DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-11 are pending:
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE 10 2022 130 081 filed on 11/14/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-9 recite “and/or”; it is unclear what “/” is intended to convey. Applicant is encouraged to delete “and/or” language and either draft a dependent claim with “and” proviso and draft the claim with the “or” proviso”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tonguren (DE T 49 90M AZ).
Regarding claim 1, Tonguren teaches a centrifugal separator (10) (cyclone with conical lower part, see title on pg. 1) comprising a housing (12) (upper part 5), which extends along a central axis (14) and has a separating chamber wall (24) for delimiting a separating chamber (26) that is fed by an inlet channel (44) (inlet pipe 6) for polyphasic fluid (separating dust or liquid droplets from a gas stream, see pg. 3), wherein a central immersion tube (50) (piping/tubing 11) is provided for discharging a first fluid phase and an outlet channel (54) (central gas outlet opening 9) is provided for discharging a second fluid phase, wherein an expansion chamber (30) (dust container 12), which widens radially outward with respect to the separating chamber (26) (see Fig. 1) and is radially outwardly delimited by an expansion chamber wall (32) (see annotated Fig. 1), is provided between the separating chamber (26) and the outlet channel (54) (see annotated Fig. 1), wherein the separating chamber (26) conically widens from the inlet channel (44), as seen along the central axis (14), toward the expansion chamber (30) (slightly conical upper part, see pg. 4 which means that the base is widest at the bottom therefore widens towards the dust container).
Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding claim 3, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 1, wherein the immersion tube (50) extends over at most 60% of a length (28), measured along the central axis (14), of the separating chamber (26) (see Figs. 1 and 3, the tube 11 extends approximately 30-40% in chamber, because the tube 11 does not extend deep into the chamber, there is no depiction suggesting >60% penetration).
Regarding claim 7, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 1, wherein the expansion chamber (30) has a fluid guiding section (78) which extends around the central axis (14) in frustoconical …and is on a bottom (see Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 1, wherein the inlet channel (44) has a boundary wall (46), which is on an outside with respect to the central axis (14) and tangentially adjoins a section (48) of the separating chamber wall (24) (see Fig. 3 wherein the inlet pipe enters tangentially because it is parallel to the local tangent of the circular chamber 5)…
Regarding claim 10, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 1 wherein an annular transition region (38) (conical lower part 8) between one end (40) of the separating chamber wall (26) and a boundary section (42) covering the expansion chamber (30) is …rounded (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonguren (DE T 49 90M AZ) in view of Suez (see NPL titled “SUEZ Degremont Water Handhook” in 892).
Regarding claim 2, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 1.
Tonguren does not teach wherein an angle of inclination (36), measured relative to the central axis (14), of the separating chamber wall (24) is between 2° and 20°.
In a related field of endeavor, Suez teaches geometric parameters of centrifuges (see pg. 1) wherein an angle of inclination (36), measured relative to the central axis (14), of the separating chamber wall (24) is between 2° and 20° (angle of conicity ranges from 8-12 degrees for all applications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the angle of inclination of the separation chamber of Tonguren by selecting an angle of inclination in the range of 8-12 degrees disclosed by Suez because it is desirable to select a workable range for depending the application in order to achieve the desired separation effect, mass flow rate and internal storage capacity for that application. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 11, Tonguren and Suez teach the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 2, wherein the angle of inclination (36) is between 2.5° and 15° (Suez, angles 8-12 degrees listed on pg. 2 fall within the claimed range).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonguren (DE T 49 90M AZ) in view of Schwarz (see NPL titled “Selecting the right Centrifuge” in 892).
Regarding claim 4, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 3.
Tonguren does not teach wherein a ratio between the length (28), measured along the central axis (14), of the separating chamber (26) and a largest diameter (34) of the separating chamber (26) is between 6:1 and 1:1.
In a related field of endeavor, Schwarz teaches decanter centrifuge selection (see Introduction pg. 2) wherein a ratio between the length (28), measured along the central axis (14), of the separating chamber (26) and a largest diameter (34) of the separating chamber (26) is between 6:1 and 1:1 (L:D usually 2 or 3 or 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the L:D of the separation chamber of Tonguren by selecting a L:D of 2 or 3 or 4 as disclosed by Schwarz because it is a critical design parameter to optimize the separation efficiency and the fluid dynamics thus leading to optimal residence times and separation efficiency of particles and phases with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonguren (DE T 49 90M AZ) in view of Frykhult (DE 28 09 575).
Regarding claim 5, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 1.
Tonguren does not teach wherein the expansion chamber (30) comprises a fluid discharge section (70), which is spaced apart from the central axis (14), is on a bottom and, with respect to an orientation perpendicular to the central axis (14), has a slope (72) which is similar to a screw thread and assists the discharge of the second fluid phase.
In a related field of endeavor, Frykhult teaches a hydrocyclone separator (see ABS) comprising a fluid discharge section (70), which is spaced apart from the central axis (14), is on a bottom and, with respect to an orientation perpendicular to the central axis (14), has a slope (72) which is similar to a screw thread and assists the discharge of the second fluid phase (see guide device 7 in the form of a helical path forms a screw path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the expansion chamber of Tonguren by incorporating a fluid discharge section as disclosed by Frykhult because it gives a heavy fraction flowing towards discharge an axial component of movement.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonguren (DE T 49 90M AZ) in view of Grubbens (GB 1 185 274).
Regarding claim 6, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 1.
Tonguren does not teach wherein the outlet channel (54) comprises a bottom section (74), which, with respect to an orientation perpendicular to the central axis (14), has an outlet channel slope (76) which assists the discharge of the second fluid phase.
In a related field of endeavor, Grubbens teaches a cyclone separator (see ABS) wherein the outlet channel (54) comprises a bottom section (74), which, with respect to an orientation perpendicular to the central axis (14), has an outlet channel slope (76) which assists the discharge of the second fluid phase (see container 3 having outlet slanted and perpendicular to the central axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlet of Tonguren by orienting it perpendicularly as disclosed by Grubbens because it efficiently captures the separated phase without disrupting the overall separation process.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonguren (DE T 49 90M AZ) in view of Carr (USPN 3,558,484).
Regarding claim 9, Tonguren teaches the centrifugal separator (10) according to Claim 1.
Tonguren does not teach wherein the inlet channel (44) has a rectangular cross section and/or wherein the outlet channel (54) has a rectangular cross section.
In a related field of endeavor, Carr teaches a separating apparatus (see ABS) comprising an inlet having a circular or rectangular or square cross section (see C3/L45-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inlet shape of Tonguren by selecting a rectangular cross section as disclosed by Carr because it achieves the predictable result obviously resulting in a suitable cross-sectional area for transporting a mixture from one operation to another with a reasonable expectation of success. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.04).
Foreign Translations
Machine Translations of Tonguren (DE T 49 90M AZ) and Grubbens (GB 1 185 274) are provided in 892.
Conclusion
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773