Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to a Restriction Requirement having a notification date of January 6, 2026 (“Restriction Requirement”). Following the Restriction Requirement, Applicant filed an amendment on March 5, 2026 (the “Amendment”), amending claims 1-7; canceling claims 9-19; and adding new claims 20-30.
However, the numbering of the claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126, which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented. See MPEP 608.01(j). Because Applicant is attempting to present a new claim 20 in place of original claim 20, the Examiner will assume Applicant intended to cancel original claim 20 and instead present new claim 21. In this regard, newly submitted claims 20-30 will be renumbered as claims 21-31.
Therefore, the present non-final Office Action addresses pending claims 1-8 and 21-31 in the Amendment.
Election/Restrictions
Upon further consideration and based on the substantial amendments to the claims, the restriction requirement is withdrawn and all pending claims will be examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 4, it appears that "input the" should be changed to --input, the--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 27 recite "clinically meaningful" physiologic outputs. The original specifically does not provide any disclosure regarding physiologic outputs being "clinically meaningful."
Claims 1 and 27 recite "classifying user-entered inputs with respect to the monitoring period into period-level inputs that pertain to the entire monitoring period or event-level inputs which pertain to a time-sensitive event within the monitoring period. The original specification does not support these limitations.
Claims 1 and 27 recite "synchronize the user-entered inputs with the time-stamped physiologic information by executing different synchronization operations for the period-level inputs and the event-level inputs, including associating each period-level input with a monitoring-period segment of a linear timeline and associating each event-level input with an event time position on the linear timeline." While [0031] generally discusses how a patient's note/comment can be synchronized to a chosen time period, all of the above limitations are not supported.
Claims 1 and 27 recite generate a dataset by transforming the time-stamped physiologic information and the classified user-entered inputs into a unified temporal data structure indexed according to the linear timeline." The original specification does not support these limitations.
Claims 1 and 27 recite "update, in real time or near real time, the dataset by incorporating newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs into the unified temporal data structure." The original specification does not support these limitations.
Claim 4 recites "wherein the user-entered temporal reference comprises a relative-time indication that causes association of the at least one user-entered input with a different monitoring period segment than would be selected based solely on the time-stamping of the at least one user-entered input the different monitoring-period segment corresponding to a time interval in advance of an anticipated event during the monitoring period." The original specification does not support these limitations.
Claim 5 recites "applying a statistical model to the dataset comprising the synchronized user-entered inputs and the time-stamped physiologic information to generate a recommendation for therapy adjustment based on at least one temporal association on the linear timeline, and displaying the recommendation on the linear timeline as a clinician-reviewable annotation." While [0033] of the specification generally discloses using a statistical/ML/AI algorithm to generate a recommendation for therapy adjustment based on an outcome association or prediction, the specification does not support all of the above limitations (e.g., including the applying the model to the synchronized inputs and physiologic information, the recommendation being based on a temporal association, etc.).
Claim 6 recites "transforming the time-stamped physiologic information by aligning the time-stamped physiologic information to the linear timeline for the monitoring period such that physiologic values are mapped to positions on the linear timeline for rendering and elastic zoom; wherein aligning the time-stamped physiologic information to the linear timeline comprises, responsive to a selected timeframe of the elastic zoom, performing computational data reduction to generate a reduced rendering dataset that includes physiologic information and synchronized user-entered inputs associated with the selected timeframe." While [0026] generally discloses how "data reduction is desirable," [0030]-[0031] generically recite use of "elastic zoom to view collected patient data over different time frames, and Figures 5-6 of the specification disclose a linear timeline, the Examiner cannot identify all of the above limitations (e.g., including the transforming, aligning, mapping, reduced rendering dataset, etc.)
Claim 7 recites how the "the at least two clinicians … receive in actual time or near-real time updates to the integrated visualization as newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs are incorporated into the unified temporal data structure." While [0023] of the specification discloses how a patient's data can be displayed to multiple clinicians simultaneously to allow collaboration, the original specification does not appear to support such clinicians receiving real-time updates as newly received newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs are incorporated into a unified temporal data structure.
Claim 21 recites "wherein the at least two clinicians collaborate by entering clinician-entered inputs corresponding to a therapy modification and continuing to update the linear timeline with time-stamped physiologic data after entry of the therapy modification input to evaluate an effect of the therapy modification; wherein the clinician-entered inputs of each clinician are displayed on the linear timeline using visually distinguishable icons that are distinguishable among the at least two clinicians by at least one of icon shape, icon color, or vertical position on the linear timeline." While [0033] discloses how an event and/or a category or time point or time period can continue to be tracked in real time during the collaboration of clinicians to monitor the effect of the treatment or therapy alteration and [0009] discloses how clinician-entered comments can be associated with different icons, all of the above limitations cannot be found and are not supported.
Claims 22 and 30 recite "assigning a patient unique identifier to each patient and maintaining a patient record indexed by the patient unique identifier such that entries associated with the patient are stored under the patient record without assigning a different patient unique identifier to the patient record, and generating a summary report, the summary report identifying each patient by the respective patient unique identifier and comprising quantified changes in patient parameters for a specified time period." While [0009], [0029], and [0031] of the specification generally disclose how the patient can be assigned a unique identifier for login and leaving notes/comments, all of the above limitations cannot be found (e.g., including maintaining a patient record indexed by the identifier such that entries associated with the patient are stored under the patient record without assigning a different patient unique identifier to the patient record, and generating a summary report, the summary report identifying each patient by the respective patient unique identifier and comprising quantified changes in patient parameters for a specified time period).
Claim 25 recites "in response to detecting satisfaction of the threshold rule, generating an event notification that causes a patient interface of a patient device to present a control for initiating a real-time synchronous voice communication session between the patient and a clinician or clinical staff member, and recording an occurrence of the real-time synchronous voice communication session." Wile [0029] generally discloses how a patient can press a button on the mobile app 20 to be instantly connected for a voice communication, the specification does not appear to support doing so " in response to detecting satisfaction of the threshold rule."
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency from one of the above rejected claims.
Claims 1-7 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term "clinically-meaningful" in claims 1 and 27 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “clinically-meaningful” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The end of the second to last paragraph of each of independent claims 1 and 27 recites how the physiologic information and user-entered inputs are concurrently displayed "on a common" which is not understood as it appears the end of this line is missing a noun. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will assume these items are displayed on a common "area."
Furthermore, the last paragraph of each of independent claims 1 and 27 appears to be missing words thus rendering the scope unclear. It is recommended that Applicant amends this paragraph as follows: --wherein the linear timeline displays the time-stamped physiologic information as graphed physiologic outputs and displays the user-entered inputs as selectable icons positioned along the linear timeline to establish a visual relationship between each user-entered input and a corresponding time position, and to visually correlate the user-entered inputs with the graphed physiologic outputs over the displayed timeframe.--
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the unique identifier" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites "wherein the computing device is configured to electronically transmit processor is further configured to automatically generate…" which is nonsensical. The Examiner will assume this reads --wherein the processor of the computing device is further configured to automatically generate-- for purposes of examination.
Claims 2-7 and 22-31 are rejected based on their dependency from one of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more:
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Step 1:
Claims 1-8 and 21-26 are directed to a method (i.e., a process) and claims 27-31 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine). Accordingly, claims 1-8 and 21-31 are all within at least one of the four statutory categories. 35 USC §101.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (which collectively includes the guidance in the January 7, 2019 Federal Register notice and the October 2019 and July 2024 updates issued by the USPTO as incorporated into the MPEP, as supported by relevant case law), the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Independent claim 8 includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 8 recites:
A method of operating a communication network, the communication network comprising a plurality of network equipment, the method comprising:
monitoring a physiologic event of a patient in an actual time;
obtaining a sleep data of the patient in an actual time;
displaying the sleep data and the physiologic event of the patient simultaneously on the plurality of network equipment;
transmitting in actual time the sleep data and the physiologic event to the communication network so that at least two remotely located care givers can view the sleep data and the physiologic event on the plurality of network equipment in actual time; and
adjusting a therapy for the patient based on the physiologic event.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations recite “mental processes” because they are observations/evaluations/judgments/analyses that can, at the currently claimed high level of generality, be practically performed in the human mind (e.g., with pen and paper). As an example, a medical professional could readily monitor a physiologic event of a patient in real time (e.g., elevated heart rate readings, BG readings, etc.) and adjust therapy for the patient based on the physiologic event (e.g., determine that the patient should increase water consumption, increased an administered dose of insulin, etc.). These recitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are similar to how the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in the claims were characterized to be "mental processes" in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQe2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Furthermore, independent claim 27 (also representative of independent claim 1) includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 27 recites:
A system for synchronizing physiologic monitoring information for display, the system comprising:
at least one physiologic monitoring device configured to acquire physiologic data of at least one patient during a monitoring period;
a communication network configured to transmit at least one of the physiologic data or a user-entered input;
a data storage device coupled to a computing device; and
the computing device comprising at least one processor, a monitor, memory storing software, the software configured to:
receive, by one or more processors, physiologic data generated by at least one physiologic monitoring device associated with at least one patient during a monitoring period;
process the physiologic data to generate one or more clinically meaningful physiologic outputs, and associating timestamp information with at least one of the physiologic data or the one or more clinically meaningful physiologic outputs to generate time-stamped physiologic information;
receive user-entered inputs, each user-entered input comprising at least one annotation, and time-stamping the user-entered inputs;
classify user-entered inputs with respect to the monitoring period into period-level inputs that pertain to the entire monitoring period or event-level inputs which pertain to a time-sensitive event within the monitoring period;
synchronize the user-entered inputs with the time-stamped physiologic information by executing different synchronization operations for the period-level inputs and the event-level inputs, including associating each period-level input with a monitoring-period segment of a linear timeline and associating each event-level input with an event time position on the linear timeline;
generate a dataset by transforming the time-stamped physiologic information and the classified user-entered inputs into a unified temporal data structure indexed according to the linear timeline;
update, in real time or near real time, the dataset by incorporating newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs into the unified temporal data structure; and
render for display, based on the dataset, an integrated visualization in the form of a linear timeline, wherein the linear timeline displays the synchronized user-entered inputs, the time-stamped physiologic information and selectable icons representing the synchronized user-entered inputs positioned according to the synchronizing;
wherein rendering comprises elastic zoom of the linear timeline to selectively increase or decrease a displayed timeframe; wherein the linear timeline concurrently displays the time-stamped physiologic information and the selectable icons representing the synchronized user-entered inputs on a common;
wherein the linear timeline displays the time-stamped physiologic information as graphed physiologic outputs and displays the user-entered inputs as selectable icons positioned along the linear timeline establish a visual relationship between each user-entered input and a corresponding time position, to visually correlate the user-entered inputs with the graphed physiologic outputs over the displayed timeframe.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations recite “mental processes” because they are observations/evaluations/judgments/analyses that can, at the currently claimed high level of generality, be practically performed in the human mind (e.g., with pen and paper). As an example, a medical professional could synchronize physiologic monitoring information (e.g., heart rate, temperature, BG levels, sleep data, etc. over time) via processing the physiologic data to generate one or more clinically meaningful physiologic outputs (e.g., total sleep time, average BG level, etc.), associating timestamp information (e.g., date, time) with at least one of the physiologic data or the one or more clinically meaningful physiologic outputs to generate time-stamped physiologic information; time-stamping user-entered inputs including annotations/comments/etc. regarding the physiologic data and/or outputs; classifying user-entered inputs with respect to the monitoring period into period-level inputs that pertain to the entire monitoring period or event-level inputs which pertain to a time-sensitive event within the monitoring period (e.g., based on timestamps); synchronizing the user-entered inputs with the time-stamped physiologic information by executing different synchronization operations for the period-level inputs and the event-level inputs, including associating each period-level input with a monitoring-period segment of a linear timeline and associating each event-level input with an event time position on the linear timeline (e.g. via indicating on paper that each period level input is associated with a particular monitoring-period segment of a linear timeline and indicating that each event-level input is associated with an event time position of the linear timeline); generating a dataset by transforming the time-stamped physiologic information and the classified user-entered inputs into a unified temporal data structure indexed according to the linear timeline (e.g., via writing down and associating time-stamped physiologic information and corresponding classified user-entered inputs into a table or the like); updating in near real time the dataset by incorporating newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs into the unified temporal data structure (e.g., adding it to the above table); and rendering for display, based on the dataset, an integrated visualization in the form of a linear timeline, that displays the synchronized user-entered inputs, the time-stamped physiologic information and icons representing the synchronized user-entered inputs positioned according to the synchronizing on a common area so as to establish a visual relationship between each user-entered input and a corresponding time position, to visually correlate the user-entered inputs with the graphed physiologic outputs over the displayed timeframe (e.g. via sketching a timeline of the physiologic data and/or outputs over time and providing text or a marker/symbol representing the inputs at appropriate positions on the timeline). The Examiner notes that there is no minimum number or quantity of physiologic data, meaningful outputs, or user-entered inputs such that a person could readily perform all of the above-noted limitations in their mind with pen and paper. These recitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are similar to how the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in the claims were characterized to be "mental processes" in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQe2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-7, 21-24, 28, 30, and 31 further define the at least one abstract idea (and thus fail to make the abstract idea any less abstract) as set forth below:
-Claim 2 recites how the user-entered inputs comprise patient-centered inputs and clinician-entered inputs, and how the rendering for display comprises displaying icons representing the clinician-entered inputs in a manner visually distinguishable from selectable icons representing the patient-entered inputs which just further defines the mentally-performable steps discussed previously.
-Claim 3 recites how the synchronizing further comprises selecting, based on a user-entered temporal reference included in at least one user-entered input, a monitoring period segment of the linear timeline for association with the at least one user-entered input. A person could readily perform such selecting in their mind ("mental processes").
-Claim 4 recites how the user-entered temporal reference comprises a relative-time indication that causes association of the at least one user-entered input with a different monitoring period segment than would be selected based solely on the time-stamping of the at least one user-entered input the different monitoring-period segment corresponding to a time interval in advance of an anticipated event during the monitoring period which again just further defines the mentally-performable steps discussed previously.
-Claim 5 calls for applying a statistical model to the dataset comprising the synchronized user-entered inputs and the time-stamped physiologic information to generate a recommendation for therapy adjustment based on at least one temporal association on the linear timeline, and displaying the recommendation on the linear timeline as a clinician-reviewable annotation. These steps are practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper at such high level of generality.
-Claim 6 calls for transforming the time-stamped physiologic information by aligning the time-stamped physiologic information to the linear timeline for the monitoring period such that physiologic values are mapped to positions on the linear timeline for rendering; wherein aligning the time-stamped physiologic information to the linear timeline comprises performing computational data reduction to generate a reduced rendering dataset that includes physiologic information and synchronized user-entered inputs associated with the selected timeframe. A person could practically in their mind with pen and paper filter/reduce the data/inputs to generate a reduced dataset and update the timeline to align the time-stamped physiologic information to corresponding portions on the timeline.
-Claim 7 recites how the user-entered inputs comprise clinician-entered inputs entered by at least two clinicians which just further defines the mental processes discussed above. This claim further calls for enabling the at least two clinicians to collaborate using the integrated visualization; wherein enabling the at least two clinicians to collaborate comprises providing the integrated visualization to the at least two clinicians such that the at least two clinicians concurrently view the linear timeline and receive in actual time or near-real time updates to the integrated visualization as newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs are incorporated into the unified temporal data structure. These limitations amount to "certain methods of organizing human activity" because they relate to managing relationships/interactions between people (e.g., following rules/instructions).
-Claim 21 recites how the at least two clinicians collaborate by entering clinician-entered inputs corresponding to a therapy modification and continuing to update the linear timeline with time-stamped physiologic data after entry of the therapy modification input to evaluate an effect of the therapy modification; wherein the clinician-entered inputs of each clinician are displayed on the linear timeline using visually distinguishable icons that are distinguishable among the at least two clinicians by at least one of icon shape, icon color, or vertical position on the linear timeline. Allowing the clinicians to collaborate via entering therapy modification inputs amounts to "certain methods of organizing human activity" because they relate to managing relationships/interactions between people (e.g., following rules/instructions) while continuing to update the timeline and displaying the inputs via visually distinguishable icons/symbols is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper ("mental processes").
-Claim 22 calls for assigning a patient unique identifier to each patient and generating a summary report identifying each patient by a respective patient unique identifier and comprising quantified changes in patient parameters for a specified time period which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper ("mental processes").
-Claim 23 calls for displaying an average and a standard deviation over a displayed timeframe for a selected physiologic variable which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper ("mental processes").
-Claim 24 calls for receiving or defining a threshold value for a selected physiologic output, applying a threshold rule to the selected physiologic output, and detecting satisfaction of the threshold rule when the selected physiologic output satisfies the threshold value, wherein detecting satisfaction of the threshold rule comprises generating a time-stamped event record for display as an indicator associated with the monitoring period. A person can practically perform these steps in his or her mind with pen and paper at such high level of generality ("mental processes").
-Claim 28 calls for analyzing the dataset to detect a predefined monitoring condition and, in response, generate an event notification for display within the integrated visualization. A person can practically perform these steps in his or her mind with pen and paper at such high level of generality ("mental processes").
-Claim 30 calls for creating the unique identifier for each of a plurality of patients and generating a summary report identifying each patient by the respective unique identifier and comprising quantified changes in patient parameters for a specified time period. A person can practically perform these steps in his or her mind with pen and paper at such high level of generality ("mental processes").
-Claim 31 calls for generating, based on recorded monitoring events and recorded occurrences of synchronous communication sessions, a billing record which is practically performable in the human mind with pen and paper ("mental processes").
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted at MPEP §2106.04(II)(A)(2), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.” MPEP §2106.05(I)(A).
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted at least one abstract idea recited in the claim are as follows (where the bolded portions are the “additional limitations” while the underlined portions continue to represent the at least one “abstract idea”):
Independent claim 8:
A method of operating a communication network, the communication network comprising a plurality of network equipment (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f), the method comprising:
monitoring a physiologic event of a patient in an actual time;
obtaining a sleep data of the patient in an actual time (extra-solution activity (data gathering) as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g));
displaying the sleep data and the physiologic event of the patient simultaneously on the plurality of network equipment (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f);
transmitting in actual time the sleep data and the physiologic event to the communication network so that at least two remotely located care givers can view the sleep data and the physiologic event on the plurality of network equipment in actual time (extra-solution activity (data gathering) as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); and
adjusting a therapy for the patient based on the physiologic event.
For the following reasons, the Examiner submits that the above-identified additional limitations, when considered as a whole with the limitations reciting the at least one abstract idea, do not integrate the above-noted at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of operating the communication network comprising a plurality of network equipment and displaying the sleep data and the physiologic event of the patient simultaneously on the plurality of network equipment, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations obtaining a sleep data of the patient in an actual time and transmitting in actual time the sleep data and the physiologic event to the communication network so that at least two remotely located care givers can view the sleep data and the physiologic event on the plurality of network equipment in actual time, the Examiner submits that these additional limitations merely add insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering; selecting data to be manipulated; transmitting data) to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Independent claim 27:
A system for synchronizing physiologic monitoring information for display, the system comprising:
at least one physiologic monitoring device configured to acquire physiologic data of at least one patient during a monitoring period (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
a communication network configured to transmit at least one of the physiologic data or a user-entered input (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
a data storage device coupled to a computing device (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)); and
the computing device comprising at least one processor, a monitor, memory storing software, the software configured to (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)):
receive, by one or more processors, physiologic data generated by at least one physiologic monitoring device associated with at least one patient during a monitoring period (extra-solution activity (data gathering) as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g));
process the physiologic data to generate one or more clinically meaningful physiologic outputs, and associating timestamp information with at least one of the physiologic data or the one or more clinically meaningful physiologic outputs to generate time-stamped physiologic information;
receive user-entered inputs, each user-entered input comprising at least one annotation (extra-solution activity (data gathering) as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), and time-stamping the user-entered inputs;
classify user-entered inputs with respect to the monitoring period into period-level inputs that pertain to the entire monitoring period or event-level inputs which pertain to a time-sensitive event within the monitoring period;
synchronize the user-entered inputs with the time-stamped physiologic information by executing different synchronization operations for the period-level inputs and the event-level inputs, including associating each period-level input with a monitoring-period segment of a linear timeline and associating each event-level input with an event time position on the linear timeline;
generate a dataset by transforming the time-stamped physiologic information and the classified user-entered inputs into a unified temporal data structure indexed according to the linear timeline;
update, in real time or (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) near real time, the dataset by incorporating newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs into the unified temporal data structure; and
render for display, based on the dataset, an integrated visualization in the form of a linear timeline, wherein the linear timeline displays the synchronized user-entered inputs, the time-stamped physiologic information and selectable (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) icons representing the synchronized user-entered inputs positioned according to the synchronizing;
wherein rendering comprises elastic zoom of the linear timeline to selectively increase or decrease a displayed timeframe (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f)); wherein the linear timeline concurrently displays the time-stamped physiologic information and the selectable icons representing the synchronized user-entered inputs on a common;
wherein the linear timeline displays the time-stamped physiologic information as graphed physiologic outputs and displays the user-entered inputs as selectable icons (using computers or machinery as mere tools to perform the abstract idea as noted below, see MPEP § 2106.05(f))positioned along the linear timeline establish a visual relationship between each user-entered input and a corresponding time position, to visually correlate the user-entered inputs with the graphed physiologic outputs over the displayed timeframe.
For the following reasons, the Examiner submits that the above-identified additional limitations, when considered as a whole with the limitations reciting the at least one abstract idea, do not integrate the above-noted at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of the system including physiologic monitoring device; communication network; data storage device; and computing device including processor, monitor, memory, and software; the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations receiving physiologic data during a monitoring period and receiving user-entered inputs including an annotation, the Examiner submits that these additional limitations merely add insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering; selecting data to be manipulated) to the at least one abstract idea in a manner that does not meaningfully limit the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the additional limitations of the updating occurring in "real time," the icons being "selectable," and the elastic zoom of the linear timeline to selectively increase or decrease a displayed timeframe, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, looking at the additional limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. MPEP §2106.05(I)(A) and §2106.04(II)(A)(2).
For these reasons, independent claims 1, 8, and 27 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, independent claims 1, 8, and 27 are directed to at least one abstract idea.
The remaining dependent claim limitations not addressed above fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as set forth below:
-Claim 6 calls for elastic zoom which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
-Claim 22 recites how patient entries for a patient are stored under the same patient unique identifier which merely represents insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
-Claim 23 recites how the rendering for display further comprises providing a selectable list of physiologic variables to toggle respective graphed physiologic outputs on or off which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
-Claim 25 calls for generating an event notification that causes a patient interface of a patient device to present a control for initiating a real-time synchronous voice communication session between the patient and a clinician or clinical staff member which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). This claim also calls for recording an occurrence of the real-time synchronous voice communication session which merely represents insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
-Claim 26 calls for receiving, from a clinician, access-control settings that restrict at least one physiologic output from being displayed on a patient device, and transmitting at least one of the time-stamped physiologic information, the synchronized user-entered inputs, the dataset, or the integrated visualization over a communication network using encryption which merely represents insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
-Claim 28 recites how the communication network comprises encryption and decryption equipment which does no more than generally link use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use without adding an inventive concept to the abstract idea or altering how the abstract idea is carried out (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
-Claim 29 recites how the communication network comprises a voice communication network which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). This claim also calls for causing a patient interface to present a selectable control for initiating a real-time synchronous voice communication session via the communication network which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Finally, this claim calls for recording an occurrence of the communication session which merely represents insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
-Claim 30 recites how the computing device is communicatively coupled to the communication network via at least one network interface which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
When the above additional limitations are considered as a whole along with the limitations directed to the at least one abstract idea, the at least one abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to at least one abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, independent claims 1, 8, and 27 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of operating the communication network comprising a plurality of network equipment and displaying the sleep data and the physiologic event of the patient simultaneously on the plurality of network equipment, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations directed to obtaining a sleep data of the patient in an actual time and transmitting in actual time the sleep data and the physiologic event to the communication network so that at least two remotely located care givers can view the sleep data and the physiologic event on the plurality of network equipment in actual time which the Examiner submits merely add insignificant extra-solution activity as noted above (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)), the Examiner has reevaluated such limitations and determined such limitations to not be unconventional as they merely consist of receiving/transmitting data over a network. See Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2016); See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Regarding the additional limitations of the system including physiologic monitoring device; communication network; data storage device; and computing device including processor, monitor, memory, and software; the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations of the updating occurring in "real time," the icons being "selectable," and the elastic zoom of the linear timeline to selectively increase or decrease a displayed timeframe, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations directed to receiving physiologic data during a monitoring period and receiving user-entered inputs including an annotation which the Examiner submits merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as discussed above, the Examiner has reevaluated such limitations and determined such limitations to not be unconventional as they merely consist of receiving/transmitting data over a network. See Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2016); See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
The dependent claims also do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
-Claim 6 calls for elastic zoom which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
-Claim 22 recites how patient entries for a patient are stored under the same patient unique identifier which merely represents insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Furthermore, the Examiner has reevaluated such limitations and determined such limitations to not be unconventional as they merely consist of storing data in memory (See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015)) and/or updating an activity log (See Ultramercial Inc. v. Hulu LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1754 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
-Claim 23 recites how the rendering for display further comprises providing a selectable list of physiologic variables to toggle respective graphed physiologic outputs on or off which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
-Claim 25 calls for generating an event notification that causes a patient interface of a patient device to present a control for initiating a real-time synchronous voice communication session between the patient and a clinician or clinical staff member which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). This claim also calls for recording an occurrence of the real-time synchronous voice communication session which merely represents insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Furthermore, the Examiner has reevaluated this limitation and determined it to not be unconventional as it merely consists of storing data in memory (See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015)) and/or updating an activity log (See Ultramercial Inc. v. Hulu LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1754 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
-Claim 26 calls for receiving, from a clinician, access-control settings that restrict at least one physiologic output from being displayed on a patient device, and transmitting at least one of the time-stamped physiologic information, the synchronized user-entered inputs, the dataset, or the integrated visualization over a communication network using encryption which merely represents insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Furthermore, the Examiner has reevaluated such limitations and determined such limitations to not be unconventional as they merely consist of receiving/transmitting data over a network. See Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2016); See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
-Claim 28 recites how the communication network comprises encryption and decryption equipment which does no more than generally link use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use without adding an inventive concept to the abstract idea or altering how the abstract idea is carried out (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
-Claim 29 recites how the communication network comprises a voice communication network which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). This claim also calls for causing a patient interface to present a selectable control for initiating a real-time synchronous voice communication session via the communication network which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Finally, this claim calls for recording an occurrence of the communication session which merely represents insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) and just consists of storing data in memory (See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015)) and/or updating an activity log (See Ultramercial Inc. v. Hulu LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1754 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
-Claim 30 recites how the computing device is communicatively coupled to the communication network via at least one network interface which amounts to merely using a computer or other machinery as tools performing their typical functionality in conjunction with performing the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Therefore, claims 1-8 and 21-31 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0302539 to Mazar et al. ("Mazar"):
Regarding claim 8, Mazar discloses a method of operating a communication network, the communication network comprising a plurality of network equipment (Figure 1 illustrates various network equipment in a communication network), the method comprising:
monitoring a physiologic event of a patient in an actual time ([0031]-[0034] disclose monitoring patient data such as heart rate, BG levels, body temperature and detecting alarm states in actual/real-time per [0226]);
obtaining a sleep data of the patient in an actual time ([0035] discloses obtaining data from an accelerometer to track the patient's sleep patterns (sleep data) which is necessarily collected/monitored/obtained in the actual time at which it was collected; also, [0055] discusses how a camera can be used to determine whether the patient is awake (sleep data));
displaying the sleep data and the physiologic event of the patient simultaneously on the plurality of network equipment ([0046] discloses determining alarm states when the vital signs and other patient information (which includes the physiologic/sleep data above) falls outside of safe limits and then displaying the alarm states and vital signs/other information that prompted the alarm states (which thus includes the above-noted physiologic/sleep data) on bedside monitor 108; also, [0052] discloses how central server station 114 allows caregiver to also view the alerts/alarms/vital information (which includes the above noted physiologic/sleep data leadings to the alarms as noted above), where the central server station 114 and bedside monitor are in network communication via network 112; furthermore, as the entire purpose of such alerts/alarms is to notify relevant parties quickly/urgently, then such alerts/alarms and the underlying vital/other information (which thus includes the above-noted physiologic/sleep data) is sent in real-time or near real-time such that the information is displayed simultaneously on the central server station 114 and bedside monitor 108 (plurality of network equipment));
transmitting in actual time the sleep data and the physiologic event to the communication network so that at least two remotely located care givers can view the sleep data and the physiologic event on the plurality of network equipment in actual time ([0048], [0052], [0053] disclose how alerts/alarms can be sent to one or more caregivers (remote per [0104], [0225]) which would be over network 112 (Figure 1), where the alerts/alarms include the underlying data as shown at 382 in Figure 3D and [0046], and where the underlying data includes the physiologic/sleep data as noted above; furthermore, as the entire purpose of such alerts/alarms is to notify relevant parties quickly/urgently, then such alerts/alarms and the underlying vital/other information (which thus includes the above-noted physiologic/sleep data) is sent so that the caregivers can view the same in real/actual time or near real/actual time; and
adjusting a therapy for the patient based on the physiologic event ([0010] discloses making adjustments to a patient care based on the information recorded by sensors (which includes data related to the physiologic events as noted above)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"):
Regarding claim 1, Shaanan discloses a computer-implemented method for synchronizing physiologic monitoring information for display ([0077] discloses synchronization of analyte meter data with a database interaction with a user interface (display)), the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, physiologic data generated by at least one physiologic monitoring device associated with at least one patient during a monitoring period ([0051]-[0053] discloses how a mobile device 302 (which includes a processor per [0045]) can implement a user interface that facilitates analyte level (physiologic data) monitoring (of a patient per [0045]) as measured by an analyte meter device (physiologic monitoring device) during a period such as a day, week, etc. ("monitoring period") per [0059]);
processing the physiologic data to generate one or more clinically meaningful physiologic outputs (Figures 6, 9c and [0059], [0067] illustrate/disclose average, lowest, highest analyte levels for the day (processing the physiologic/analyte data to generate "clinically meaningful physiologic outputs"), and associating timestamp information with at least one of the physiologic data or the one or more clinically meaningful physiologic outputs to generate time-stamped physiologic information (Figures 6, 9c and [0059], [0067] illustrate/disclose the physiologic data over a time scale which requires time-stamping of the physiologic data);
receiving user-entered inputs, each user-entered input comprising at least one annotation, and time-stamping the user-entered inputs ([0058], [0073] discloses user input including text/notes (annotations) regarding events/particular health information that occurred at a particular date/time (time-stamping the user-entered inputs));
classifying user-entered inputs with respect to the monitoring period into period-level inputs that pertain to the entire monitoring period ([0073] discloses how a user can add notes (user-entered inputs) associated with tests over a time course such as a day (classify into period-level inputs pertaining to entire monitoring period)) or event-level inputs which pertain to a time-sensitive event within the monitoring period ([0058], [0073] discloses how the notes (user-entered inputs) can be associated with events at a particular date/time (event-level inputs pertaining to a time-sensitive event within the monitoring period));
synchronizing the user-entered inputs with the time-stamped physiologic information by executing different synchronization operations for the period-level inputs and the event-level inputs, including associating each period-level input with a monitoring-period segment of a linear timeline ([0073] discloses how a user can add notes (user-entered inputs) associated with tests over a time course such as a day; such user-entered input would necessarily be associated with the particular day associated with the time course; furthermore, the time course/data is associated with a linear timeline as shown in Figures 6c and 9; still further, there is necessarily some set of instructions/code/algorithm (a "synchronization operation") that associates the "period-level input" with the particular day/time course because the system is computer-implemented) and associating each event-level input with an event time position on the linear timeline (Figure 9 and [0067] illustrates associating tags 920 corresponding to user text/notes with particular event time positions on a linear timeline (associating event-level input with event time position) that includes the time-stamped physiologic information (e.g., glucose level data 901, user steps data 931); furthermore, there is necessarily some set of instructions/code/algorithm (a "synchronization operation") that associates the tags 920 on the timeline of time-stamped physiologic information because the system is computer-implemented);
generating a dataset by transforming the time-stamped physiologic data and the classified user-entered inputs into a unified temporal data structure indexed according to the linear timeline ([0052], [0056], [0057] disclose how the analyte/physiologic data and user-tagged/textual information (which is time-stamped as noted above) is stored in a database; because the analyte/physiologic data and user-tagged/textual information is time-stamped, it would necessarily be indexed according to the linear timeline of the particular day with which it is associated; also, as stored in the database, the information is transformed into a "unified temporal data structure" because it is all stored together in the same database));
updating, in real time or near real time, the dataset by incorporating newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs into the unified temporal data structure (the top left corner of each of Figures 6 and 9c illustrate a "last updated" date/time and also illustrate how data for various days can be selected/presented; therefore, as new physiologic data and user-entered inputs are entered, they are transformed into the above-noted "unified temporal data structure indexed according to the linear timeline" in the database); and
rendering for display, based on the dataset, an integrated visualization in the form of a linear timeline, wherein the linear timeline displays the "synchronized" user-entered inputs, the time-stamped physiologic information and selectable icons representing the "synchronized" user-entered inputs positioned according to the synchronizing ([0053], [0057] discloses how data can be retrieved from the database for display via the user interface while Figures 6, 9c, and [0067] illustrate/disclose how the user interface illustrates the linear timeline displaying the synchronized user-entered inputs (e.g., information in bubble text icon 922), the time-stamped physiologic information (data lines 901, 931) and selectable icons representing the synchronized user-entered inputs positioned according to the synchronizing (tags 920));
wherein rendering comprises … zoom of the linear timeline to selectively increase or decrease a displayed timeframe ([0059] discloses how a user can select the time scale to be a day, week, month, etc. which would necessarily update/zoom the linear timeline in the rendered user interface of Figures 6 and 9c);
wherein the linear timeline concurrently displays the time-stamped physiologic information and the selectable icons representing the synchronized user-entered inputs on a common (per Figures 6 and 9c, the linear timeline concurrently displays the time-stamped physiologic information and the selectable icons representing the synchronized user-entered inputs on a common );
wherein the linear timeline displays the time-stamped physiologic information as graphed physiologic outputs (data lines 901, 931 in Figure 9c) and displays the user-entered inputs as selectable icons positioned along the linear timeline [to] establish a visual relationship between each user-entered input and a corresponding time position, to visually correlate the user-entered inputs with the graphed physiologic outputs over the displayed timeframe (see icons 920 which are selectable per [0067] and are positioned along the timeline to establish a visual relationship between the corresponding user-entered input and a corresponding time position, thereby visually correlating the user-entered inputs with the graphed physiologic outputs over the displayed timeframe).
While Shaanan discloses selecting different time scales per [0059] which would necessarily involve zooming of the linear time to accommodate the selected time scale, Shaanan might be silent regarding zoom being elastic zoom.
Nevertheless, Contractor teaches ([0014], [0018], [0019], [0024]) that it was known in the graphical presentation/user interface art to employ elastic zoom of graphical information in a UI to advantageously enabling non-linear zooming such that the global structure of a graph or map remains available while providing local information within a targeted portion of one or more nodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable elastic zoom in the system of Shaanan as taught by Contractor to advantageously enable non-linear zooming such that the global structure of a graph or map remains available while providing local information within a targeted portion of one or more nodes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Regarding claim 3, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the method of claim 1, further including wherein synchronizing further comprises selecting, based on a user-entered temporal reference included in at least one user-entered input, a monitoring period segment of the linear timeline for association with the at least one user-entered input ([0058], [0073] disclose how a user can make retrievable notes associated with events/particular health information that occurred at a particular date/time which would require the user to somehow indicate to which date/time the note is to apply (user-entered temporal reference); as shown in Figures 6 and 9c, each note is associated with a particular date/time and thus also necessarily some segment of the time scale (e.g., the first icon 920 at 4am is associated with a morning monitoring period segment)).
Regarding claim 6, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the method of claim 1, further including transforming the time-stamped physiologic information by aligning the time-stamped physiologic information to the linear timeline for the monitoring period such that physiologic values are mapped to positions on the linear timeline for rendering and elastic zoom (the above-discussed time-stamped physiologic information of Shaanan are necessarily transformed/alighted to corresponding positions on the linear timeline for rendering (and the elastic zoom per the combination with Contractor) for the monitoring period (e.g., a particular week, etc.) as illustrated by data lines 901, 931 in Figures 6 and 9c of Shaanan); wherein aligning the time-stamped physiologic information to the linear timeline comprises, responsive to a selected timeframe of the elastic zoom, performing computational data reduction to generate a reduced rendering dataset that includes physiologic information and synchronized user-entered inputs associated with the selected timeframe (with reference to Figures 6 and 9c of Shaanan, as a user selects a particular timeframe/monitoring period that is shorter than a current timeframe/monitoring period such that elastic zoom is performed (per the combination with Contractor), a reduced amount of physiologic information and synchronized user-entered inputs associated with the selected timeframe would be utilized to generate the visualization; for instance, in the case where the initial timeframe was a week and the user performed elastic zoom down to a timeframe of a day, only the physiologic information and synchronized user-entered inputs associated with the particular day would be shown which would be a reduced dataset compared to that of the entire week).
Claim 27 is rejected in view of the Shaanan/Contractor combination similar to as discussed above in relation to claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"), and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0042465 to Sakamoto ("Sakamoto"):
Regarding claim 2, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the method of claim 1, further including wherein the user-entered inputs comprise patient-centered inputs and clinician-entered inputs ([0058], [0073] discloses user input including text/notes (annotations) regarding events/particular health information that occurred at a particular date/time (time-stamping the user-entered inputs) while [0006] discloses how the user can include the patient or a healthcare provider/clinician; also, [0067] discloses how the icons 920 can be presented in different colors), and …
However, the Shaanan/Contractor combination might be silent regarding wherein rendering for display comprises displaying selectable icons representing the clinician-entered inputs in a manner visually distinguishable from selectable icons representing the patient-entered inputs.
Nevertheless, Sakamoto teaches that it was known in the user interface art to display icons corresponding to comments/inputs provided by different users in different respective colors (a visually distinguishable manner) to advantageously distinguish which users provided the various different comments/inputs, thereby increasing interpretability of the UI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the selectable icons representing the clinician-entered inputs and the patient-entered inputs of the Shaanan/Contractor combination in a visually distinguishable manner as taught by Sakamoto to advantageously distinguish which users provided the various different comments/inputs, thereby increasing interpretability of the UI. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"), and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2024/0131337 to Srivastava et al. ("Srivastava"):
Regarding claim 5, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the method of claim 1, but appears to be silent regarding applying a statistical model to the dataset comprising the synchronized user-entered inputs and the time-stamped physiologic information to generate a recommendation for therapy adjustment based on at least one temporal association on the linear timeline, and displaying the recommendation on the linear timeline as a clinician-reviewable annotation.
Nevertheless, Srivastava teaches that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to utilize AI ([0052], which is a statistical model) to analyze physiological data correlated with patient feedback/textual input ([0052]) at one or more particular times or over time ([0109], [0112], [0124]), generate personalized treatment objectives/goals ([0109]) or determine therapy adjustments based on the analysis ([0116], where generating therapy objectives/goals/adjustments is "based on a temporal association" between the physiological data and patient feedback/input because it is considering the physiological data and patient feedback/input a particular times or over time, which are necessarily in relation to some "linear timeline"), and communicate the recommendations to a clinician computing device (which would be displayed as an "annotation" reviewable by the clinician). This arrangement advantageously facilitates administration of effective treatments for patients thereby improving patient outcomes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a statistical model to the dataset comprising the synchronized user-entered inputs and the time-stamped physiologic information to generate a recommendation for therapy adjustment based on at least one temporal association on the linear timeline, and displaying the recommendation as a clinician-reviewable annotation (where the displayed UI of Shaanan already includes a linear timeline as discussed previously) similar to as taught by Srivastava to advantageously facilitate administration of effective treatments for patients thereby improving patient outcomes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"), and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2014/0258969 to Brown et al. ("Brown"):
Regarding claim 7, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the method of claim 1, further including wherein the user-entered inputs comprise clinician-entered inputs ([0058], [0073] of Shaanan discloses user input including text/notes (annotations) regarding events/particular health information that occurred at a particular date/time (time-stamping the user-entered inputs) while [0006] discloses how the user can include the healthcare provider/clinician) …
However, the Shaanan/Contractor combination appears to be silent regarding the user-entered inputs being entered by at least two clinicians, and further comprising enabling the at least two clinicians to collaborate using the integrated visualization; wherein enabling the at least two clinicians to collaborate comprises providing the integrated visualization to the at least two clinicians such that the at least two clinicians concurrently view the linear timeline and receive in actual time or near-real time updates to the integrated visualization as newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs are incorporated into the unified temporal data structure.
Nevertheless, Brown teaches (Figures 26-27 and [0305]-[0306]) that it was known in the UI collaboration art for a plurality of users to collaborate on an application by allowing the users to view a linear timeline 2600 on a user interface/visualization at the same time and provide edits that are represented by respective visual indicators/icons 2610. This arrangement would advantageously keep a plurality of users up to date regarding changes/edits to a record in which all of the users have an interest.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the user-entered inputs of the Shaanan/Contractor combination to be entered by at least two users (clinicians as already disclosed by Shaanan as discussed above), and to enable the at least two users/clinicians to collaborate using the integrated visualization via providing the integrated visualization to the at least two clinicians such that the at least two clinicians concurrently view the linear timeline as taught by Brown to advantageously keep a plurality of users/clinicians up to date regarding changes/edits to a record (a patient record in the case of Shaanan) in which all of the users have an interest. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Furthermore, as Shaanan already discloses updating, in real time or near real time, the dataset by incorporating newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs into the unified temporal data structure (the top left corner of each of Figures 6 and 9c illustrate a "last updated" date/time and also illustrate how data for various days can be selected/presented; therefore, as new physiologic data and user-entered inputs are entered, they are transformed into the above-noted "unified temporal data structure indexed according to the linear timeline" in the database), then the clinicians viewing the linear timeline would thus receive in actual time or near-real time updates to the integrated visualization as newly received physiologic data and newly received user-entered inputs are incorporated into the unified temporal data structure.
Claims 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"), and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2010/0223067 to Giles et al. ("Giles"):
Regarding claim 22, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the method of claim 1, further including assigning a patient unique identifier to each patient ([0057] of Shaanan discloses a user ID number which would necessarily be unique relative to other users using the system) and maintaining a patient record ([0049] discloses how the results are stored in a database/data storage medium (maintaining a data record))…, and generating a summary report, the summary report identifying each patient … and comprising quantified changes in patient parameters for a specified time period (Figures 8A-8B and [0064] illustrates/discloses a summary of each patient's health condition including patient parameters for a specified time period (see dates in Figures 8A-8B); also as Figure 8A shows for instance above and below average readings, then such readings are necessarily changes relative to at least some previous readings); furthermore, [0074]-[0075] discloses patient reports including physiologic/analyte levels, steps taken, etc. over a time course and highs/lows, etc. (which necessarily include some "quantified changes")).
However, the Shaanan/Contractor combination appears to be silent regarding the maintained patient record being indexed by the patient unique identifier such that entries associated with the patient are stored under the patient record without assigning a different patient unique identifier to the patient record, and the summary report identifying each patient by the respective patient unique identifier.
Nevertheless, Giles teaches (Figures 1 and [0021]-[0022]) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to maintain a record for a patient (patient record) that includes a unique identifier (e.g., SSN) as well as various types of medical information of the patient (various entries associated with the patient) such that the various entries are stored in the profile/record without assigning a different patient unique identifier to the patient record (i.e., because they are all associated with the same unique identifier), and generate a summary report (e.g., Figure 5a) identifying the patient by the unique identifier (see SSN at top). This arrangement advantageously facilitates identification of a particular patient and thus his or her medical information by referring to a common unique identifier rather than using multiple pieces of identifying information to identify the particular patient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the maintained patient record of the Shaanan/Contractor combination to be indexed by the patient unique identifier such that entries associated with the patient are stored under the patient record without assigning a different patient unique identifier to the patient record and generated a summary report identifying the patient by the unique identifier similar to as taught by Giles to advantageously facilitate identification of a particular patient and thus his or her medical information by referring to a common unique identifier rather than using multiple pieces of identifying information to identify the particular patient. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 30 is rejected in view of the Shaanan/Contractor/Giles combination as discussed above in relation to claim 22.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,127,506 to Jain et al. ("Jain"):
Regarding claim 23, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the method of claim 1, further including wherein rendering for display further comprises providing a selectable list of physiologic variables to toggle respective graphed physiologic outputs on or off ([0006], [0059], [0066] discloses a list of selection buttons for selection of health information (which includes physiologic variables/data as noted in relation to claim 1) to be displayed for the graphical analysis; thus, when a button is selected, the variable is toggled on or off for the graphical analysis (including the physiological outputs such as high, average, low, etc. per Figures 6, 9c, [0059], [0067])) and displaying, for at least one selected physiologic variable, an average ([0059], [0067] disclose average) … over a displayed timeframe (e.g., day as shown in Figures 6, 9c).
However, the Shaanan/Contractor combination appears to be silent regarding displaying a standard deviation.
Nevertheless, Jain teaches (30:65-31:11) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to determine a baseline value for a medical parameter such as physiological measurements (32:6-13) including determining a standard deviation to advantageously provide important information to facilitate earlier and more accurate detection of disease (5:43-63)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also displayed a standard deviation in the system of the Shaanan/Contractor combination as taught by Jain to advantageously provide important information to facilitate earlier and more accurate detection of disease. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Regarding claim 24, the Shaanan/Contractor/Jain combination discloses the method of claim 23, further including receiving or defining a threshold value for a selected physiologic output, applying a threshold rule to the selected physiologic output, and detecting satisfaction of the threshold rule when the selected physiologic output satisfies the threshold value, wherein detecting satisfaction of the threshold rule comprises generating a time-stamped event record for display as an indicator associated with the monitoring period ([0070]-[0072] of Shaanan discloses determining when physiological data reaches corresponding high/target/low range thresholds over a desired date range (monitoring period) and showing/displaying the same to the user based on satisfaction, where such analysis necessarily involves applying a "threshold rule" as the system is computer-implemented; claim 7 discloses generating an alert when the health information exceeds the threshold such as a text message, where a text message necessarily includes a time-stamped record).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor") and U.S. Patent No. 11,127,506 to Jain et al. ("Jain"), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,196 to Newton et al. ("Newton"):
Regarding claim 25, the Shaanan/Contractor/Jain combination discloses the method of claim 24, further including in response to detecting satisfaction of the threshold rule, generating an event notification ([0085] of Shaana discloses sending alert messages to the patient upon the threshold being exceeded) … initiating a real-time synchronous …communication session between the patient and a clinician or clinical staff member ([0063] of Shaanan discloses how the patient and caregiver can engage in an interactive communication based on the alert), and …
However, the Shaanan/Contractor/Jain combination might be silent regarding the event notification causing a patient interface of a patient device to present a control for initiating the real-time synchronous communication session, the session being a voice communication session, and recording an occurrence of the real-time synchronous voice communication session.
Nevertheless, Newton teaches (20:8-14 and 10:47-48) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to transmit a text message with a link to a patient where the link, when selected, initiates a video conference (real-time synchronous voice communication session) with a telemedicine professional; and also to record a call (real-time synchronous voice communication session) to allow for immediate playback and integration. This arrangement advantageously facilitates communication between a patient and a medical professional to improve patient care.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the event notification of the Shaanan/Contractor/Jain combination to cause a patient interface of a patient device to present a control for initiating the real-time synchronous communication session, the session being a voice communication session, and record an occurrence of the real-time synchronous voice communication session, all as taught by Newton, to advantageously facilitates communication between a patient and a medical professional to improve patient care. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"), and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0072321 to O'Connor et al. ("O'Connor") and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0302539 to Mazar et al. ("Mazar"):
Regarding claim 28, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the system of claim 27, but appears to be silent regarding wherein the communication network comprises encryption and decryption equipment, and wherein the processor is further configured to analyze the dataset to detect a predefined monitoring condition and, in response, generate an event notification for display within the integrated visualization.
Nevertheless, O'Connor teaches ([0141], [0143], [0247]) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art for a communication network to employ both encryption and decryption (which necessarily requires encryption/decryption equipment) to advantageously protect sensitive patent information and comply with HIPAA standards and the like.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the communication network of the Shaanan/Contractor combination to include encryption and decryption equipment as taught by O'Connor to advantageously protect sensitive patent information and comply with HIPAA standards and the like. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Nevertheless, Mazar teaches ([0048], [0132], and Figure 3D) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to analyze a dataset including physiological information, determine when the information is greater than a threshold (detect a predefined monitoring condition), and generate an alert 382 for display within an integrated visualization to advantageously inform users of possibly dangerous conditions regarding a patient to allow corrective actions to be taken, thereby improving patient outcomes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the processor of the Shaanan/Contractor combination to be further configured to analyze the dataset to detect a predefined monitoring condition and, in response, generate an event notification for display within the integrated visualization as taught by Mazar to advantageously inform users of possibly dangerous conditions regarding a patient to allow corrective actions to be taken, thereby improving patient outcomes. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"), U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0072321 to O'Connor et al. ("O'Connor"), and U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0302539 to Mazar et al. ("Mazar"), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,323,196 to Newton et al. ("Newton"):
Regarding claim 29, the Shaanan/Contractor/O'Connor/Mazar combination discloses the system of claim 28, but appears to be silent regarding wherein the communication network comprises a voice communication network, and wherein the processor is further configured to cause a patient interface to present a selectable control for initiating a real-time synchronous voice communication session via the communication network, and wherein the processor is configured to record an occurrence of the communication session.
Nevertheless, Newton teaches (20:8-14 and 10:47-48) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to transmit a text message with a link (patient interface with selectable control) to a patient where the link, when selected, initiates a video conference (real-time synchronous voice communication session via a communication network) with a telemedicine professional; and also to record a call (real-time synchronous voice communication session) to allow for immediate playback and integration. This arrangement advantageously facilitates communication between a patient and a medical professional to improve patient care.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the communication network of the Shaanan/Contractor/O'Connor/Mazar combination to include a voice communication network, wherein the processor is further configured to cause a patient interface to present a selectable control for initiating a real-time synchronous voice communication session via the communication network, and wherein the processor is configured to record an occurrence of the communication session, all as taught by Newton to advantageously facilitates communication between a patient and a medical professional to improve patient care. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205930 to Shaanan et al ("Shaanan") in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0053327 to Contractor et al. ("Contractor"), and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2020/0342966 to Stern ("Stern"):
Regarding claim 31, the Shaanan/Contractor combination discloses the system of claim 27, further including wherein the computing device is configured to electronically transmit processor is further configured to automatically generate, …, a billing record formatted for electronic transmission to a billing system or electronic medical record system ([0082] of Shaanan discloses an account and billing information module to generate bills which would necessarily be formatted for electronic transmission to a billing system or the like as the system is computer-implemented).
However, the Shaanan/Contractor combination appears to be silent regarding the billing record specifically being generated based on recorded monitoring events and recorded occurrences of synchronous communication sessions.
Nevertheless, Stern teaches ([0488], [0500]) that it was known in the healthcare informatics art to automatically generate a patient invoice based on a telemedicine visit (a recorded occurrence of a synchronous communication session) and based on various medical codes corresponding to medical diagnoses/processes and collected medical information recorded on electronic medical templates to advantageously increase the accuracy of generated invoices ([0013]) while reducing the complexity of the same ([0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the billing record of the Shaanan/Contractor combination to specifically be generated based on recorded collected information (physiologic events as discussed previously in relation to Shaanan) and recorded occurrences of synchronous communication sessions similar to as taught by Stern to advantageously increase the accuracy of generated invoices while reducing the complexity of the same. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0148952 discloses a method that includes receiving first data associated with a first sleep session of a user. The method also includes determining a first set of sleep-related parameters associated with the first sleep session of the user based at least in part on the first data. The method also includes receiving second data associated with a second sleep session of the user. The method also includes determining a second set of sleep-related parameters associated with the second sleep session of the user based at least in part on the second data. The method also includes receiving third data associated with a variable condition. The method also includes causing one or more indications associated with the variable condition and the first sleep session, the second sleep session, or both to be communicated to the user.
US 2014/0244009 discloses a physical activity monitoring method and system may include a competition component requiring users to compete based on various metrics. The challenge may be device-specific, activity type-specific, user-type specific and the like. In some examples, the users' performance might only affect the status of the competition if the user synchronizes the information to an activity monitoring system.
CN 109475296 B discloses systems and methods for generating graphical displays of analyte data and/or health information. In some embodiments, the graphical display is generated based on a self-reference data set, the self-reference data set can be modified based on the recognition of the data. The modified graphical display is capable of indicating features in the analyte data of the subject.
NPL "ubiSleep: An ubiquitous sensor system for sleep monitoring" discloses an ubiquitous architecture based on portability and interoperability concepts in which a smartwatch is combined with a smartphone to implement a sleep monitoring system. This system joints heart rate, accelerometer, and sound signals collected into the smartwatch. Thus, the preliminary results revealed that the proposed system is feasible and suitable for sleep monitoring. In spite of the early stage of this system, the developed framework already includes an API for data exchange between the smartwatch and the smartphone. However, additional studies should be addressed in order to complement and enhanced the proposed system with novel algorithms for signal treatment, including the development of several classifiers specific oriented to snore, motion and sleep detection.
/JONATHON A. SZUMNY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686