DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07 November 2023 and 07 May 2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 16: “acquire an image” should read:
-- acquire the image --
In claims 2-8 and 10-14, “according to Claim” should read:
-- according to claim --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use generic placeholders that are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholders are not preceded by any structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 1, line 9: “a controller configured to control”
In claim 4, line 6, “controller is further configured to display”
In claim 5, line 4, “controller is configured to display”
In claim 7, line 2, “controller is further configured to display”
In claim 8, line 4, “controller is configured to display”
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation(s) has/have been presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it/they meet(s) the following 3-prong analysis:
(A) The claim limitation(s) use the phrase “means for” or “step for” or a generic replacement. Prong A is met because: the claim element “controller”, which is a generic place holder for “means”
(B) The “means for” or “step for” is modified by functional language: Prong B is met because: the generic place holder “controller” is modified by functional language “configured to”.
(C) The phrase “means for” or “step for” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for achieving the specified function. Prong C is met because: the claim element “controller” is not further modified by sufficient structure of material for performing the claimed function “to control” or “to display”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 9 and 13-15 the limitation “pattern design information” renders claim indefinite because, both claim and specification fail to define the recited “pattern design information” other than presenting a block diagram, in Fig. 3, pattern design information 50. What does pattern have “a plurality of patterns on its pattern surface based on pattern design information” mean or “pattern design information” of what? Would the pattern be the information pertained to a mounting position or design information of the electronic component or something else? In other words, unless otherwise defined the pattern, the limitation deemed to read as the pattern has the pattern design information, which is confusing and contradicting.
Further, see the limitation “store positional relationship information indicating positional relationship based on the pattern design information”. What does “positional relationship based on the pattern design information” mean. If the patterns are on the pattern surface of an electronic component as recited in lines 2-3, what does “the pattern design information between a position of a registration pattern representative point identified by at least one registration pattern selected from the plurality of patterns on the pattern surface and a position of a positioning reference point on which positioning of the electronic component at the component mounting location for mounting is based” mean.
Furthermore, line 11-14 recites “a registration pattern representative point identified by at least one registration pattern”. However, line 4 and 14 recite “acquire an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component”. It is not clear the camera acquires “one pattern” or “pattern surface”.
In claim 1, the limitation in lines 11-23: “store positional relationship information….is based, acquire an image…analyze the image…position the positioning reference point…” is confusing because the claim language is ambiguous. It is unclear how “store positional relationship information” before acquiring the image, analyzing the image and finding any deviation from a positioning reference point. Further, what does “position the positioning reference point” mean and where it is positioned. Furthermore, if the positional reference information is an output information after analyzing the image, it is unclear how it is positioned. Claim fails to positively recite a component is mounted based on the positioning information. Would positioning the mounting nozzle after obtaining the “position the positioning reference point”. As best understood, it appears that the limitation actually intends that “acquiring the image…analyzing the image…storing the positional relationship information…position the positioning reference point of the component…to mount the electronic component”, or the like. Also, see the Note below.
In claim 2, the limitation “a plurality of patterns is registered as the registration pattern, and the at least one registration pattern includes a plurality of registration patterns” is confusing. What does “a plurality of patterns is registered as the registration pattern, and the at least one registration pattern includes a plurality of registration patterns” mean. Would it be at least one registration pattern includes plurality of patterns? Further, what does “the registration pattern representative point is a geometrical center of the plurality of registration patterns” mean. How does “a registration pattern” become a geometrical center of plurality of registration patterns?
Claims 2-8 depend on claim 1, and claims 10-14 depend on claim 9. Therefore, claims 1-15 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuseya (WO 2021009846) in view of Kobayashi (JP 2001156499).
Annotated Figs. 9-10, Fuseya.
Regarding claim 1, Fuseya teaches, a component mounting apparatus (component mounting machine 10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a mounting nozzle (suction nozzle 66, Fig. 2) configured to hold an electronic component (suction nozzle 66 holds a component, para. [0011]) having a plurality of patterns (barcode 126, Fig. 5, a barcode 126 is attached to a predetermined side 124 of the multiple faces 122 of the part 120,…on its pattern surface based on pattern design information (para. [0020-0024]);
a camera (barcode reader 29, Fig. 6, barcode reader 29 is a CCD-type barcode reader, and the barcode reading operation is performed using a CCD image sensor, para. [0014]) configured to capture an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component (the controller 100 causes the barcode reader 29 to read the barcode 126 attached to the side surface 124 of the part 120, which is stopped at the reference position P, para. [0047]);
a movement mechanism configured to move the mounting nozzle between a location where capturing of the image by the camera is performed and a component mounting location (after the part 120 is held by the suction nozzle 66, the operation of the work head moving device 64 causes the suction nozzle 66 to move to the side of the barcode reader 29, so that the barcode 126 attached to the side surface 124 of the part 120 is read by the barcode reader 29, para. [0021]); and
a controller (controller 100) configured to control the mounting nozzle and the movement mechanism, wherein the controller is further configured to
store positional relationship information indicating positional relationship based on the pattern design information between a position of a registration pattern representative point identified by at least one registration pattern selected from the plurality of patterns on the pattern surface and a position of a positioning reference point on which positioning of the electronic component at the component mounting location for mounting is based, acquire an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component, which is captured by the camera, analyze the image to obtain the position of the registration pattern representative point (the barcode 126 is captured by the barcode reader 29 and the captured data is decoded by the image processing device 106, the controller 100 obtains the ID of the part 120 and stores that ID as traceability information…the controller 100 can obtain, for example, the orientation of the side surface 124 with the barcode 126 attached to the component 120 placed on the tray 88, that is, the orientation of the side surface 124 (barcode 126) when it is held by the suction nozzle 66, from the position information 114 in the memory 112., para. [0021-0023], the component 120 moves above the circuit board 12, and is mounted on the circuit board 12 while correcting for errors in the holding position of the circuit board 12 and the holding position of the component 120, para. [0036]), and
position the positioning reference point obtained from the position of the registration pattern representative point resulting from the analysis of the image and the positional relationship information at a target position at the component mounting location to mount the electronic component (if the orientation of the side surface 124, barcode 126 does not match for all parts 120, the position information 114 of the memory 112 stores the orientation of the side surface 124 and the reference angle θ1 of the part 120 in association with the position of the part 120 placed on the tray 88. Therefore, in such cases, each time the component 120 is held by the suction nozzle 66, the reference angle θ1 is obtained from the position information 114 in the memory 112, para. [0046], see the Note below).
Though, Fuseya teaches a CCD image sensor 29 in Fig. 6, Fuseya does not explicitly teach, a camera configured to capture an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component. However, Kobayashi teaches, a component mounting apparatus including a camera (first and second imaging devices 13 and 15, Fig. 3) configured to capture an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component (reference point calculation means 20 is taught to recognize the first recognition pattern P1 from the image data obtained by imaging with the first imaging device 13, using the coordinates (XP1, YP1) of the first recognition pattern P1 that have been pre-registered in the registration means 19, and to calculate the first reference point S1 (XP1, YP1) from each coordinate of this recognition pattern P1 (step #20), para. [0060]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and to replace the CCD image sensor of Fuseya with a imaging devices 13 or 15 as Kobayashi disclosed in Fig. 3 so that it enables simultaneously reading multiple patters from a component during the mounting operation.
Note: A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, see MPEP § 2114. In this instant case, Fuseya teaches the structural limitations as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Fuseya in view of Kobayashi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Kobayashi further teaches, the component mounting apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein a plurality of patterns is registered as the registration pattern, and the at least one registration pattern includes a plurality of registration patterns (see the first and second recognition patterns P1, P2, Fig. 3), and the registration pattern representative point is a geometrical center of the plurality of registration patterns (para. [0007]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and to replace barcode of Fuseya with plurality of patterns as Kobayashi disclosed in Fig. 3 so that it enables simultaneously reading multiple patters from a component during the mounting operation.
Regarding claim 3, Fuseya in view of Kobayashi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Fuseya further teaches, the component mounting apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein a template of a pattern matching area including the registration pattern is stored, and the controller is configured to perform a pattern matching process using the template to the image captured by the camera to obtain the position of the registration pattern representative point based on a result of the pattern matching (when multiple parts 120 are placed on the tray 88, if the orientation of the side surface 124 (barcode 126) does not match for all parts 120, the position information 114 of the memory 112 stores the orientation of the side surface 124 (barcode 126) and the reference angle θ1 of the part 120 in association with the position of the part 120 placed on the tray 88. Therefore, in such cases, each time the component 120 is held by the suction nozzle 66, the reference angle θ1 is obtained from the position information 114 in the memory 112, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Fuseya does not teach, a display configured to display the image captured by the camera. However, Kobayashi further teaches, a component mounter in which, the component mounting apparatus according to Claim 1, further comprising: a display configured to display the image captured by the camera (bonding control unit 18 receives image data of the substrate 1 from the image
processing unit 16 and displays the image on a display device such as a CRT display, para. [0043]); and an input configured to select at least one pattern from the plurality of patterns in the image displayed in the display as the registration pattern in accordance with an operation by a user, wherein the controller is further configured to display the image captured by the camera in the display, and store the pattern selected in accordance with the operation with the input as the registration pattern (when the operator determines the first reference point S1 shown in Figure 3 from the wiring patterns and marks formed on the surface of the substrate 1 through operation on this display screen (Step #1), the registration means 19 is taught to extract and register the pattern image data of the region including the first reference point S1 from the image data, para. [0043]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and include a display so that the display enables presenting the images to an operator as Kobayashi disclosed in para. [0045].
Regarding claim 6, Fuseya in view of Kobayashi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Fuseya further teaches, the component mounting apparatus according to Claim 2, wherein a template of a pattern matching area (barcode 126 is attached to a predetermined side surface 124 among a plurality of surfaces 122 of the part 120, para. [0021]) including the registration pattern is stored, and the controller is configured to perform a pattern matching process using the template to the image captured by the camera to obtain the position of the registration pattern representative point based on a result of the pattern matching (see Figs. 8 and 9, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi further teaches, the component mounting apparatus according to Claim 2, further comprising: a display configured to display the image captured by the camera (bonding control unit 18 receives image data of the substrate 1 from the image processing unit 16 and displays the image on a display device such as a CRT display, para. [0043]); and an input configured to select at least one pattern from the plurality of patterns in the image displayed in the display as the registration pattern in accordance with an operation by a user, wherein the controller is further configured to display the image captured by the camera in the display, and store the pattern selected in accordance with the operation with the input as the registration pattern (para. [0045]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and include a display so that the display enables presenting the images to an operator.
Regarding claim 9, Fuseya teaches, a component mounting method comprising: acquiring in advance positional relationship information indicating positional relationship based on pattern design information between a position of a registration pattern representative point identified by at least one registration pattern selected from a plurality of patterns on a pattern surface of an electronic component based on the pattern design information and a position of a positioning reference point on which positioning of the electronic component at a component mounting location for mounting is based (the barcode 126 is captured by the barcode reader 29 and the captured data is decoded by the image processing device 106, the controller 100 obtains the ID of the part 120 and stores that ID as traceability information…the controller 100 can obtain, for example, the orientation of the side surface 124 with the barcode 126 attached to the component 120 placed on the tray 88, that is, the orientation of the side surface 124 (barcode 126) when it is held by the suction nozzle 66, from the position information 114 in the memory 112., para. [0021-0023], the component 120 moves above the circuit board 12, and is mounted on the circuit board 12 while correcting for errors in the holding position of the circuit board 12 and the holding position of the component 120, para. [0036]);
holding the electronic component with a mounting nozzle (suction nozzle 66, Fig. 2); acquiring an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component held with the mounting nozzle (barcode 126, Fig. 5, a barcode 126 is attached to a predetermined side 124 of the multiple faces 122 of the part 120,…on its pattern surface based on pattern design information (para. [0020-0024]); analyzing the image to obtain the position of the registration pattern representative point; and positioning the positioning reference point obtained from the position of the registration pattern representative point resulting from the analysis of the image and the positional relationship information at a target position at the component mounting location to mount the electronic component (para, 0021-0023, 0036]).
Though, Fuseya teaches a CCD image sensor 29 in Fig. 6, Fuseya does not explicitly teach, a camera configured to capture an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component. However, Kobayashi teaches, a component mounting apparatus including a camera (first and second imaging devices 13 and 15, Fig. 3) configured to capture an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component (reference point calculation means 20 is taught to recognize the first recognition pattern P1 from the image data obtained by imaging with the first imaging device 13, using the coordinates (XP1, YP1) of the first recognition pattern P1 that have been pre-registered in the registration means 19, and to calculate the first reference point S1 (XP1, YP1) from each coordinate of this recognition pattern P1 (step #20), para. [0060]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and to replace the CCD image sensor of Fuseya with an imaging device 13 or 15 as Kobayashi disclosed in Fig. 3 so that it enables simultaneously reading multiple patters from a component during the mounting operation.
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi further teaches, the component mounting method according to Claim 9, wherein a plurality of patterns is registered as the registration pattern, and the at least one registration pattern includes a plurality of registration patterns (see the first and second recognition patterns P1, P2, Fig. 3), and the registration pattern representative point is a geometrical center of the plurality of registration patterns (para. [0007]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and to replace barcode of Fuseya with plurality of patterns as Kobayashi disclosed in Fig. 3 so that it enables simultaneously reading multiple patters from a component during the mounting operation.
Regarding claim 11, Fuseya in view of Kobayashi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 9. Fuseya further teaches, the component mounting method according to Claim 9, wherein a template of a pattern matching area including the registration pattern is stored, and the controller is configured to perform a pattern matching process using the template to the image captured by the camera to obtain the position of the registration pattern representative point based on a result of the pattern matching (when multiple parts 120 are placed on the tray 88, if the orientation of the side surface 124 (barcode 126) does not match for all parts 120, the position information 114 of the memory 112 stores the orientation of the side surface 124 (barcode 126) and the reference angle θ1 of the part 120 in association with the position of the part 120 placed on the tray 88. Therefore, in such cases, each time the component 120 is held by the suction nozzle 66, the reference angle θ1 is obtained from the position information 114 in the memory 112, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 12, Fuseya in view of Kobayashi teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 10. Fuseya further teaches, the component mounting method according to Claim 10, wherein in obtaining of the position of the registration pattern representative point, a pattern matching process is performed to the acquired image using a template that is prepared in advance to obtain the position of the registration pattern representative point based on a result of the pattern matching (Figs. 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi further teaches, the component mounting method according to Claim 9, wherein a user selects at least one pattern from the plurality of patterns on the pattern surface as the registration pattern, and wherein the positional relationship information between the position of the registration pattern representative point resulting from the analysis of the image and the position of the positioning reference point is obtained using the pattern design information (when the operator determines the first reference point S1 shown in Figure 3 from the wiring patterns and marks formed on the surface of the substrate 1 through operation on this display screen (Step #1), the registration means 19 is taught to extract and register the pattern image data of the region including the first reference point S1 from the image data, para. [0043]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and include a display so that the display enables presenting the images to an operator.
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi further teaches, the component mounting method according to Claim 10, wherein a user selects at least one pattern from the plurality of patterns on the pattern surface as the registration pattern, and wherein the positional relationship information between the position of the registration pattern representative point resulting from the analysis of the image and the position of the positioning reference point is obtained using the pattern design information (para. [0043]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and include a display so that the display enables presenting the images to an operator.
Regarding claim 15, Fuseya teaches, a positional relationship information acquiring method comprising: acquiring an image of a pattern surface having a plurality of patterns thereon of an electronic component; calculating a position of a registration pattern representative point based on pattern design information that defines shapes and positions of the plurality of patterns on the pattern surface and the information for identifying the registration pattern; calculating positional relationship between a positioning reference point on which positioning to a target position where the electronic component is to be mounted is based and the position of the registration pattern representative point based on the pattern design information; and acquiring and storing positional relationship information between the positioning reference point and the registration pattern representative point (the barcode 126 is captured by the barcode reader 29 and the captured data is decoded by the image processing device 106, the controller 100 obtains the ID of the part 120 and stores that ID as traceability information…the controller 100 can obtain, for example, the orientation of the side surface 124 with the barcode 126 attached to the component 120 placed on the tray 88, that is, the orientation of the side surface 124 (barcode 126) when it is held by the suction nozzle 66, from the position information 114 in the memory 112., para. [0021-0023], the component 120 moves above the circuit board 12, and is mounted on the circuit board 12 while correcting for errors in the holding position of the circuit board 12 and the holding position of the component 120, para. [0036]).
Fuseya does not teach, displaying the image to cause a user to select a registration pattern from the plurality of patterns. However, Kobashi teaches, a component mounter, in which, displaying the image to cause a user to select a registration pattern from the plurality of patterns and to cause the user to specify a pattern matching area including some patterns in the plurality of patterns; storing information for identifying the registration pattern selected by the user and information for identifying the pattern matching area specified by the user (when the operator determines the first reference point S1 shown in Figure 3 from the wiring patterns and marks formed on the surface of the substrate 1 through operation on this display screen (Step #1), the registration means 19 is taught to extract and register the pattern image data of the region including the first reference point S1 from the image data, para. [0043]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Kobayashi, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component mounting apparatus of Fuseya and include a display so that the display enables presenting the images to an operator as Kobayashi disclosed in para. [0045].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claims 5 and 8 would be allowable for disclosing, a component mounting apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to store a frequently appearing pattern, among the plurality of patterns on the pattern surface, and the controller is configured to display the frequently appearing pattern in the display such that the frequently appearing pattern is discriminated from the other patterns to display the image captured by the camera in the display.
Though, prior art of records Fuseya teaches a controller configured to store a pattern among the plurality of patterns on the pattern surface, Fuseya fails to teach, the controller is configured to display the frequently appearing pattern in the display such that the frequently appearing pattern is discriminated from the other patterns to display the image captured by the camera in the display.
Prior art of record Kobayashi does not teach, the controller is configured to display the frequently appearing pattern in the display such that the frequently appearing pattern is discriminated from the other patterns to display the image captured by the camera in the display.
Therefore, claims 5 and 8 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Abe (US 20090121337) teaches, a component mounting apparatus comprising: a mounting nozzle configured to hold an electronic component having a plurality of patterns on its pattern surface based on pattern design information; a camera configured to capture an image of the pattern surface of the electronic component; a movement mechanism configured to move the mounting nozzle; and a controller configured to control the mounting nozzle and the movement mechanism, and to store positional relationship information indicating positional relationship based on the pattern design information between a position of a registration pattern representative point identified by at least one registration pattern selected from the plurality of patterns on the pattern surface and a position of a positioning reference point.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729