal (claim 19).
Regarding claim 7, Guidetti-JP787 the infotainment system of claim 1, and Guidetti discloses a vehicle (Fig. 2) (detx33-35, col. 6, lines 34-60), comprising:
a seat (210), comprising a sitting portion (see Fig. 2)
the infotainment system of claim 1 (see Fig. 2) (detx33-35, col. 6, lines 34-60);
Additionally, JP787 discloses the seat, comprising a sitting portion (see Fig. 2) with a frame (frame of Fig. 1);
wherein the speaker is attached to the frame (see Figs. 1-2).
The teachings of JP787 relied upon above are combinable with Guidetti-JP787 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 8, Guidetti-JP787 discloses the vehicle of claim 7, and JP787 discloses wherein the speaker is attached under the sitting portion (see Fig. 2).
The teachings of JP787 relied upon above are combinable with Guidetti-JP787 for the same reasons set forth above in the claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 9, Guidetti-JP787 a control method implemented with the infotainment system of claim 1, and Guidetti discloses wherein:
when the electronic control unit receives the first signal and no second signal (activating signal includes high frequency component and no low frequency component), the infotainment system switches to the audio mode (audible sound is produced, but no tactile sensation) (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph); and
when the electronic control unit receives the second signal and no first signal (activating signal includes low frequency component and no high frequency component), the infotainment system switches to the vibration mode (tactile sensation is produced, but no audible sound) (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Guidetti-JP787 discloses the control method of claim 9, and Guidetti discloses wherein when the electronic control unit receives simultaneously the first signal and the second signal (activating signal includes high frequency component and low frequency component), the infotainment system switches to a mixed mode (audible sound and tactile sensation are produced), where the electronic control unit simultaneously excites the transducer in a frequency range above the first threshold and below the second threshold (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Guidetti-JP787 discloses a control method implemented with the vehicle of claim 7, and Guidetti discloses wherein:
when the electronic control unit receives the first signal and no second signal (activating signal includes high frequency component and no low frequency component), the infotainment system switches to the audio mode (audible sound is produced, but no tactile sensation) (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph); and
when the electronic control unit receives the second signal and no first signal (activating signal includes low frequency component and no high frequency component), the infotainment system switches to the vibration mode (tactile sensation is produced, but no audible sound) (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Guidetti-JP787 discloses the control method of claim 12, and Guidetti discloses wherein when the electronic control unit receives simultaneously the first signal and the second signal (activating signal includes high frequency component and low frequency component), the infotainment system switches to a mixed mode (audible sound and tactile sensation are produced), where the electronic control unit simultaneously excites the transducer in a frequency range above the first threshold and below the second threshold (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks: page 6) that:
“Guidetti discloses a vehicle seat comprising several vibration transducers configured to produce tactile vibrations, these transducers being also configured to switch in a mode where they can produce audible sounds. The membrane is part of the object 110 (a backpack or a seat), made for example out of polypropylene, HDPE, PVC, etc. This is not comparable to the membrane 106 of a speaker.”
In response, the examiner submits that the new grounds of rejection of this Office Action incorporates the new reference of JP787 which teaches the use of speakers having a transducer and membrane (the depiction of the speaker in Figs. 2 and 3 is that of the type of speaker that comprises a voice coil transducer and a cone-shaped membrane) attached to a car seat, the speakers allowing for both vibration (generating acoustic vibration) and sound (radiating air vibrations) (see “Scope of utility model registration request” section of Google translation).
Additionally, note that in Guidetti, switching modes of a transducer is done by sending either low frequency (for vibrations) or high frequency (for audible) signals to the transducer to reproduce (detx63, col. 12, top paragraph), so the speakers of JP787 would be able to similarly reproduce low or high frequency signals, and thus be compatible in the sense that they could switch between different modes based on what frequency of signals they are sent to reproduce.
Applicant argues (Remarks: page 6) that:
“In Guidetti, the transducers are configured to generate vibrations or sounds. Guidetti teaches co-locating pressure sensors around and proximate to specific transducers, with both components embedded within the seat's foam cushion. The automobile seat may include a foam cushion in which both the transducers and the pressure sensors are embedded and "disposed throughout" the cushion. See, e.g., Guidetti, FIGS. 2 and 5. Pressure sensors are positioned in relation to specific transducers to read local contact/pressure at the transducer's location and thereby determine the transducer's system state. The pressure sensors must be located within the cushion so as to measure the physical pressure exerted by the user onto the object 110. It is not possible to have an air-gap between the pressure sensors and the cushion, otherwise the pressure generated by the seated user (driver) could not be evaluated. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to attach the transducer to the frame of the seat under the sitting cushion, since this would result in a non-functional device.”
In response, the examiner submits that Guidetti teaches the pressure sensor can be associated with a surface of the seat directly over where the corresponding transducer is located in the seat (detx106, paragraph spanning cols. 17-18). Thus, in the new grounds of rejection of Guidetti-JP787 of this Office Action, the pressure sensor of Guidetti can be at or near the surface of the seat, and the speaker of JP787 can be underneath the pressure sensor, which can include being attached to the frame in a manner depicted in Fig. 2 of JP787. Thus, there would be no air-gap between the pressure sensors and the cushion.
Alternatively, note that claim 7 of Guidetti teaches an embodiment of the invention where a camera is used as the sensor to determine whether the user is against certain parts of the car seat, so a pressure sensor would not be necessary to place in the car seat in such an embodiment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692