DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 02/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, last line, the phase “second ball member” should be “second ball group”; and
Claim 6 should be depended on claim 5, because “a first magnet” and “a first coil” are cited in claim 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because last two lines, the phase “second ball member” should be “second ball group”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Last line of para.9, “second ball member” should be “second ball group”;
Lines of para.138, “the third ball member B3 and the fourth ball member B4” should be “the third ball group B3 and the fourth ball group B4”; and
Last line of para.157, “first ball member B1” should be “first ball group B1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US 2022/0187616.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a camera module, in at least figs.1 and 13-31, comprising:
a lens unit (1000) comprising at least one lens;
a first carrier (2000) configured to accommodate a portion of the lens unit and move in an optical axis direction (see fig.14 and para.241);
a second carrier (3000) configured to accommodate the first carrier and move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (see fig.14 and para.243); and
a connection substrate (8300) disposed to surround a side surface of the second carrier (see fig.14),
wherein a first ball group (BG1) and a second ball group (BG2) spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, are included between the first carrier and the second carrier (see fig.14),
wherein the number of balls of the first ball group is greater than the number of balls of the second ball group (see fig.14), and
wherein the connection substrate is disposed to surround the second carrier toward the second ball group (see fig.14).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the first carrier and the second carrier comprise a plurality of guide grooves on surfaces facing each other with the first ball group and the second ball group interposed therebetween (see fig.14), and
wherein among the plurality of guide grooves, guide grooves facing each other with the second ball group interposed therebetween have different cross-sectional shapes (see figs.14, 23 and 29).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the lens unit comprises: a first lens unit (1130) coupled to the second carrier; and
a second lens unit (1110) coupled to the first carrier and configured to move in the optical axis direction relative to the first lens unit (see figs.14 and 15).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the first lens unit further comprises a lens (L2) stage fixedly coupled to an upper surface of the second carrier (see figs.14 and 15).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a portable electronic device (see fig.1) comprising: the camera module of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1); and
an image sensor (S) configured to convert light passing through the at least one lens into an electrical signal (see fig.14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US 2022/0187616 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Jeong US 2021/0048730.
Regarding claim 11, Lee does not explicitly disclose a stopper disposed between the first lens unit and the second lens unit.
Jeong discloses a camera module, in at least figs.1-3, a stopper (310) disposed on the lens holder to cover the upper surface of the carrier (para.133) for the purpose of preventing the lens module from being externally separated from the lens holder due to an external impact (para.134).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a stopper disposed on the lens holder to cover the upper surface of the carrier as taught by Jeong in the camera module of Lee in order to have a stopper disposed between the first lens unit and the second lens unit because the second lens unit is buried in the carrier for the purpose of preventing the lens module from being externally separated from the lens holder due to an external impact.
Claim(s) 1, 8-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo US 20220155652 in view of Lee US 2022/0187616.
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a camera module, in at least figs.8-13, comprising:
a lens unit (1510) comprising at least one lens;
a first carrier (1300) configured to accommodate a portion of the lens unit and move in an optical axis direction (see fig.8 and para.72);
a second carrier (1400) configured to move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (see fig.8 and para.97); and
a connection substrate (1130) disposed to surround a side surface of the second carrier (see figs.8-10),
wherein a first ball group (1475a with two balls) and a second ball group (1475a with one ball) spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, are included between the first carrier and the second carrier (see figs.8-13),
wherein the number of balls of the first ball group is greater than the number of balls of the second ball group (see figs.8-12), and
wherein the connection substrate is disposed to surround the second carrier toward the second ball group (see figs.8 and 13).
Seo does not explicitly disclose the second carrier configured to accommodate the first carrier.
Lee discloses the second carrier (3000) configured to accommodate the first carrier (2000) for the purpose of accommodating the first carrier (see fig.14).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second carrier configured to accommodate the first carrier as taught by Lee in the camera module of Seo for the purpose of accommodating the first carrier.
Regarding claim 8, Seo discloses the first carrier and the second carrier comprise a plurality of guide grooves on surfaces facing each other with the first ball group and the second ball group interposed therebetween (see fig.8), and
wherein among the plurality of guide grooves, guide grooves facing each other with the second ball group interposed therebetween have different cross-sectional shapes (see figs.8 and 12).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the first carrier and the second carrier comprise a plurality of guide grooves on surfaces facing each other with the first ball group and the second ball group interposed therebetween (see fig.14), and
wherein among the plurality of guide grooves, guide grooves facing each other with the second ball group interposed therebetween have different cross-sectional shapes (see figs.14, 23 and 29) for the purpose of accommodating the first carrier (see fig.14). the reason for combining is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Seo discloses the lens unit comprises: a first lens unit (bottom lens unit or middle lens unit in 1510, para.55) coupled to the second carrier; and
a second lens unit (upper lens unit in 1510, para.55) coupled to the first carrier and configured to move in the optical axis direction relative to the first lens unit (see fig.8).
Regarding claim 10, Seo discloses the first lens unit further comprises a lens (para.54) stage fixedly coupled to an upper surface of the second carrier (see fig.8).
Regarding claim 12, Seo in view Lee discloses a portable electronic device (see para.51) comprising: the camera module of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1); and
an image sensor (1151 or 1150) configured to convert light passing through the at least one lens into an electrical signal (see fig.8 and para.54).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo US 20220155652 in view of Lee US 2022/0187616 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Jeong US 2021/0048730.
Regarding claim 11, Seo in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose a stopper disposed between the first lens unit and the second lens unit.
Jeong discloses a camera module, in at least figs.1-3, a stopper (310) disposed on the lens holder to cover the upper surface of the carrier (para.133) for the purpose of preventing the lens module from being externally separated from the lens holder due to an external impact (para.134).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a stopper disposed on the lens holder to cover the upper surface of the carrier as taught by Jeong in the camera module of Seo in view of Lee in order to have a stopper disposed between the first lens unit and the second lens unit because the second lens unit is buried in the carrier for the purpose of preventing the lens module from being externally separated from the lens holder due to an external impact.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “further comprising: a housing configured to accommodate the second carrier, wherein the connection substrate comprises: a first substrate disposed in the second carrier; a connection portion disposed in the housing; and an extension portion connecting the first substrate and the connection portion, and having a curved shape at a portion thereof”, along with other claim limitations. Claims 3-7 are depended on claim 2, so they are allowable for the same reason.
Seo US 20220155652, Lee US 2022/0187616 and Jeong US 2021/0048730, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of “further comprising: a housing configured to accommodate the second carrier, wherein the connection substrate comprises: a first substrate disposed in the second carrier; a connection portion disposed in the housing; and an extension portion connecting the first substrate and the connection portion, and having a curved shape at a portion thereof”, along with other claim limitations. Claims 3-7 are depended on claim 2, so they are allowable for the same reason.
Contact Information
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871