DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending in this office action. Claims 9-10 and 19 have been cancelled. Claims 21-22 have been newly added.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/14/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents arguments regarding the presence or absence of claimed limitations in the prior art. However, applicant has amended certain claims and added new claims. The responses as well as any applicable new grounds of rejection are outlined below.
Applicant argues:
The Office Action alleges that the pre-amended limitations are taught by Martin at, for example, paragraphs 28-35 (see Office Action, page 3). Applicant respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs 33-35 of Martin describe a framework for virus detection. In Martin, a central repository 205 is configured to "maintain a list of current virus definitions." The "virus detection software 134" of Martin can "be configured to represent at least one virus definition as one or more virus deduplication fingerprints in a searchable virus fingerprint data structure (e.g., an index)" (Martin, paragraph 33). Martin uses a "central repository of virus definitions," to generate fingerprints therefrom, and uses these virus fingerprints to check against data within "data storage system 12." However, Martin completely lacks "obtaining a deduplication signature of a file stored in a first location and identified as being suspicious." Martin does not contemplate generating a deduplication signature of "a file stored in a first location and identified as being suspicious." Rather, Martin generates fingerprints for known viruses. See Martin, paragraphs 33-35 and FIG. 2. Because Martin never performs "obtaining a deduplication signature of a file stored in a first location and identified as being suspicious, wherein the deduplication signature includes a plurality of suspect signature blocks,"
Examiner Response:
Regarding argument (a), examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. The amended and added limitations have led to a changed scope. Even if considering that just clarification of claim limitations via rephrasing is intended, the scope of these claims has been altered and therefore new grounds of rejection if and as applicable, necessitated by applicant's amendments/additions, are outlined below.
Martin discloses - “deduplication processor 22b may be used to monitor I/O operations to eliminate redundant copies of data and reduce storage overhead of the storage system 12.”; “The deduplication processor 22b can be configured to perform one or more deduplication techniques to ensure that only a predetermined number of instances of data is retained on storage devices 16a-n”; “block-level deduplication which looks within a file and saves unique iterations of each data block of a file. All the blocks are broken into chunks with the same fixed length. Each chunk of data is processed using a hash algorithm, such as MD5 or SHA-1. This process generates a unique number (i.e., a deduplication fingerprint) for each piece, which is then stored in an index within memory” - para 0028, wherein deduplication technique optimizes storage by storing only fewer copies of deduplication fingerprints associated with one or more files stored in a storage location thereby eliminating redundant copies of data and thus reducing storage overheads. Furthermore, storing the plurality of suspect signature blocks in a searchable format store is disclosed in para 0028, 0033, 0035, wherein deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with potential suspect files are stored in searchable format such as indexes at another memory location such that further referencing to those can be made for virus detection. Martin discloses the system’s needs to scan data blocks corresponding to files being accessed, e.g. using on-access scanners, indicating the system’s need to inherently treat all files that are being accessed, as suspect files or files determined to be candidates for scanning in order to safeguard the system. The process creates and utilizes deduplication signatures in a way that makes the scanning process more storage-efficient in situations where large number of files are checked for malicious blocks (para 0015-0016, 0028-0033). Furthermore, absent any specificity around mechanism or steps involving factors to determine files that are classified as suspect files, the aspect of scanning plurality of files that are being viewed as suspect files (or files that are considered worth scanning) is a matter of subjective system design need wherein a subset of files or entire set of files being accessed is scanned, considering possibility in view of pertinent claim limitation that a very large number of files (some or all files) ending up as suspect files that would require scanning at a larger scale.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 11, “the deduplication signatures” has insufficient antecedent basis in the phrase “wherein the deduplication signatures include”, where “signatures” is not defined. For the purpose of examination, the term will be interpreted as “the deduplication signature” and the phrase will be interpreted as “wherein the deduplication signature includes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-13, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (US 2021/0026960 A1, hereinafter Martin).
For claim 1, Martin teaches a computer-implemented method for detection of malware, said method comprising: obtaining a deduplication signature of a file stored in a first location and identified as being suspicious, wherein the deduplication signature includes a plurality of suspect signature blocks (para 0015-0016, 0028-0033 - deduplication signature or fingerprints associated with file blocks and virus definitions, storing the plurality of potential suspect signature blocks in a searchable format by deduplication process and used by virus detection process);
storing the plurality of suspect signature blocks in a suspect signature block store (para 0028-0033, 0035 - deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with suspect files are stored in searchable format such as indexes at another memory location such that further referencing to those can be made for virus detection); and
identifying a suspect signature block in a second location using the suspect signature block store (Fig. 1; para 0015-0016, 0028-0029, 0033-0035, 0038 - making available deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with malicious or suspect files for search by virus detection process, for comparison of deduplication fingerprint with the deduplication index stored in one memory, wherein the data is received by a storage device (e.g., device 12 of FIG. 1) from a host (e.g. hosts 14a-n); i.e. comparing by a virus detection process the deduplication fingerprints for the I/O data blocks with virus deduplication fingerprints contained in the virus fingerprint data structure).
For claim 2, Martin teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Martin further teaches wherein the suspect signature block in the second location is identified using a deduplication pointer (para 0028, 0033-0035 - deduplication fingerprint blocks pointers or indexes associated with malicious or potential suspect files for referencing and search).
For claim 3, Martin teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in claim 2. Martin further teaches wherein the second location is a second client and wherein the first location is a first client (para 0001, 0015, 0034-0035 - fingerprint referencing or identification of suspicious files in real-time or as it is being opened; Fig. 1; para 0015-0016, 0028-0029, 0033-0035, 0038 - making available deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with malicious or suspect files for search by virus detection process, for comparison of deduplication fingerprint with the deduplication index stored in one memory, wherein the data is received by a storage device (e.g., device 12 of FIG. 1) from a host (e.g. hosts 14a-n); i.e. comparing by a virus detection process the deduplication fingerprints for the I/O data blocks with virus deduplication fingerprints contained in the virus fingerprint data structure, wherein the data storages pertaining to indexes or I/O data blocks with incoming virus signature data for comparison are on different hosts or clients).
For claim 11, Martin teaches a system comprising a processor set; one or more computer-readable storage media; and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable media to cause the processor set to perform operations (Fig. 1-3; para 0016, 0018, 0023) comprising: obtaining a deduplication signature of a file stored in a first location and identified as being suspicious, wherein the deduplication signature includes a plurality of suspect signature blocks (para 0015-0016, 0028-0033 - deduplication signature or fingerprints associated with file blocks and virus definitions, storing the plurality of potential suspect signature blocks in a searchable format by deduplication process and used by virus detection process); storing the plurality of suspect signature blocks in a suspect signature block store (para 0028-0033, 0035 - deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with suspect files are stored in searchable format such as indexes at another memory location such that further referencing to those can be made for virus detection); and identifying a suspect signature block in a second location using the suspect signature block store (Fig. 1; para 0015-0016, 0028-0029, 0033-0035, 0038 - making available deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with malicious or suspect files for search by virus detection process, for comparison of deduplication fingerprint with the deduplication index stored in one memory, wherein the data is received by a storage device (e.g., device 12 of FIG. 1) from a host (e.g. hosts 14a-n); i.e. comparing by a virus detection process the deduplication fingerprints for the I/O data blocks with virus deduplication fingerprints contained in the virus fingerprint data structure).
For claim 12, Martin teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Martin further teaches wherein the suspect signature block in the second location is identified using a deduplication pointer (para 0028, 0033-0035 - deduplication fingerprint blocks pointers or indexes associated with malicious or potential suspect files for referencing and search).
For claim 13, Martin teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Martin further teaches wherein the second location is a second client and wherein the first location is a first client (para 0001, 0015, 0034-0035 - fingerprint referencing or identification of suspicious files in real-time or as it is being opened; Fig. 1; para 0015-0016, 0028-0029, 0033-0035, 0038 - making available deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with malicious or suspect files for search by virus detection process, for comparison of deduplication fingerprint with the deduplication index stored in one memory, wherein the data is received by a storage device (e.g., device 12 of FIG. 1) from a host (e.g. hosts 14a-n); i.e. comparing by a virus detection process the deduplication fingerprints for the I/O data blocks with virus deduplication fingerprints contained in the virus fingerprint data structure, wherein the data storages pertaining to indexes or I/O data blocks with incoming virus signature data for comparison are on different hosts or clients).
For claim 20, Martin teaches a computer program product comprising: one or more computer-readable storage media; and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable media to perform operations (Fig. 1-3; para 0016, 0018, 0023), comprising: obtaining a deduplication signature of a file stored in a first location and identified as being suspicious, wherein the deduplication signature includes a plurality of suspect signature blocks (para 0015-0016, 0028-0033 - deduplication signature or fingerprints associated with file blocks and virus definitions, storing the plurality of potential suspect signature blocks in a searchable format by deduplication process and used by virus detection process);
storing the plurality of suspect signature blocks in a suspect signature block store (para 0028-0033, 0035 - deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with suspect files are stored in searchable format such as indexes at another memory location such that further referencing to those can be made for virus detection); and
identifying a suspect signature block in a second location using the suspect signature block store (Fig. 1; para 0015-0016, 0028-0029, 0033-0035, 0038 - making available deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with malicious or suspect files for search by virus detection process, for comparison of deduplication fingerprint with the deduplication index stored in one memory, wherein the data is received by a storage device (e.g., device 12 of FIG. 1) from a host (e.g. hosts 14a-n); i.e. comparing by a virus detection process the deduplication fingerprints for the I/O data blocks with virus deduplication fingerprints contained in the virus fingerprint data structure).
For claim 21, Martin teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Martin further teaches wherein the first location is a first client, wherein the file is identified as suspicious by a malware scan, wherein the second location is a second client (para 0001, 0015, 0034-0035 - fingerprint referencing or identification of suspicious files in real-time or as it is being opened; Fig. 1; para 0015-0016, 0028-0029, 0033-0035, 0038 - making available deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with malicious or suspect files for search by virus detection process, for comparison of deduplication fingerprint with the deduplication index stored in one memory, wherein the data is received by a storage device (e.g., device 12 of FIG. 1) from a host (e.g. hosts 14a-n); i.e. comparing by a virus detection process the deduplication fingerprints for the I/O data blocks with virus deduplication fingerprints contained in the virus fingerprint data structure, wherein the data storages pertaining to indexes or I/O data blocks with incoming virus signature data for comparison are on different hosts or clients), and wherein the suspect signature block is identified in the second client using a deduplication pointer (para 0028, 0033-0035 - deduplication fingerprint blocks pointers or indexes associated with malicious or potential suspect files for referencing and search).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 14-15, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 2021/0026960 A1, hereinafter Martin), in view of Jindal et al. (US 2024/0143759 A1, hereinafter Jindal).
For claim 4, Martin teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Martin further teaches backup versions and index updates (para 0032-0034). Martin does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jindal teaches querying a dereference resource pointing to previous versions of suspect signature blocks of data of the plurality of suspect signature blocks to determine when code has changed indicating suspicious code (para 0011, 0154-0155, 0215, 0237 - signature blocks associated with data files including suspect files that existed previously in resources and needed to be updated resulting in index updates). Therefore, based on Martin in view of Jindal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize teachings of Jindal in the system of Martin, in order to incorporate comparison of old malware files with regards to code changes and followed by system updates to maintain updated file signatures thereby also maintaining the malware detection system’s efficacy.
For claim 5, Martin in view of Jindal teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the method of claim 4. Martin does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jindal teaches obtaining signatures that represent signature blocks of previously backed up versions of the file from a backup server’s database; and comparing the signatures that represent signature blocks of previously backed up versions of the file to the stored plurality of suspect signature blocks and allowing dereferenced signatures to be stored in a dereferenced table to be compared to still-referenced signatures (para 0011, 0154-0155, 0214-0215, 0237 - signature blocks associated with data files including suspect files that existed previously in resources and needed to be updated resulting in index updates which are all stored in record management database).
For claim 14, Martin teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Martin further teaches backup versions and index updates (para 0032-0034). Martin does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jindal teaches a dereference component for querying a dereference resource pointing to previous versions of suspect signature blocks of data of the plurality of suspect signature blocks to determine when code has changed indicating suspicious code (para 0011, 0154-0155, 0215, 0237 - signature blocks associated with data files including suspect files that existed previously in resources and needed to be updated resulting in index updates). Therefore, based on Martin in view of Jindal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize teachings of Jindal in the system of Martin, in order to incorporate comparison of old malware files with regards to code changes and followed by system updates to maintain updated file signatures thereby also maintaining the malware detection system’s efficacy.
For claim 15, Martin in view of Jindal teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in the method of claim 14. Martin does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jindal teaches wherein the dereference component includes: obtaining signatures that represent signature blocks of previously backed up versions of the file from a backup server’s database; and comparing these to the stored plurality of suspect signature blocks and allowing dereferenced signatures to be stored in a dereferenced table to be compared to still referenced signatures (para 0011, 0154-0155, 0214-0215, 0237 - signature blocks associated with data files including suspect files that existed previously in resources and needed to be updated resulting in index updates which are all stored in record management database).
For claim 22, Martin in view of Jindal teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Martin teaches signature comparison for virus detection and identifying suspect signature block by signature comparison (Fig. 1; para 0015-0016, 0028-0029, 0033-0035, 0038-0041 - making available deduplication fingerprint blocks associated with malicious or suspect files for search by virus detection process, for comparison of deduplication fingerprint with the deduplication index stored in one memory, i.e. comparing by a virus detection process the deduplication fingerprints for the I/O data blocks with virus deduplication fingerprints contained in the virus fingerprint data structure). Martin does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Jindal teaches wherein the operations further comprise: comparing a number of dereferenced signatures of the file to a number of still-referenced signatures of the file; and determining that a client storing the file is infected in response to the number of dereferenced signatures of the file and the number of still-referenced signatures of the file not matching (para 0154-0155, 0214-0215, 0237 - signature blocks associated with data files including suspect files that stored in resources and needed to be updated resulting in index updates which are all stored in record management database, i.e., new incoming data is compared with corresponding portions that are already in secondary storage, and only new/changed portions are stored, wherein a deduplicated secondary copy may comprise actual data portions copied from primary data and may further comprise pointers to already-stored data, which is generally more storage-efficient than a full copy. In order to streamline the comparison process, system may calculate and/or store signatures (e.g., hashes or cryptographically unique IDs) corresponding to the individual source data portions and compare the signatures to already-stored data signatures where all signatures need to match for determination of file integrity).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims in addition to overcoming the above-mentioned rejections associated with their parent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment and added claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYESH M JHAVERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433