CTNF 18/503,469 CTNF 89044 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/22/25, 9/9/25, 4/18/25, and 11/7/23 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-37 AIA The drawings were received on 11/7/23 . These drawings are acceptable . Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by JP 2020149849 A (JP'849) . As to Claim 1: JP'849 discloses a power storage cell (power storage element 10; Pg. 2); comprising: a cell case (container 100; Pg. 3); and an electrode assembly (electrode body 700; Pg. 3), wherein the cell case (100) accommodates the electrode assembly (700; Pg. 3), the cell case includes an electrode terminal (positive electrode terminal 200 or negative electrode terminal 210; Pgs. 3–4), an electric current path (positive electrode current collector 500 or negative electrode current collector 600; Pgs. 4–5) is formed inside the cell case, the electric current path electrically connects the electrode assembly (700) with the electrode terminal (200; Pgs. 4–5), the electric current path includes a fuse portion (fuse part 530; Pgs. 5, 7), and tensile stress (force of opening the bent portion; Pgs. 8–10) is applied to the fuse portion (530) in a direction separating the fuse portion (biasing part 523 biases the fuse part 530 in a direction away from the first conductive part 510; Pgs. 8–10). As to Claim 4: JP'849 discloses a power storage cell according to claim 1 (power storage element 10; Pg. 2) wherein the electric current path (500) further includes a flexurally-deformed portion (urging portion 523 is a bent or curved bent portion; Pgs. 6, 8–10); and the tensile stress is generated by springback (opening force; Pgs. 8–10) of the flexurally-deformed portion (bent portion; Pgs. 6, 8–10). As to Claim 5: JP'849 discloses a power storage cell according to claim 1 (power storage element 10; Pg. 2) wherein the tensile stress (force of opening the bent portion; Pgs. 8–10) is applied to the fuse portion (530) in a direction separating the fuse portion (biasing part 523 biases the fuse part 530 in a direction away from the first conductive part 510; Pgs. 8–10); and wherein the tensile stress is applied parallel to a current flow direction (the first conductive portion 510, the fuse portion 530, and the second conductive portion 520 are continuous portions of a single member arranged along a current path, and the biasing part 523 applies an urging force to separate the fuse portion 530 away from the fixed first conductive portion 510 along the axis of that path; Pgs. 5, 7–10) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020149849 A (JP'849) , as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2014203820 A (JP'820) . As to Claim 2:JP'849 discloses tensile stress (opening force; Pgs. 8–10) is applied to the fuse portion (530) in a direction separating the fuse portion (biasing part 523 biases the fuse part 530 in a direction away from the first conductive part 510; Pgs. 8–10). However, JP'849 does not disclose that the tensile stress is generated by a self-weight of the electrode assembly. JP'820 discloses a secondary battery where the "electrode assembly 120 is basically suspended from the first current collecting plate 130a by gravity" (Pg. 4), such that when the fuse portion 136a is melted, the current path is separated by force "caused by gravity acting on the electrode assembly 120" (Pg. 8). This gravitational force acting on the mass of the assembly corresponds to the claimed "self-weight" (Pgs. 4, 8–9). JP'820 and JP'849 are analogous arts because both relate to current interruption mechanisms in secondary batteries (power storage cells) and specifically address the technical problem of ensuring fuse portions are reliably and quickly separated to improve device safety (JP'849, Pgs. 1, 8–10; JP'820, Pgs. 2, 5–6, 8–9). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of JP'820 regarding gravitational suspension to the current path and fuse structure of JP'849, such that the tensile stress is generated by the self-weight of the electrode assembly, in order to utilize the inherent mass of the electrode assembly as a passive and reliable separating force that ensures a permanent break in the current path without the need for additional complex biasing components (JP'849, Pgs. 8–10; JP'820, Pgs. 4, 8–9). As to Claim 6:JP'849 discloses tensile stress (opening force; Pgs. 8–10) is applied to the fuse portion (530) in a direction separating the fuse portion (biasing part 523 biases the fuse part 530 in a direction away from the first conductive part 510; Pgs. 8–10). However, JP'849 does not expressly disclose that the tensile stress is applied vertically to a current flow direction. JP'820 discloses a secondary battery where the "electrode assembly 120 is basically suspended from the first current collecting plate 130a by gravity" (Pg. 4). In this configuration, the current collector plate (forming the current path) is generally horizontal while the force of gravity is vertical (Pgs. 4, 8). Consequently, when the fuse portion 136a melts, the regions are separated by a force "caused by gravity acting on the electrode assembly 120" (Pg. 8), which corresponds to a tensile stress applied vertically to the current flow direction through the collector plate (Pgs. 4, 8–9). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the teaching of gravitational suspension from JP'820 to the power storage cell of JP'849, such that the tensile stress is applied vertically to a current flow direction, in order to utilize the passive and continuous force of gravity to ensure a reliable and permanent physical separation of the fuse portions once a fusion phenomenon occurs (JP'849, Pgs. 8–10; JP'820, Pgs. 4, 8–9) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020149849 A (JP'849) , as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2009295565 A (JP'565) . As to Claim 3:JP'849 discloses the electric current path includes a fuse portion (fuse part 530; Pgs. 5, 7), and tensile stress (force of opening the bent portion; Pgs. 8–10) is applied to the fuse portion (530) in a direction separating the fuse portion (biasing part 523 biases the fuse part 530 in a direction away from the first conductive part 510; Pgs. 8–10). However, JP'849 does not disclose that the electric current path further includes a welded portion, and the tensile stress remains in the welded portion. JP'849 describes the current collector as "different portions of one member" (Pg. 5). JP'565 discloses the missing limitations of the primary reference by teaching that a conductive path (electric current path) can be formed through multiple members (first conductive member 24 and second conductive member 22) that are "joined together at a weld part W within the case 3" (Pgs. 1–2, 6). This "weld part W" corresponds to the claimed "welded portion" in the current path (Pgs. 1–2, 6–7). JP'565 and JP'849 are analogous arts because both relate to the field of secondary batteries (power storage cells) and specifically address the common technical problem of improving battery safety by providing reliable current interrupting mechanisms (fuses or weld disruptions) that break a current path in response to an abnormality (JP'849, Pgs. 1, 8–10; JP'565, Pgs. 1–4, 6–7). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the welding technique taught by JP'565 to assemble the conductive current path members of JP'849, rather than using a single member, in order to facilitate easier manufacturing and assembly of complex path geometries (JP'849, Pgs. 5, 11–12; JP'565, Pgs. 1–3, 6–7, 17). In such a combination, it would be further obvious that the tensile stress (biasing force) generated by the spring back structure of JP'849 would be supported by and remain resident in the welded portion (joint) that secures the pre-stressed path components, thereby ensuring that the tensile stress is immediately available to separate the path once the fuse portion is triggered (JP'849, Pgs. 8–10; JP'565, Pgs. 2–3, 6–8) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 5120638 B2 discloses a battery having a built-in mechanism for interrupting current when the battery is abnormal. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIMMY K VO whose telephone number is (571)272-3242. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8 am to 6 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tong Guo can be reached at (571) 272-3066. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 1723 /JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/503,469 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/503,469 Page 3 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/503,469 Page 4 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/503,469 Page 5 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/503,469 Page 6 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/503,469 Page 7 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/503,469 Page 8 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 18/503,469 Page 9 Art Unit: 1723