DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 10-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortensen et al. (US 7,667,984; hereinafter Mortensen) and Hasegawa et al. (US 6,185,065; hereafter Hasegawa).
Regarding claim 1, Mortensen (fig. 3) discloses an apparatus comprising: an extension arm (103), an EMC scattering shield (104), and a rotation hinge (see col 4, lines 8-10); the extension arm (103) configured to position the EMC scattering shield (104) at a desired distance away from an external component (101); wherein the extension arm (103) is attached to and extends outward from an electronic industry alliance cabinet (see col. 3, lines 1-5); and the rotation hinge connecting the extension arm (103) and the EMC scattering shield (104), wherein the rotation hinge is configured to rotate the EMC scattering shield (104) away from the external component (101).
Mortensen does not expressly disclose the electronic industry alliance cabinet as a rack on an equipment rack. However, it is well known in the art EIA cabinets can include rack systems to mount multiple electronic components.
Furthermore, Hasegawa (fig. 11) teaches an apparatus comprising an EMC scattering shield (32) attached to and extending from an equipment rack (30).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mortensen’s apparatus to include the equipment rack of Hasegawa, since the use of rails in equipment cabinets is known for mounting arrangements for supporting and securing a variety of components.
Regarding claim 2, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the external component (1) is selected from a drawer, a server subcomponent, a cable management spine, and a server rack (see col. 3, lines 5-13 and col. 1, lines 31-32).
Regarding claim 4, Mortensen (fig. 1) discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a length of the extension arm (103) allows for cable egress (102) to the external component (101).
Regarding claim 10, Mortensen (fig. 1) discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the EMC scattering shield (104) is solid (see fig. 4, and par. [0020] line 17).
Regarding claim 11, Mortensen (fig. 1) discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the EMC scattering shield (104) includes perforations (see fig. 4).
Claim(s) 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortensen and Hasegawa, and further in view of George (US 4,262,365).
Regarding claim 12, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 11.
Mortensen fails to specifically disclose wherein the perforations are angled
downward relative to the external component.
George teaches (figs. 2-3) an apparatus wherein perforations (59a, 59b) are
angled downward relative to an external component (23).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to make Mortensen's apparatus wherein the perforations are angled
downward relative to the external component as taught by George, in order to improve
the shielding properties of the EMC scattering shield (see col. 1 lines 34-47).
Regarding claim 14, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Mortensen fails to specifically disclose wherein the EMC scattering shield
includes a plurality of slats.
George teaches (figs. 2-3) an apparatus wherein an EMC scattering shield
includes a plurality of slats.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make Mortensen's apparatus wherein the EMC scattering shield
includes a plurality of slats as taught by George, in order to improve the shielding
properties of the EMC scattering shield (see col. 1 lines 34-47).
Regarding claim 15, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 14.
The modified Mortensen teaches the slats are angled downward relative to the
external component (see George figs. 2-3).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Mortensen and Hasegawa, and further in view of Nicol et al. (US 8,809,697; hereinafter Nicol).
Regarding claim 13, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 11.
Mortensen fails to specifically disclose the perforations are smaller than a quarter
wavelength of a highest frequency of concern for EMC protection.
Nicol teaches an apparatus wherein perforations are smaller than a quarter wavelength of a highest frequency of concern for EMC protection (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to apply the teachings of Nicol and make Mortensen's apparatus
wherein the perforations are smaller than a quarter wavelength of a highest frequency
of concern for EMC protection, in order to ensure shielding integrity in the EMC
scattering shield.
Conclusion
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845