DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 15, 2025 have been fully considered but are moot; whereas new rejections have been made to read on the amended claim language.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “extension arm is telescopic” (claim 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 reads “the group consisting of a drawer, a server subcomponent, a cable management spine, and sever rack”. The specification, Paragraph [0049], presents “a drawer, a server subcomponent, a cable management spine, and sever rack’ as examples rather than a closed group, and therefore does not clearly support the exclusion of unlisted alternatives required by “consisting of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(1)(2) as being anticipated by Mortensen et al. (US 7,667,794; hereinafter Mortensen).
Regarding claim 1, Mortensen discloses an apparatus comprising: an extension arm (103), an EMC scattering shield (104), and a rotation hinge (see col 4, lines 8-10); the extension arm (103) configure to position the EMC scattering shield (104) at a desired distance away from an external component (101), wherein the extension arm (103) extends outward from an electronic industry alliance rail on an equipment rack (see col. 3, lines 12-14); and the rotation hinge is configured to rotate the EMC scattering shield (104) away from the external component (101)(see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Mortensen (fig. 3) discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the external component (101) is selected from the group consisting of a drawer, a server subcomponent, a cable management spine, server rack, and EIA rails (see col. 3, lines5-19).
Regarding claim 10, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the EMC scattering shield (104) is solid (fig. 4, see par. [0020], line 17).
Regarding claim 11, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the EMC scattering shield (104) includes perforations (see fig. 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortensen in view of Krajecki (US 6,944,011).
Regarding claim 3, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Mortensen fails to disclose the extension arm is telescopic.
Krajecki teaches a telescopic extension structure.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make apply the teachings of Krajecki and make Mortensen’s apparatus with the extension arm being telescopic, in order to adjust the position of the EMC scattering shield.
Regarding claim 4, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein a length of the extension arm (103) allows for cable egress (102) to the external component (101)(see fig. 1).
Claim(s) 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortensen in view of George (US 4,262,365).
Regarding claim 12, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 11.
Mortensen fails to specifically disclose wherein the perforations are angled downward relative to the external component.
George teaches (figs. 2-3) an apparatus wherein perforations (59a, 59b) are angled downward relative to an external component (23).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make Mortensen's apparatus wherein the perforations are angled downward relative to the external component as taught by George, in order to improve the shielding properties of the EMC scattering shield (see col. 1 lines 34-47).
Regarding claim 14, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Mortensen fails to specifically disclose wherein the EMC scattering shield includes a plurality of slats.
George teaches (figs. 2-3) an apparatus wherein an EMC scattering shield includes a plurality of slats.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make Mortensen's apparatus wherein the EMC scattering shield includes a plurality of slats as taught by George, in order to improve the shielding properties of the EMC scattering shield (see col. 1 lines 34-47).
Regarding claim 15, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 14.
The modified Mortensen teaches the slats are angled downward relative to the external component (see George figs. 2-3).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortensen, and further in view of Nicol et al. (US 8,809,697; hereinafter Nicol).
Regarding claim 13, Mortensen discloses the apparatus of claim 11.
Mortensen fails to specifically disclose the perforations are smaller than a quarter wavelength of a highest frequency of concern for EMC protection.
Nicol teaches an apparatus wherein perforations are
smaller than a quarter wavelength of a highest frequency of concern for EMC protection (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Nicol and make Mortensen's apparatus wherein the perforations are smaller than a quarter wavelength of a highest frequency of concern for EMC protection, in order to ensure shielding integrity in the EMC scattering shield.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845