DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-25 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claims 1-25 are rejected.
Claims 1, 3, 9, 13, 15 and 18 are objected to.
Priority
The instant application claims domestic benefit as a CON of U.S. Non-provisional Application No. 16/821,607, filed on March 17, 2020, which claims domestic benefit to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/820,106, filed on March 18, 2019. The claims to domestic benefit are acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date of claims 1-25 is March 18, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs filed 2/8/2024, 8/29/2024 and 8/29/2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of the list of references cited from these IDSs is included with this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 210 in FIG. 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because FIGs 6 and 8-9 are in color. Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 9, 13, 15 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 24, should recite “regions, [[of]] in”.
Claim 1, line 29, “y” should be italicized.
Claim 3, line 1, should recite “of[[,]]”.
Claim 9, line 6, should recite “cells; [[and]]”.
Claim 9, line 18, should recite “threshold; [[and]]”.
Claim 9, line 20, should recite “regions, [[of]] in the”.
Claim 13, line 1, should recite “of[[,]]”.
Claim 15, line 3, should recite “by chance
Claim 18, lines 6-7, should recite “cells; [[and]]”.
Claim 18, line 21, should recite “threshold; [[and]]”.
Claim 18, line 28, should recite “phenotype[[,]] by”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 9 and 18 recite contingent limitations. MPEP 2111.04.II recites “[t]he broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.”
Claims 1, 9 and 18 recite the following contingent limitations: beginning with “wherein cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype express …” and ending with “… identifying, based on the probability …” These limitations are contingent upon at least one cell in the second culture being categorized as having the designated phenotype. A cell can either have or not have the phenotype. There is no requirement in the claims that at least one cell has the phenotype. Thus, when no cell is categorized as having the phenotype, the contingent limitations are not required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 USC 112(b)
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims dependent from a rejected claim are also rejected, unless otherwise noted.
Claim 1, lines 26-27, recites “the target region in the selected cells”. It’s unclear which target region is referenced because lines 3-4 recite “a target region of DNA”, lines 20-21 recite “per target region of DNA, in the selected cells”, lines 23-24 recite “all target regions, of the selected cells”, and line 26 recites “for a target region of DNA.” Clarify which target region is referenced.
Claim 1, line 34, recites “the target region”. It’s unclear which target region is referenced because lines 20-21 recite “per target region of DNA, in the selected cells”, lines 23-24 recite “all target regions, of the selected cells”, line 26 recites “a target region of DNA”, and line 30 recites “a target region of DNA.” Clarify which target region is referenced. Furthermore, the same indefinite issue regarding “the target region” is recited in claim 9 (lines 22-23) and claim 18 (line 27).
Claims 2 and 5-8 recite “the target region”. It’s unclear which target region is referenced because claim 1 recites in lines 3-4 “a target region of DNA”, lines 6-7 “per target region of DNA”, lines 9-10 “all target regions”, lines 20-21 “per target region of DNA, in the selected cells”, lines 23-24 “all target regions, of the selected cells”, line 26 “a target region of DNA”, and line 30 “a target region of DNA.” Clarify which target region is referenced. Furthermore, the same indefinite issue regarding “the target region” is recited in claims 12, 15 (lines 3 and 7-8), 16 (lines 2-4) and 17 (lines 2-3) because claim 9 recites several instance of “target region”, and in claims 20 (line 2), 21, 24 (lines 3, 5 and 7) and 25 (lines 2-6) because claim 18 recites several instances of “target region.”
Claim 10, lines 2-3, recites “the library”. It’s unclear whether this refers to “a library” in claim 10, line 2, or to claim 9, line 3. Clarify which library is referenced. For examination, the libraries are being interpreted as the same library with at least 3 gRNAs rather than two sets of at least 3 gRNAs.
Claim 10, line 4, recites “the cells”. It’s unclear which cells are referenced because claim 9, lines 3 and 10, recite cells of a first and second culture while line claim 9, line 11, recites cells with a designated phenotype. Clarify which cells are referenced.
Claim 19, line 4, recites “the cells”. It’s unclear which cells are referenced because claim 18 recites in lines 3 and 12 cells of a first and second culture while line 15 recites cells with a designated phenotype. Clarify which cells are referenced.
Claim 19, line 8, recites “the second culture”. It’s unclear which second culture is referenced because both claim 18, line 11, and claim 19, line 7, recite “a second culture”. Clarify which second culture is referenced.
Claim 20 recites equations
and
but does not define the variables and thus renders the claim indefinite. This is in contrast to claim 1, which defines the variables. To overcome the rejection, define the variables.
Claim 25, line 2, recites by “evaluating N/N’”. It’s unclear what “N/N’” is because there is no definition in the claim. To overcome this rejection, define the variables.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Step 1 asks whether the claims recite statutory subject matter. In the instant case, claims 1-8 recite a method, claims 9-17 recite a method, and claims 18-25 recite a method. As such, these claims recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claims that recite statutory subject matter are analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 1 to determine if they recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomena. The instant claims recite the following limitations that equate to one or more categories of judicial exception:
Claim 1 recites “summing (E) respective numbers of gRNAs (n) qualitatively present, per target region of DNA, whose read count exceeds a background threshold; and summing (E) a total number of gRNAs (N) qualitatively present, over all target regions, whose read count exceeds the background threshold; categorizing, based on applying a selection mechanism to the cells of the second culture, the cells of the second culture as either having a designated phenotype or not having the designated phenotype, wherein cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype express a selectable marker comprising a protein of a signaling pathway; selecting cells having the designated phenotype and; summing (E) respective numbers of gRNAs (n') qualitatively present, per target region of DNA, in the selected cells whose post-selection read count exceeds the background threshold; and summing (E) a total number of gRNAs (N') qualitatively present, over all target regions, of the selected cells whose read count exceeds the background threshold; calculating, for a target region of DNA, a probability of observing n' gRNAs for the target region in the selected cells by chance according to the formula computes a number of ways of choosing x objects out of y objects; calculating, for a target region of DNA that comprises a gene, a probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance according to the formula; and identifying, based on the probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance, that the target region impacts the signaling pathway.”
Claims 3, 13 and 22 recite “wherein the designated phenotype is at least one of, fluorescence or cell survival.”
Claims 5, 15 and 24 recite “wherein identifying, based on the probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance, that the target region impacts the signaling pathway comprises: identifying, based on the probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance, that the target region is positively selected; and based on the target region being positively selected, determining that the target region regulates the protein of the signaling pathway.”
Claim 6 recites “identifying, based on the probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance, that the target region is positively selected; identifying, based on the probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance, the target region as a modifier of a second gene; identifying, based on the probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance, the target region as a therapeutic target; identifying, based on the probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance, the target region as correlated with the designated phenotype; or identifying, based on the probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the selected cells by chance, the target region as exhibiting a protective effect.”
Claims 7, 16 and 25 recite “calculating, for the target region, an enrichment score by evaluating N/N'; and identifying, based on the target region having an enrichment score above a threshold, the target region as a positively selected target region.”
Claims 8, 17 and 25 recite “wherein identifying that the target region impacts the signaling pathway is further based on the target region having an enrichment score above the threshold.”
Claims 9 recite “summing (E) respective numbers of guide RNAs (gRNAs) (n) qualitatively present in a first culture ofcas9-positive cells after infection with a library of viral vectors, per target region of DNA, whose read count exceeds a background threshold, wherein the library comprises at least 3 gRNAs for cleaving a target region of DNA within the genome of the cells; and summing (E) a total number of gRNAs (N) qualitatively present, over all target regions, whose read count exceeds the background threshold; categorizing, based on applying a selection mechanism to a second culture of cas9- positive cells after infection with the library of viral vectors, the cells of the second culture as either having a designated phenotype or not having the designated phenotype, wherein cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype express a selectable marker comprising a protein of a signaling pathway; summing (E) respective numbers Of gRNAs (n qualitatively present, per target region of DNA, in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype, whose post-selection read count exceeds the background threshold; and summing (E) a total number Of gRNAs (N') qualitatively present, Over all target regions, of the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype, whose read count exceeds the background threshold; calculating, for a target region of DNA, a probability of observing n ' gRNAs for the target region in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance according to the formula , wherein computes a number of ways of choosing x objects out ofy objects; calculating, for a target region of DNA that comprises a gene, a probability of observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance according to the formula and identifying, based on the probability of Observing n' or more gRNAs of the gene in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance, that the gene impacts the signaling pathway.”
Claims 11 and 19 recite “selecting cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype”
Claim 18 recites “summing respective numbers of gRNAs qualitatively present in cas9-positive cells of a first culture after infection with a library of viral vectors, per target region of DNA, whose read count exceeds a background threshold, wherein the library comprises at least 3 gRNAs for cleaving a target region of DNA within the genome of the cas9-positive cells; and summing a total number Of gRNAs qualitatively present in cas9-positive cells of the first culture after infection with the library of viral vectors, over all target regions, whose read count exceeds the background threshold; categorizing, based on applying a selection mechanism to a second culture of cas9-positive cells after infection with the library of viral vectors, the cas9-positive cells of the second culture as either having a designated phenotype or not having the designated phenotype, wherein cas9- positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype express a selectable marker comprising a protein of a signaling pathway; summing respective numbers of gRNAs qualitatively present, per target region of DNA, in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype, whose post-selection lead count exceeds the background threshold; and summing a total number of gRNAs qualitatively present, over all target regions, in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype, whose read count exceeds the background threshold; calculating, for a target region of DNA, a probability of observing a number of gRNAs qualitatively present for the target region in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype, by chance; calculating, for a target region of DNA that comprises a gene, a probability of observing a number of gRNAs of the gene in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance; and identifying, based On the probability Of Observing the number gRNAs Of the gene in the cas9-p0sitive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance, that the gene impacts the signaling pathway.”
Claim 20 recites “wherein calculating, for the target region of DNA, the probability of observing the number of gRNAs for the target region in the cas9- positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance comprises evaluating the formula computes a number of ways of choosing x , wherein objects out of y objects; and wherein calculating, for the target region Of DNA that comprises the gene, the probability Of observing the number of gRNAs Of the gene in the cas9-p0sitive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance comprises evaluating the formula.”
Limitations reciting a mental process.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 12, 16-18, 20, 22 and 24-25 contain limitations recited at such a high level of generality that they equate to a mental process because they are similar to the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), which the courts have identified as concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind. The paragraphs below discuss the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the limitations in these claims that recite a mental process.
Claims 1, 9 and 18 sum gRNAs using read counts which requires adding. Categorizing by applying a selection mechanism includes labeling a cell as not having a desired phenotype if the cell is dead under microscope. A human can select a cell based on a phenotype. The calculations of probabilities using the recited formulas can be performed on pen and paper. Identification of a target region is a mental evaluation.
Claims 5-6, 15, 20 and 24 require making a determination based on evaluating data. Claims 7-8, 16-17 and 25 include calculating a score and making determinations based on the score.
Claims 3, 13 and 22 further limit the abstract idea of categorizing cells as having or not having the phenotype and thus also recites a mental process.
Limitations reciting a mathematical concept.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 15-16, 18, 20 and 25 recite calculations of summations, probabilities and enrichment scores. These claims recite a mathematical concept because they are similar to the concepts of organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations in Digitech Image Techs., LLC v Electronics for Imaging, Inc. (758 F.3d 1344, 111 U.S.P.Q.2d 1717 (Fed. Cir. 2014)), which the courts have identified as mathematical concepts.
As such, claims 1-25 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Additional Elements:
Once limitations have been identified that recite a judicial exception, the claims are evaluated for additional elements. The additional elements are then analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 2 then Step 2B. The instant claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites “infecting a first culture of cas9-positive cells with a library of viral vectors, the library comprising at least 3 guide RNAs (gRNAs) for cleaving a target region of DNA within a genome of the cells; sequencing the cells to obtain a read count for each of the gRNAs; infecting a second culture of cas9-positive cells with the library of viral vectors; sequencing the selected cells to obtain a post-selection read count for each of the gRNAs.”
Claims 2, 12 and 21 recite “wherein the target region of DNA regulates a downstream gene or protein, and wherein regulating a downstream gene or protein comprises the activation or inhibition of the downstream gene or protein.”
Claims 3, 13 and 22 recite “and wherein the selection mechanism comprises one or more of exposing the cas-9 positive cells of the second culture to a drug or to a substance that identifies protein activity or expression levels.”
Claims 4, 14 and 23 recite “wherein the signaling pathway comprises a disease pathway.”
Claims 10 and 19 recite “infecting the first culture of cas9-positive cells with a library of viral vectors, the library comprising at least 3 guide RNAs (gRNAs) for cleaving a target region of DNA within the genome of the cells; and sequencing the cas9-positive cells of the first culture to obtain a read count for each of the gRNAs.”
Claims 11 and 19 recite “infecting the second culture of cas9-positive cells with the library of viral vectors; and sequencing the selected cas9-positive cells to obtain a post-selection read count for each of the gRNAs.”
These above recited additional elements are analyzed below under both Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B:
Step 2A, Prong 2:
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite additional elements that reflect an improvement to a computer, technology, or technical field (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.5(a)), require a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2)), implement the recited judicial exception with a particular machine that is integral to the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(b)), effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP § 2106.05(c)), nor provide some other meaningful limitation (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). Rather, the claims include limitations that equate to insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) and field of use limitations (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The paragraphs below discuss the additional elements recited above in the instant claims.
Claims 1, 9-11 and 18-19 recite infecting and sequencing a first and second population and applying a selection mechanism. These limitations equate to necessary data gathering to perform the abstract ideas of summing sgRNA counts and calculating probabilities. Necessary data gathering is not a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)(3)).
Claims 2, 4, 12, 14, 21 and 23 further limit the target region and signaling pathway, which both recite extra solution activity, and equate to field of use limitations.
As such, claims 1-25 are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
Step 2B:
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). These claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these claims recite additional elements that equate to well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) limitations (MPEP § 2106.05(d)). The paragraphs below discuss the additional elements recited above in the instant claims.
When claims 1-4, 10-14, 19, 21 and 23 are viewed individually and in combination, they equate to WURC limitations as taught by Doench (Nature Reviews Genetics 19, no. 2 (2018): 67-80). Doench discloses a user’s guide to CRISPR genetic screens. FIG 1a shows infection and cell passage where a library of lentiviruses is added to a population of cells (pg. 69, col. 2, para 1). A library can target 20,000 genes with 5 sgRNAs per gene (pg. 77, col. 1, para. 1). Approaches for selecting cells includes introducing a drug or using a fluorescent protein with flow cytometry (pg. 69, col. 1 – pg. 70, col. 1, para. 1). Positive selection screening uses cultured cells in which cells of interest are enriched over time, yielding hit genes (pg. 70, col. 2, para. 4). The identifies of a perturbation that caused a phenotype are determined by PCR amplification of DNA, then sequencing the amplified regions to quantify the abundance of each perturbation (pg. 67, col. 2, para. 1). In the CRISPR screening sequencing produces sgRNA read counts (pg. 71, col. 2, para. 1) (pg. 78, col. 1, para. 3). After a primary screen, a follow-up strategy is performed to design a custom pool (pg. 76, col. 2, last para. – pg. 77, col. 1, para. 1). (see Box 1). CRISPR can be used to interrogate regulatory regions (pg. 75, col. 1, para. 2) as well as paracrine signaling effects such as knocking out secreted growth factor (pg. 77, col. 2, para. 1) and can be in the context of disease (pg. 69, col. 1, para. 1).
When these additional elements are considered individually and in combination, they do not provide an inventive concept because they equate to WURC limitations of a CRISPR screening experiment as taught above by Doench. Therefore, these additional elements do not transform the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No).
As such, claims 1-25 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 for being unpatentable over Joung et al. (“Joung”; Nature protocols 12, no. 4 (2017): 828-863) in view of Han et al. (“Han”; Nature biotechnology 35, no. 5 (2017): 463-474) and Davidliwei (MAGeCK / wiki / output; published online 10 July 2018).
The bold and italicized text below are the limitations of the instant claims, and the italicized text maps the prior art onto the instant claims.
Claims 1 and 9-11:
infecting a first culture of cas9-positive cells with a library of viral vectors, the library comprising at least 3 guide RNAs (gRNAs) for cleaving a target region of DNA within a genome of the cells; sequencing the cells to obtain a read count for each of the gRNAs; summing (E) respective numbers of gRNAs (n) qualitatively present, per target region of DNA, whose read count exceeds a background threshold; and summing (E) a total number Of gRNAs (N) qualitatively present, over all target regions, whose lead count exceeds the background threshold; infecting a second culture of cas9-positive cells with the library of viral vectors;
Joung discloses genome-scale CRISPR-Cas9 knockout and transcriptional activation screening (title). Joung “constructed genome-scale CRISPR-Cas9 knockout (GeCKO) and SAM libraries to identify genes that, upon knockout or activation, confer resistance to the BRAF inhibitor vemurafenib in a melanoma cell line” (pg. 829, col. 2) (FIG 3).
Joung recites “pooled screening, in which pooled lentiviral libraries are transduced at a low multiplicity of infection (MOI) to ensure that most cells receive only one stably integrated RNA guide. After the screen is complete, deep sequencing of the sgRNAs in the bulk genomic DNA identifies changes in the sgRNA distribution due to the applied screening selection pressure … Regardless of the type of screening selection, next-generation sequencing (NGS) is used to compare the number of reads for each sgRNA in the perturbed experimental condition relative to a control to identify candidate genes for validation” (infecting first/second culture of cas9 positive cells) (pg. 831, col. 1, para. 5 – col. 2). Read counts of the sgRNAs are sequenced for baseline and post-selection groups (sequencing the cas9-positive cells of the first/second culture) (designated phenotype) (FIG. 4A/B). Box 1 shows different types of selection for CRISPR screens. FIG. 3 shows genomic regions where the sgRNA target for knockout and activation screens. There are 6 sgRNAs per gene (FIG 3A caption), and 3 sgRNAs for activation (library of viral vectors, the library comprising at least 3 gRNAs) (FIG. 3C caption).
However, Joung does not sum gRNAs having a read count above a threshold, per target region of DNA or over all target regions.
Han uses CRISPR screening to identify pairwise genetic interactions (title). Han recites “[s]ince low sequencing read depth could add noise to the data, we filtered out double-sgRNAs that had read counts below the determined minimum threshold” (whose read count exceeds a background threshold) (pg. 4, para. 1). It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the sgRNA read counts of Joung by filtering out sgRNAs below a minimum threshold because Han teaches that this reduces noise in the data (pg. 4, para. 1 of Han). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to remove sgRNAs in Joung below a threshold because it requires establishing a threshold and filtering based on the already produced sgRNA read counts of Joung.
Davidliwei describes various output files of a software MAGeCK used to select essential genes from CRISPR knockout studies. One of the output files indicates total number of sgRNAs in the library based on sgRNAs read counts (summing respective numbers of gRNAs … per target region of DNA) (pg 1-2, sec. count_summary_txt). Another output file indicates the number of sgRNAs that target each gene (summing a total number of gRNAs … over all target regions) (pg. 3, sec. gene_summary_txt). When Davidliwei and Han are taken together, only gRNAs with read counts above a threshold are used for downstream analysis. Thus, the summed gRNAs per target region and over all target regions are filtered based on a read count threshold. It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the sgRNA read counts filtered by a threshold, as taught by Joung and Han, by inputting the filtered read counts into MAGeCK to produce the output files described by Davidliwei. Motivation is taught by Joung who recites that MAGeCK selects candidate genes for CRISPR screens (pg. 834, col. 1, last para. – col. 2). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to input the sgRNA read counts of Joung into MAGeCK because the input files into MAGeCK require gRNA read counts.
categorizing, based on applying a selection mechanism to the cells of the second culture, the cells of the second culture as either having a designated phenotype or not having the designated phenotype,
Joung shows in Box 1 different types of selection schemes for CRISPR screens such as positive, negative, or marker gene selection occurs (Box 1). For marker gene selection, report gene expression is assessed using florescence-activated cell sorting (FACS) (pg. 831, col. 1, last para.). Cells that don’t survive or don’t fluoresce do not have the designated phenotype (not having the designated phenotype).
The limitations in claims 1 and 9 after categorizing the cells as either having or not having the designated phenotype are contingent limitations that rely upon a cell being categorized as having the phenotype. Thus, such limitations are not required when no cells are categorized as having the phenotype. See above in Claim Interpretation for more details.
Claims 2 and 12:
Joung recites in FIG 4C “[f]or activation screening, the SAM libraries target the 200-bp region upstream of the transcriptional start site of 23,430 human or 23,439 mouse RefSeq coding isoforms with 3 sgRNAs per isoform.”
Claims 3 and 13:
Joung teaches that the phenotype can be survival or fluorescence (Box 1) (FIG 2) (Table 1). Joung “constructed genome-scale CRISPR-Cas9 knockout (GeCKO) and SAM libraries to identify genes that, upon knockout or activation, confer resistance to the BRAF inhibitor vemurafenib in a melanoma cell line” (exposing to a drug) (pg. 829, col. 2, para. 1). Cells that don’t survive or don’t fluoresce do not have the designated phenotype.
Claims 4-8 and 14-17:
These claims are contingent upon cells being categorized as having the phenotype in claims 1 and 9. When no cells are categorized as having the phenotype, these claims are not required. Thus, claims 4-8 and 14-17 are rejected for the dependency on rejected claims 1 and 9.
Claims 18-24 are rejected under 35 USC 103 for being unpatentable over Joung et al. (“Joung”; Nature protocols 12, no. 4 (2017): 828-863) in view of Han et al. (“Han”; Nature biotechnology 35, no. 5 (2017): 463-474), Davidliwei (MAGeCK / wiki / output; published online 10 July 2018), and Jeong et al. (“Jeong”; BioRxiv (2018): 309302).
The bold and italicized text below are the limitations of the instant claims, and the italicized text maps the prior art onto the instant claims.
Claim 18:
summing respective numbers of gRNAs qualitatively present in cas9-positive cells of a first culture after infection with a library of viral vectors, per target region of DNA, whose read count exceeds a background threshold, wherein the library comprises at least 3 gRNAs for cleaving a target region of DNA within the genome of the cas9-positive cells; and summing a total number of gRNAs qualitatively present in cas9-positive cells of the first culture after infection with the library of viral vectors, over all target regions, whose read count exceeds the background threshold;
Joung discloses genome-scale CRISPR-Cas9 knockout and transcriptional activation screening (title). Joung “constructed genome-scale CRISPR-Cas9 knockout (GeCKO) and SAM libraries to identify genes that, upon knockout or activation, confer resistance to the BRAF inhibitor vemurafenib in a melanoma cell line” (pg. 829, col. 2) (FIG 3).
Joung recites “pooled screening, in which pooled lentiviral libraries are transduced at a low multiplicity of infection (MOI) to ensure that most cells receive only one stably integrated RNA guide. After the screen is complete, deep sequencing of the sgRNAs in the bulk genomic DNA identifies changes in the sgRNA distribution due to the applied screening selection pressure … Regardless of the type of screening selection, next-generation sequencing (NGS) is used to compare the number of reads for each sgRNA in the perturbed experimental condition relative to a control to identify candidate genes for validation” (cas9-positive cells) (first culture) (infection with a library of viral vectors) (pg. 831, col. 1, para. 5 – col. 2). Read counts of the sgRNAs are sequenced for baseline and post-selection groups (gRNA read counts) (FIG. 4A/B). There are 6 sgRNAs per gene for knockout (FIG 3A caption), and 3 sgRNAs for activation (FIG. 3C caption).
However, Joung does not sum gRNAs having a read count above a threshold, per target region of DNA or over all target regions.
Han uses CRISPR screening to identify pairwise genetic interactions (title). Han recites “[s]ince low sequencing read depth could add noise to the data, we filtered out double-sgRNAs that had read counts below the determined minimum threshold” (whose read count exceeds a background threshold) (pg. 4, para. 1). It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the sgRNA read counts of Joung by filtering out sgRNAs below a minimum threshold because Han teaches that this reduces noise in the data (pg. 4, para. 1 of Han). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to remove sgRNAs in Joung below a threshold because it requires establishing a threshold and filtering based on the already produced sgRNA read counts of Joung.
Davidliwei describes various output files of a software MAGeCK used to select essential genes from CRISPR knockout studies. One of the output files indicates total number of sgRNAs in the library based on sgRNAs read counts (summing respective numbers of gRNAs … per target region of DNA) (pg 1-2, sec. count_summary_txt). Another output file indicates the number of sgRNAs that target each gene (summing a total number of gRNAs … over all target regions) (pg. 3, sec. gene_summary_txt). When Davidliwei and Han are taken together, only gRNAs with read counts above a threshold are used for downstream analysis. Thus, the summed gRNAs per target region and over all target regions are filtered based on a read count threshold. It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the sgRNA read counts filtered by a threshold, as taught by Joung and Han, by inputting the filtered read counts into MAGeCK to produce the output files described by Davidliwei. Motivation is taught by Joung who recites that MAGeCK selects candidate genes for CRISPR screens (pg. 834, col. 1, last para. – col. 2). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to input the sgRNA read counts of Joung into MAGeCK because the input files into MAGeCK require gRNA read counts.
categorizing, based on applying a selection mechanism to a second culture of cas9-positive cells after infection with the library of viral vectors, the cas9-positive cells of the second culture as either having a designated phenotype or not having the designated phenotype, wherein cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype express a selectable marker comprising a protein of a signaling pathway;
Joung shows in Box 1 different types of selection schemes for CRISPR screens. Baseline sgRNA expression is recorded, then positive, negative, or marker gene selection occurs (Box 1). For marker gene selection, report gene expression is assessed using florescence-activated cell sorting (FACS) (pg. 831, col. 1, last para.). Box 1 recites “[f]or these phenotypes, the screen may be read out by capturing sgRNAs that produce changes in marker gene protein expression using either endogenous-tagged fluorescent proteins or highly specific antibodies followed by FACS” (protein of a signaling pathway). Alternatively, Joung discloses knockout and transcriptional activation using CRISPR (FIG 1), wherein the upregulation or downregulation of the protein is verified using immunohistochemistry or western blotting (pg. 836, col. 2). These downstream proteins are assessed for whether they confer resistance to a BRAF inhibitor in melanoma cells (pg. 829, col. 2) (protein of a signaling pathway).
Joung also recites “[v]alidation of candidate genes for screening phenotype. Once the antibiotic selection for validation cell lines is complete, verify the screening phenotype by applying the screening selection to the validation cell lines and assessing cell proliferation, death, or fluorescence for positive, negative, or marker gene selection screens, respectively. In addition, determine the indel rate for knockout screens (Steps 85–99) or fold activation for activation screens (Steps 100–110)” (pg. 854).
summing respective numbers of gRNAs qualitatively present, per target region of DNA, in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype, whose post-selection lead count exceeds the background threshold; and summing a total number of gRNAs qualitatively present, over all target regions, in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype, whose read count exceeds the background threshold;
These limitations differ from the limitations recited above regarding summing gRNAs in that the gRNAs here are from post-selection cells. Joung produces sgRNA counts post-selection (second culture having the designated phenotype (Box 1) (FIG 4) (pg. 831, col. 2, para. 1), which includes the sgRNA library with at least 3 sgRNAs per target region (FIG 3A/B caption).
However, Joung does not sum gRNAs having a post-selection read count above a post-selection read count threshold, per target region of DNA or over all target regions.
The citations above from Han and Davidliwei are applied here to the sgRNA post-selection read counts in the same way as they are applied above to sgRNA of cells pre-selection (i.e., summing post-selection sgRNAs per target region and over all target regions using the count threshold of Han and the output files of Li). The case for prima facie obviousness is described above. It would have been prima facie obvious to perform the same procedure above for pre-selection cells as for post-selection cells using Joung in view of Han and Davidliwei because the output files of Han would allow for comparison between post and pre-selection cells.
calculating, for a target region of DNA, a probability of observing a number of gRNAs qualitatively present for the target region in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype, by chance; calculating, for a target region of DNA that comprises a gene, a probability of observing a number of gRNAs of the gene in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance; and identifying, based on the probability of observing the number gRNAs of the gene in the cas9-positive cells of the second culture having the designated phenotype by chance, that the gene impacts the signaling pathway.
Joung discloses sgRNAs target genes and each gene is targeted by at least 3 sgRNAs in Cas9-positive cells of baseline (first culture) and post-selection cultures (second culture having the designated phenotype) (FIGs 3-4) (Box 1). Joung discloses the signaling pathway in CRISPR activation/knockout as the downstream regulated protein or as the fluorescent marker used in FACS (Box1) (Fig 2). Joung determines if a sgRNA and associated gene impacts the downstream signaling pathway in melanoma cancer cells through post-selection (Box 1) (FIG 4). Some of the genes are NF1, NF2, CUL3, MED12, TADA1, TADA2B, GPR35, EGFR, LPAR5, LPAR1, ITGA9, ITGA5, CRB2, ITGB3, P2RY8, ARHGEF1 (FIG 4).
However, Joung does not calculate, for a target region of DNA or for a target region of DNA that comprises a gene, a probability of observing gRNAs in the post-selection culture based on chance, nor does Joung use the probability to identify that the gene has an impact on the signaling pathway.
Jeong discloses CRISPRCloud2 for deconvoluting CRISPR screen data (title). Jeong recites “[b]ecause multiple significant sgRNAs targeting the same gene hold greater biological significance than a single significant sgRNA, we must aggregate p-values to increase confidence in target identification. To do so, we combine 𝑝-values of sgRNAs for a target gene using Fisher’s method to assess overall differences at the gene level. The combined chi-square statistical test is used: χ2𝑘 𝑘 2 ∼−2∑ 𝑙𝑛(𝑝𝑗) 𝑗=1, where 𝑘 is the number of sgRNAs targeting a gene in the screen and 𝑝𝑗 is the 𝑝-value of 𝑗-th sgRNA for the gene. 𝜒2 follows a chi-squared distribution with 2𝑘 degrees of freedom. To correct for multiple hypothesis testing, we adopted the Benjamini-Hochberg procedure to estimate the False Discovery Rate (FDR)” (pg. 10).
The combination of Joung and Jeong calculates chance probability of observing sgRNAs at a target region and at a target region of DNA that comprises a gene using the Fisher’s test of Jeong, which results in identification of sgRNAs and genes that significantly impact the signaling pathway.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified Joung’s method of using multiple sgRNAs per gene to detect which genes confer resistance to BRAF inhibitor in melanoma cells by performing the Fisher’s method of Jeong to identify which genes are significantly selected. Motivation is that the Fisher’s method increase confidence in target identification (pg. 10, para. 2 of Jeong). One of skill would want higher confidence when selecting a phenotype in a CRISPR screen. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because the Fisher’s method of Jeong is compatible with a CRISPR experiment.
Claim 19:
Joung recites “pooled screening, in which pooled lentiviral libraries are transduced at a low multiplicity of infection (MOI) to ensure that most cells receive only one stably integrated RNA guide. After the screen is complete, deep sequencing of the sgRNAs in the bulk genomic DNA identifies changes in the sgRNA distribution due to the applied screening selection pressure … Regardless of the type of screening selection, next-generation sequencing (NGS) is used to compare the number of reads for each sgRNA in the perturbed experimental condition relative to a control to identify candidate genes for validation” (infecting first/second culture) (pg. 831, col. 1, para. 5 – col. 2). Read counts of the sgRNAs are sequenced for baseline and post-selection groups (sequencing the cas9-positive cells of the first/second culture) (designated phenotype) (FIG. 4A/B). Box 1 shows different types of selection for CRISPR screens. FIG. 3 shows genomic regions where the sgRNA target for knockout and activation screens. There are 6 sgRNAs per gene (FIG 3A caption), and 3 sgRNAs for activation (library of viral vectors, the library comprising at least 3 gRNAs) (FIG. 3C caption).
Claim 20:
Claim 20 is contingent upon claim 18 requiring “calculating, for a target region of DNA, a probability of observing a number of gRNAs qualitatively present for the target region,” which itself is contingent upon claim 18 categorizing cells of the second culture as having the designated phenotype. Thus, in claim 18, when no cells are categorized as having the phenotype, the “calculating, for a target region of DNA” is not performed. Claim 20 is rejected for its dependency on rejected claim 18.
Claim 21:
Joung recites in FIG 4C “[f]or activation screening, the SAM libraries target the 200-bp region upstream of the transcriptional start site of 23,430 human or 23,439 mouse RefSeq coding isoforms with 3 sgRNAs per isoform.”
Claims 22-23:
Joung teaches that the phenotype can be survival or fluorescence (Box 1) (FIG 2) (Table 1). Joung “constructed genome-scale CRISPR-Cas9 knockout (GeCKO) and SAM libraries to identify genes that, upon knockout or activation, confer resistance to the BRAF inhibitor vemurafenib in a melanoma cell line” (exposing to a drug) (pg. 829, col. 2, para. 1). Some of the downstream proteins conferring resistance were NF1, NF2, CUL3, MED12, TADA1, TADA2B, GPR35, EGFR, LPAR5, LPAR1, ITGA9, ITGA5, CRB2, ITGB3, P2RY8, ARHGEF1 (a disease pathway) (FIG 4).
Claim 24: As discussed in claim 18, Joung and Jeong calculate chance probability of observing sgRNAs at a target region of DNA that comprises a gene using the Fisher’s test (Box 1 and FIG 1-4 of Joung) (pg 10, sec. sgRNA p-value of Jeong). Since this is performed on cells post-selection (i.e. CRISPR knockout and transcriptional activation in Joung Box 1 & FIG 3), a gene with a significant p-value post-selection would indicate impact on a signaling pathway as well as positive selection (identifying, based on the probability of observing a number of gRNAs of the gene in the cas9-posiitve cells of the second culture by chance that the target region impacts the signaling pathway) (positively selected). The prima facie case for Joung in view of Jeong is recited in claim 18.
Joung uses CRISPR for transcriptional regulation that upregulates a target transcript in melanoma cells to discover genes that confer resistance to the BRAF inhibitor vemurafenib (pg. 829, col. 2) (FIG 1). Genes that participate in resistance are part of a diseased pathway in melanoma cancer. FIG 4 of Joung recites genes that are part of signaling pathways that confer resistance. Joung verifies upregulation or downregulation of protein expression with immunohistochemistry or western blotting (determining that the target region regulates the protein of the signaling pathway) (pg. 836, col. 2, para. 1).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 USC 103 for being unpatentable over Joung et al. (“Joung”; Nature protocols 12, no. 4 (2017): 828-863) in view of Han et al. (“Han”; Nature biotechnology 35, no. 5 (2017): 463-474), Davidliwei (MAGeCK / wiki / output; published online 10 July 2018), and Jeong et al. (“Jeong”; BioRxiv (2018): 309302), as applied above to claim 18, and in further view of Li et al. (“Li”; NPL ref 6 on IDS filed 2/8/2024; Genome biology 15, no. 12 (2014): 554).
The italicized text below are the limitations of the instant claims and serve to map the prior art onto the instant claims
Claim 25:
Joung discloses that RIGER calculates an enrichment score for each gene and RSA is like RIGER except that it assigns significance based on an iterative hypergeometric distribution (N/N’) (pg. 834, col. 2). Joung identifies genes as being positively selected based on impacting a signaling pathway (Box 1) (FIG 3-4). However, Joung, Han, Davidliwei, and Jeong do not make the identification based on the enrichment score being above a threshold.
Li discloses MAGeCK for robust identification of essential genes from genome-scale CRISPR/Cas9 knockout screens (title). Genes are ranked using robust rank aggregation (FIG 1), which selects genes with an FDR of <0.05 (enrichment score threshold) (FIG 2A, 3) (pg. 10, col. 1, para. 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified Joung who identifies candidate genes post-selection with the enrichment score of MAGeCK by using an enrichment score threshold as taught by Li. Motivation is that MAGeCK uses an FDR of 0.05 to detect significantly selected genes. See Li at FIG 2A and pg. 10, col. 1, para. 2. One of skill would want a small FDR to have higher confidence in significance. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to use the FDR threshold of Li in Joung because Li disclose the FDR threshold that should be used in MAGeCK.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-14 and 17-22 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,845,930 B2 (hereinafter “Patent ‘930”) in view Joung et al. (“Joung”; Nature protocols 12, no. 4 (2017): 828-863).
Patent ‘930 claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-14 and 17-22 read on instant claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-24. Patent ‘930 claim 1 is different from instant claim 1, 4-5, 9, 14-15, 17-18 and 23-25 in that cells having the designated phenotype do not express a selectable marker comprising a protein of a signaling pathway, wherein the target region affects the signaling pathway.
Joung discloses genome-scale CRISPR-Cas9 knockout and transcriptional activation screening (title). Joung discloses knockout and transcriptional activation using CRISPR (FIG 1), where the upregulation or downregulation of proteins, as a result of sgRNA targeting, is verified using immunohistochemistry or western blotting (pg. 836, col. 2). These downstream proteins are assessed for whether they confer resistance to a BRAF inhibitor in melanoma cells (pg. 829, col. 2). FIG 4 list many genes involved in signaling pathways of the melanoma cells that confer resistance. It would have been prima facie obvious to modify Patent ‘930 to select genes that confer resistance to BRAF inhibitor as a result of a signaling pathway in melanoma as taught by Joung. Motivation is that the Patent ‘930 is directed toward using CRISPR to detect genes that are positively selected. Thus, one of skill would want to apply the Patent ‘930 to a case of genes conferring resistance to BRAF inhibition in melanoma. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because both the Patent ‘930 and Joung are directed to CRISPR knockout screening.
Claims 7-8, 16-17 and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,845,930 B2 (hereinafter “Patent ‘930”) in view Joung et al. (“Joung”; Nature protocols 12, no. 4 (2017): 828-863), as applied above to claim 1, and in further view of Li et al. (“Li”; NPL ref 6 on IDS filed 2/8/2024; Genome biology 15, no. 12 (2014): 554).
As discussed, in the rejection above Patent ‘930 in view of Joung disclose the signaling pathway and identifying target region association with positive selection. Patent ‘930 claims 15-16 differ from instant claims 7-8, 16-17 and 25 because they do not determine the enrichment score above a threshold to identify a target region as positively selected.
Li discloses MAGeCK for robust identification of essential genes from genome-scale CRISPR/Cas9 knockout screens (title). Genes are ranked using robust rank aggregation (FIG 1), which selects genes with an FDR of <0.05 (enrichment score threshold) (FIG 2A, 3) (pg. 10, col. 1, para. 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified Patent ‘930 and Joung who determine whether a target gene region is positively selected by using the enrichment score threshold of MAGeCK as taught by Li. Motivation is that Li teaches that MAGeCK uses an FDR of 0.05 to detect significantly selected genes (FIG 2A) (pg. 10, col. 1, para. 2). One of skill would want a small FDR to have higher confidence in significance. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to use the FDR threshold of Li in Patent ‘930 because MAGeCK is compatible with CRISPR screens.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Notable, but not relied upon, prior art includes: General disclosures on CRISPR experiments such as Kurata et al. (Journal of Human Genetics 63, no. 2 (2018): 179-186), Kimberland et al. (Journal of biotechnology 284 (2018): 91-101), and Hartenian et al. (The FEBS journal 282, no. 8 (2015): 1383-1393).
Inquiries
/N.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/KAITLYN L MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685