DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (Talanta, 154 (2016) 360-366) as evidenced by Yan et al. (MOF-5 Metal-Organic Framework as Sorbent for In-Field Sampling and Preconcentration in Combination with Thermal Desorption GC/MS for Determination of Atmospheric Formaldehyde) .
With regards to Claim 1 Bao teaches:
A metal-organic framework (MOF) coated on the inner wall of a capillary column which reads on applicant's claimed chromatography column comprising an MOF coating on an inner wall of a channel. The MOF is capable of being used as an adsorbent and a stationary phase for volatile organic compounds (VOCs) so that preconcentration and separation of VOCs are performed simultaneously. (See Bao pg. 362, Fig. 2 and part 2.4 pgs. 361-363 and part 2.5 pg. 363)
Bao does not explicitly teach both adsorbing and preconcentrating of VOCs.
The method of using the apparatus does not expressly or impliedly require any particular structure in addition to that disclosed by Bao. The courts have held that the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. The apparatus or product must be structurally distinct from the prior art. See MPEP 2114
With regards to the term “hybrid” applicant has defined the term on pg. 1 of the specification as “hybrid micro-gas chromatography column (hereinafter sometimes referred to as a hybrid μ-GC column chip) capable of simultaneously performing preconcentration of low-concentration VOCs, which is the function of a preconcentrator, and separation of low-concentration VOCs, which is the function of a gas separation column, in a single chip, in order to miniaturize a portable GC system, thereby completing the present disclosure.” However, applicant has not clarified how the claimed structure is distinct from the prior art structures and as such the prior art, which has the same structure as the claimed invention, is considered to read on “hybrid” and to be capable of performing the claimed functions. The courts have held that the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself. The apparatus or product must be structurally distinct from the prior art. See MPEP 2114
Further, Yan et al. (cited in the Bao article above) teaches a metal–organic framework MOF-5 has the ability to function as a sorbent for in-field sampling and preconcentration. The MOF appears to separate out, thus concentrating the formaldehyde prior to analysis.)
Since it is unclear if the recited “channels” are micro sized or what the “hybrid micro-gas” entails, Bao et al. does not specifically recite the dimensions of its capillary; however, in the separation art, most capillaries are micro-sized. It is noted that limitations relating to size and dimensions are held not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984); MPEP 2144.04 IV. It is noted that Bae et al. teaches the separation of VOC ethylbenzene (see fig. 4, claim 5 although monitoring VOCs is the use of the device).
With regards to Claim 2-4 Bao teaches:
The MOF selected is MOF-5 which reads on applicants claimed selection of MOF-5 which comprises a metal ion and an organic ligand coordinated to the metal ion wherein the metal ion is zinc which reads on applicant's claimed zinc and the organic ligand is dicarboxylate which reads on applicant's claimed dicarboxylic acid. (See Bao part 1, pg. 361 paragraph 2 of the left column)
With regards to Claim 5 Bao teaches:
Separation of ethylbenzene, which reads on applicant's claimed selection of ethylbenzene as a target VOC for separation. (See Bao pg. 364 left column and Table 1)
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future discussion.
Contact Information
/BRIT E. ANBACHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
BRIT E. ANBACHT
Examiner
Art Unit 1776