Priority
This application filed 11/07/2023 is a DIV of PAT 11844782 filed on 04/13/2018 which is a 371 of PCT/EP2016/075086 , International Filing Date: 10/19/2016 claims foreign priority to 15190601.3, filed 10/20/2015 and foreign priority to 16174999.9, filed 06/17/2016.
DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to the Applicant's reply filed March 2, 2026 to the restriction requirement made on December 31, 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-21 and 26, in the reply filed on May 28, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
The restriction requirement is deemed proper and made FINAL.
Claim 22-25, 27-28 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 C.F.R. 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. The claims corresponding to the elected subject matter are Claims 1-21 and 26 and are herein acted on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 3/7/24 is in compliance with the provisions of S7 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
The rejections are as below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN101254176 A) in view of Mueller (US 6407079 - IDS).
Chen teaches a lyophilized powder injection contains dantrolene sodium (with unit dose range of 5-80 mg) as active component, and medicinal adjuvant selected from carrier, pH regulator, and/or antioxidant, and/or chelating agent. The medicinal carrier is selected from mannitol, glucose, sorbitol, sodium chloride, dextran, and/or cyclodextrin and its derivatives, etc. The lyophilized powder injection is prepared by dissolving dantrolene sodium in water for injection, adding medicinal carrier, adjusting pH to 8.0-12.0. (The step of dissolving reads on at least two compartment kit).
While the reference teaches the dantrolene sodium, cyclodextrin carrier, pH of the claims, physiological-tolerable solvent, and pH adjusters, osmolality agents, the reference does not specify an example wherein the molar ratio of the formulation OR specify the container for the formulation.
Mueller teaches “inclusion of compounds of sparingly water-soluble or water-instable drugs with β-cyclodextrin ethers or β-cyclodextrin esters and process for the preparation thereof.” (abstract) Exemplified is hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin, however, the reference generally teaches useful complex forming agents are especially the hydroxyethyl, hydroxypropyl and dihydroxypropyl ether, their corresponding mixed ethers, and further mixed ethers with methyl or ethyl groups, such as methyl-hydroxyethyl, methyl-hydroxypropyl, ethyl-hydroxyethyl and ethyl-hydroxypropyl ether of β-cyclodextrin. "The molar ratio of drug to B-cyclodextrin ether is preferably about 1:6 to 4:1. As a rule it is preferred to use the complex forming agent in a molar excess." (col. 2, lines 62-64). The water may further comprise physiologically compatible compounds such as sodium chloride, potassium nitrate, glucose, mannitol, sorbitol, xylitol or buffers such as phosphate, acetate or citrate buffer. Example 4 teaches the storage of the formulation in an ampule (reads, on glass or polymer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the with β-cyclodextrin ethers or β-cyclodextrin esters in a molar ratio of drug to B-cyclodextrin ether is preferably about 1:6 to 4:1. The motivation to incorporate β-cyclodextrin ethers or β-cyclodextrin esters in a molar ratio of drug to B-cyclodextrin ether is preferably about 1:6 to 4:1 is because the reference teaches increased water-solubility and improved stability. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11844782. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending patents are directed to an aqueous composition, comprising: i) a component (A) selected from one or more members of the group consisting of dantrolene and a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of dantrolene; and ii) a component (B) selected from one or more members of the group consisting of 2-hydroxyethyl-β-cyclodextrin, sulfobutylether-β-cyclodextrin and 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin, wherein a pH of the composition is between 8.5 and 9.5, wherein a molar ratio of component (A) to component (B) ranges from 1:7 to 1:20, and wherein at least 90% of component (A) remains soluble for at least two days, whereas the claims herein are drawn to a powder obtained by drying an aqueous composition wherein the aqueous composition comprises: i) a component (A) selected from one or more members of the group consisting of dantrolene and a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of dantrolene; and ii) a component (B) selected from one or more members of the group consisting of cyclodextrin derivatives, wherein: the pH of the composition is greater than 7; and the molar ratio of component (A) to component (B) ranges from 1:2 to 1:30. The claims overlap having the same active dantrolene, cyclodextrin derivatives, molar ratio and pH.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622