DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Priority is being given to 02/15/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendments filed on 08/25/2025.
Claims 1 and 3-4 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1 and 3-4 are amended.
Claim 2 is cancelled
Claims 1 and 3-4 are currently rejected.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the IDS, JP2008-261669 was originally not considered by the examiner but has now been considered by the examiner.
Regarding specification objections, although the abstract has been amended to recite lithium iron phosphate for “LFP”, “open circuit voltage” has not been established for “OCV” so the objection remains due to that issue.
The examiner thanks the applicant for confirming that JP ‘669 is not intended to be incorporated by reference.
Regarding the 112f interpretation, in light of the amendments to the claims the 112f interpretation is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with regards to the art rejections have been considered and appear to be directed solely to the instant amendments to the claims. Accordingly, the claims are addressed in the body of the rejections below.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses abbreviations without first establishing what the abbreviation stands for by using the full words first. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamai (US 2008/0255783), herein Tamai (from IDS) in view of Sejima et. al. (AU 2016203834), herein Sejima, Fukunishi et. al. (US 2025/0102583), herein Fukunishi, and Ding et. al. (US 2024/0069117), herein Ding.
Examiner notes that Tamai admits that the capacity variation can be calculated based on both the charging and discharging data as shown in “a capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) of the battery is calculated based on the integrated value of charging and discharging currents of the battery to be charged/discharged from the first no-load timing to the second no-load timing. In the fully-charged capacity calculation step, a fully-charged capacity (Ahf) of the battery is calculated based on the remaining capacity variation rate (.delta.S [%]) and the capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) by the following formula Ahf=.delta.Ah/(.delta.S/100) [0009]” although the specification and figures only discuss the calculation as performed when charging.
Regarding claim 1:
Tamai teaches:
a charger/discharger (examiner notes that there is inherently some hardware to facilitate the charging and discharging of the battery.) that charges and discharges (when the battery 1 is charged/discharged [0047]) the LFP cell (while Tamai does not explicitly state that the battery is a LFP battery, it would be obvious since LFP is one of the main types of battery used in automobiles.); and
the controller executes a series of charge/discharge processes (fig. 4, step n=5; battery 1 charging operation starts. [0068]) in which the LFP cell is charged to a fully charged state using the charger/discharger (the capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) is calculated until the battery 1 is fully charged. In the case of a lithium ion battery, after the battery is charged at constant current, the battery is charged at constant voltage, and it is determined that the battery is fully charged when a charging current reaches a predetermined value or less as in a well-known manner. [0068]), and
an integrated current value (integrates the charging and discharge currents [0047]) of a discharge (the integrated value of charging and discharging currents of the battery to be charged/discharged from the first no-load timing to the second no-load timing [0009]) current during such discharge is acquired (The capacity calculation portion 5 integrates the charging and discharge currents of the battery 1 [0047]); and
the controller executes the charge/discharge processes one or more times (battery 1 charging operation starts [0067]) to acquire a variable battery capacity (calculates the capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) [0068]) of the LFP cell based on one or more integrated current values acquired through the charge/discharge processes (the capacity calculation portion 5 integrates the charging/discharging currents of the battery 1, and calculates the capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) [0068]),
calculates a full charge capacity of the LFP cell (The fully-charged capacity detection portion 7 calculates the fully-charged capacity (Ahf) of the battery 1 based on the calculated capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) and the calculated variation rate (.delta.S [%]) of the remaining capacity by the following formula Ahf=.delta.Ah/(.delta.S/100) [0072]) by adding the variable battery capacity to the common battery capacity (although Tamai does not add the variable capacity to the common capacity it divides the variable capacity by the percentage of battery the charging/discharging has occurred over which relies on understanding that the value of the battery below the point the charging starts from or the discharging goes down to is stable and in effect acts as a means of acting as the stand in for the common battery capacity as claimed. Performing basic algebra on their equation results in the same claimed equation of [degredated full cap] = [capacity variation value]+[SOC1%*full cap value]. In this rearrangement the SOC1% times the full capacity value of the battery results in the common battery capacity claimed in the instant application, the only difference being that Tamai is using division and the instant application is using addition.), and
Tamai does not explicitly teach, however Sejima teaches:
A degradation determination device for a lithium iron phosphate ion (LFP) cell (an iron phosphate based lithium ion secondary battery, in which an OCV-SOC table changes due to capacity degradation with time (from the initial state). [page 1]), comprising:
a controller (fig. 1, controller 60) that controls the charger/discharger (The battery charger 10 serves a function of charging the assembled battery 30 [page 8]), wherein:
a memory configured to store information indicating an initial full charge capacity of the LFP cell (the memory 63 also stores a program for calculating the full-charge capacity Ct of each of the secondary batteries 31 based on a record of environmental temperature, a program for executing 10 a process of resetting the full-charge capacity Ct, and data required to execute the programs, such data of a reduced amount W of the full-charge capacity Co as shown in FIG. 7 [page 10]),
acquire the information indicating initial full charge capacity of the LFP cell from the memory (the memory 63 also stores a program for calculating the full-charge capacity Ct of each of the secondary batteries 31 based on a record of environmental temperature, a program for executing 10 a process of resetting the full-charge capacity Ct, and data required to execute the programs, such data of a reduced amount W of the full-charge capacity Co as shown in FIG. 7 [page 10]), and
the LFP cell in the fully charged state is discharged using the charger/discharger until an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the LFP cell reaches a predetermined OCV () of the LFP cell (estimation of a full-charge capacity Co of the energy storage device based on the residual capacity Cp at the measuring point P that has been calculated, and on an accumulated charge discharge amount X of the energy storage device from a full-charge state to the measuring point P [page 2]), the predetermined OCV () uniquely representing a common battery capacity (calculation of an residual capacity Cp of the energy storage device at a measuring point P [abstract]) before and after degradation of the LFP cell (), and
calculates a full charge capacity of the LFP cell (estimation of a full-charge capacity Co of the energy storage device based on the residual capacity Cp at the measuring point P that has been calculated, and on an accumulated charge discharge amount X of the energy storage device from a full-charge state to the measuring point P [page 2]; see also equations 1 and 2 on page 19 showing Co=Cp+X, where Co is full charge capacity, Cp is residual capacity at point P, and X is the accumulated charge/discharge amount.) by adding the variable battery capacity (an accumulated charge discharge amount X [page 2]) to the common battery capacity (the residual capacity Cp [page 2]), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamai to include the teachings as taught by Sejima with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Tamai and Sejima are related to the subject matter of estimating battery capacity and degradation. Sejima teaches the benefits of “An aspect of the present invention disclosed herein provides a state estimation device that estimates a state of an energy storage device, the state estimation device including: a current integration unit configured to integrate a current that flows through the energy storage device; and a first estimation unit configured to estimate a full-charge capacity of the energy storage device, wherein the energy storage device has a correlation characteristic of correlation between a residual capacity C and an open voltage V, the correlation characteristic including a constant region in which a time change in the correlation characteristic is relatively smaller than another region, and the first estimation unit performs: calculation of a residual capacity Cp of the energy storage device at a measuring point P based on an open voltage (open circuit voltage) Vp of the energy storage device at the measuring point P included in the constant region, and on the correlation characteristic; and estimation of a full-charge capacity Co of the energy storage device based on the residual capacity Cp at the measuring point P that has been calculated, and on an accumulated charge discharge amount X of the energy storage device from a full-charge state to the measuring point P, the full-charge state satisfying a full charge condition. [Sejima, page 1]”. This provides the benefit of tracking the full capacity of the battery with respect to the residual capacity to account for degradation in an LFP battery in which the voltage curve is relatively flat.
Tamai in view of Sejima does not explicitly teach, however Fukunishi teaches:
A degradation determination device (fig. 1, control unit 15) for a [lithium iron phosphate ion (LFP)] cell (the degradation level estimation method [0035]), comprising:
execute the charge-discharge processes two or more times to acquire two or more of the integrated current values through the charge-discharge processes (calculating an integrated value of currents of the battery during the first charge-discharge using each of the plurality of pieces of first log data [0035]; calculating an integrated value of currents of the battery during the second charge using the second log data [0037]), and determine an average value of the two or more of the integrated current values as a variable battery capacity (The generation unit 253 calculates an average value, a variance value, skewness, and kurtosis of the current, the voltage, the temperature, the current difference, the voltage difference, and the temperature difference of the battery 11 in each classified period, as the feature amounts. [0091]),
determines degradation of the LFP cell based on the calculated full charge capacity of the LFP cell and an initial full charge capacity of the LFP cell (the degradation level of the battery 11 is represented by a state of health (SOH) of the battery 11. The SOH is represented by (full charge capacity [Ah] during degradation (current)/full charge capacity [Ah] at a time when battery 11 is in the initial state). Further, the acquisition unit 251 calculates the first degradation level with a point-to-point open circuit voltage (OCV) estimation method known as the degradation level estimation method using the first log data. [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamai in view of Sejima to include the teachings as taught by Fukunishi with a reasonable expectation of success. All three arts are related in the field of calculating the state of a battery. Fukunishi teaches the benefit of “The present disclosure is made to solve the above problem, and an object of the present disclosure is to provide a technique capable of quickly generating a learned model being able to accurately estimate a degradation level of a battery [Fukunishi, 0005]”.
Ding also teaches:
acquire the information indicating initial full charge capacity of the LFP cell from the memory (C_rated represents the factory rated capacity of the test battery [0131]), and
Tamai in view of Sejima and Fukunishi does not explicitly teach, however Ding teaches:
the processor is configured to execute the charge-discharge processes two or more times to acquire two or more of the integrated current values through the charge-discharge processes (a first capacity Cn1 of the battery under test during current charging and a second capacity Cn2 of the battery under test during any at least one past charging are obtained [0100]), and determine an average value of the two or more of the integrated current values as a variable battery capacity (a first difference |Cn1−Cn2| between the first capacity and the second capacity can be calculated according to a weighted result or an average result of capacities of the battery to be measured during multiple past charging [0100]),
the variable battery capacity that is the average value of the two or more of the integrated current values (a first difference |Cn1−Cn2| between the first capacity and the second capacity can be calculated according to a weighted result or an average result of capacities of the battery to be measured during multiple past charging [0100]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamai in view of Sejima and Fukunishi to include the teachings as taught by Ding with a reasonable expectation of success. All four arts are related in the field of calculating the state of a battery. Ding teaches the benefit of “extracting a target curve segment from a first charging characteristic curve of a battery under test; the first charging characteristic curve being determined according to first charging data obtained by charging the battery under test according to target charging parameters, and the target curve segment being at least one curve segment with highest correlation to the battery state of health; determining, according to a corresponding relation between characteristic parameters of the target curve segment and the battery state of health, the battery state of health matching the characteristic parameters of the target curve segment, and determining the battery state of health as the battery state of health of the battery under test; wherein the corresponding relation is determined according to second charging data obtained by charging a test battery of the same type as the battery under test using the target charging parameters [Ding, 0010-0011]”.
Regarding claim 4:
Tamai teaches:
performing a charge/discharge process (fig. 4, step n=5; battery 1 charging operation starts. [0068]) including charging the LFP cell to a fully charged state using a charger/discharger (the capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) is calculated until the battery 1 is fully charged. In the case of a lithium ion battery, after the battery is charged at constant current, the battery is charged at constant voltage, and it is determined that the battery is fully charged when a charging current reaches a predetermined value or less as in a well-known manner. [0068]), and
acquiring (The capacity calculation portion 5 integrates the charging and discharge currents of the battery 1 [0047]) an integrated current value (the integrated value of charging and discharging currents of the battery to be charged/discharged from the first no-load timing to the second no-load timing [0009]) of a discharge current during such discharge (integrates the charging and discharge currents [0047]);
integrated current values acquired by performing the charge/discharge process two or more times (the capacity calculation portion 5 integrates the charging/discharging currents of the battery 1, and calculates the capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) [0068]);
calculating a full charge capacity of the LFP cell (The fully-charged capacity detection portion 7 calculates the fully-charged capacity (Ahf) of the battery 1 based on the calculated capacity variation value (.delta.Ah) and the calculated variation rate (.delta.S [%]) of the remaining capacity by the following formula Ahf=.delta.Ah/(.delta.S/100) [0072]) by adding, to the common battery capacity, the variable battery capacity (although Tamai does not add the variable capacity to the common capacity it divides the variable capacity by the percentage of battery the charging/discharging has occurred over which relies on understanding that the value of the battery below the point the charging starts from or the discharging goes down to is stable and in effect acts as a means of acting as the stand in for the common battery capacity as claimed. Performing basic algebra on their equation results in the same claimed equation of [degredated full cap] = [capacity variation value]+[SOC1%*full cap value]. In this rearrangement the SOC1% times the full capacity value of the battery results in the common battery capacity claimed in the instant application, the only difference being that Tamai is using division and the instant application is using addition.)
Tamai does not explicitly teach, however Sejima teaches:
A degradation determination method for an LFP cell (an iron phosphate based lithium ion secondary battery, in which an OCV-SOC table changes due to capacity degradation with time (from the initial state). [page 1]), comprising:
discharging the LFP cell in the fully charged state using the charger/discharger until an OCV of the LFP cell reaches a predetermined OCV of the LFP cell (estimation of a full-charge capacity Co of the energy storage device based on the residual capacity Cp at the measuring point P that has been calculated, and on an accumulated charge discharge amount X of the energy storage device from a full-charge state to the measuring point P [page 2]), the predetermined OCV uniquely representing a common battery capacity before and after degradation of the LFP cell (calculation of an residual capacity Cp of the energy storage device at a measuring point P [abstract]), and
calculating a full charge capacity of the LFP cell (estimation of a full-charge capacity Co of the energy storage device based on the residual capacity Cp at the measuring point P that has been calculated, and on an accumulated charge discharge amount X of the energy storage device from a full-charge state to the measuring point P [page 2]; see also equations 1 and 2 on page 19 showing Co=Cp+X, where Co is full charge capacity, Cp is residual capacity at point P, and X is the accumulated charge/discharge amount.) by adding the variable battery capacity (an accumulated charge discharge amount X [page 2]) to the common battery capacity (the residual capacity Cp [page 2]); and
acquire the information indicating initial full charge capacity of the LFP cell (the memory 63 also stores a program for calculating the full-charge capacity Ct of each of the secondary batteries 31 based on a record of environmental temperature, a program for executing 10 a process of resetting the full-charge capacity Ct, and data required to execute the programs, such data of a reduced amount W of the full-charge capacity Co as shown in FIG. 7 [page 10]), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamai to include the teachings as taught by Sejima with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Tamai and Sejima are related to the subject matter of estimating battery capacity and degradation. Sejima teaches the benefits of “An aspect of the present invention disclosed herein provides a state estimation device that estimates a state of an energy storage device, the state estimation device including: a current integration unit configured to integrate a current that flows through the energy storage device; and a first estimation unit configured to estimate a full-charge capacity of the energy storage device, wherein the energy storage device has a correlation characteristic of correlation between a residual capacity C and an open voltage V, the correlation characteristic including a constant region in which a time change in the correlation characteristic is relatively smaller than another region, and the first estimation unit performs: calculation of a residual capacity Cp of the energy storage device at a measuring point P based on an open voltage (open circuit voltage) Vp of the energy storage device at the measuring point P included in the constant region, and on the correlation characteristic; and estimation of a full-charge capacity Co of the energy storage device based on the residual capacity Cp at the measuring point P that has been calculated, and on an accumulated charge discharge amount X of the energy storage device from a full-charge state to the measuring point P, the full-charge state satisfying a full charge condition. [Sejima, page 1]”. This provides the benefit of tracking the full capacity of the battery with respect to the residual capacity to account for degradation in an LFP battery in which the voltage curve is relatively flat.
Tamai in view of Sejima does not explicitly teach, however Fukunishi teaches:
A degradation determination method (the degradation level estimation method [0035]) for an LFP cell, comprising:
determining degradation of the LFP cell based on the calculated full charge capacity of the LFP cell and an initial full charge capacity of the LFP cell (the degradation level of the battery 11 is represented by a state of health (SOH) of the battery 11. The SOH is represented by (full charge capacity [Ah] during degradation (current)/full charge capacity [Ah] at a time when battery 11 is in the initial state). Further, the acquisition unit 251 calculates the first degradation level with a point-to-point open circuit voltage (OCV) estimation method known as the degradation level estimation method using the first log data. [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamai in view of Sejima to include the teachings as taught by Fukunishi with a reasonable expectation of success. All three arts are related in the field of calculating the state of a battery. Fukunishi teaches the benefit of “The present disclosure is made to solve the above problem, and an object of the present disclosure is to provide a technique capable of quickly generating a learned model being able to accurately estimate a degradation level of a battery [Fukunishi, 0005]”.
Ding also teaches:
acquire the information indicating initial full charge capacity of the LFP cell (C_rated represents the factory rated capacity of the test battery [0131]); and
Ding more explicitly teaches:
averaging two or more of the integrated current values acquired by performing the charge-discharge process two or more times (a first capacity Cn1 of the battery under test during current charging and a second capacity Cn2 of the battery under test during any at least one past charging are obtained [0100]) to calculate a variable battery capacity of the LFP cell (a first difference |Cn1−Cn2| between the first capacity and the second capacity can be calculated according to a weighted result or an average result of capacities of the battery to be measured during multiple past charging [0100])
the variable battery capacity that is the average value of the two or more of the integrated current values (a first difference |Cn1−Cn2| between the first capacity and the second capacity can be calculated according to a weighted result or an average result of capacities of the battery to be measured during multiple past charging [0100]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamai in view of Sejima and Fukunishi to include the teachings as taught by Ding with a reasonable expectation of success. All four arts are related in the field of calculating the state of a battery. Ding teaches the benefit of “extracting a target curve segment from a first charging characteristic curve of a battery under test; the first charging characteristic curve being determined according to first charging data obtained by charging the battery under test according to target charging parameters, and the target curve segment being at least one curve segment with highest correlation to the battery state of health; determining, according to a corresponding relation between characteristic parameters of the target curve segment and the battery state of health, the battery state of health matching the characteristic parameters of the target curve segment, and determining the battery state of health as the battery state of health of the battery under test; wherein the corresponding relation is determined according to second charging data obtained by charging a test battery of the same type as the battery under test using the target charging parameters [Ding, 0010-0011]”.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamai (US 2008/0255783), herein Tamai (from IDS) in view of Sejima et. al. (AU 2016203834), herein Sejima, Fukunishi et. al. (US 2025/0102583), herein Fukunishi, and Ding et. al. (US 2024/0069117), herein Ding in further view of Liu (CN213750741), herein Liu.
Regarding claim 3:
Tamai in view of Sejima, Fukunishi, and Ding teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
wherein the controller executes the charge/discharge processes while the vehicle is parked (In the fully-charged battery capacity detection method according to the present invention, the first no-load timing can be timing in that the battery is brought in the no-load state before the battery is brought in charging operation, and the second no-load timing can be timing in that the battery is brought in the no-load state after the end of the charging operation [0017]; examiner notes that the vehicle inherently must be parked in order to charge.), and
and discharges a current from the LFP cell to a load mounted on the vehicle in the charge/discharge processes (The current detection portion 2 detects the charging/discharging currents of the battery 1 [0037]; examiner notes that a high voltage battery on an electric vehicle will discharge to operate on board equipment and the drive motors.).
Tamai in view of Sejima, Fukunishi, and Ding does not explicitly teach, however Liu teaches:
charges the LFP cell from a main battery mounted on the vehicle (the DC12V + end of the DC/DC bidirectional charger 9 is connected with the power supply anode of the starting battery; the DC12V-end is connected with the power cathode of the starting battery; the DC48V + end is connected with the anode of the backup battery; the DC48V-end is connected with the cathode of the backup battery. the anode of the backup battery is connected with the DC48V + end of the charging and inverting integrated machine 10; the cathode is further connected with the DC48V-end of the charging and inverting integrated machine 10. the backup battery is AGM or LFP battery; when the backup battery is LFP, LFP is communicated with the whole system through the CAN bus [Liu]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tamai in view of Sejima, Fukunishi, and Ding to include the teachings as taught by Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. Liu teaches the benefits of “The utility model claims an intelligent recreational vehicle electric control system based on C2B modular design, comprising a first module unit, the first module unit is mainly composed of an LCM control module and a household display and control panel, the LCM control module respectively with the household display and control panel; the house car load is connected with the house car sensor. The advantages of the utility model are as follows: providing a high performance, multifunctional electric control system for recreational vehicle, reloading and so on, the system set control, display, detection and protection are integrated, which can realize the intelligent control of the whole vehicle internal load, with simple operation and simple appearance; strong vibration resistance, flexible and convenient installation, strong function combination, high reliability and so on. [Liu, abstract]”. This provides a means to use a dc/dc charger to convert electricity between two different storage batteries.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott R. Jagolinzer
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/S.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665