Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments dated 7/22/26 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 21 has been cancelled. Claim 22 is newly added. Claims 1-20, and 22 are currently active and pending.
The rejection below has been updated to reflect the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, 11-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2019/0256703).
Regarding claims 1-4, Kim teaches a polymer composition comprising a polymer matrix in an amount of about 10-50 wt% (Kim abs, para 14) that includes an aromatic polyester, such as PET or PBT (Kim para 15, 16) and an inorganic filler, which may be flakes or whiskers, and inorganic particles (Kim para 8) in an amount of about 60-350 parts for the mineral whiskers, and about 1-60 parts for particle fillers (Kim para 11). This overlaps with the claimed ranges of 60-200 parts for the inorganic filler of flakes and whiskers, and 40-200 parts for the inorganic particles, all parts relative to 100 parts by weight the polymer matrix. Finally, Kim teaches that the volume average length of the mineral fibers may be from 1-200 µm (Kim para 34).
It is noted that as each range of the particles and the whiskers have an endpoint of “about 60” there would exist embodiments wherein the particles would have a greater concentration than that of the whiskers/fibers.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the inorganic filler proportions, the polymer matrix proportions, and fiber length taught by Kim overlaps with the instantly claimed inorganic filler proportions, the polymer matrix proportions, and fiber length and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Kim further teaches that the composition exhibits an in-plane thermal conductivity of about 0.7-2 W/m-K per ASTM E 1461-13 (Kim para 8). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the in plane thermal conductivity taught by Kim overlaps with the instantly claimed in plane thermal conductivity and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Kim is silent with respect to the melt flow rate (MFR).
However, as Kim teaches the same polymer matrix (PET or PBT) with the claimed inorganic fillers with the claimed compositions and proportions, along with overlapping in-plane thermal conductivity, Kim would be expected to possess the same MFR as claimed of about 0.1-50 g/10 min according to ISO 1133:2022 at a temperature of 250 °C and a load of 2.16 kg.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1. Kim further teaches the inclusion of glass fibers in the composition (Kim para 36).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1. Kim further teaches inorganic particles may be from 1-20 wt% (Kim para 11). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the amount of inorganic particles taught by Kim overlaps with the instantly claimed amount of inorganic particles and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1. Kim further teaches the inorganic particles may be metal silicates, such as calcium and aluminum silicate (Kim para 31).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1. Kim further teaches the inorganic particles may be metal oxide particles (Kim para 9).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1. Kim further teaches that the average particle diameter of 5-200 µm (Kim para 31). This would be expected to substantially overlap with the claimed range of a median diameter of 1-25 µm. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the particle size taught by Kim overlaps with the instantly claimed particle size and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1. Kim further teaches that the inorganic particles have a specific surface area of from about 50-600 m2/g (Kim para 47). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the particle specific area taught by Kim overlaps with the instantly claimed particle specific area and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1. Kim further teaches that the polymer matrix is free from fillers having an intrinsic thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more (Kim para 9). Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1. Kim further teaches an electronic module comprising a housing that receives at least on electronic component where the housing contains the polymer according to claim 1 (Kim para 51).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McWilliams et al. (US 4,518,653).
Regarding claims 6, and 7, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1.
Kim is silent with respect to the glass fibers being coated with a sizing composition.
Kim and McWilliams are related in the field of glass fibers in a polymer matrix. McWilliams teaches coating the glass fibers with a sizing composition (McWilliams col 9, ln 21-25) to provide lubricity to the glass fibers in an amount of 0.05-0.5 wt% (McWilliams col 8, ln 4-37). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the glass fibers of Kim to have a lubricating sizing agent in an amount of 0.05-0.5 wt% as taught by McWilliams to help the glass move smoothly. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the amount of sizing agent taught by McWilliams overlaps with the instantly claimed amount of sizing agent and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kotian et al. (US 2010/0190896).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 9.
Kim is silent with respect to the metal silicate particles including talc.
Kim and Kotian are related in the filed of PET/PBT with inorganic fillers. Kotian teaches that talk is a metal silicate that has use as a flame retardant (Kotian para 33). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metal silicate of Kim to be talc as taught by Kotian because this would provide the polymer composition of Kim with improve flame retardance.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1.
Kim is silent with respect to the inorganic particles including metal hydroxides. Kotian teaches metal hydroxides such as tin and zirconium hydroxide as a synergistic agent to improve the behavior of the flame retardant (Kotian para 34). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a metal hydroxide such as tin or zirconium hydroxide as taught by Kotian because this would improve the flame retardance of the composition.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0301255, hereafter Kim ‘255).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 1.
Kim is silent with respect to the polymer composition comprising an impact modifier.
Kim and Kim ‘255 are related in the field of polymer matrix compositions. Kim ‘255 teaches the presence of an impact modifier to improve the strength and flexibility of the polymer composition (Kim ‘255 para 41). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the polymer composition of Kim to include an impact modifier as taught by Kim ‘255 because this would provide the composition of Kim with increased strength and flexibility.
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 17.
Kim is silent with respect to the electronic component being a camera.
Kim and Kim ‘255 are related in the field of polymer matrix compositions. Kim ‘255 teaches the polymer composition of a PET/PBT that has inorganic fillers may be used in a camera (Kim ‘255 para 12, 28). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the electronic of Kim could be used in a camera as taught by Kim ‘255.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 17 above, and further in view of Grinsteinner (US 2019/0153179).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a polymer composition as above for claim 17.
Kim is silent with respect to the electronic module being used for lidar or radar.
Kim and Grinsteinner are related in the field of PET/PBT (Grinsteinner para 20) fiber reinforced (Grinsteinner para 36) plastics. Grinsteinner teaches that the filled plastic may be used in a radar module (Grinsteinner para 54-55). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the electronic of Kim could be used in a radar module as taught by Grinsteinner.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Grinsteinner as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0243062).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Grinsteinner teaches a PET/PBT with fiber filler that may be used as a radar module as above for claim 18.
Kim in view of Grinsteinner is silent with respect to that module being connected to an electric propulsion source and transmission, where the propulsion source and transmission are connected via a power electronics module.
Kim in view of Grinsteinner are related in the field of motor vehicles. Yu teaches using an electric propulsion source and transmission connected via a power module as well as sensors assembly (Yu para 2, 64). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the radar module of Kim in view of Grinsteinner in an electric propulsion source and transmission connected via a power module as well as sensors assembly as taught by Yu.
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0029682, hereafter “Kim ‘682”).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Kim ‘682 teaches a polymer composition comprising a polymer matrix of an aromatic polyester (Kim ‘682, para 13, 19) and an inorganic filler of particles (Kim ‘682, para 31) as well as a second inorganic filler that may be particles or fibers (Kim ‘682, para 28) and when fibers, have a volume average length of 1-200 µm (Kim ‘682, para 30). That is, Kim ‘682 teaches that the second inorganic filler meets the requirements of both claims 1 and 22, as alternate embodiments. Kim ‘682 further teaches the primary inorganic particles are present in an amount of about 20 to about 80 parts relative to the aromatic polymer (Kim ‘682, para 11) such that the in-plane thermal conductivity is 2.0 W/m-K or more (Kim ‘682, para 4, 9).
Kim ‘682 is silent with respect to the melt flow rate (MFR).
However, as Kim teaches the same polymer matrix (i.e. aromatic polyesters) with the claimed inorganic fillers with the claimed compositions and proportions/loadings, along with overlapping in-plane thermal conductivity, Kim would be expected to possess the same MFR as claimed of about 0.1-50 g/10 min according to ISO 1133:2022 at a temperature of 250 °C and a load of 2.16 kg.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that Kim teaches away from the ‘about’ reading because of ‘typically’ and narrower additional range recitations.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. All the disclosures in a reference must be evaluated for what they fairly teach one of ordinary skill in the art even though the art teachings relied upon are phrased in terms of a non-preferred embodiment or even as being unsatisfactory for the intended purpose, In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966); In re Smith, 65 USPQ 167 (CCPA 1945); In re Nehrenberg, 126 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1960); In re Watanabe, 137 USPQ 350 (CCPA 1963).
Applicant argues on page 7 that they have unexpected results for the amount of fiber filler relative to the amount of particulate filler.
The Examiner respectfully notes that for a showing of unexpected results, the claims must be commensurate in scope with the features that supply the unexpected result. In the instant case, Applicant utilizes a specific aromatic polyester blend of polyethylene terephthalate and polybutylene terephthalate, with a specific inorganic filler of only talc particles. No other inorganic fillers are shown. Further, Example 3, on which Applicant relies for ‘less’ or ‘no’ fibers providing the critical element seems to being selectively chosen for the ‘CTI’ value which is not tested among the remaining examples, unlike Examples 4-11. Further this is a feature not claimed, and when one looks at the feature that is—in-plane thermoconductivity—Example 3 performs notably worse.
Applicant argues on page 7-8 that Grinsteinner does not teach the claimed fiber length.
The Examiner agrees and has removed this rejection.
Applicant argues on page 8 that newly added claim 22 is allowable because it possesses no inorganic fibers.
The Examiner respectfully directs Applicant’s attention to the new rejection for claim 22, over Kim ‘682, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.F/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 10/3/26
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781