Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 8/14/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The use of the terms S2006, M570, CM-5, and V380, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “60:40 to 40:60 wt.-% A blocks and 40:60 to 60:40 wt.-% of the B block”. It is unclear and indefinite what the latter half of these weight ratios is intended to represent. For examination purposes, these limitations have been interpreted as 60 to 40 wt.-% A blocks and 40 to 60 wt.-% of the B block.
Claim 5 recites that “component (a) comprises a non-aromatic alicyclic, bicyclic or tricyclic methacrylate or acrylate” of formula II containing group Q. However, group Q as defined by claim 5 only consists of tricyclic groups. It is therefore unclear and indefinite how component (a) could comprise alicyclic or bicyclic (meth)acrylates given the limitations of claim 5. Dependent claim 6 is similarly rejected by its dependence on indefinite claim 5.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “20 to 60 wt.-%”, and the claim also recites “30 to 55 wt.-% or 33 to 55 wt.-%” which are narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “0 to 35 wt.-%” and the claim also recites “0 to 25 wt.-% or 0 to 10 wt.-%” which are narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moszner et al (US 20220370300 A1, priority date 5/7/2021).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 11, Moszner discloses a radically polymerizable composition suitable as a dental material [0002], comprising:
30-70 wt% of at least one aromatic bicyclic or tricyclic mono(meth)acrylate (monofunctional radically polymerizable (meth)acrylate) [0024];
20-60 wt% of at least one urethane di(meth)acrylate telechel (polyfunctional acrylate) [0025];
0-30 wt% of a di(meth)acrylate monomer [0026];
1-12 wt% of at least one ABA or AB block copolymer [0027];
0.1-5.0 wt% of at least one initiator for radical polymerization [0028], which is preferably a photoinitiator [0088];
0-20 wt% of inorganic particulate fillers [0108], which are preferably nanoparticulate or microfine fillers [0098] having a particle size of from 10 to 300 nm [0099]; and
0-15 wt% [0124] of further additives [0116].
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Moszner discloses that particular preference is given to ABA triblock copolymers PCL-b-PDMS-b-PCL and PMMA-b-PDMS-b-PMMA having A:B molar ratios of from 0.1 to 5 and having a molar mass from 3 to 25 kDa [0085].
Regarding claims 5 and 6, tricyclodecane (meth)acrylate) and tricyclodecane methyl (meth)acrylate are disclosed as preferred bi- or tricyclic acrylates [0042].
Regarding claim 7, as set forth above with respect to claim 1, Moszner discloses a urethane di(meth)acrylate telechel (polyfunctional polymer) [0025].
Regarding claim 8, Moszner further discloses that the nanoparticulate or microfine fillers include fumed silica or precipitated silica, among others [0098].
Regarding claim 9, Moszner further discloses that certain fillers, such as SiO2 with a small primary particle size (nanoparticulate or microfine silica) having a large surface area of over 100 m2/g have a thixotropic effect and can replace thixotropic additives [0122]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select microfine or nanoparticulate silica fillers having a small primary particle size and a large surface area of over 100 m2/g, motivated by a desire to replace other thixotropic additives in the composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moszner et al (US 20220370300 A1, priority date 5/7/2021) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al (EP 2492289 A1, priority date 10/19/2010, copy attached).
The above rejection of claim 1 in view of Moszner is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety.
Regarding claim 4, Moszner does not particularly disclose the weight ratio of A:B blocks in the ABA triblock copolymer. It is noted by the examiner that Moszner’s disclosure of ABA triblock copolymers having A:B molar ratios of from 0.1 to 5 is presumed to encompass the claimed range of 60:40 to 40:60 wt.-% A blocks and 40:60 to 60:40 wt.-% of the B block.
In the same field of endeavor, Suzuki discloses a polymerizable composition suitable for the preparation of dental prostheses (Abstract), comprising [0011]:
An acrylic block copolymer (a) [0011] which is most preferably an ABA triblock copolymer [0028] containing at least one polymer block A that contains a (meth)acrylic acid ester unit (a (meth)acrylate) and at least one polymer block B that contains an acrylic acid ester unit (an acrylate) [0011],
A polymerizable monomer (b) [0011] which is preferably a (meth)acrylate [0037], which is preferably a combination of a bifunctional (polyfunctional) polymerizable monomer and a monofunctional polymerizable monomer [0047],
A polymerization initiator (c) [0011],
A polymerization accelerator (d) [0014], and
A filler (e) [0014] with a preferable particle size of 0.001-50 µm (1-50,000 nm) [0083].
Suzuki particularly discloses that the content of polymer block A is preferably 1-75 wt%, and the content of polymer block B is preferably 25-99 wt% [0024, 0026]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Suzuki particularly notes that these wt% ranges for blocks A and B impart appropriate flexibility to the cured product [0024, 0026]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the contents of A and B polymer blocks disclosed by Suzuki in the radically polymerizable polymer composition disclosed by Moszner, motivated by a desire to impart appropriate flexibility to the cured product, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In the alternative, it is well established that ordinary creativity is presumed on the part of one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007) (“[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.”). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious, using no more than ordinary creativity, to vary the amounts of A and B blocks in the ABA triblock copolymer anywhere within the range of 60:40 to 40:60, so long as the desired flexibility is achieved, which thus renders the claimed ratio prima facie obvious. See Ex Parte Jean-Paul Mardon, Jean Senevat, & Daniel Charquet, 101728,237, 2012 WL 1141738, at *2 (2012); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) (“[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable...is ordinarily within the skill of the art.”); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 11, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11998621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the patented case claim a radically polymerizable dental material which comprises at least one ABA block copolymer which is PCL-b-PDMS-b-PCL or PMMA-b-PDMS-b-PMMA, at least one monofunctional radically polymerizable material which may be tricyclodecane methyl (meth)acrylate, at least one radically polymerizable urethane di(meth)acrylate telechel (polyfunctional (meth)acrylate), additional di(meth)acrylate monomers, fillers, a photoinitiator, and further additives. The patented and instant claims differ slightly in the claimed wt% ranges. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The open language of the instant claims encompasses any additional ingredients of the patented claims.
Conclusion
/SAVANNAH G. PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763