DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/28/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Lines 2-4 of each of claims 12 and 14 state, “with at least a further portion of the display positioned lower than the horizontally extending planar surface portion when the battery is not coupled to the battery receptacle portion.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because by usage of the phrase, “a further portion,” it is unclear if the “further portion of the display” is the only portion of the display that is positioned lower than the horizontally extending planar surface portion when the battery is not coupled to the battery receptacle portion, or if instead in addition to the further portion of the display if an unclaimed initial portion of the display, for example, is also positioned lower than the horizontally extending planar surface portion when the battery is not coupled to the battery receptacle portion.
Lines 1-2 of each of claims 13 and 15 state, “wherein the display is non-removably supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because it is unclear as to what is meant by, “wherein the display is non-removably supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion.” Since the display is non-removably supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion, does this mean regardless of a force applied to the display that said display will never be able to be removed, for example, from the cylindrical motor housing portion?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagaly et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2003/0044251 A1) in view of Tong et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2023/0286130 A1).
Lagaly et al. & Tong et al. were each previously cited on the PTO-892 mailed 1/28/2026.
Claim 1: Figures 1, 3, and 4 of Lagaly et al. show a router assembly comprising a cylindrical motor housing portion (100), a base portion (200), and a battery receptacle portion (140).
Regarding the base portion (200), it (200) includes a foot portion with a workpiece contact surface (230). As to the workpiece contact surface (230), it is configured to be positioned on a surface of a workpiece [paragraph 0021]. The base portion (200) further includes a cylindrical motor receiving bore (211) located above the foot portion. As to the cylindrical motor housing portion (100), it is configured to be clamped within the cylindrical motor receiving bore (211) [paragraph 0022]. This can best be seen within Figure 3.
Next, with respect to the battery receptacle portion (140), it is fixedly positioned with respect to the cylindrical motor housing portion (100). Also, the battery receptacle portion (140) is configured to couple with a battery (300) [paragraph 0025], and it (140) includes a cavity with a mouth. Please be advised that the mouth has been pointed to below in annotated Figure 1, specifically an uppermost part of the mouth has been pointed to.
As can be seen above, the mouth provides access to coupling structures (145) disposed in the cavity. Please be advised that the coupling structures (145) project inward and engage/couple with flanges (311) (see Figure 7) of the battery (300) [paragraph 0029].
As can also be seen above in the annotated figure, the router assembly further comprises a display (170). The display (170) constitutes such, because it displays a “+” for a positive terminal and a “-“ for a negative terminal as it pertains to connection of the battery (300). (Be advised that independent claim 1 as presently written doesn’t require the claimed “display” to have any particular form or structure. Rather, Applicant broadly set forth the router assembly as comprising “a display”). Please note that the display (170) is supported from below by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) via the battery receptacle portion (140). Noting this, as can be seen in each of Figures 1 and 2, the display (170) is supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) such that when the battery (300) is not coupled with the battery receptacle portion (140), the display (170) is (still) supported by said cylindrical motor housing portion (100).
Lagaly et al. though, does not provide disclosure on the uppermost part of the mouth being “defined at least in part by a horizontally extending planar surface.” Rather, as can be seen below in a portion of each of Figures 3 and 4, the uppermost part of the mouth has slight curvature to it.
Although Lagaly et al. does not provide disclosure on the uppermost part of the mouth being “defined at least in part by a horizontally extending planar surface,” it is noted that Figure 7 of Lagaly et al. shows a connection surface (310) of the battery (300) being planar.
Figures 1-3 of Tong et al. though, show a router assembly (100) as comprising a base portion (14), a cylindrical motor housing portion (12) that is configured to be clamped within a cylindrical motor receiving bore of the base portion (14), and a battery receptacle portion (121). The battery receptacle portion (121) is fixedly positioned with respect to the cylindrical motor housing portion (12) and is configured to couple with a battery (30). Also, the battery receptacle portion (121) includes a cavity with a mouth which provides access to coupling structures (1211) (please see Figures 4 and 7) in the cavity. Please note that an uppermost part of the mouth is defined at least in part by a horizontally extending planar surface portion. For Applicant’s reference, Figures 8 and 9 of Tong et al. have each been annotated and provided on the following page so as to point to the horizontally extending planar surface portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al. to be a horizontally extending planar surface portion in accordance with the disclosure of Tong et al., so as to provide the advantage of additional surface area on which the planar connection surface (310) of the battery (300) of Lagaly et al. is able to sit flat when said battery (300) is received within the cavity of Lagaly et al.
In making the above modification, the uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al. is defined (in accordance with the disclosure of Tong et al.) to be a horizontally extending planar surface portion (rather than having a slight curvature like initially formed).
Next, please be advised that regardless of whether the battery (300) is coupled or not, the position of the display (170) to the horizontally extending planar surface portion is unaffected. Note that Examiner has again provided below the portion of Figure 4 of Lagaly et al. While this shows the uppermost part of the mouth prior to modification, this figure still demonstrates that the at least a portion of the display (170) is positioned higher than said uppermost part of the mouth.
Since the at least a portion of the display (170) is always positioned higher than the uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al., even after the modification to said uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al. which resulted in the uppermost part of the mouth being defined (as per the disclosure of Tong et al.) to be a horizontally extending planar surface portion, the result is as follows: in the (modified) router assembly of Lagaly et al., when the battery (300) is coupled with the battery receptacle portion (140), with at least a portion of the battery (300) within the cavity, at least a portion of the display (170) is positioned higher than the horizontally extending planar surface portion.
Claim 9: Figures 1, 3, and 4 of Lagaly et al. show a power portion for a router assembly comprising a cylindrical motor housing portion (100) and a battery receptacle portion (140). With regards to the cylindrical motor housing portion (100), it is configured to be clamped within a cylindrical motor receiving bore (211) of a base portion (200) [paragraph 0022]. This can best be seen within Figure 3 of Lagaly et al.
Next, with respect to the battery receptacle portion (140), it is fixedly positioned above the cylindrical motor housing portion (100). Also, the battery receptacle portion (140) is configured to couple with a battery (300) [paragraph 0025], and it (140) includes a cavity with a mouth. Please be advised that the mouth has been pointed to below in annotated Figure 1, specifically an uppermost part of the mouth has been pointed to.
As can be seen above, the mouth provides access to coupling structures (145) disposed in the cavity. Please be advised that the coupling structures (145) project inward and engage/couple with flanges (311) (see Figure 7) of the battery (300) [paragraph 0029].
As can also be seen above in the annotated figure, the router assembly further comprises a display (170). The display (170) constitutes such, because it displays a “+” for a positive terminal and a “-“ for a negative terminal as it pertains to connection of the battery (300). (Be advised that independent claim 9 as presently written doesn’t require the claimed “display” to have any particular form or structure. Rather, Applicant broadly set forth the power portion as comprising “a display”). Please note that the display (170) is supported from below by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) via the battery receptacle portion (140). Noting this, as can be seen in each of Figures 1 and 2, the display (170) is supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) even when the battery (300) is not coupled with the battery receptacle portion (140).
Lagaly et al. though, does not provide disclosure on the uppermost part of the mouth being “defined at least in part by a horizontally extending planar surface.” Rather, as can be seen below in a portion of each of Figures 3 and 4, the uppermost part of the mouth has slight curvature to it.
Although Lagaly et al. does not provide disclosure on the uppermost part of the mouth being “defined at least in part by a horizontally extending planar surface,” it is noted that Figure 7 of Lagaly et al. shows a connection surface (310) of the battery (300) being planar.
Figures 1-3 of Tong et al. though, show a cylindrical motor housing portion (12) that is configured to be clamped within a cylindrical motor receiving bore of a base portion (14), and a battery receptacle portion (121). The battery receptacle portion (121) is fixedly positioned above the cylindrical motor housing portion (12) and is configured to couple with a battery (30). Also, the battery receptacle portion (121) includes a cavity with a mouth which provides access to coupling structures (1211) (please see Figures 4 and 7) in the cavity. Please note that an uppermost part of the mouth is defined at least in part by a horizontally extending planar surface portion. For Applicant’s reference, Figures 8 and 9 of Tong et al. have each been annotated and provided below so as to point to the horizontally extending planar surface portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al. to be a horizontally extending planar surface portion in accordance with the disclosure of Tong et al., so as to provide the advantage of additional surface area on which the planar connection surface (310) of the battery (300) of Lagaly et al. is able to sit flat when said battery (300) is received within the cavity of Lagaly et al.
In making the above modification, the uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al. is defined (in accordance with the disclosure of Tong et al.) to be a horizontally extending planar surface portion (rather than having a slight curvature like initially formed).
Next, please be advised that regardless of whether the battery (300) is coupled or not, the position of the display (170) to the horizontally extending planar surface portion is unaffected. Note that Examiner has again provided below the portion of Figure 4 of Lagaly et al. While this shows the uppermost part of the mouth prior to modification, this figure still demonstrates that the at least a portion of the display (170) is positioned higher than said uppermost part of the mouth.
Since the at least a portion of the display (170) is always positioned higher than the uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al., even after the modification to said uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al. which resulted in the uppermost part of the mouth being defined (as per the disclosure of Tong et al.) to be a horizontally extending planar surface portion, the result is as follows: wherein at least a portion of the display (170) is positioned higher than the horizontally extending planar surface portion.
Lastly, the cavity is configured to receive a least portion of the battery (300) when the battery (300) is coupled to the battery receptacle portion (140) using the coupling structures (145) disposed in the cavity.
Claim 12: The display (170) is supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) such that when the battery (300) is not coupled to the battery receptacle portion (140), and when the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) is inverted, for example, at least a further portion of the display (170) is positioned lower than the horizontally extending planer surface portion.
Claim 13: At least when the battery (300) is connected to the battery receptacle portion (140), the display (170) is non-removably supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100). This is because in this scenario, the display (170) is blocked between the battery (300) and the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) such that said display (170) is non-removable.
Claim 14: The display (170) is supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) such that when the battery (300) is not coupled to the battery receptacle portion (140), and when the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) is inverted, for example, at least a further portion of the display (170) is positioned lower than the horizontally extending planer surface portion.
Claim 15: At least when the battery (300) is connected to the battery receptacle portion (140), the display (170) is non-removably supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100). This is because in this scenario, the display (170) is blocked between the battery (300) and the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) such that said display (170) is non-removable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 3-4 under “The References Do Not Disclose a Display Supported s Claimed”, filed 4/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Likewise, Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 under “The References Do Not Disclose a Display Supported s Claimed”, filed 4/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made (as it pertains to independent claims 1 and 9) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagaly et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2003/0044251 A1) in view of Tong et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2023/0286130 A1).
It is noted that Tong et al. was previously utilized by Examiner as the base reference in the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the office action mailed on 1/28/2026. In this office action though, Lagaly et al. is the base reference and Tong et al. is the modifying reference. Please be advised that Examiner has applied Tong et al. as a modifying reference for teaching “an uppermost part of the mouth defined at least in part by a horizontally extending planar surface portion.”
Even though a different combination of art is being applied by Examiner in rejecting independent claims 1 and 9, Examiner would like to briefly address Applicant’s arguments with respect to the current art. This because Tong et al. is still being applied, and Examiner would like to avoid any potential confusion this might cause. Having said that, Examiner will now address Applicant’s arguments, which are provided below.
Claims 1 has been amended based upon the Applicant's specification at paragraph 32 and FIG. 4 to require that the display be supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion when the battery is not coupled. Accordingly, no new matter has been added by way of the amendment.
Moreover, the references do not disclose this configuration. As noted by the Examiner at page 6 of the Office Action, Tong does not disclose a display with at least a portion of the display positioned higher than the uppermost planar surface portion. The Examiner relied upon Johnson for teaching this limitation based upon the display 155 of Johnson which is provided in a battery 50. (Office Action at page 6). Claim 1, as amended, however, requires the display to be supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion when the battery is not coupled. Since the alleged display is on the battery, the display cannot be supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion when the battery is not coupled.
Claims 9 has been amended based upon the Applicant's specification at paragraph 32 and FIG. 4 to require that the display be supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion when the battery is not coupled. Accordingly, no new matter has been added by way of the amendment.
Moreover, as discussed above with respect to claim 1, the references do not disclose this configuration.
First, it is reiterated that Applicant’s arguments were persuasive and Tong et al. in view of Johnson does not teach, “the display be supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion when the battery is not coupled.”
With respect the current art being applied though, please be advised of the following.
In Lagaly et al., regardless of whether the battery (300) is coupled or not to the battery receptacle portion (140), the display (170) is always supported from below by the cylindrical motor housing portion (100) via the battery receptacle portion (140). This can be seen within at least Figures 1 and 2 of Lagaly et al., which show an instance of when the battery (300) is not coupled to the battery receptacle portion (140) and the display (170) still being supported by said cylindrical motor housing portion (100). Thus, Lagaly et al. reads on, “the display [[be]] supported by the cylindrical motor housing portion when the battery is not coupled.”
Lastly, Examiner will address Applicant’s argument that, “Tong does not disclose a display with at least a portion of the display positioned higher than the uppermost planar surface portion.” In amended claim 1 as filed on 4/28/2026, the last limitation thereof states, “at least a portion of the display is positioned higher than the horizontally extending planar surface portion.” Noting this, Examiner agrees that Tong et al. alone does not teach this limitation. However, the combination of Lagaly et al. in view of Tong et al. does teach said limitation. This will now be explained in the following paragraphs.
Please be advised that regardless of whether the battery (300) is coupled or not, the position of the display (170) to the horizontally extending planar surface portion is unaffected. Note that Examiner has provided below a portion of Figure 4 of Lagaly et al. While this figure shows the uppermost part of the mouth prior to modification, this figure still demonstrates that the at least a portion of the display (170) is positioned higher than said uppermost part of the mouth.
Since the at least a portion of the display (170) is always positioned higher than the uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al., even after the modification to said uppermost part of the mouth of Lagaly et al. which resulted in the uppermost part of the mouth being defined (as per the disclosure of Tong et al.) to be a horizontally extending planar surface portion, the result is as follows: in the (modified) router assembly of Lagaly et al., when the battery (300) is coupled with the battery receptacle portion (140), with at least a portion of the battery (300) within the cavity, at least a portion of the display (170) is positioned higher than the horizontally extending planar surface portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 10, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Figure 1 of GB2121565A shows therein a router assembly (10) comprising a base portion (12), a driving motor (not shown), and a display panel (24), where the display panel (24) displays a material table (26) and a cutter size table (28). Be advised that the display panel (24) is disposed/provided at an upper end of the router assembly (10).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL VITALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722