DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, 18 and 21-22 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 11, and 18 and cancelled claims 3, 4, 6, 16, 17, 19, and 20.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed December 3, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, 18 and 21-22 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-15, 18 and 21-22 under 103 have been have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner has carefully considered applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the combination of Jundt with Hayes does not disclose or teach a combination of an internal load and external load that are connected to the power line in response to a trigger signal, asserting that Jundt merely detects whether a trailer controller is connected based on observed voltage behavior, and that in the amended claim, the load is described as comprising a combination of an internal load and an external load that is connected to the power line by the first controller in response to a trigger signal (See page 6 of Applicant’s remarks). Applicant further argues that the combination of Jundt and Hayes does not use “measured voltages” obtained during a connection of a load to determine order of the first and second towed vehicles relative to the tractor (See page 7 of Applicant’s remarks). Lastly, Applicant argues that the combination of Jundt and Hayes does not result in a system with a load connected in response to a trigger, thereby changing the measured voltage in a power line, which Applicant asserts forms part of an identifier transmitted by the controller (See page 7 of Applicant’s remarks).
The Examiner has considered such arguments; however, the arguments are not persuasive. With respect to Applicant’s argument that the combination of Jundt with Hayes fails to disclose or teach a combination of an internal load and an external load connected to a power line in response to a trigger signal, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in paragraph [0051] of Jundt, Jundt discloses a triggering module and/or detection module that intentionally alters electrical conditions of trailer components and evaluates voltage at an electric trailer connection to detect connection of trailer components. Specifically, Jundt discloses monitoring voltage during a system-initiated condition, such as power-on or start-up, in which external trailer components including brake lights or warning lamps are energized for a short period of time, thereby altering voltage on the power line for diagnostic purposes. The system constitutes connecting an electrical load to a power line in response to a system-initiated trigger and measuring voltage during that condition.
While Jundt does not explicitly characterize the load as a “combination of an internal load and external load”, Hayes discloses vehicle systems in which a shared power line supplies electrical power to internal electronic components, such as controllers, processors, and signal-conditioning circuitry (see Col. 3 lines 1-30), as well as to external vehicle subsystems including braking systems, lighting systems, pressure control systems, and other trailer-mounted actuators powered via the same power line (See Col. 3 lines 1-30). When the teachings of Jundt and Hayes are combined, the resulting system includes both internal electronic loads and external vehicle loads connected to the same power line in response to a trigger or control signal, as presently claimed. The claims do not require separate identification, independent actuation, or distinct measurement of internal versus external loads, nor do they require that the loads be connected solely for the purpose of voltage measurement. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument that the cited references fail to disclose the claimed load combination is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that the combination of Jundt and Hayes does not use measured voltages obtained during a connection of a load to determine an order of the first and second towed vehicles relative to the tractor; however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hayes discloses a tractor-trailer system in which a tractor controller communicates with and receives information from multiple trailer-side systems over a shared power line and communication path (See Col. 3 lines 1-30). Hayes further discloses that the power line supplies power to trailer-mounted systems and enables transmission of data and commands between the tractor and multiple trailers (See Col. 3 lines 45-59 and lines 60-67). When measured voltage values from different towed vehicles are transmitted to the tractor controlled under controlled load conditions, differences between he received voltage values provide information that can be evaluated by the tractor controller to determine a relative order of the towed vehicles. Accordingly, determining the order of the towed vehicles based on comparison of received measured voltage values would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The claims do not require a particular algorithm or mathematical calculation for determining order, but merely require that the order be determined based upon the measured voltages received.
Applicant additionally argues that the cited references do not disclose a system in which a load is connected in response to a trigger to intentionally change a measured voltage that becomes part of an identifier transmitted by the controller. However, amended claims 1 and 11 do not require that the measured voltage be encoded as part of an identifier, nor do they require any particular format, structure, or relationship between identification information and measured voltage. Claim 18 requires transmitting an identifier associated with the first towed vehicle and the measured voltage values; however, Suda is relied upon for teaching the identifier, and Applicant has not presented specific arguments directed to Suda. The Examiner maintains that the combination of the cited references teaches the subject matter of amended claims 1-2, 5, 7-15, 18 and 21-22. Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jundt (US 20240278763 A1) in view of Hayes (US 10050674 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jundt teaches A control apparatus for a vehicle train having a tractor and first and second towed vehicles in tow by the tractor, the control apparatus comprising: a load connectable to the power line (See at least paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.” The warning lamp is a load energized at power-on, allowing voltage across the load to be measured.); and a first controller associated with the first towed vehicle and arranged to (i) connect the load to the power line responsive to a trigger signal from a controller of the tractor (See at least paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.” The power-on/start-up is the trigger signal from the tractor that causes the lamp (load) to be energized which allows measurement of voltage across the load.) (ii) measure voltage of the power line in vicinity of the first towed vehicle (See at least paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.”).
Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the load includes a combination of an internal load and an external load (See at least Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14.”); and (iii) transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train (See at least Col. 1 lines 15-30, “Power line communication (PLC) is a communication method in which data is transmitted over wires that are also used to deliver electric power. The data is encoded within a signal that is transmitted over the wires in frequency ranges outside of those used to transmit electric power. PLC is advantageous relative to other communication methods because it enables communication using existing wiring. Tractor-trailers frequently employ (PLC) to exchange messages between members of the tractor-trailer including, for example, sensor readings from vehicle systems including anti-lock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring systems and other vehicle systems as well as commands used to control anti-lock braking systems, lighting systems and other vehicle systems”, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, “A system for controlling communications between members of a tractor-trailer along a power line extending between the members in accordance with one embodiment includes an input signal conditioning circuit including an amplifier and conditioning stage configured to convert an analog input signal from the power line to a digital input signal. The system further includes a controller configured to receive the digital input signal, identify a communication protocol for the analog input signal from among a plurality of communication protocols responsive to the digital input signal, and decode the digital input signal using the communication protocol”, and col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14.” The power line is the claimed communication line.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize the load including a combination of an internal load and an external load, and transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 1-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, and col. 3 lines 1-30.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.).
Regarding Claim 7, Jundt and Hayes teach A control apparatus according to claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt teaches further comprising: a second controller associated with the second towed vehicle and arranged to (i) measure voltage of a power line in vicinity of the second towed vehicle, and (ii) transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train (See at least paragraph [0045], “FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus 100 for detecting a failure of a gladhand coupler 10 connecting a towing component 50 and a trailer component 60 of a commercial or railroad vehicle 70. The towing component 50 is configured with a triggerable mechanism 55 adapted to change, through the gladhand coupler 10, a pressure for braking the trailer component 60. The apparatus 100 is installed on the towing component 50 and comprises a triggering module 110, configured to trigger the mechanism 55, and a detection module 120, configured to detect a reaction of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70 after the triggering module 110 has triggered the mechanism 55, to attribute the reaction to a failure of the gladhand coupler 10, and to issue a warning signal 130 about the failure of the gladhand coupler 10. The warning signal 130 may be adapted for a driver or for an autonomous driving unit of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70”, paragraph [0046], “The apparatus 100 is advantageously adapted for detecting a failure in a control line gladhand coupler 10. However, it may also be configured to detect a failure in a supply line gladhand coupler 10”, paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10”, and paragraph [0052], “Detection can be repeated after a certain time, in order to prove a result obtained before, and/or in order to minimize a false result, which may arise e.g. due to external disturbances such as potholes while driving. The number of repetitions can be fixed, or tied to a quality of the detection so far.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Jundt and Hayes teach A control apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt teaches wherein the first controller is responsive to (See at least paragraph [0045], “FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus 100 for detecting a failure of a gladhand coupler 10 connecting a towing component 50 and a trailer component 60 of a commercial or railroad vehicle 70. The towing component 50 is configured with a triggerable mechanism 55 adapted to change, through the gladhand coupler 10, a pressure for braking the trailer component 60. The apparatus 100 is installed on the towing component 50 and comprises a triggering module 110, configured to trigger the mechanism 55, and a detection module 120, configured to detect a reaction of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70 after the triggering module 110 has triggered the mechanism 55, to attribute the reaction to a failure of the gladhand coupler 10, and to issue a warning signal 130 about the failure of the gladhand coupler 10. The warning signal 130 may be adapted for a driver or for an autonomous driving unit of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70” and paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.” The power-on/start-up is the trigger signal for each trailer controller, causing its own load (lamp or other trailer component) to be energized, allowing voltage across the first load (for the first trailer) and across the second load (for the second trailer) to be measured by their respective controllers.).
Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a trigger signal provided by a controller of the tractor (See at least Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14”, col. 3 lines 45-59, “Output signal conditioning circuit 28 is provided to condition signals output by controller 30 for transmission on power line 18. Circuit 28 includes a coupling capacitor 38 and biasing circuit 40 for signals received from controller 50. Circuit 28 also includes a capacitor 42 that couples circuit 28 to power line 18. It should again be understood that inductive coupling could be used instead of capacitive coupling. Circuit 28 further includes an amplifier and conditioning stage 44 that converts a digital output signal output 55 by controller 30 into an analog output signal for use on power line 18. In accordance with one embodiment, the digital output signal output by controller 30 is a pulse width modulated square wave signal”, and col. 3 lines 60-65, “Controller 30 is provided to decode messages received 60 from power line 18 and to encode messages for transmission on power line 18. Controller 30 may comprise a programmable microprocessor or microcontroller or may comprise an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC). Controller 30 may include a memory 46 and a central processing unit 65 (CPU) 48.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize the load including a combination of an internal load and an external load; transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train; and utilize a trigger signal provided by a controller of the tractor, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 1-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 1-30, col. 3 lines 45-59, and col. 3 lines 60-65.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.).
Regarding Claim 10, Jundt and Hayes teach A control apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt teaches wherein the first controller is responsive to a trigger signal provided by the first controller to connect a first load to the power line and thereby to allow voltage across the first load to be measured, and the second controller is responsive to a trigger signal provided by the second controller to connect a second load to the power line and thereby to allow voltage across the second load to be measured (See at least paragraph [0045], “FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus 100 for detecting a failure of a gladhand coupler 10 connecting a towing component 50 and a trailer component 60 of a commercial or railroad vehicle 70. The towing component 50 is configured with a triggerable mechanism 55 adapted to change, through the gladhand coupler 10, a pressure for braking the trailer component 60. The apparatus 100 is installed on the towing component 50 and comprises a triggering module 110, configured to trigger the mechanism 55, and a detection module 120, configured to detect a reaction of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70 after the triggering module 110 has triggered the mechanism 55, to attribute the reaction to a failure of the gladhand coupler 10, and to issue a warning signal 130 about the failure of the gladhand coupler 10. The warning signal 130 may be adapted for a driver or for an autonomous driving unit of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70” and paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.” The power-on/start-up is the trigger signal for each trailer controller, causing its own load (lamp or other trailer component) to be energized, allowing voltage across the first load (for the first trailer) and across the second load (for the second trailer) to be measured by their respective controllers.).
Regarding Claim 11, A multiple-trailer combination of a tractor-trailer vehicle, comprising: a power line (See at least paragraph [0045], “FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus 100 for detecting a failure of a gladhand coupler 10 connecting a towing component 50 and a trailer component 60 of a commercial or railroad vehicle 70. The towing component 50 is configured with a triggerable mechanism 55 adapted to change, through the gladhand coupler 10, a pressure for braking the trailer component 60. The apparatus 100 is installed on the towing component 50 and comprises a triggering module 110, configured to trigger the mechanism 55, and a detection module 120, configured to detect a reaction of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70 after the triggering module 110 has triggered the mechanism 55, to attribute the reaction to a failure of the gladhand coupler 10, and to issue a warning signal 130 about the failure of the gladhand coupler 10. The warning signal 130 may be adapted for a driver or for an autonomous driving unit of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70” and paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.”); (See at least paragraph [0045], “FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus 100 for detecting a failure of a gladhand coupler 10 connecting a towing component 50 and a trailer component 60 of a commercial or railroad vehicle 70. The towing component 50 is configured with a triggerable mechanism 55 adapted to change, through the gladhand coupler 10, a pressure for braking the trailer component 60. The apparatus 100 is installed on the towing component 50 and comprises a triggering module 110, configured to trigger the mechanism 55, and a detection module 120, configured to detect a reaction of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70 after the triggering module 110 has triggered the mechanism 55, to attribute the reaction to a failure of the gladhand coupler 10, and to issue a warning signal 130 about the failure of the gladhand coupler 10. The warning signal 130 may be adapted for a driver or for an autonomous driving unit of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70” and paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.”); a second towed vehicle including a second processor connected to the power line (i) connect a load to the power line responsive to a trigger signal received from a tractor processor (See at least paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.” The power-on/start-up is the trigger signal from the tractor that causes the lamp (load) to be energized which allows measurement of voltage across the load.) (ii) measure voltage of the power line in vicinity of its respective towed vehicle (See at least paragraph [0045], “FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus 100 for detecting a failure of a gladhand coupler 10 connecting a towing component 50 and a trailer component 60 of a commercial or railroad vehicle 70. The towing component 50 is configured with a triggerable mechanism 55 adapted to change, through the gladhand coupler 10, a pressure for braking the trailer component 60. The apparatus 100 is installed on the towing component 50 and comprises a triggering module 110, configured to trigger the mechanism 55, and a detection module 120, configured to detect a reaction of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70 after the triggering module 110 has triggered the mechanism 55, to attribute the reaction to a failure of the gladhand coupler 10, and to issue a warning signal 130 about the failure of the gladhand coupler 10. The warning signal 130 may be adapted for a driver or for an autonomous driving unit of the commercial or railroad vehicle 70” and paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.”).
Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and a tractor, including the tractor processor connected to the power line and the communication line and programmed to (i) receive measured voltages transmitted from the first and second processors (See at least Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14.”) and (ii) determine an order of the first and second towed vehicles relative to the tractor based upon the measured voltages received from the first and second processors (See at least Fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14”, col. 3 lines 45-59, “Output signal conditioning circuit 28 is provided to condition signals output by controller 30 for transmission on power line 18. Circuit 28 includes a coupling capacitor 38 and biasing circuit 40 for signals received from controller 50. Circuit 28 also includes a capacitor 42 that couples circuit 28 to power line 18. It should again be understood that inductive coupling could be used instead of capacitive coupling. Circuit 28 further includes an amplifier and conditioning stage 44 that converts a digital output signal output 55 by controller 30 into an analog output signal for use on power line 18. In accordance with one embodiment, the digital output signal output by controller 30 is a pulse width modulated square wave signal”, col. 3 lines 60-67, “Controller 30 is provided to decode messages received 60 from power line 18 and to encode messages for transmission on power line 18. Controller 30 may comprise a programmable microprocessor or microcontroller or may comprise an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC). Controller 30 may include a memory 46 and a central processing unit 65 (CPU) 48. Controller 30 may also include an input/output (I/0) interface 50 including a plurality of input/output pins” and col. 4 lines 1-20, “or terminals through which controller 30 may receive a plurality of input signals and transmit a plurality of output signals. The input signals may include signals received from input signal conditioning circuit 26 while the output signals may include signals transmitted to output signal conditioning circuit 28. In the illustrated embodiment, a single controller 30 is shown. It should be understood, however, that the functionality of controller 30 described herein may be divided among multiple sub-controllers. In one embodiment, controller 30 comprises a microcontroller offered for sale by Infineon Technologies AG under the trademark "AURIX" and having model number TC26x. It should be understood, however, that other vehicle microcontrollers may alternatively be used. In accordance with the present teachings, controller 30 may be configured with appropriate programming instructions (i.e., software or a computer program) to implement several steps in a method for controlling communications between tractor 12 and trailers 14 along power line 18 described below.”); and (iii) transmit the measured voltage across the communication line to the processor of the other towed vehicle (See at least Col. 1 lines 15-30, “Power line communication (PLC) is a communication method in which data is transmitted over wires that are also used to deliver electric power. The data is encoded within a signal that is transmitted over the wires in frequency ranges outside of those used to transmit electric power. PLC is advantageous relative to other communication methods because it enables communication using existing wiring. Tractor-trailers frequently employ (PLC) to exchange messages between members of the tractor-trailer including, for example, sensor readings from vehicle systems including anti-lock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring systems and other vehicle systems as well as commands used to control anti-lock braking systems, lighting systems and other vehicle systems”, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, “A system for controlling communications between members of a tractor-trailer along a power line extending between the members in accordance with one embodiment includes an input signal conditioning circuit including an amplifier and conditioning stage configured to convert an analog input signal from the power line to a digital input signal. The system further includes a controller configured to receive the digital input signal, identify a communication protocol for the analog input signal from among a plurality of communication protocols responsive to the digital input signal, and decode the digital input signal using the communication protocol”, and col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14.” The power line is the claimed communication line.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize a tractor, including the tractor processor connected to the power line and the communication line and programmed to receive measured voltages transmitted from the first and second processors; determine an order of the first and second towed vehicles relative to the tractor based upon the measured voltages received from the first and second processors; and transmit the measured voltage across the communication line to the processor of the other towed vehicle, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 15-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 1-30, col. 3 lines 45-59, col. 3 lines 60-67, and col. 4 lines 1-20.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.).
Regarding Claim 12, Jundt and Hayes teach A multiple-trailer combination of a tractor-trailer vehicle according to claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first towed vehicle comprises a first trailer, and the second towed vehicle comprises a dolly (See at least Fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14”, col. 3 lines 45-59, “Output signal conditioning circuit 28 is provided to condition signals output by controller 30 for transmission on power line 18. Circuit 28 includes a coupling capacitor 38 and biasing circuit 40 for signals received from controller 50. Circuit 28 also includes a capacitor 42 that couples circuit 28 to power line 18. It should again be understood that inductive coupling could be used instead of capacitive coupling. Circuit 28 further includes an amplifier and conditioning stage 44 that converts a digital output signal output 55 by controller 30 into an analog output signal for use on power line 18. In accordance with one embodiment, the digital output signal output by controller 30 is a pulse width modulated square wave signal”, and col. 3 lines 60-65, “Controller 30 is provided to decode messages received 60 from power line 18 and to encode messages for transmission on power line 18. Controller 30 may comprise a programmable microprocessor or microcontroller or may comprise an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC). Controller 30 may include a memory 46 and a central processing unit 65 (CPU) 48.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize a tractor, including the tractor processor connected to the power line and the communication line and programmed to receive measured voltages transmitted from the first and second processors; determine an order of the first and second towed vehicles relative to the tractor based upon the measured voltages received from the first and second processors; transmit the measured voltage across the communication line to the processor of the other towed vehicle; and utilize the first towed vehicle comprising a first trailer, and the second towed vehicle comprising a dolly, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 15-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 1-30, col. 3 lines 45-59, col. 3 lines 60-67, and col. 4 lines 1-20.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.).
Regarding Claim 13, Jundt and Hayes teach A multiple-trailer combination of a tractor-trailer vehicle according to claim 12 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: a third towed vehicle including a third processor connected to the power line and connected to the communication line, wherein (i) the third towed vehicle comprises a second trailer, and (ii) the dolly interconnects the first and second trailers (See at least Fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14”, col. 3 lines 45-59, “Output signal conditioning circuit 28 is provided to condition signals output by controller 30 for transmission on power line 18. Circuit 28 includes a coupling capacitor 38 and biasing circuit 40 for signals received from controller 50. Circuit 28 also includes a capacitor 42 that couples circuit 28 to power line 18. It should again be understood that inductive coupling could be used instead of capacitive coupling. Circuit 28 further includes an amplifier and conditioning stage 44 that converts a digital output signal output 55 by controller 30 into an analog output signal for use on power line 18. In accordance with one embodiment, the digital output signal output by controller 30 is a pulse width modulated square wave signal”, and col. 3 lines 60-65, “Controller 30 is provided to decode messages received 60 from power line 18 and to encode messages for transmission on power line 18. Controller 30 may comprise a programmable microprocessor or microcontroller or may comprise an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC). Controller 30 may include a memory 46 and a central processing unit 65 (CPU) 48.” The system includes multiple trailers connected to the power/communication line, and Fig. 1 depicts a dolly between the first and second trailers.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize a tractor, including the tractor processor connected to the power line and the communication line and programmed to receive measured voltages transmitted from the first and second processors; determine an order of the first and second towed vehicles relative to the tractor based upon the measured voltages received from the first and second processors; transmit the measured voltage across the communication line to the processor of the other towed vehicle; utilize the first towed vehicle comprising a first trailer, and the second towed vehicle comprising a dolly; and utilize a third towed vehicle including a third processor connected to the power line and connected to the communication line, wherein (i) the third towed vehicle comprises a second trailer, and (ii) the dolly interconnects the first and second trailers, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 15-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 1-30, col. 3 lines 45-59, col. 3 lines 60-67, and col. 4 lines 1-20.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.).
Regarding Claim 14, Jundt and Hayes teach A multiple-trailer combination of a tractor-trailer vehicle according to claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein each of the first and second processors is further programmed to transmit identification information associated with its respective processor across the communication line to the processor of the other towed vehicle (See at least Col. 5 lines 45-67, “If controller 30 is able to locate a communication protocol for the signal in substep 62, controller 30 may then perform the step 76 of decoding the digital input signal using the identified communication protocol. Depending on the nature of the decoded message, controller 30 may take any of a variety of actions including processing of data in the message, directing the system 20 or 22 including controller 30 to take some action, and generating and transmitting signals to others systems such as system 20 or 22 through power line 18. Referring now to FIG. 4, for example, controller 30 may be configured in some embodiments to perform several steps associated with generating and transmitting another message through power line 18. In step 78, controller 30 identifies a communication protocol for the signal to be formed from among a plurality of communication protocols.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize a tractor, including the tractor processor connected to the power line and the communication line and programmed to receive measured voltages transmitted from the first and second processors; determine an order of the first and second towed vehicles relative to the tractor based upon the measured voltages received from the first and second processors; transmit the measured voltage across the communication line to the processor of the other towed vehicle; and each of the first and second processors is further programmed to transmit identification information associated with its respective processor across the communication line to the processor of the other towed vehicle, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 15-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 1-30, col. 3 lines 45-59, col. 3 lines 60-67, col. 4 lines 1-20, and col. 5 lines 45-67.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.).
Regarding Claim 15, Jundt and Hayes teach A multiple-trailer combination of a tractor-trailer vehicle according to claim 11, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the power line comprises the communication line (See at least Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize a tractor, including the tractor processor connected to the power line and the communication line and programmed to receive measured voltages transmitted from the first and second processors; determine an order of the first and second towed vehicles relative to the tractor based upon the measured voltages received from the first and second processors; transmit the measured voltage across the communication line to the processor of the other towed vehicle; and utilize the power line comprising the communication line, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 15-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, col. 3 lines 1-30, col. 3 lines 45-59, col. 3 lines 60-67, col. 4 lines 1-20, and col. 5 lines 45-67.), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.).
Claim(s) 2, 8, 18, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jundt (US 20240278763 A1) in view of Hayes (US 10050674 B1) and Suda (US 20130148748 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Jundt and Hayes teach A control apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt and Hayes do not explicitly disclose, however, Suda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first controller is arranged to transmit identification information associated with the first towed vehicle to other controllers of the vehicle train (See at least paragraph [0047], “A PLC tag 30 is also mounted on each trailer 24 in data communication with the PLC bus 34. The PLC tag 30 may be a PLC identifier tag manufactured by Hegemon Electronics, Inc., Sterling Heights, Mich. The PLC tag 30 functions as a reader to read data from the memory 72 of the PLC tag 30 and transforms the data into a format capable of communication over the existing tractor-trailer PLC bus 34. The PLC tag 30 includes a processor 70 which accesses data and a control program stored in one or more memories 72. The PLC tag 30 includes input and output ports namely, UART, I.sup.2C, or SPI”, paragraph [0048], “During the installation of the communication system 20 on the tractor 22 and the trailers 24, 26 and 28, the tractor 22 and each trailer 24, 26 and 28 will be provided with at least one unique identification number or identification. Each identification is unique to each trailer or a tractor and can include a particular identification identifying it as a tractor or a trailer. For example, the identification may include an alphanumeric segment identifying a particular tractor and trailer. A prefix, suffix, or a segment of the message may also include a binary code identifying the particular identification as uniquely belonging to a tractor or a trailer”, and paragraph [0050], “A wireless identification is stored in the tractor transmitter 50 and each wireless transmitter 54 on the trailers 24, 26 and 28. Similarly, a PLC identification is stored in the PLC tag 30, such as in a memory 72. Both the wireless identification and the PLC identification may be the same for a tractor or trailer.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes and Suda such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize the load including a combination of an internal load and an external load; transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train; and transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 15-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, and col. 3 lines 1-30.), and the first controller is arranged to transmit identification information associated with the first towed vehicle to other controllers of the vehicle train, as taught by Suda (See paragraph [0047], [0048], and [0050].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.). The motivation for doing so would be increasing time efficiency for scheduling and decreasing cost of the powerline carrier system, as taught by Suda (See paragraph [0006] and [0007].).
Regarding Claim 8, Jundt and Hayes teach A control apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt and Hayes do not explicitly disclose, however, Suda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first controller is arranged to transmit identification information associated with the first towed vehicle to other controllers of the vehicle train, and the second controller is arranged to transmit identification information associated with the second towed vehicle to other controllers of the vehicle train (See at least paragraph [0047], “A PLC tag 30 is also mounted on each trailer 24 in data communication with the PLC bus 34. The PLC tag 30 may be a PLC identifier tag manufactured by Hegemon Electronics, Inc., Sterling Heights, Mich. The PLC tag 30 functions as a reader to read data from the memory 72 of the PLC tag 30 and transforms the data into a format capable of communication over the existing tractor-trailer PLC bus 34. The PLC tag 30 includes a processor 70 which accesses data and a control program stored in one or more memories 72. The PLC tag 30 includes input and output ports namely, UART, I.sup.2C, or SPI”, paragraph [0048], “During the installation of the communication system 20 on the tractor 22 and the trailers 24, 26 and 28, the tractor 22 and each trailer 24, 26 and 28 will be provided with at least one unique identification number or identification. Each identification is unique to each trailer or a tractor and can include a particular identification identifying it as a tractor or a trailer. For example, the identification may include an alphanumeric segment identifying a particular tractor and trailer. A prefix, suffix, or a segment of the message may also include a binary code identifying the particular identification as uniquely belonging to a tractor or a trailer”, and paragraph [0050], “A wireless identification is stored in the tractor transmitter 50 and each wireless transmitter 54 on the trailers 24, 26 and 28. Similarly, a PLC identification is stored in the PLC tag 30, such as in a memory 72. Both the wireless identification and the PLC identification may be the same for a tractor or trailer.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes and Suda such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize the load including a combination of an internal load and an external load; transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train; and transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 1-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, and col. 3 lines 1-30.), and the first controller is arranged to transmit identification information associated with the first towed vehicle to other controllers of the vehicle train, and the second controller is arranged to transmit identification information associated with the second towed vehicle to other controllers of the vehicle train, as taught by Suda (See paragraph [0047], [0048], and [0050].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.). The motivation for doing so would be increasing time efficiency for scheduling and decreasing cost of the powerline carrier system, as taught by Suda (See paragraph [0006] and [0007].).
Regarding Claim 18, Jundt teaches A method of operating a vehicle train having a tractor and a plurality of towed vehicles in tow by the tractor, the method comprising: connecting a load, (See at least paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.” The power-on/start-up is the trigger signal from the tractor that causes the lamp (load) to be energized which allows measurement of voltage across the load.); measuring a voltage of the power line in vicinity of a first towed vehicle of the plurality of towed vehicles (See at least paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.”).
Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the load being a combination of an internal and an external load (See at least Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14.”), and transmitting (See at least Fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14”, col. 3 lines 45-59, “Output signal conditioning circuit 28 is provided to condition signals output by controller 30 for transmission on power line 18. Circuit 28 includes a coupling capacitor 38 and biasing circuit 40 for signals received from controller 50. Circuit 28 also includes a capacitor 42 that couples circuit 28 to power line 18. It should again be understood that inductive coupling could be used instead of capacitive coupling. Circuit 28 further includes an amplifier and conditioning stage 44 that converts a digital output signal output 55 by controller 30 into an analog output signal for use on power line 18. In accordance with one embodiment, the digital output signal output by controller 30 is a pulse width modulated square wave signal”, and col. 3 lines 60-67, “Controller 30 is provided to decode messages received 60 from power line 18 and to encode messages for transmission on power line 18. Controller 30 may comprise a programmable microprocessor or microcontroller or may comprise an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC). Controller 30 may include a memory 46 and a central processing unit 65 (CPU) 48. Controller 30 may also include an input/output (I/0) interface 50 including a plurality of input/output pins.”).
Jundt and Hayes do not explicitly disclose, however, Suda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an identifier associated with the first towed vehicle (See at least paragraph [0047], “A PLC tag 30 is also mounted on each trailer 24 in data communication with the PLC bus 34. The PLC tag 30 may be a PLC identifier tag manufactured by Hegemon Electronics, Inc., Sterling Heights, Mich. The PLC tag 30 functions as a reader to read data from the memory 72 of the PLC tag 30 and transforms the data into a format capable of communication over the existing tractor-trailer PLC bus 34. The PLC tag 30 includes a processor 70 which accesses data and a control program stored in one or more memories 72. The PLC tag 30 includes input and output ports namely, UART, I.sup.2C, or SPI”, paragraph [0048], “During the installation of the communication system 20 on the tractor 22 and the trailers 24, 26 and 28, the tractor 22 and each trailer 24, 26 and 28 will be provided with at least one unique identification number or identification. Each identification is unique to each trailer or a tractor and can include a particular identification identifying it as a tractor or a trailer. For example, the identification may include an alphanumeric segment identifying a particular tractor and trailer. A prefix, suffix, or a segment of the message may also include a binary code identifying the particular identification as uniquely belonging to a tractor or a trailer”, and paragraph [0050], “A wireless identification is stored in the tractor transmitter 50 and each wireless transmitter 54 on the trailers 24, 26 and 28. Similarly, a PLC identification is stored in the PLC tag 30, such as in a memory 72. Both the wireless identification and the PLC identification may be the same for a tractor or trailer.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes and Suda such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize the load being a combination of an internal and an external load and transmitting the measured voltage in vicinity of the first towed vehicle along a communication line to at least a second towed vehicle of the plurality towed vehicles, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 3 lines 1-30, col. 3 lines 45-59, and col. 3 lines 60-67.), and an identifier associated with the first towed vehicle, as taught by Suda (See paragraph [0047], [0048], and [0050].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.). The motivation for doing so would be increasing time efficiency for scheduling and decreasing cost of the powerline carrier system, as taught by Suda (See paragraph [0006] and [0007].).
Regarding Claim 21, Jundt, Hayes, and Suda teach A method according to claim 18 as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt teaches further comprising: measuring a voltage of a power line in vicinity of the second towed vehicle of the plurality of towed vehicles (See at least paragraph [0051], “In embodiments, the apparatus 100 is configured to detect if a trailer component 60 is connected. For this, the triggering module 110 and/or the detection module 120 may be configured to perform a measurement of a current status of a trailer brake light (a stop light, or an indicator), to evaluate information retrieved via PLC or trailer CAN (e.g. according to the ISO 11992 protocol), and/or to evaluate a voltage at PIN 5 of an electric trailer connection of a commercial vehicle 70. By the voltage, typically a warning lamp is set to a lower level by the trailer brake system for a short period of time after every power-on (or start-up), such that monitoring the voltage can result in detecting the connection of the trailer component 60. The trailer connection detection can be employed as a cross-reference in order to rule out other brake failures and determine if only the control-line gladhand coupler 10 is disconnected, i.e. if the failure indeed lies with the gladhand coupler 10.” Voltage is measured at the trailer connection, including at any towed vehicle in the train including the second trailer.).
Jundt does not explicitly disclose, however, Hayes, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and transmitting (See at least Fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 1-30, “Tractor 12 and trailers 14 may include various fluid and power lines that extend between tractor 12 and trailers 14 including power line 18. The fluid and power lines allow delivery of fluids and electrical power from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in, for example, tire pressure management, braking, and activation of tail lights on trailer 14. Power line 18 also forms part of a network used to transmit communications between various electronic systems 20, 221 ... 22N on tractor 12 and trailers 14, respectively. Systems 20, 22 may comprise any of a wide variety of systems commonly employed on tractor-trailer 10 including, for example, antilock braking systems, collision avoidance systems, tire pressure monitoring and control systems, trailer load monitoring systems, and lighting systems. Power line 18 may enable transmission of data from one or more systems 22 on trailers 14 to a system 20 on tractor 12 including, for example, sensor readings indicative of the operation of an anti-lock braking system, the location of surrounding vehicles and infrastructure, pressure within the tires on a trailer 14, or a shift in the load carried by a trailer 14. Power line 18 may also enable transmission of commands and data from tractor 12 to trailers 14 for use in controlling elements of an anti-lock braking system, tire pressure control system or lighting system on one or more of trailers 14”, col. 3 lines 45-59, “Output signal conditioning circuit 28 is provided to condition signals output by controller 30 for transmission on power line 18. Circuit 28 includes a coupling capacitor 38 and biasing circuit 40 for signals received from controller 50. Circuit 28 also includes a capacitor 42 that couples circuit 28 to power line 18. It should again be understood that inductive coupling could be used instead of capacitive coupling. Circuit 28 further includes an amplifier and conditioning stage 44 that converts a digital output signal output 55 by controller 30 into an analog output signal for use on power line 18. In accordance with one embodiment, the digital output signal output by controller 30 is a pulse width modulated square wave signal”, and col. 3 lines 60-67, “Controller 30 is provided to decode messages received 60 from power line 18 and to encode messages for transmission on power line 18. Controller 30 may comprise a programmable microprocessor or microcontroller or may comprise an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC). Controller 30 may include a memory 46 and a central processing unit 65 (CPU) 48. Controller 30 may also include an input/output (I/0) interface 50 including a plurality of input/output pins.” The power line is also the communication line which allows measured voltages and identifiers from the second trailer to be transmitted upstream to the first trailer.).
Jundt and Hayes do not explicitly disclose, however, Suda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an identifier associated with the second towed vehicle (See at least paragraph [0047], “A PLC tag 30 is also mounted on each trailer 24 in data communication with the PLC bus 34. The PLC tag 30 may be a PLC identifier tag manufactured by Hegemon Electronics, Inc., Sterling Heights, Mich. The PLC tag 30 functions as a reader to read data from the memory 72 of the PLC tag 30 and transforms the data into a format capable of communication over the existing tractor-trailer PLC bus 34. The PLC tag 30 includes a processor 70 which accesses data and a control program stored in one or more memories 72. The PLC tag 30 includes input and output ports namely, UART, I.sup.2C, or SPI”, paragraph [0048], “During the installation of the communication system 20 on the tractor 22 and the trailers 24, 26 and 28, the tractor 22 and each trailer 24, 26 and 28 will be provided with at least one unique identification number or identification. Each identification is unique to each trailer or a tractor and can include a particular identification identifying it as a tractor or a trailer. For example, the identification may include an alphanumeric segment identifying a particular tractor and trailer. A prefix, suffix, or a segment of the message may also include a binary code identifying the particular identification as uniquely belonging to a tractor or a trailer”, and paragraph [0050], “A wireless identification is stored in the tractor transmitter 50 and each wireless transmitter 54 on the trailers 24, 26 and 28. Similarly, a PLC identification is stored in the PLC tag 30, such as in a memory 72. Both the wireless identification and the PLC identification may be the same for a tractor or trailer.” The second towed vehicle also has a unique identifier.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes and Suda such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize the load being a combination of an internal and an external load and transmitting the measured voltage in vicinity of the second towed vehicle along the communication line to the first towed vehicle of the plurality towed vehicles, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 3 lines 1-30, col. 3 lines 45-59, and col. 3 lines 60-67.), and an identifier associated with the second towed vehicle, as taught by Suda (See paragraph [0047], [0048], and [0050].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.). The motivation for doing so would be increasing time efficiency for scheduling and decreasing cost of the powerline carrier system, as taught by Suda (See paragraph [0006] and [0007].).
Regarding Claim 22, Jundt, Hayes, and Suda teach A method according to claim 18, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt teaches wherein the method is performed by a controller having a memory executing one or more programs of instructions which are tangibly embodied in a program storage medium readable by the controller (See at least paragraph [0057], “The method may also be a computer-implemented method. A person of skill in the art will readily recognize that steps of the above-described method may be performed by programmed computers. Embodiments are also intended to cover program storage devices, e.g., digital data storage media, which are machine or computer readable and encode machine-executable or computer-executable programs of instructions, wherein the instructions perform some or all of the acts of the above-described methods, when executed on the computer or processor.”).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jundt (US 20240278763 A1) in view of Hayes (US 10050674 B1) and SCHNITTGER (US 20210269008 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Jundt and Hayes teach A control apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Jundt and Hayes do not explicitly disclose, however, SCHNITTGER, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the load comprises an energizeable solenoid (See at least paragraph [0005], “This object is achieved according to the invention by means of a parking brake device for motor vehicles having the features of the independent claim. Accordingly, a parking brake device for a motor vehicle, in particular a utility vehicle, having at least one compressed air port, having at least one first control solenoid valve unit, having at least one trailer control bistable valve and having at least one first compressed air outlet is provided, wherein the compressed air port can be connected to the first control solenoid valve unit and to the trailer control bistable valve, wherein the first control solenoid valve unit can be connected to the trailer control bistable valve via at least one first control line, and wherein the trailer control bistable valve can be connected to the first compressed air outlet via at least one trailer control outlet line, wherein the parking brake device has at least one tractor vehicle control bistable valve and at least one second compressed air outlet, wherein the compressed air port can be connected to the tractor vehicle control bistable valve, and wherein the tractor vehicle control bistable valve can be connected to the second compressed air outlet via at least one tractor vehicle control outlet line, wherein at least one tractor vehicle outlet branch is arranged in the tractor vehicle control outlet line, between the tractor vehicle control bistable valve and the second compressed air outlet, and wherein the first control solenoid valve unit can be connected to the tractor vehicle control outlet line via at least one bypass control line and via the tractor vehicle outlet branch”, paragraph [0032], “In addition it is contemplated that the first control solenoid valve unit has at least one first control solenoid valve and at least one second control solenoid valve, in particular wherein at least one pressure sensor is arranged in a connecting line between the first and second control solenoid valves”, paragraph [0096], “The first control solenoid valve unit 20a is also provided with a first control solenoid valve 21a and a second control solenoid valve 22a”, and paragraph [0097], “The first control solenoid valve 21a and the second control solenoid valve 22a are provided as 2/2-way valves which can be electrically activated or actuated.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Jundt with the teachings of Hayes and SCHNITTGER such that the detection system of Jundt is further configured to utilize the load including a combination of an internal load and an external load; transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train; and transmit the measured voltage along a communication line to other controllers of the vehicle train, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 1-30, col. 1 lines 60-67, col. 2 lines 1-5, and col. 3 lines 1-30.), and the load comprises an energizeable solenoid, as taught by SCHNITTGER (See paragraph [0005], [0032], [0096], and [0097].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be enhancing communication and maximizing efficiency, as taught by Hayes (See Col. 1 lines 45-55.). The motivation for doing so would be simplifying the design and venting control of a parking break device, as taught by SCHNITTGER (See paragraph [0004].).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666