DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/25/25. These drawings are unacceptable.
The drawings are objected to because the dashed lines connecting Figs. 1A and 1B should be removed. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “the continuation of the direction” in lines 7-8 lacks antecedent basis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 11 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/501,485 in view of Roach et al. [Roach hereinafter, US 11,194,298]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims include the claimed subject matter of the present claims, except for what is detailed below.
In regard to claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 11 and 12, claims 1, 3, 4 and 6 of ‘485 disclose the claimed invention [the difference in language is semantics] except for a stop member that abuts the switch and against which the striker element comes to bear when the striker element drives the switch into the connected state or into the rest state, wherein the striker element is provided with an axial protrusion extending from a bearing surface with which the striker element forms a shoulder, the striker element being configured so that when striker element drives the switch into the connected state or into the rest state, the axial protrusion applies pressure to the switch and the bearing surface rests in abutment against the stop member, and wherein the stop member is arranged in a continuation of a direction of travel of the push-button against one of the connection terminals.
Roach teaches [in Fig. 2] a stop member [222] that abuts the switch [216] and against which the striker element [210] comes to bear when the striker element [210] drives the switch [216] into the connected state or into the rest state, wherein the striker element [210] is provided with an axial protrusion extending from a bearing surface with which the striker element [210] forms a shoulder, the striker element [210] being configured so that when striker element [210] drives the switch [216] into the connected state or into the rest state, the axial protrusion applies pressure to the switch [216] and the bearing surface rests in abutment against the stop member [222], and wherein the stop member [222] is arranged in a continuation of a direction of travel of the push-button [204, 210] against one of the connection terminals [in 216]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the stop member and axial protrusion of Roach with the apparatus of ‘485 in order to actuate the switch as desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roach et al. [Roach hereinafter, US 11,194,298].
In regard to claim 1, Roach discloses [in Fig. 2] a control module for an electronic device, comprising: a push-button [204, 210] including a striker element [210]; a switch [216] adapted to occupy a connected state and a rest state, said striker element [210] being configured to drive the switch [216] into the connected state or into the rest state when the push-button [204, 210] is operated; and a stop member [222] that abuts the switch [216] and against which the striker element [210] comes to bear when the striker [210] drives the switch [216] into the connected state or into the rest state.
In regard to claim 2, Roach discloses [in Fig. 2] the control module according to claim 1, wherein the striker element [210] is provided with an axial protrusion extending from a bearing surface with which the striker element [210] forms a shoulder, the striker element [210] being configured so that when the striker element [210] drives the switch [216] into the connected state or into the rest state, the axial protrusion applies pressure to the switch [216] and the bearing surface rests in abutment against the stop member [222].
In regard to claim 5, Roach discloses [in Fig. 2] the control module according to claim 1, further comprising a damper [224] configured to absorb part of forces at play by deforming when the striker element [210] drives the switch [216] into the connected state or into the rest state, at least when said forces are greater than a predetermined threshold.
In regard to claim 6, Roach discloses [in Fig. 2] the control module according to claim 5, wherein the damper [224] is arranged on a bearing surface of the striker element [210] so as to be compressed when the striker element [210] drives the switch [216] into the connected state or into the rest state.
In regard to claim 8, Roach discloses [in Fig. 2] the control module according to claim 5, wherein the damper [224] is arranged between a structure of the horological movement and the switch [216], in a continuation of a direction of travel of the push-button [204, 210].
In regard to claim 12, Roach discloses [in Figs. 1 and 2] a watch comprising: a case [201] in which an electronic horological movement is housed, and the control module according to claim 1, wherein the push-button [204, 210] is engaged through a middle of the case [201], and the switch [216] and the stop member [222] are attached to a structure of the electronic horological movement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roach et al. [Roach hereinafter, US 11,194,298] in view of Nakase et al. [Nakase hereinafter, US 8,952,282]. Roach discloses [in Fig. 2] the control module according to claim 1, wherein the stop member [222] is arranged in a continuation of a direction of travel of the push-button [204, 210] against one of the connection terminals [in 216], wherein the striker element [210] comprises a body of substantially cylindrical shape having a radial dimension extending in a direction orthogonal to the direction of movement of the push-button [204, 210], said radial dimension being smaller than an outside diameter of an end of a guide tube [between 212 and the sidewall of 201] at which the striker element [210] is arranged. Roach does not disclose that the switch comprises a frame to which a resilient blade and connection terminals are attached, the resilient blade being moved into a connecting position in which it generates contact between the connection terminals, when the switch is in the connection state, and being moved into a rest state in which it prevents any contact between the connection terminals, when the switch is in the rest state. Nakase teaches [in Fig. 2] that the switch comprises a frame [12] to which a resilient blade [32] and connection terminals [21, 22] are attached, the resilient blade [32] being moved into a connecting position in which the resilient blade [32] generates contact between the connection terminals [21, 22], when the switch is in the connection state, and being moved into a rest state in which the resilient blade [32] prevents any contact between the connection terminals [21, 22], when the switch is in the rest state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the switch of Mau with the switch of Nakase, since it is a well-known and widely used switch in the art that is also actuated by a striker element.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roach et al. [Roach hereinafter, US 11,194,298] in view of Sakurazawa et al. [Sakurazawa hereinafter, US 9,336,967]. Roach discloses [in Fig. 2] the control module according to claim 1, wherein the push-button [204, 210] comprises a push-button head [204] to which is connected a push-button rod [206] slidably engaged in a guide tube [in 201] and comprising a free end to which the striker element [210] is attached. Roach does not teach that the push-button comprises a spring inserted between the push-button head and the guide tube so as to force the push-button to move towards a rest position. Sakurazawa teaches [in Fig. 2] that the push-button [16] comprises a spring [27] inserted between the push-button head [23] and the guide tube [in 3] so as to force the push-button [16] to move towards a rest position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the spring of Sakurazawa with the control module of Roach in order to force the push button head to protrude toward the outside of the case [col. 5, lines 55-56] for actuation by a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In regard to claim 3, in combination with other limitations, the stop member taking a form of a wall attached to the switch and comprising a through-hole intended to receive the axial protrusion of the push-button when the striker element drives the switch into the connected state or into the rest state is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833