DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “listening sensor” in claims 11-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1) Regarding Claim 1, “pertaining to” is subjective and unclear, making the metes and bounds of the claims unclear. Particularly so, given the fact that “patient” and “user” may not be the same, as claimed. Is the patient data captured from the user or not? What does “pertaining to” encompass?
2) Regarding Claims 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12:
- it is not clear whether the “at least one electrode” of Claim 4 is the same or different from the “at least one electrode” of Claim 3.
- it is not clear whether the “at least one pulse oxygen sensor” of Claim 6 is the same or different from the “at least one oxygen sensor” of Claim 5.
- it is not clear whether the “at least one temperature sensor” of Claim 8 is the same or different from the “at least one temperature sensor” of Claim 7.
- it is not clear whether the “at least one ultrasound sensor” of Claim 12 is the same or different from the “at least one ultrasound sensor” of Claim 11.
- it is not clear whether the “at least one listening sensor” of Claim 12 is the same or different from the “at least one listening sensor” of Claim 11.
When a claim is amenable to two plausible interpretations, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, for indefiniteness, is appropriate. Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (BPAI 2008), precedential. Also see Ex parte McAward (Appeal 2015-006416), precedential.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021222854 by Rush.
Regarding Claim 1, Rush discloses a medical diagnostic garment (e.g. abstract, Fig. 2A: health monitoring garment 200), said garment comprising:
a main body having a front panel, a back panel, and a neck area (e.g. ¶19, Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B: Fig. 2A shows the front side of the wearable health monitor system 200, Fig. 2B shows the back side of the wearable health monitor system 200, and both figures clearly show a turtleneck portion; Note here that the term “panel” consistent with the specification, merely describes a part of the garment, see e.g. instant ¶27 and Fig. 1 and 2, which indicate portions 11a, 11b, and 11c as “panels”)
a plurality of sensors that are provided along an inside facing portion of the front pane (e.g. ¶21, Fig. 2A: multiple ECG electrodes 223 inside the garment are configured to be placed in contact with skin through a gel; ¶19,21,43: the garment also includes other contact sensors, such as stethoscope microphones 224, blood pressure cuffs 221, thermometers and blood testing devices); and
a controller that is communicatively linked to each of the plurality of sensors, wherein each of the plurality of sensors are configured to capture patient data pertaining to a user wearing the main body (e.g. ¶19,23, Fig. 2A: controller hub 215 is in communication with each of the sensors, and the sensors are configured to capture ECG, acoustic, temperature and other patient data).
Regarding Claim 2, Rush teaches the garment of claim 1, wherein the main body comprises: a shirt that is configured to be worn along a torso of the user (e.g. abstract, ¶10, Fig. 2A: the wearable device 200 may be or include a shirt).
Regarding Claim 3, Rush teaches the garment of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors includes one electrode (e.g. ¶19, Fig. 2A: ECG electrodes 223).
Regarding Claim 4, Rush teaches the garment of claim 3, wherein the patient data includes information about a heart of the user collected by the at least one electrode (e.g. ¶19,21,28, Fig. 2A: ECG, heart rate).
Regarding Claim 7, Rush teaches the garment of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one temperature sensor (e.g. ¶43: thermometer built into the wearable system).
Regarding Claim 8, Rush teaches the garment of claim 7, wherein the patient data includes a body temperature of the user that is collected by at least one temperature sensor (¶43: thermometer built into the wearable system to measure user temperature).
Regarding Claim 11, Rush teaches the garment of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors includes one listening sensor (¶19: stethoscope microphones 224).
Regarding Claim 12, Rush teaches the garment of claim 11, wherein the patient data includes sound produced by an internal organ of the user that is collected by one listening sensor (¶30: phonocardiogram PCG acquisition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rush, as applied to Claim 1, in view of US 20200029899 by Bogdanovich.
Regarding Claim 5, Rush teaches the garment of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sensors includes a pulse oxygen sensor.
However, Bogdanovich teaches an analogous wearable health monitoring system which includes pulse oximeters (e.g. ¶52,61,148: garment 50 includes a HR monitor, which can be a pulse oximeter). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a pulse oximeter in a device according to the teachings of Rush, as taught by Bogdanovich, in order to predictably measure oxygen saturation and/or heart rate which is an indicator of cardiovascular and respiratory health status (e.g. heart failure, pulse arrival time, arterial stiffness etc.).
Regarding Claim 6, Rush as modified in Claim 5, teaches the garment of claim 5, wherein the patient data includes pulse oxygen information of the user that is collected by the at least one pulse oxygen sensor (e.g. Bogdanovich: SpO2 and HR).
Regarding Claim 9, Rush teaches the garment of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sensors includes one ultrasound sensor.
However, Bogdanovich teaches an analogous wearable health monitoring system which includes pulse oximeters (e.g. ¶52,54: garment 50 includes a HR monitor, which can include 3D sonography). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate 3D sonography, with ultrasonic transducers and sensors, in a device according to the teachings of Rush, as taught by Bogdanovich, in order to predictably provide 3D sonograms, which are valuable for a physician to assess a health status of a user (e.g. to evaluate atrophy, pericardial diseases, heart failure, cardiomyopathies etc.).
Regarding Claim 10, Rush as modified in Claim 9, teaches the garment of claim 9, wherein the patient data includes a visual representation of an internal organ of the user that is collected by at least one ultrasound sensor (e.g. Bogdanovich ¶52,54: garment 50 includes a HR monitor, which can include 3D sonography).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rush, as applied to Claim 1, in view of US 20210169326 by Emokpae.
Regarding Claim 9, Rush teaches the garment of claim 1, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sensors includes one ultrasound sensor.
However, Emokpae teaches an analogous wearable health monitoring system which includes an ultrasonic transducer imaging sensor (e.g. ¶21,27,31, 35, Fig. 1: garment 110 includes a ultrasonic organ imaging via ultrasonic transducer 111a and acoustic sensors 111b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ultrasonic transducers and sensors in a device according to the teachings of Rush, as taught by Emokpae, in order to predictably image muscle tissues and large body organs, which is desirable in tracking a patient’s progress in following a physical therapy plan, as taught by Empokpae (¶19), and is generally valuable for a physician to assess a health status of a user (e.g. to evaluate atrophy, pericardial diseases, heart failure, cardiomyopathies etc.).
Regarding Claim 10, Rush as modified in Claim 9, teaches the garment of claim 9, wherein the patient data includes a visual representation of an internal organ of the user that is collected by at least one ultrasound sensor (e.g. Emokpae: ¶21,27,31, 35, Fig. 1: garment 110 includes a ultrasonic organ imaging via ultrasonic transducer 111a and acoustic sensors 111b).
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796
MANOLIS PAHAKIS /M.P./
Examiner
Art Unit 3792